Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Make the best out of your cars music system with the Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6-1/2" 4-Way Speakers. With a powerful bass and treble, the Sony Xplod Xs-R1644 Speakers deliver music as it was meant to be heard. Built with rare ferrite/neodymium magnets, the 4 way speakers give an output of 270W. These power handling speakers are designed to ensure that you give that extra thump of bass without any distortion.
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%31 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

xplodes

01/05/2011
By ,
chillicothe ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a set of these to replace the front door speakers in my 98 blazer along with swapping out the tweeters in the dash with the matching sony 5 1/4's which fit nicely with a small amount of trimming.. in WOW! LOUD and CLEAR! I've never really been a fan of the xplodes but they were very nice looking and the watt rating was the best for the price. im very impressed with the performance of them and couldn't be happier. Next payday i will be on my way to buying another set of 6 1/2's for the rear doors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 2 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Great!!

03/28/2011
By ,
Denver Co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic speaker upgrade. I have added a Kenwood high power deck. The set up that came with my Suziki was decent but wow!!. These now rattle my doors and the clairity is fantastic. Installed 4 and an amp and now I can hear my music next to the booming mega bass cars. The clairity plays through the boom boom. Sooo nice! Just add an amp, something to power these well and your good to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 3 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

great value - sound amazing

03/17/2011
By ,
Derry, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very suprised based on the price how great these speakers sound. They blast and the 4-way really make the clarity of the music come out. I would recommend these to anyone needing 6.5" speakers. I actually like them better then the Boston Acoustic speakers that I spent a fortune on, on a previous vehicle I had.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 4 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

nice rear speakers

09/15/2010
By ,
washington, dc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blends very well with a high end component system; highs and lows are balanced...great accompaniment and sound enhancer to component systems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Review 5 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Great sound.

10/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 96 Grand Cherokee and the stock speakers were blown. I replaced the front two and the back two. Install was quick, sounds great. Handles full volume with no distortion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

great product

01/09/2011
By ,
webster,ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought these speakers for my 95 subaru outback for the front doors they fit perfect and sound great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Works great

09/11/2010
By ,
north maimi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought a pair installed it this week sounds great worth the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Could Be Better

05/29/2011
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Good Stuff;
Sound Quality; Excellent. Very clear.
Bass quality; (For it's size) Good
The Bad Stuff;
Fitting;
It's 6 inches diameter.
they advertise 6 & 1/2, the half being the speaker cover.
I spent about two hours trying to modify my 2001 Mitsubishi Galant's speaker bezels.
After all, I got them in.
Price;
Most speakers in the 6 & 1/2 size are a bit cheaper.
I would have thought for double the price of most of them, they would have been EXCEEDINGLY better quality.
Overall;
It's worth it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

excellent!

11/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good speakers. Good quality, easy to install, very simple. Powerful enough to make it sound great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 10 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Great speakers for the money

09/09/2011
By ,
Coleman, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought these for the doors of my 82 Ford F150. They fit perfectly and provide fabulous sound for my new radio. Very pleased with the purchase and installation. I would recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Not 50 watts RMS

11/28/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hooked it up to an alpine deck which puts out 18 watts per channel RMS @ 4 ohms. Played "Phone Numbers" by Wiz Khalifa. The bass causes the speaker to clip when the volume is on 24 out of 35. Pretty sure it'd blow if all 18 watts went in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Burleson, Tx
Seems very unlikely
Posted 07/02/2012
Maybe you have the polarity wrong on the speakers. 18 Watts isnt enough to blow any speaker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Price- Great, Sound Quality- Not So Much

11/06/2012
By ,
Hanover, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I installed these in my '99 Chevy Blazer, replacing the factory speakers. I was using them with a Sony Xplod head unit. They produce okay highs and mids, but have absolutely no bass. At about 3/4 max volume of the head unit, the speakers begin to (badly) distort. I used them for about a year before switching to a set of Kicker 6.5" speakers from Best Buy. The difference was huge. The Kickers had bass and amazing sound quality compared to the Sony speakers. I would recommend looking into Walmart's line of Kicker products.
Bottom Line- These speakers are a (small) step up from factory speakers and I would only recommend them if you are looking to replace a blown factory speaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Sony MEX-BT39UW Bluetooth CD Receiver
4.3 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 13 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Excellent!

08/30/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these to start out the upgrade process of my 02' Dodge Dakota. Used these to replace the 2 stock door speakers. They sound amazing with just my stock stereo. Intend on getting the xplode brand radio as well. More than worth the $50 i payed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)
12/22/2011
By ,
Melbourne, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These speakers are great. They were simple to install into my existing wires. The sound is impeccable and would highly recommend to anyone and everyone. Great sound for the price. My 1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee sounds 100 times better now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Great Sony Speakers

12/30/2010
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 4 of these speakers in my car running at 50 watts RMS through a Sound Ordnance amp. These bad girls are loud. I have them tuned for metal music, and I can turn my headunit's volume all the way up and not have them distort. The reason these get a four star review and not a five is because the low end in these is almost non existant. I am putting in a subwoofer to balance the great treble and mid sound these speakers produce. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OH
Very Nice Speakers
Posted 07/17/2011
Today I installed a set of Sony Xplod, XS-R1644, 6-1/2" 4-Way Speakers, in the front doors of my 97 S10.
I have a Sony Xplod Stereo so I thought I would purchase a set of Xplod speakers. I'm glad I did! Sounds 10 times better than the factory Delco speakers that came with the truck.
Now I have to buy another set to replace the factory rear speakers.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Bought these as a replacement for our 2002 Yukon

07/02/2012
By ,
Burleson, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The factory front speakers werent producing any sound at all anymore. I searched and read reviews on Amazon.com and Walmart's website. I settled for these because of price and no shipping charges (in stock at my store). Took me about 30 minutes to install both speakers and these suckers ROCK! My wife and I were amazed at how much better they were than the factory speakers. I will be replacing the back 2 doors with these as well. If your wanting good clear sound, decent bass from a 6.5 inch speaker these are it! Im not big on writing reviews but I am when it comes to reading them. I liked these so much I had to write one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Excellent OEM Replacement Set

03/09/2013
By ,
Chattanooga, Tn.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced the OEM door speakers of a 2007 Kia Spectra. These speakers have excellent sound to be so cheap for a pair. The factory head unit can't power-up high enough to create distortion. This set would work well with better head units and an amp - they are worthy - but will still greatly improve upon OEM by themselves. I will buy these again in the future.
I gave only four stars due to having to drill holes to mount(though not uncommon with new speakers installs) and for the cheap, flimsy wires that came with them. They get 5 stars for sound quality. $38.49 with shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Sony delivers again

12/01/2012
By ,
kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great 6x9 speakers. I have yet to buy a bad Sony Xplod product!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Excellent quality sound

03/18/2013
By ,
plover, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have four of these in my vehicle: 2 in front doors; 2 in rear (amplified in rear only). The sound quality is excellent. The bass you get from unamplified setup is marginal. Amplified is definitely better, but I have two subwoofers that take up the slack.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sony Xplod XS-R1644 6.5" 4-Way Speakers (Pair of Speakers)

Overkill

09/23/2012
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The speakers are professionally manufactured and have quality of sound. The human ear really cannot discern the difference between a 2 channel and a 4 channel speaker unless you are powering it with professional quality equipment. I'd really like to see these in an boat/rv indoor/outdoor speaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next