Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike

Your child can explore new levels of dirt biking on the Mongoose Girder 20-Inch Boys' BMX Bike. The unique design looks sharp and stylish without compromising on its performance. The kids BMX bicycle has a strong steel frame that is ready for action. All terrain tires mounted on alloy wheels tackles most surfaces with panache'. And its suspension fork makes sure that bumps in your ride dont affect you adversely. The Mongoose Girder 20 inch bike offer you spot on braking with its rear disc brake. The Girder is a terrific choice for your child's outdoor fun.
Average Customer Rating:
4.053 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation79%15 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike

Unique frame - very good for the price

05/03/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my son and would have given this 5 stars except it came with a defective rear tire (have another one on order), otherwise it was very easy to assemble and looked great. I was pleasantly surprised with the design, finish, and quality of the girder frame and components used along with the suspension fork. Not many kids in the neighborhood will have this particular model since it is only in a limited number of Walmart stores making this bike unique while performing very well. The rear disc brake is very effective with an even feel to it as you pull the lever unlike a conventional side-pull that gets progressively harder as you try to stop the bike. Overall this bike appears to be very durable and its simple and functional design without the wild paint schemes and stickers should last many years without going out of style. Many older teens ride 20" bmx and freestyle bikes so a young pre-teen rider will be able to grow with this bike if he takes good care of it. Parents should get their money's worth out of purchasing this neat bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Review 2 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike

SO FAR SO GOOD

07/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 years old - 140lbs and the bike hasn't broken so far! Bunny hops and wheelies hasn't made the bike fall apart yet. Recommended for minor stunning but still need to be careful with the bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Review 3 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike
06/01/2011
By ,
Canton, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bike for our son for his 13th birthday. Was shipped quickly and arrived quickly! Had to put together but was simple. Son loves bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 4 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike
12/26/2010
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a few problems putting it together. Other than that it has been great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 5 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike

great special gift

12/25/2010
By ,
lehigh acres, fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my grandson picked this bike, and he loves it. i'm glad i got it at a good sale price. all bikes i bought had been mongoose. S.R. FLORIDA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike

Christmas present for my Grandson

12/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike looks great and arrived very quickly. My Grandson had picked this out online for his Christmas present with an asterisk and a note saying " Must Have". I am sure he will be thrilled!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 7 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike
01/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for 8 year old grandson. Right size & great quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 8 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike
12/19/2011
By ,
Port Saint Lucie, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this Bike like a month and a half ago and from the first time ridding it, the brakes barley worked. So like two months after i bought the bike I was ridding pretty fast and this little thing that connects the crank arms to the sprocket ripped right out. Now I weigh and that thing can't support my weight. The Bike will last a month but then it’s pretty much worthless. Its goanna cost me more money to fix it, then to just save up a little more and buy a good Bike. So, yeah! I would buy this bike only for a little kid that can ride it slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike
01/09/2011
By ,
Indep, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought it for my 14 year old son for christmas he loves it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 10 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike
12/24/2011
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The back sprocket broke twice on me. The ball bearings fell out and the pedals would not pedal. I got a new part with the warranty the first time and when it happened again to me I requested a refund on the bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 11 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike
12/28/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have you bought this Bike? No? Then so much lucky you. This bike only look good and stylish. But not a good long-lasting Bike. I have bought one for my little son who is 14 years old. But everyday i have to cost something for this Bike purpose for it's repairing. Sometime i have to change some parts of this Bike. It is not cheap at all. Don't recommend for anybody for bought this Bad stuff. I am a sufferer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Review 12 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike

20" bikes

01/10/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
when we went to pick up the bike, we realized that the bikes were going to be too small so we bought 2, 26" bikes instead. We found that they were sold to us with "rotton" tire tubes. We would have returned them for replacement but unfortunately I haven't found my receipt yet. Not very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-29points
Review 13 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike

Awesome Bike!

05/29/2012
By ,
Union Gap, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for my 12 year old son after he picked it out online as to the one he liked the most out of them all and he is loving it. He put it together on his own, dad checked it out after just to make sure all was correct, have had no problems with it yet. Very happy with purchase! :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike
12/26/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike and I rode it a few times on some skateboard ramps but after ramping it about 3 times in one day the chain started breaking off!! And I rode it the next day and the back wheel came loose and bent to the side where it wouldn’t move and I can’t fix it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 15 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike

good value

12/04/2012
By ,
Shelton, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for my 10 yr old grandson for Christmas. When it arrived the box was crushed by UPS but this was to be expected by UPS. Upon opening the box we found the bike to be in good condition and it met my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike
01/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike for good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Ratings-Only Reviews for 20" Boys' Mongoose Girder BMX Bike
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5