Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

The Sony Xplod CDX-GT25MPW Car CD MP3 Receiver with AUX in allows you to play digital MP3 or WMA files from your portable audio device on your car stereo through the front auxiliary input. The car CD player with aux input provides 52 watts of power to its four amplifiers, ensuring high performance. If you wish to expand the sound system inside the car, you can make use of the RCA outputs for attaching external amplifiers. For radio enthusiasts, this car stereo receiver has an RDS system that provides information about the radio broadcast such as track and artist information, and station IDs. It also comes with a wireless remote to control the player while driving. The built-in 52W x 4 amplifiers ensure quality sound performance for your car stereo receiver. The LCD display makes it easy to read the time, track information and station ID, and also comes with a key illumination feature for easy button location during nighttime driving.
Average Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation93%78 out of 84reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Great value

01/08/2012
By ,
Gettysburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife gave me this for Christmas for my '97 Ford F-150, which only had the factory AM/FM cassette stereo. Sony has put together a great stereo for the price. Once I pulled the schematics off the internet and bought the F-150 dash kit from a local store, the installation was a breeze. Time-wise, it took me about an hour and a half to remove the old and install the new. The stereo looks like it has always been there and has given an old truck a new look. The sound was surprising! It has a lot of nice adjustments for sound. The CD player works great. I have not experienced any skipping. It really surprised me to hear that it sounded so great even with the original speakers. It's a shame all that sound was hidden behind some pretty good factory speakers. Though my wife also got the Sony speakers, I am waiting for warmer weather to install them.
You have no need for second thoughts on purchasing a great sounding car stereo for the price. It performs as it states. When you turn the ignition off, the stereo beeps 3 times to remind you to remove the faceplate.
The only con I have, which is very minor, is a lightning bolt digital design that constantly moves and flashes on the far right corner of the screen. These flashing bars may not bother some but annoy me. If possible, I am going to look into getting rid of them. Black and white photo close up is provided. Stereo also comes with a remote, but I cannot find a use for it. I haven't used the MP3, but I don't anticipate any problems.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony Walkman 8GB MP3 Video Player, NWZ-E344BLK, Black
4.5 out of 5(88)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 2 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Sony Xplod CDX GT25MPW Car CD

11/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Receiver good sound would buy again from Walmart. I had good customer service and I would recomend a friend .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 3 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Great CD Player, a lot of bang for your buck!

04/06/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This CD player sounds great! The sound in my wife's car actually improved dramatically after putting this in. Radio reception is great, it even tells you the names of songs on the radio. The remote is very handy while driving.
It is a well-made, quality product. You can't go wrong here for $50. Better than CD players 2 or 3 times the price.
The lighting scheme is red/black, the display is very easy to read. You can set up to 18 radio presets, as well as hook up your iPod with an auxillary cable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Outstanding !

04/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality built with good documentation. I installed this in a 1996 Toyota Camry when the radio went out - it had one of the best sound systems I've ever heard in a car and the Sony Xplod sounds better and has way more volume than the original. I had to get an electrical adapter from an auto parts supplier to map the Toyota wiring to the more modern format of the Sony. It was a little bit involved requiring about twelve wires to be connected, which I used soilder and electrical tape for. After plugging in the new harness every function of the unit worked on the first pass. The controls are easy to use and the sound is huge with tons of bass and high end. It even has a little remote control that worked out of the box too. I can't imagine a unit being better in design,manufacturing or performance than this one - stop shopping and get this one...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Conejo Valley, CA
QUESTION
Posted 01/22/2012
I bought this radio on your recommendation, and also have a 1996 Toyota Camry. Would you please be able to tell me the name of the part/adapter you had to purchase from the auto parts supplier to "make it work"? Hopefully you'll receive this comment; 'sure would appreciate this information! Thanks so much.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Excellent product.

12/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my factory head unit. This Sony Explode unit takes my factory speakers to the limit (if cranked) with crystal clear sound. It has enough power to where I don't like to go above 38/50 of its capable volume- since I want to keep my eardrums. I have a subwoofer installed as well, and this unit makes it possible to control the volume of the sub... pretty handy while driving to a good beat. I'm also impressed with how it brings in more stations than my old factory unit. If you are looking for a nice CD stereo/HD radio with an ipod input... with excellent sound then I highly recommend this unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+80points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sarasota
????
Posted 02/27/2012
UNLESS YOU USED A AMP SHUT OFF OR CONVERTER ALL WILL BLOW....SOON.
ALWAYS NEED TO DO THIS WITH FACTORY SYSTEMS AS SPKRS ARE AMPED OR RADIO HAS AMP WHICH IS NOT COMPATIBLE TO AFTERMARKET.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

realy good.

10/17/2010
By ,
Show Low, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dont listen to the other review. i just bought this at my local store and installed it. it was really easy to install. it play cds perfect. sounds really clear. i love it. only thing i dont like is the backlight is only red, wish it was blue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 7 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Better then others in this price range, trust me.

