Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Van Ness Cat Litter Pan

Van Ness Cat Litter Pan

Contain your cat's litter in the Cat Litter Pan with high sides. The kitty litter pan is made by Van Ness and is constructed of durable plastic and contains 20 percent recycled content. It is available in blue or pink. The giant cat litter tray is 20.5" x 17". The kitty litter pan is made in the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.789 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%109 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cat Litter Pan

BIG cat needs a BIG pan!

01/03/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently adopted a special needs cat. She is quite large. She uses Her pan everytime but likes to go on the edge/sides ... not the middle. The only big pan I could find did not have high enough sides so I was constantly soaking up/cleaning my wood floor. Petco wanted a small fortune for a pan with high sides (over $20) and it was not as big (W/H) as this great pan. I went to Walmart.com and found this pan in seconds. I ordered it at 5am and at 930am it was ready for pick-up at the large store up the road. The ad states it comes in two colors (pink/blue) and I really did not want a pink one but there was no way to highlight which one the buyer prefered. I was very pleased when I was presented a tan one. Works perfect ... no problems since and with the tall tapered sides one uses less litter (World's Best IS the best!). Thanks Walmart.com ... I am very pleased ... the pictures show me before and "Kiki" after ...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cat Litter Pan

Just what I needed

03/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I wanted, no cover to have to pull off or put back on. The sides are high enough for the boys that, well you know.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cat Litter Pan

Got 5 boxes, this is the one I'd recommend!

08/18/2014
By ,
CA and OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had 4 different litter boxes and THIS is the litter box I'd recommend:
* Perfect height -- prevent litter spills and "accidents"
* Corners and edges are rounded --scooping is easier
* Smooth surface -- inside surface is smooth w/c makes cleaning easier
For quick cleaning, I simply spray very mild lysol solution, then rinse w/ wet wipes -you can simply wipe coz the surface is smooth. For thorough cleaning, I soak w/ detergent. Among the 4 litter boxes I had, this is the easiest to wash.
FOR IMPROVEMENT: For this box to be really the BEST, the manufacturer should ADD an optional hood that is:
* easy-on, easy-off type -- for convenient scooping and cleaning
* w/ optional odor-filter
* w/ see-thru top -- clear-color see-thru top means easy to peek/check on the litter without lifting the hood, sides could be slightly see-thru also
* w/ see-thru swing door --optional and removable swing door
* and design the hood w/ 1-side hinge so it opens on its side to allow for convenient scooping
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cat Litter Pan

Great size!

07/02/2012
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never thought I would be extolling the virtues of a litter pan, but this one is great. We are a 3 cat household and, in keeping with recommendations, have 4 litter pans (1 per cat plus 1). Our little boy likes to stand at the very edge of the box to do his liquid business, and I had resorted to putting paper towels between the back edge of the box and the wall. This pan is large enough that I don't have to do that. Plus he's a big boy and he seems to like the overall size of this pan. We bought two, and will be buying two more. Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cat Litter Pan

better than the standard litter pan

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had two of the smaller standard litter pans made by the same manufacturer, but I have a male cat who prefers to stand, so I had to rig up a weird plastic shield system to keep everything in the box. With this taller litter box, that is no longer as big of a problem.
Also helps cut down on litter scattering outside the box with its higher walls. I bought two to replace the shallower pans and a third to replace a smaller covered litter box that my cats don't like, I suspect because it's too confining.
The ideal litter box would have even higher sides than this one and all the way around (this box has a high side that slopes down lower where the entrance is) but still have an open top so the cat has plenty of room to stand and turn around but can't get anything out over the sides without unusual effort. This box isn't at that ideal yet, but it's a lot better than the standard litter box size.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cat Litter Pan

Excellent size and quality. Fabulous price.

08/31/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 cats who get very frisky covering their excretions in the litter box. I refuse to use a covered box or one with EXTREMELY high sides. This box is accessible from all sides, and the low side is a typical height so 99 % of cats can enter (exceptions would be small kittens and disabled cats). The high sides are very helpful.
I HAVE seen this on another web site in a gold color, which I would prefer. However it was significantly more expensive and did not have the convenience of pick up at a convenient nearby location with no shipping cost.
I think Walmart would sell more if they offered another color in addition to the blue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cat Litter Pan

Great if stores had them in stock

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This litter pan is good sized for adult cats. Just wished the stores had them in stock as they used to so I wouldn't have to order online.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cat Litter Pan

Less tracking of litter

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My review title says it all. Do not know if this is the best out there, but it works the best of what I've had for my cat litter box.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cat Litter Pan

great for 3 cats!

