Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Dorel Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

The Junior Metal Loft Bed is the perfect choice for kids' rooms as it saves space and is safe too. It is ideal for any small to medium-sized room. This sleek kid's loft bed with its trendy design will enhance any bedroom decor. It incorporates a one side-ladder and upper guard rails. Your kid can easily climb to the bed using this one sided ladder and the guard rails provide safety. The strong steel construction is highly durable and is complemented with an impeccable black finish. The contemporary twin loft bed accommodates one twin mattress and proves to be really comfortable for children to use. It withstands weights up to 225 pounds and is easy to assemble. You can even utilize the area underneath the bed to put stuff like bean bags, and other stuff. Save space without compromising on safety with this contemporary twin loft bed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.527 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(292 Reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
194
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation96%278 out of 291reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 256 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
194
4 stars
78
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Disappointing

09/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading the great reviews I decided to get this bed for my son. We ordered from Walmart.com since none of our local stores carry it. When the bed arrived (with the new mattress purchased seperately) I threw out my son's old bed and began putting it together. Turns out that one of the leg pieces is missing. It should have included legs marked A, B, C and D. What I got was B, C, D, D. Frustrating, but no biggy. I called the manufacturer on the manuel. The leg marked A is out of stock and they can't send it to me for 6 to 8 weeks. In the meantime my son has no bed. I'm very disappointed and irritated. I can't really review the bed, because I can't put it together but the company that makes the bed is slacking misreably. If you do purchase this bed for your child be sure not to throw out the old one until you have this bed fully assembled.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black
11/26/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am extremely happy with the purchase of this bed! I did not have too high of expectations for it considering how cheap it was. However, this bed is fantastic! This bed was bought for my 4 year old boy as a Christmas present (i gave it to him early), and it is perfect! I can sit under the bed with him and not hit my head, I'm 5'7. He has a bookshelf, a 3 tier bin with toys, a tv, and a kid spider man couch and there is still plenty of room for him to play and plenty of room for both of us to fit under there and watch a movie. I even added material around the bottom of the bed, created a door, and made him a "clubhouse" which he loves! also another thing i did was I used black zip ties and zip tied the ladder to the bed instead of using the screws provided, this way the ladder is flush with the bed instead of sticking out and it works perfectly this way, looks better i think, and you cant even tell that its done differently than its suppose to. The bed is sturdy and I feel will last our family a very long time. The only thing I'm not completely happy with is that the bed is a little wobbly. However for the price I am extremely happy with this purchase and recommend this bed to anyone. I put this bed together by myself while watching a movie and also put one of the rails on the wrong side and had to change it, and it still only took me about 2 hours to put together. LOVE THIS BED and so does my son.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

great for the price

02/11/2011
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed was the perfect height for my son. He wanted a loft bed with a hiding place. We saw a taller one in a store with curtains underneath making a fort. I attached 36 inch panels to the bottom of this and its just want he wanted. Great for the price and not too high that he would be afraid up there. Easy to put together and very sturdy. If he changes his mind a few years from now I won't mind because it didn't break the bank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

A+++

10/25/2010
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy! Love the bed. The shipping was fast; I got it in less than a week. Overall, a very painless process. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Just one minor problem with the bed

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the bed overall, it's sturdy and a good height for a child that is pre teen but not a toddler. The only drawback is the railings on the side that are meant to keep the child from rolling off when sleeping is a little too low if you have any kind of a thicker mattress. Luckily I had a bed rail that I purchased previously that I put on there when he's asleep so that he can't roll off . Other than that, I'm happy with the bed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great for younger kids (5+)

09/22/2012
By ,
Detroit, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far we are very pleased with this loft bed. I brought it for my 7y.o daughter. She has been asking for a bunk bed for some time now but her room is small so this is perfect. The instructions says it would hold up to 220lbs but Im not sure I would trust that. Over all is greatvfor my daughter I see us having it for at least another 4yrs. The space underneath is perfect for storage/playtime/"campsite".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Happy i purchased it, and my son loves it!!!