11/27/2010
By ,
San Bernardino, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first It would turn off when I put the music too loud, then I figured out that my negative battery cable was too thin for the head units cable which was thicker. So I ground the head units cable to a bolt and that fixed the problem. Now I have this head unit, 12" 400rms kenwood sub powered by 400rms sony explod amp, and in the front I have 2 51/4 sony speakers, in rear I have 2 6x9's sony in their own cabinet. All I need now is the sony tweeters and my system is complete. Man Let me tell you my system sounds better then my cousins who spent 800 dollars while I only spent less than half of that and mine is louder and bumpin'
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 8 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

great value

04/23/2011
By ,
Aragon, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony makes some very good car audio. my last Sony lasted me 12 years before experiencing problems. This one actually cost me about 40 percent less than the last one and has many more features. Installation was a breeze. just unpluged my old one and plugged in the new one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Sony xplode

11/29/2010
By ,
tacom
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is by far the best cheap in dash stereo i have owned. if you are on an fm channel it has a read out of the station, the song and even the artist. this stereo has a lot to it. i have it running 2 12 inch mtx subs and with out a good stereo you wont have good sound coming from the subs, or amp.
this would be my first choice for a cheap stereo..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Great item for the price!!

04/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item works great especially for the price, the thing i like is that it will read out the radio station songs and artist and it has a sub woofer level control on it so I can run my subs and turn them down or even off just by the head unit. Very reasonable price for what you get. I have no complaints!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 11 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Fantastic

12/21/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first tried the $19.99 XO Vision radio and the one I got did not work. I returned it for this one and I fell I definitely got a winner. It was a perfect fit in my '99 Ford Contour. I only needed a harness and the removal tool to remove the factory radio. Installation took only about 15 minutes. The sound is great. The AUX In works perfectly and has an audio level adjustment. RDS is a nice touch especially for travel.
Also, the reception on FM is fantastic. I pick up all sorts of "fringe" stations that my other car radios (One a Ford factory radio and the other a JVC) barely pick up.
I am very pleased with this purchase.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Can't beat it for the money

01/27/2012
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great head unit for the money. You truly won't find a better deal elsewhere on this model than walmart.com. It lacks a few features that the higher end units have, but I am not running a massive sound system in my car. I paired this up with two 6.5" and two 6x9" scosche HD speakers in my 2001 honda civic. It is very loud and sound quality is good. I gave 4 out of 5 because you are somewhat limited in customizing the sound. No adjustments of low and high mhz. Just generic low, mid and high level adjustments. The eq presets do get you close to the sound you desire and you can adjust those as well. Also has settings to adjust gain on subwoofer out and aux in. Overall, a great buy and I would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Great Inexpensive unit

01/18/2011
By ,
Vero Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased & installed 2-weeks ago. was looking for an inexpensive stereo, but still having quite a few Bells & whistles, and this one was perfect.performs awesomely! $80.00 well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Works great

03/04/2011
By ,
Patterson, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installed this stereo about a week ago and it works perfectly. It's easy to use and is a great value for the price. I would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Outstanding!!!! worth every dollar

12/19/2011
By ,
Horsecave, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
exactly what i was looking for, i replaced the factory unit in my 1994 Pontiac grand am with the Sony Xplod and was very pleased with the result. crystal clear sound, great volume levels (if you love your tunes loud) excellent bass and EQ settings along with a sleek clean look. considering my dash and console back lights are red, it looks awesome. installation was extremely easy and only took around 15-20 min. you can play all types of CD's and it usually even displays the title of songs from copied discs, which i was very impresses with. The unit is inexpensive, effective and looks awesome. Overall an outstanding product well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Great product for such a low price

11/12/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've enjoyed this receiver a ton. It amped up my sound and I love it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
0points
Review 17 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Awesome system for the price.

02/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Sony Xplod to replace a burned out Casio in my niece's 1994 Ford Ranger PU. I'm fairly well acquainted with 12v wiring, but I had never wired a car stereo before, so I was a little apprehensive. Sure enough the wire harness from the Casio was different than the Sony. I didn't know about Metra products, so I slowly but surely worked my way through the install using the labeled wires on the car side of the system and the wiring guide included with the Sony. After two hours I had everything set and, by golly, it worked like a charm. Rock solid install and all features working as expected. My niece loves the new and improved appearance of the Sony and the new and improved sound it produces. Celtic Women BELIEVE was the first CD played in her new Sony Xplod! What a memory...!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in
01/18/2012
By ,
Norfolk , Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my factory cd player that just stopped workin in my 04 Explorer. The value is great, the place where i went to have it put in was selling it for $124.00. And the quality is great, sounds really nice. It was a well worthy purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Great Stereo for the price

12/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this stereo for my 17 year old son - he loves it - the sound is good, easy functions, really a good buy for the price - I am thinking I will buy another one for my car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 20 for Sony Xplod CDXGT25MPW Car CDmp3 Receiver with AUX in

Does the job

01/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cd player does the job, and it very reasonably priced. I woul recommend it to anyone wanting a basic cd player w/ a aux input.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next