Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

The Men's All-Terrain Mongoose Deception features 29" wheels that roll over rocks, stumps and roots easier than standard-size wheels. That means more fun and less wipeouts. With details you expect such as disc brakes, front suspension and a tough, alloy frame, this bike delivers a great riding experience, for less. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation78%28 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

Lots of bang for the buck!

11/12/2010
By ,
Michigan's upper peninsula
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great way to enter the 29er world! Lots of fun on this bike, I set it up myself! Can serve as the basis for a build-up as the frame seems to be well built. Not a 1000 dollar bike but what you get is Super! Weak points are the derailleurs and the seat but that is what upgrades are for! Works well as a Single speed too.... ☺
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HAMPTON Va.
deception seatpost size?
Posted 07/06/2011
Does anyone out there know the exact size of the seatpost diameter on the deception 29er?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

BEST BANG FOR UR BUCKS!!

09/27/2011
By ,
LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bad bike i did some upgrades check out the pics.im sixone twoeighty lbs and it holds up with no problem,definetly not a trek or giant etc.. but it will keep up and it wont break your wallet
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

29" Mongoose Deception

04/03/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent a month researching my purchase. Looked at all Walmart, T*rg*t and eB*y options as well as local high end bike store with Spec*alized and Cann*ndales...had to compromise on shifter system for the dual disc setup. Had to travel across all of Miami to get this particular model. Picked it up and a few hours later took a 2 hour ride from Brickell to South beach and back. I rode down the stairs of the American Airlines Arena and the bike behaviour was wonderful. The shifting is bad and not from lack of adjustment, gripshifters are just bad..but I compromised and plan to upgrade through online vendors later, seeing as that I was on a budget. Impressive bike though, very solid. Brakes works great! I carried the bike with one arm up the stairs of the arena with normal effort... so the weight was suprisingly low; about the same as my buddy's Specializ*d. I think that even with the shifters, I got more than I expected for the money. I give it 4 out of five stars for having to compromise on the shifters, but you'll have to spend a heck of a lot more for anything better...good luck with that.
The Walmart website was also very helpful with finding the models I wanted to see in my city..first time I used the website and certainly not the last..good job Walmart...Better photos of the shift units would have been good, but you are one of the few vendors that list the weight of the bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Review 4 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

good for the money

02/17/2011
By ,
Carlsbad CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is the second 29 inch mongoose I bought from walmart, the first was the impasse
I use one bike in coastal carlsbad, ca and one in palm springs, ca
like the impasse the gears were a little hinky but worked it out, I had a problem with the impasse gears and pacific cycle shipped out all replacement parts at no cost IMM which I was able to re-install myself
I switched out the skinny seat, but a month later tried it again and like it the second time, so I wasted $30 on a second seat
I am a big guy, 6/3 190, and I think these are exceptional bargains, if I ever get filthy rich maybe I'll buy a $2,000 29 incher, but these are OK bikes for now
my wife is also tall and leggy, so she rides them as well and I think I'm going to need to buy another one for her, if they made a lighter bike than 38 pounds that would be good for her, but so far they don't
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

A bike for the rest of us.

05/07/2011
By ,
Cortez, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike a few weeks ago and so far I love it. Iam by no means an experienced mtb rider, but as a novice I have really loved this ride. At first it felt a bit tall, and shorter riders may want to try it first but the rest is all good in my book. Shifting is smooth, braking is firm and responsive, overall feel is solid. I have been using this bike to get to work and recreational events around town quite regularly and it has been great. I even live in a very mountain bike friendly town where you see TREKS, SPECIALIZED, and CANNONDALES everywhere and I have had lots of folks ask where I got mine b/c they want one. Great price point for the quality you receive. I would recommend this bike to friends and family, and a nice 29" addition to those who might not like the height, but if you want a bike that can handle hard trails and deep drops, maybe you should look in the $500 range, but thanks to mongoose there is a bike for the rest of us.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

