Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Schwinn Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Gear up your cycling adventure with the Schwinn Thrasher adult bike helmet. This stylish bicycle helmet is carefully designed to provide safety and comfort. The dial fit adjustment, easy-to-adjust webbing, and adjustable strap offer a secure comfortable fit. The removable visor protects your eyes. The bicycle helmet has 20 integrated flow vents allowing free air circulation to keep you dry. An added feature of the Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet is the LED safety light at the rear end. It can be easily turned on by pushing the center of the light. On first push, it enters the flash (blinking). With the second push, it glows steadily making the bicycle rider easier more visible to motorists. The third push switches it off. This safety LED helmet ensures safety while riding after dark.
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%78 out of 81reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Great fit; Appearance lacking

08/16/2013
By ,
Dallas, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First, I completely understand the excellent value of this product. I ordered it online as ship to store. I was notified that it arrived one day early. It was shipped in a huge box, after first, I thought the order was wrong. The reason for the large box was the packing material. It was clear that no one wanted this helmet damaged in shipment.
After returning home, I take the helmet out of the plastic and was instantly disappointed. The plastic covering on the helmet was not flat against the Styrofoam. You could tell that the plastic was not properly placed on the Styrofoam and I could push on the ripples of the plastic. That was just disappointing.
On the positive side, the fit was good. I like the led, even though if does not feel like it will survive for very long.
I would not recommend this purchase without seeing the final product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

good

03/30/2014
By ,
OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love it go get it you will like it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet
09/22/2011
By ,
Northampton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I should probably wait until I actually put it to use before reviewing this helmet, but I am extremely excited that it actually fits my head perfectly. I have a small-ish head and it actually fits! I've had a difficult time finding a helmet that fits. It has pads (though a bit on the thin side) that are removable (perhaps for the larger-headed folks). I passed out, crashed into a stop sign and put a pretty large hole in my previous helmet. EMTs said that, from the size of the hole in my helmet, it was obvious I would have seriously injured my head had I not been wearing a helmet. (Wear helmets, people!) After that, I was researching helmets, and read several places that a relatively inexpensive helmet from Walmart (or the likes of Walmart) worked just as well as the pricey helmets in bike shops. So I'm hoping that's true. It definitely feels good and sturdy and, again, the fact that it fits my head is great. And, yes, the price sure beats the price of those at the bike shop.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Good product, bad service

05/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The helmet has good adjustment, fits well and is comfortable. Since this is my first bike helmet I can't rate how well it will last. However, I selected it because I needed a helmet and the availability of this one at my local store was listed as "available as early as today". I assumed that meant.....well that I could order it online and pick it up immediately. Noooooo. It was two weeks before it was available for pickup. Since delivery is a significant component of an online sale I feel it's appropriate to include it in the review of the product so others will be aware that availability should be verified before purchase if the delivery time is important.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

helmets

08/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, better then i expected. I like it anlot for the cost
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

It Saved My Bacon!

07/09/2011
By ,
Baxter, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet almost 1 year ago, I wear it every time that I ride and I ride daily in the summer months 10-20 miles. I purchased it because it fit and was comfortable on my large head. I don't use the light as I keep the batteries fresh so that I can use it should my bike tail light fail on a night ride.
My helmet worked, it "saved my bacon!" I crashed at about 12 mph and I landed on my forehead on the pavement and my helmet was there. The helmet visor stayed on and bent down over my eyes at impact and prevented serious eye injury, and it gave my left cheek bone some protection. My forehead and face hit the pavement so hard that my glasses frame cut into my face above and below my left eye (now a black eye), yet the lens is not even scratched as it was under the visor, the helmet and it's visor took the head and face road rash and absorbed a bunch of the impact energy. I wish that the rest of my body had been protected as I suffered cracked ribs, sprained wrists, road rash, and more.
I am also grateful that I took the time to properly adjust the helmet and the helmet straps as the helmet did it's job, and I woke up with the helmet on and still in place. I was unconscious for a short time and in the hospital for one night, it was a bad crash.
A word to the wise, check your bike out before each ride! My accident was caused by the front fender coming off and jamming between the tire and the fork which locked up the front wheel. The bike went end over end tossing me off head first..... not nice! I should have caught the loose nut and fender attachment bolt before the ride, and the nut will be replaced with a self-locking nut.
I will be buying a new Schwinn Thrasher Helmet before I ride again, mine looks beat up and maybe usable, but isn't this all about safety?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

great value for price.

