Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Dorel Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

The Junior Metal Loft Bed is the perfect choice for kids' rooms as it saves space and is safe too. It is ideal for any small to medium-sized room. This sleek kid's loft bed with its trendy design will enhance any bedroom decor. It incorporates a one side-ladder and upper guard rails. Your kid can easily climb to the bed using this one sided ladder and the guard rails provide safety. The strong steel construction is highly durable and is complemented with an impeccable black finish. The contemporary twin loft bed accommodates one twin mattress and proves to be really comfortable for children to use. It withstands weights up to 225 pounds and is easy to assemble. You can even utilize the area underneath the bed to put stuff like bean bags, and other stuff. Save space without compromising on safety with this contemporary twin loft bed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.534 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
179
4 stars
68
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation95%252 out of 265reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 245 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
179
4 stars
68
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

This is an awesome bed

11/12/2012
By ,
Frederic, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bed and I took someone elses advice. I put curtains around the bottom and it makes a great hiding place not just for my daughter but for hiding her dirty clothes and blankets. It is nice and sturdy too and it isnt very high which is better so she doesnt hit her head on ceiling or to far if she falls she wont get hurt.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Love this Jr Loft

12/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of these for our girls for Christmas. THEY LOVE THEM!!! We didn't want them in a traditional loft bed. They are too high for my comfort. These beds are perfect. They are just the right height. They are high enough that both my 5 and 8 yr old can play underneath and customize their own spaces. The bed is sturdy and was pretty easy to put together. It took 2 of us just under 5 hours to do both beds. No complaints here. Looking forward to many years of enjoyment. Great product!! Great Value!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Nice bed

08/06/2012
By ,
Fond du Lac, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very sturdy and great height. We put our four year old in this bed as his first loft. It is sturdy enough, he could use it for years. Easy assembly, but did take a while. The clip design to support the mattress is very well done.
Not too high that we have to worry about him climbing up and down or falling out. I took the advise of another customer and bought a noodle to cover the stairs - worked great!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NYC
HOW CUTE IS HEEEEEEE!!!!!!!
Posted 03/03/2014
HERE I AM LOOKING 2 "UPGRADE" MY NIECE & NEPHEWS BUNK BEDS BUT WHEN I SAW UR SON ENJOYING HIS BED, I WAS SOLD. 4GET THE REVIEWS, THIS CUTIE PATOOTIES FACE SAYS IT ALL!!!!!!! THANK U ♥
0points
Customer Avatar
Houston TX
mattress
Posted 02/03/2014
whats size mattress do you have?...and do you still recommend it?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Pix of awesomeness included!

08/30/2013
By ,
pennsy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A few people asked for pix.... My daughter is 4'9" and underneath we got a 9-cube shelf that slides under perfectly. We wrapped steps in noodle/ducktape.
She loves her big bed & we're not afraid she'll hit the fan, even when she's sitting up straight in bed
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kentucky
Posted 07/08/2014
Where did you get the 9-cube shelf? It seems perfect.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Perfect bed for price - 7 year old Son Birthday

01/29/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed for my 7 year old son's birthday. I did a whole room makeover for him. The bed is great. He loves it. We put a Your Zone mini futon underneath and it is the perfect fit.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Excellent purchase!

03/27/2012
By ,
LV, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took 1 hour to assemble with extremely readable and easy to follow instructions. Sturdy bed. Very. Bought for my 8 yr-old's room that is so small and has so many toys that I was constantly at my wits end with the mess. It is not his fault when there is just too much to play with in the room and it all came from grandparents that would be insulted if we got rid of any of it. Without removing any items (just rearranging) his room now looks empty compared to before. Awesome bed!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Cool bed, good value