This is a 7 out of 10 for the price

12/05/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had the bike tuned at a shop and shifters are acceptable. The disc brakes to not allow enough of an adjustment so they both drag some. I guess the pads will wear down after a while. The front shock is garbage and will need to be replaced. A fixed fork would be an improvement. The front rim had to be trued since it had a woble out of the box. I do city riding and there are many curbs to go over which was the reason for this bike. The appearance is good once the decals, reflectors, kickstand are removed. The fit is perfect for me; 6'01" @ 205 lbs. The price is right and am confident I can get half my money back after a few years of riding. I would not buy another one of these but the price was right and will get my money's worth. Cost with tax and tune up $225.00
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 7 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike
12/23/2010
By ,
Telluride, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bike dummy's no brainer...29 inch tires eat up the trail...even in shape riders have a hard time keeping up...could be lighter but for $200 a steal...300 miles on mine and looking good...this bike changed my life and attitude about riding...have fun with yours
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 8 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

Well worth the money

10/28/2010
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The deception has decent wheel sets and tires Modus and innovas. It comes equipt with a derailer hanger, the bike weighs 33.7 lbs after you remove the kick stand, thats great for a wal-mart bike and being a 29er, The feature I would to pass on to others is it travels down the trail just fine and I dont baby it, I would recomend getting it professionally tuned.The grip shift max's twist shifters work good after they break in , And the Shimano tourney derailers are not bad,The element front forks are stiff which is good you can always up grade in the future.Hats off to wal-mart putting a decent 29er on the rack. Over all great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

Woww

05/05/2011
By ,
mesa az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I had just broken my THIRD wal-mart bike, and returned all three hassle free, when I paid the extra for the deception. obviously it looks mean, but again, cheaply made so. the cool orange on teh rim that says 29er is a sticker that peels itself from the rim imminently. I taco'ed a rim riding in soft dirt calmly, snapped a chain, and had a crank arm come loose (week one, all seperate). they gave me an identical replacement with no hassle, maybe because they love me. anyway the wal-mart staff is great and they have a good warranty.. i would not reccomend this bike without a couple hundred to reinforce some of the hardware if you ride hard, jump, dh, or acceelerate with alot of power.. but i still love the bike and as i progress as a rider im gonna replace parts with better ones. good frame. btw i love the 29's for commuting a mile to school and around campus for fun! and mines green
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

A Great Starter All-Terrain Bike

01/22/2011
By ,
Luling, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK - here's the scoop. I'm 56 years old and somewhat out of shape - I am 5' 8" tall and weigh 165. I want to get back to about 153. I was looking for a decent bike to get out of the house and exercise. I bought the Mongoose Deception 29er at Wal-Mart on 1/19/11 for $199.00 plus tax, license, and title. There is one more Mongoose Deception in stock at my Wal-Mart store in Boutte, Louisiana. I put my hand on it this evening.
I love this bike.
I was not a bike rider before. I live in Southeast Louisiana, so mountains are non-existent. This bike is great.
By my estimation, I stole this bike. It has a great aluminum alloy frame - HUGE FRAME - Modus hubs, Cross 29 rims w/36 spokes, and Innova tires. It has Primaxx front and rear disc brakes. It is a 21 speed bike.
This bike was made in China - it boasts a Pacific Cycle sticker close to the BB. It is a solid frame of aluminum alloy.
It comes with a load of decals that are not very well applied - take a hair dryer and peel them off - then wipe it down with lighter fluid to remove the goo. Mine is matte very dark green - looks great. Front fork is an Element spring-type assembly (can't be adjusted) - not great (from what I read on forums) for real mountain trails - but just fine for street riding around my FLAT neighborhood.
All things considered, for what I wanted (and got), this is a nice bike. It rides great around the neighborhood and even on the few off pavement excursions I have taken. I know the MTB purists watch these Wal-Mart reviews, and they might chuckle about this particular review on their forums, but this bike is a great starter bike. It also lends itself well to upgrade, because the frame is solid and light and well constructed.
I Goggled a bit about tuning, and I've been able to correct a couple things, but the front wheel needs to be trued, so I might find a local shop to do it.
To the MTBR forum gurus - well, it is what it is. I'm not planning on a trail ride any time soon, so my Deception will serve my purposes just fine - ride the streets and woods and get back in shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 11 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

Great Bike

03/19/2011
By ,
Hilliard
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lets see, the pros for this bike is the price and the fact it has disc brakes and its a 29er. The con is that its not the lightest and you will def have to have it tune it up at a shop. The ppl at wally world arent the greatest when it comes to putting stuff together. The rear derailur is ok for the time being but the front is a immediat must. Shocks are great for messing around but PLEASE dont take this out camping and think that you can rock out the downhill trail. So in time replace the shock, go to craigslist and you prob can find a decent 29er front shock. Oh and most important, take some goo off and take the tacky looking stickers OFF.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 12 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

great bike for the price!