07/22/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best Ive had in 8 years w/ my 3 indoor cats!Things come out easy and clean rather than sticking to sides and bottom.Also extra high.I use only the one for three cats and am totally happy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cat Litter Pan

LOVE the high sides!

03/14/2012
By ,
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE the HIGH SIDES of this litter pan! My boys (x3) can't kick litter all over the room anymore! : D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cat Litter Pan

Great size litter pan

08/28/2013
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this larger size cat litter pan, with higher sides in Ga., while visiting our son, and left it there for the future. Our cat that adopted us in Ga. last summer was now a year old, spraying outside of a normal height litter pan at times. Upon returning to VA., I tried to find the same higher side pan, without success, at 3 closer Walmarts. The only thing in store stock with high sides was the kind with the hood on it. I found the same one on-line, 1/2-3/4's priced less than thoses (that are nice) at Pet Smart, and ordered it with free shipping to the closer Walmart. It was the first time I have dealt with :to store order for pick-up" online, and it went smoothly. Notices were timely on cell phone and email, and the service was efficient and quick in the store. I will definitely not hesitate to order on line again for store pickup when it saves a shipping fee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cat Litter Pan

good buy

08/11/2013
By ,
Avenal Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my kitty went P in the other boxes sometimes it would go over the edge and end up in the floor. I thought she was mad and doing it on purpose. I accidentally saw her one day and she was in the box and doing what she was suppose to do, it just went over the edge as she had back up to the side. Hope this does not gross you out, but anyway the box with the higher sides is perfect and no more mess on the floor to clean up. Love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cat Litter Pan

An improvement over the standard size litter boxes

05/30/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This litter box is much better than most litter boxes. Smaller ones don't catch everything and covered boxes tend to leak urine between the two sections. This would be perfect if only it were a little bit longer, wider, and just and inch or two higher. I also use storage totes, and they work pretty well also, they are very inexpensive as well. Companies need to keep thinking and re-designing, hopefully, eventually, they will get it perfect!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cat Litter Pan

Large Litter Box

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The size of the box itself is much bigger than my litter box with a lid, and the high sides eliminates a lot of excess litter outside the box when they are covering, constructed of tough plastic, very sturdy. My male cat is huge and he is so happy to be able to jump in and out, before with the lid box, I could see how difficult it was for him to move inside the other box. You won't be disappointed...and Walmart thank you for making shopping on line a breeze, and delivery is always prompt.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cat Litter Pan

Nice, tall pan

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we have two cats and usually provide 3 litter boxes for them. they were really scattering litter out of the box, and these replacement tall-sided boxes are doing a great job of keeping the litter where it belongs.
Highly recommend!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cat Litter Pan

Really helps more litter stay in the pan.

05/07/2013
By ,
Siesta Key, FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty blue and liltter is easier to scrape than my older pans because the surface is smoother. Have to be careful with dimensions because some are not wide and long enough but this one is good. Higher sides help keep 80-ish% more litter inside after all of the covering and kicking done by my cats. Wish it came in other colors too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cat Litter Pan

Much better now!

04/22/2012
By ,
oklahoma city
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My three cats often mistake their litter boxes as play pens, and I was tired of constantly sweeping up bits of litter, sometimes mounds of littler. The higher sides of this litter pan are just the right height. I use two pans, with their lower "entry" sides facing each other, which avoids even more spillage. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cat Litter Pan

Great Buy

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's much larger and works so much better than standard litter pans. The price was extremely reasonable as well!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cat Litter Pan

Excellent Product

01/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it for my cat to replace the old litter box. There is no more mass around on a floor. I love it. Besides unbeatable prize it has great quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cat Litter Pan

New Kitty, New Litter box

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just adopted a new adult cat, and he came with a litter box, but it was way too small for him. I ordered this new litter box from Walmart, and I picked it up at our local store a few days later. It is a nice large one and has high walls on three sides so very little litter gets knocked out of it. It is easy to clean and air dries quickly. It is so much better than the one he came with.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next