01/13/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've only had this bed for a little over a week but so far, so good. I purchased this for my 12 year old son & he likes it a lot. Site-to-store option was great & the bed arrived faster than expected. Parts were packaged well & instructions were easy to follow. We took the advice of another reviewer & added curtains attached w/shower curtain hooks to give my son a quiet, private space for reading, playing his Nintendo 3DS or doing his homework. We choose black cafe curtains which came two in a package. We also got a pool noodle for the rungs of the ladder. My son used duct tape to secure the length of the pool noodle to keep it from falling off the rung. I keep telling him that I'm jealous & I would've loved to have a bed like this when I was his age!
My only minor complaint is that the bed seems a bit wobbly. Not sure if or how this can be fixed. I also attached some rubber adhesive grippers to the bottom of each pole so the bed wouldn't move that much &/or damage our newly refinished 57 year old hardwood floors.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Exactly what I was looking for

12/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a way to maximize floor space for my 1 and 3 year old. Their beds had taken over the room and therefore their toys had taken over my house. I didn't want a typical bunk bed because the 1 year old isn't ready for a big bed and the 3 year old would just jump from the top. I saw this on a daily deal and snagged it right up and have enjoyed every moment since. Putting it together was only difficult because the husband refused to read the directions. It was very easy if you followed the labeled directions and pieces.
I put the pool noodles along the edge and the ladder but I don't think it is 100% necessary on the ladder. The intent was to provide more cushion for the 3 year olds feet as he climbed up. As you can see from the picture it does add more surface area to step on. It easily fits the toddler bed underneath as they grow I intend to just put the future twin mattress on the floor for the baby.
As others have said notice that the ladder can only be installed on the right side. There is no other way to configure it. This was not an issue for me because of the room layout but may be for others. No complaints about this bed at all.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great Bed even for toddlers!

01/11/2012
By ,
East Providence, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bed my daughter was due for a new bed and so we decided we wanted something space saving well i found this bed and i wanted to add a mini futon for under it and it was perfect the right height the right size and space for a space saver its still pretty big and its just like having a loft bed only mini my daughter is only 4 and she loves it we added the mini ur zone futon to under it and its just what she wanted so its like having a bunk bed but instead when she doesnt have a friend over she can use it as a couch every part was there it was easy to put together we had it done within an hour or less wanst keeping track it holds my husband and my daughter with the combined weight of 260lbs! which is great!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
your zone mini futon lounger, pink
4.3 out of 5(271)
 
 
 
 
 
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Based on everyone else's reviews, I bought it and,

02/11/2012
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to pick this loft bed up from the store. I was a little upset when putting it together because there was a few dents and the plastic links in the bottom middle were easily breakable, broke a few, everything came together in the end and I loved the end result. It's the perfect height for my 4 yr old daughter to climb up and I don't have to worry about her falling from very high up. She was totally excited and wanted to get on it right away. Her first reaction was that she can play underneath it!! I live in a one bedroom apartment and she isn't ready to sleep in a different room from me just yet, but this fit in my room just fine next to my bed with our dresser underneath it and she can now start transitioning to sleeping in her own bed. I'm excited to have my bed to myself and she's excited to call it her own bed. I am also expecting another girl in one month and I was able to find a crib that is just the right size to fit underneath it as a toddler bed when the baby is ready. I'm not going to make the same mistake with sharing my bed with my kids but I can have them both in the same room with me and they can each have their own beds to sleep in. I'm sure my Marine husband will appreciate our bed to ourselves when he gets back from Afghanistan!! Love it!! Best little kid investment, especially for a one bedroom apartment, by far!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great space saver for kids, Easy assembly

04/03/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box says its a 2 man job and should take about an hour and a half to assemble. I'm a single mother of two children, and after several failed attempts at getting help, I decided to do it myself. It wasn't too difficult, sure it would've been nice to have someone hold rails up while I screwed them in....but I managed to complete it in about 2 hours. I bought this bed for my 4 yr old son, we are currently waiting on the mattress that we also ordered from Walmart, so he's been fighting the urge to climb up on it for about a week now. It's perfect for small children who may be afraid of heights or for those who have a small bedroom. So far, we love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

GREAT BED!