04/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought genesis 29er first!total junk.Road a block and literally fell apart.shocks blew out the seal!Took back to walmart and got deception.AWSOME BIKE!I am 6ft2 and 260pnds.Bike handles me well ,shifts great and built way tougher than genesis.Bike has had no problems.Mongoose puts kent to shame!for tall guy perfectly fine!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 13 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

Best bang for your $$

04/12/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Visited several LBS and couldn't touch anything close to the features (front and rear disk breaks, 29er in general) you find on this bike for anywhere near this price.
I'm new to Mountain Biking and haven't ridden any bike in close to 15 years but I couldn't be happier.
Took it off road on 12 miles of light trails today. Performed with flying colors!
Highly recommend getting it tuned at your LBS.
Being a big guy 5'11" 250lbs this bike was a great find!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

great product

03/31/2011
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really good quality for the price, this is not a pro, but for someone who will ride with the family on the weekends, is a great choice, if you ar from 5.5" all the way to 6.4" this is the bike, there is not a lot of good bikes out there for $199.00 with a huge frame, all Shimano parts and 29" wheels, mainly for tall people this is the one, I just got one today and a love it, Price/Size/quality = perfect, that is what I need
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

Great bike

11/29/2010
By ,
Grand Forks, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Currently going to school in eastern North Dakota. I was hesitant to spend $200 as opposed to a $80-150 bike, but glad I put out the extra cash. The climate has been in single digits and so far (will go into the -30s in a few weeks) nothing has gotten terribly out of alignment or wacky. 29'' wheels cuts through several inches of snow no problem! Only complaint that I have to agree with others are decals are cheap and tacky looking. Both rear and front quick disconnects are great because I have a small car. Not a big deal but doesn't come with water bottle holder, but does have the pre drilled holes and screws. My only concern for this bike is theft!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

Awesome Bike

05/21/2011
By ,
albany Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay i will say yes it has some cheap parts on it but out of the box this bike rides smooth. and you have to think it will need to be tuned up alot of bikes at walmart just get put together and made sure they work it might need to be fine tuned but for $199 you cant go bad to enter in the world of 29ers i have had mine for some months now and i ride it hard everyday and it has held up great and this bike is completly upgradable i have done some upgrades on mine and just makes this solid bike ride that much better.. In my opinon you cant go wrong with this just make sure to get it tuned after you buy it...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

A good way to start

11/03/2010
By ,
Oklahoma City OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have ridden this bike hard off trail..
Once you get everything dialed in it works great..
I have crashed it hard twice with no damage other than to myself..
For $200 It can't be beat!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 18 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

Great Bike/Fantastic Value

03/25/2011
By ,
Flower Mound, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look - I'm a realist - I knew that I wasn't going to get a top of the line bike at WalMart for any price - but this bike is rugged, has disc brakes front and rear, great tires - and the guys at the WalMart bike shop set it up for me.
I am a big guy - 295 - 6'2" - so I needed a tough bike. I have had two other WalMart bikes in the past and I wore them out - literally - with close to 5K on each bike.
My wife and I do daily rides to stay in shape and on weekends ride the local trails. This bike is rugged, dependable and predictable. As long as you know that this isn't a Trek mountain bike and go in with WalMart expectations then you can't go wrong.
This is a great bike for the money. I upgraded the seat to a bigger/wider/softer model and removed the stickers. Fantastic value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

Meets more than expectations!

04/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike works great other than the fact that I had to change the front shocks. The 200 dollar price is unmatched and after a month of utterly over using the bike, trail after trail, I have no issues with it so far. 6'2 219pounds Miami, Florida
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for 29" Men's Mongoose Deception Mountain Bike

deception 29er bargain!

01/30/2011
By ,
central texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this bike is a bargain! why? because you get a relatively stiff frame with an approximate stand over height of 30" and a 1 1/8" head tube. the welds are solid. the fork is short travel so when you upgrade (not "if") take it into account. components are "throw away" in my opinion but if $ is a factor or you just want to have fun hot rodding an inexpensive bike, the mongoose deception 29er is a great place to start. and the kickstand is good for roasting marshmallows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next