Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Van Ness Cat Litter Pan

Van Ness Cat Litter Pan

Contain your cat's litter in the Cat Litter Pan with high sides. The kitty litter pan is made by Van Ness and is constructed of durable plastic and contains 20 percent recycled content. It is available in blue or pink. The giant cat litter tray is 20.5" x 17". The kitty litter pan is made in the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.77 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%87 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
18
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cat Litter Pan

BIG cat needs a BIG pan!

01/03/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently adopted a special needs cat. She is quite large. She uses Her pan everytime but likes to go on the edge/sides ... not the middle. The only big pan I could find did not have high enough sides so I was constantly soaking up/cleaning my wood floor. Petco wanted a small fortune for a pan with high sides (over $20) and it was not as big (W/H) as this great pan. I went to Walmart.com and found this pan in seconds. I ordered it at 5am and at 930am it was ready for pick-up at the large store up the road. The ad states it comes in two colors (pink/blue) and I really did not want a pink one but there was no way to highlight which one the buyer prefered. I was very pleased when I was presented a tan one. Works perfect ... no problems since and with the tall tapered sides one uses less litter (World's Best IS the best!). Thanks Walmart.com ... I am very pleased ... the pictures show me before and "Kiki" after ...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cat Litter Pan

Just what I needed

03/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I wanted, no cover to have to pull off or put back on. The sides are high enough for the boys that, well you know.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cat Litter Pan

Got 5 boxes, this is the one I'd recommend!

08/18/2014
By ,
CA and OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had 4 different litter boxes and THIS is the litter box I'd recommend:
* Perfect height -- prevent litter spills and "accidents"
* Corners and edges are rounded --scooping is easier
* Smooth surface -- inside surface is smooth w/c makes cleaning easier
For quick cleaning, I simply spray very mild lysol solution, then rinse w/ wet wipes -you can simply wipe coz the surface is smooth. For thorough cleaning, I soak w/ detergent. Among the 4 litter boxes I had, this is the easiest to wash.
FOR IMPROVEMENT: For this box to be really the BEST, the manufacturer should ADD an optional hood that is:
* easy-on, easy-off type -- for convenient scooping and cleaning
* w/ optional odor-filter
* w/ see-thru top -- clear-color see-thru top means easy to peek/check on the litter without lifting the hood, sides could be slightly see-thru also
* w/ see-thru swing door --optional and removable swing door
* and design the hood w/ 1-side hinge so it opens on its side to allow for convenient scooping
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cat Litter Pan

better than the standard litter pan

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had two of the smaller standard litter pans made by the same manufacturer, but I have a male cat who prefers to stand, so I had to rig up a weird plastic shield system to keep everything in the box. With this taller litter box, that is no longer as big of a problem.
Also helps cut down on litter scattering outside the box with its higher walls. I bought two to replace the shallower pans and a third to replace a smaller covered litter box that my cats don't like, I suspect because it's too confining.
The ideal litter box would have even higher sides than this one and all the way around (this box has a high side that slopes down lower where the entrance is) but still have an open top so the cat has plenty of room to stand and turn around but can't get anything out over the sides without unusual effort. This box isn't at that ideal yet, but it's a lot better than the standard litter box size.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cat Litter Pan

An improvement over the standard size litter boxes

05/30/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This litter box is much better than most litter boxes. Smaller ones don't catch everything and covered boxes tend to leak urine between the two sections. This would be perfect if only it were a little bit longer, wider, and just and inch or two higher. I also use storage totes, and they work pretty well also, they are very inexpensive as well. Companies need to keep thinking and re-designing, hopefully, eventually, they will get it perfect!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cat Litter Pan

Better, but not a complete success

08/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased three of these pans to replace three large but low pans. Two of our four cats will occasionally stand up to urinate. I don't know why. Neither is involved in marking territory and this is their only indiscretion. Unfortunately these pans are still not tall enough to catch completely all of the spray. I am beginning to think that I am going to have to make my own. They have, however, made a significant difference in litter kicked out of the pan. This is a welcome relief.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cat Litter Pan

Easy to clean and big for the money

08/27/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was expecting it to be small and cheaply made because of the low price, but it's good sized and made of thick plastic. The best part is that the surface is a lot smoother than the other 3 boxes we have (3 kitties). The super slick finish and curved corners make it easier to scoop since nothing sticks, helping the clumps stay whole.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cat Litter Pan

Great size!

07/02/2012
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never thought I would be extolling the virtues of a litter pan, but this one is great. We are a 3 cat household and, in keeping with recommendations, have 4 litter pans (1 per cat plus 1). Our little boy likes to stand at the very edge of the box to do his liquid business, and I had resorted to putting paper towels between the back edge of the box and the wall. This pan is large enough that I don't have to do that. Plus he's a big boy and he seems to like the overall size of this pan. We bought two, and will be buying two more. Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cat Litter Pan

Good litter box!

08/24/2014
By ,
Lafayette, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this box, and more importantly so do my cats. The sides are high enough that littler doesn't come flying out and the material is very smooth so the clumps comes off easy. This is a great product and a very good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cat Litter Pan

Excellent size and quality. Fabulous price.

08/31/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 cats who get very frisky covering their excretions in the litter box. I refuse to use a covered box or one with EXTREMELY high sides. This box is accessible from all sides, and the low side is a typical height so 99 % of cats can enter (exceptions would be small kittens and disabled cats). The high sides are very helpful.
I HAVE seen this on another web site in a gold color, which I would prefer. However it was significantly more expensive and did not have the convenience of pick up at a convenient nearby location with no shipping cost.
I think Walmart would sell more if they offered another color in addition to the blue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cat Litter Pan

Less mess with the higher sides

08/18/2014
By ,
Panama City, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the tall sides my cat can't sling the litter out on the floor anymore. So much better much less of a mess to clean up. It also seems larger in the pan where the litter goes, gives my cat more room. She had no trouble adjusting to this one, she uses it more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cat Litter Pan

Big container with 9" sides

05/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box was roomy with 9" on the high side and 6" on the low side. I wish the sides were even higher all around since my cat would scatter the litter outside of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cat Litter Pan

Good for a multi cat home

08/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice large litter box that is deep and good for a large kitten or grown cat. It is too big for my chihuahua puppy but will use it as a toy basket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cat Litter Pan

Cat litter pan

08/14/2014
By ,
Belchertown, Ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it. Deep enough to keep litter inside pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cat Litter Pan

Buy this Box!

05/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat is 15 lbs and needed a new litter box to fit his size. This high sided box is ideal for those cats who love to dig in the litter; the litter stays inside the box. Definitely cuts down on sweeping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cat Litter Pan

Great litter pan.

08/11/2014
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves it & so do the cats. Price was good also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cat Litter Pan

The best I've had!

06/27/2014
By ,
Melrose Park, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this pan because my larger cats were uncomfortable in their regular boxes. This one is larger and gives them the room they need. The sides are higher and that helps to keep in the litter. I have one covered pan because of its location, but they also want the choice of not having to climb in. This one is great! As I need to replace others, this will be my choice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cat Litter Pan

great for 3 cats!

07/22/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best Ive had in 8 years w/ my 3 indoor cats!Things come out easy and clean rather than sticking to sides and bottom.Also extra high.I use only the one for three cats and am totally happy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cat Litter Pan

Cat used it instantly

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent purchase, the high sides has completely stop my cat from "leaking" onto the floor. He sniffed it a few times, then started using it fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cat Litter Pan

Great product; great price.

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High sides keep litter and cat inside. This plastic is slick rather than textured and the scoop just slides really easily picking up clumps. Glad I got it. Great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next