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfortable fit with adjustable strap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Unworthy of the Schwinn name. Complete garbage.

08/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What can I say?
1) Misthreaded straps so one side has a twist (the side that cannot be untwisted).
2) LED light, DOA
3) "removable visor"- the holes it snaps into are hand made with a hot nail, badly, off center, and from the inside out. I predict you can remove the visor and reattach it just a few times before it becomes permanently removed.
1) really kills it right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Basic helmet but not for larger heads

08/02/2014
By ,
Idaho
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Some reviews stated that this helmet would work for both smaller and larger heads. It does work for smaller heads as the band can be tightened to fit. But it is too small for large heads. We bought two of these online without having the ability to try them first. One fit my wife's head properly but it was far too tight for my larger head. The adjustment strap did not make any difference as the mold of the helmet itself was too small. If you have a larger head, I would suggest that you purchase a helmet that comes in sizes or at least try the "one size fits all" helmet before you purchase one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Good Value

06/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried another brand of helmet but had difficulty with proper fitting. This helmet is easy to adjust and feels good while wearing it. There is a lack of instruction concerning the light, but you turn it on or off by pushing the red lense. Push once it blinks, push again it's on steady, again it's off.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Comfortable helmet

08/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It makes me feel comfortable. It is easy to adjust the size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

great product

08/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price ~ brand name ~ fits great !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

LOVE the helmet

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The helmet fits perfectly! I'm glad I bought it. It came right on time (no hassel) ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Seems like a great value for a beginner biker.

08/02/2014
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The helmet has two easily adjustable straps for the shape of your head and vertical adjustment. The padding and quality of materials seem good and the red light on back is a plus. The price was great. I read that you should replace your helmet every three years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Good Solid Bicycle Helmet For Large Adult Heads!

07/21/2012
By ,
Bremerton, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a large bike helmet for my large adult size head. After careful research of the reviews, this was a perfect product. Easy to fit and adjust with room to spare. Was impressed with the large number of air vents. Took it out for a road test and you really do feel a whole lot cooler in it. It does however have one minor flaw and that is the cheap led light in back. The instructions in the Wal-Mart Product Page are correct in how to properly operate it. The tiny led is in the center with two square grids above and below of the center led. The red cover has a tiny white plastic button with a carbon dot in the center. You will have to make certain to have it fit on one grid or the other. Once you know where to place the plastic white plastic button is on the inside lid. You will have to press that spot "GENTLY BUT HARD" for each function. The red led light was only a secondary concerned to me. My primary concern is a good solid helmet that fits, and provides decent protection. That is exactly what this helmet does. With all the crazy drivers out there can you not afford to have it. Cheaper than a Doctor or Hospital Visit. Good Solid Product. I am happy about this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Excellent design and value

07/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very clever design with enough adjustments to fit perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Comfortable Fit On Big Head + Nice Light

07/15/2013
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had tried on a number of bike helmets before finding this one on the shelf at my local store. I have a large (adult) head and this one fit great - I even had to use the easy adjustment to make it a bit smaller! The small rear red light is an added bonus that I use when dusk/night riding on neighborhood streets. At first I was concerned that the light batteries would be expensive to replace, but I found a pack of 10 for less than two bucks (delivery included) on the big "A" sales site. Overall, I am a Happy Biker with my helmet (and I learned that it is actually cooler to wear than my typical sweat-soaked ball cap!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

awesome helmet

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great price for the helmet
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Good helmet

07/06/2014
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This helmet is fully adjustable, so it is comfy. It seems like it would provide good protection in a fall. The light on the back of it is an added bonus and definitely comes in handy for night driving.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwinn Thrasher Adult Bike Helmet

Great Buy!

08/20/2013
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a female & I was looking at the Pink, female, thrasher helmet. The differences between the two are:
1.) the color
2.) the men's helmet also has a blinking/steady safety light on the back. I chose this version for the blinking/steady safety light. For better visibility on cloudy days, dawn & dusk, I also applied strips of white reflective tape on the white molding.
This helmet also has an adjustable turn knob in the back which allows the helmet to fit nice and snug. The numerous air vents keep my head cool as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next