02/23/2011
By ,
Bay area, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed was PERFECT size for my JUST turned 6yr old. He has no problem getting in and out of it. The quality is good. My Husband but the bed together in about 2 hours alone. we have had no issues with it at all! I truly love all the space we have now because of the bed. Can't bet it for the price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black
01/28/2012
By ,
Tonawanda, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 8 yr old son has a small room and when his storage bed was peeling apart I thought this would be a good replacement. I figured he could move his toy clutter from all over the room and store them underneath the bed. I know you can spend a lot more money on metal loft beds so we were happy with the price. I'm also happy this one isn't as tall as the other loft beds. It took us 2 hrs and 15 min to put together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great for my 5 year old

11/24/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 year old loves this bed. Not too high for his age and gives him lots extra floor room to play.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great army bunker!

03/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bed for my 7 year old. He was so excited to get it. Bought this on a Friday, arrived site to store by Monday. I put it together by myself in less then an hour and a half. Seems sturdy enough. Put my sons army tent around it and now he has a great little fort area as well. Still low enough to kiss him goodnight but high enough to make a great loft bed. Took the advice of other reveiws and put a pool noodle on the steps and put camo duct tape on it, works great. My son used to sneak out and sleep on the couch at night, but since we got his new bed he's slept there all night long.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

College apartment use

09/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only bought this with the intention of using it for a couple of years at my college apartment. I'm sharing a bedroom with one roommate. I bought it for the purpose of storage space; I bought a drawer from IKEA to put under the bed since I don't have much college space sharing a room. So for the storage space it's good, but I like to have friends over and in my room to hang out, so when they come over it's not very accommodating because they don't have options to sit except for my desk chair and the floor. Sitting on the floor under the bed would be fine but not on an actual seat or anything. Ultimately, it gives you options (storage) as well as limits them (sitting space).
May or may not be significant, but after it was built, even though it's a twin size, it appears to take up more space than a regular twin bed in an almost domineering way just because of the extra width with the bars on both sides and the little ladder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Buy this bed...you won't regret it.

09/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bed!!! First let me start by saying it holds up to 225lbs since it's not listed anywhere on this website. Secondly it calls for two people for the installation but I did it by myself. It took me about three hours, however, I'll admit I was trying to catch up on my DVR hours so that may have made a difference. Third, if you don't have it delivered you will need help getting it into the house. I live on the third floor and it wasn't pretty seeing my twelve year old and I hall it up two flights of stairs. It is, however, a great loft bed. Not too high off the ground to make you nervous but high enough to add storage or toys underneath. My 10yr old loves this bed. And for the $$$ it was worth the buy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
futon underneath
Posted 12/30/2011
i bought a racy pink futon on this website, can it fit underneath this bed
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

A Great Decision

06/09/2011
By ,
Western PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a super awesome bed! We bought 2 of them to go in the same room. You should know that the ladder has to be on the right side of the bed... there is no way to switch it. I put them together in about 5 hrs., including the time it took to get everything out of the box and lay it on the floor, so not bad. The second bed had several places with the paint chipped off, but my wife just painted over the areas with black nail polish and you can't tell a difference. There is 35 1/2" clearance under the bed for a dresser/desk/book shelf. We have more additional space than we expected. We had boxes of clothes under the old beds, and all of the boxes that were under both beds fit under one of these loft beds with lots of extra space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

great beds for the price!

08/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the perfect loft for younger kids as well as older. not too high, but high enough that you have room for storage underneath. my boys are 7 and 10 and they are perfect for them! pretty easy to put together
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great bed

10/21/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very impressed with this bed and the assembly instructions. I bought this bed for my 14 year old son. His room won't allow for a full size loft due to the ceiling fan. This was the perfect solution. We made the area underneath his "gaming headquarters" with his t.v. and x-box. I was very impressed with how organized and thorough the instructions were to assemble this bed. I just put together an IKEA bed for my daughter and this bed was so much easier. I'm a 42 year old mom and I was able to do it with just a little help from my 9 year old daughter. The bed feels very strong and sturdy, much better than a wooden one. The black finish is perfect for a teenage boy. I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 242 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next