02/28/2013
By ,
Dallas, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was looking for a bed for my son to transition to from a toddler bed. it was the perfect bed for him. he is four and i was worried about it being to high for him but its perfect size and height for him. it took me 2 hrs to put together and it was pretty easy all my husband had to do when he got home was tighten the screws to make sure i had done it tight enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great loft bed for a reasonable price

10/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this loft bed for my 6 year old son based on the strength of the reviews. I was not disappointed. It is relatively easy to put together, is very sturdy and looks attractive in my boy's room. He loves it, I love it and it's wonderful to have created more space in my son's small room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

sturdy and easy to assemble bed

06/08/2013
By ,
near Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some of the other reviews, I was still *mostly* confident in purchasing this bed. All of us are very glad that we did. We bought one for my 11 yo son and one for my 8 yo daughter. First, it arrived before the promised delivery date. Second, it was neatly packaged with all parts clearly labeled. Even the bolts were all separately grouped in a blister pack according to size (no need to sort, and I could cut them out and label the cardboard backs for even quicker assembly). Next, the assembly went smoothly and quickly. A hex wrench was included and I only needed a Phillips head screwdriver for a few parts. The pieces were so easy to identify and match to the instructions for placement. I didn't time our build but I can say that the second one was so easy to put together after a slower run with the first, that I dare say the bulk of my time was spent simply making sure all the bolts were well tightened. The builds did require two people for ease; each child was my partner for his/her own bed. My only desire would be that the placement of the ladder could change, however this would negatively impact the very obvious ways each piece lined up with another. The kids have been sleeping on them for over a week and love them. They enjoy the extra space under the bed to play and they like that the bed is just high enough to feel like a bunk without worrying that their heads will hit the ceiling. Their only complaint is that the ladder hurts their feet. We will be putting some sort of foam over the bars to alleviate this. All in all we couldn't be happier. With the weight limit being 225, and the various ways the company has made sure the bed is sturdy, I feel confident that this bed will last the kids through high school.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black
10/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Easy to put together but would be even fsster with a partner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great for my 11 year old daughter

07/07/2014
By ,
Cottage Grove, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter loves her new bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Awesome!

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is very nice. It had two slats missing and a couple pieces of the frame were bent, but it still is a great buy!! Our four year old grandson was so happy !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Perfect bed for kids!

08/26/2012
By ,
Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed for our 5 year old son, and we couldn't be happier. It gives him the feeling of a bunk bed without being too high (plus it fits under our sloped ceilings!), and the space underneath is great. There's around 3' of height underneath, and we were able to put our futon underneath, so that he can sit there and read, and we have a place for company to sleep. It's easy to put together, but time consuming, took my husband by himself about 90 minutes, but it's sturdy, I'm really impressed. My only complaint is that we didn't buy two of them - because now his younger sister keeps trying to climb up to sleep!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black
01/30/2013
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My five year old loves his new bed. Clear directions and pretty simple to put together. Took aless an an hour and a half to do by myself. (I also had a 3 yr old and a 5 year old bouncing around me moving parts). It is good quality. The bars for support are close together so no need for a hunky board. He has a regular size twin mattress and there is still plenty of railing around to keep him safe. I love that it is about half the height of a bunk bed. It gives plenty of storage space. We have the feet of my other sons bed tucked under one side to make an L shape. It is also low enough to make his bed with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Excellent alternative to bunkbed!!

04/05/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a single mom and was able to put this bed together by myself in a couple of hours. It was easy and the instructions were detailed.
My son is five and is making the transition from a toddler bed; I wanted a bunk bed but they were too high for his comfort. The height of this bed is perfect - his toy chest and a bean bag chair fit with room to spare underneath, but it's not so high that he's frightened of falling out.
The bed is sturdy and there are none of the usual shimmy and shakes you get from metal furniture. He jumps up and down on it frequently and there are no issues with stability.
There are so many slats underneath that you do not need to purchase anything else to put under the mattress.
Just a note that the maximum mattress height you can use with this bed is six inches; anything higher compromises the safety with the rail height.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great value

09/15/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been looking for a low loft for my son for a while. We had looked at some that weren't made from wood that were 3 times as expensive but none of them were very sturdy and they reviews were awful. A solid wood bed was about $2000, which was way more than we wanted to spend. We found this one, read the reviews and decided to try it. My husband put it together easily. It is very sturdy and my son loves it!! It gives him so much more space in his room!! It was delivered quickly and in good shape with all parts. It is very sturdy and looks very nice in his room. This is a great value!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

We love it!!

10/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just moved into a new place and knew we needed to get our 6 year old a new bed. He wanted a bunk bed so much but I wasn't comfortable with it with a ceiling fan. So this was our compromise. HE ABSOLUTELY LOVES IT!! The ladder did hurt his feet but I already knew that was going to happen because of the other reviews. So a pool noodle and some duct tape did the trick!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Works for now.

03/10/2014
By ,
MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Good bed for adding extra room, however it is wobbly with my 100 lb son on it. Says it's good for up to 225 lbs. we won't be testing that limit any time soon. Hoping it lasts a couple years for him. Wish I had spent the extra money and got something that would be more than a "temporary bed", as I don't see this lasting too long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

5 year old loves this

09/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed was difficult to put together. The directions are clear, and each piece is labeled appropriately. Piecing the top together was difficult, we found it easier to tighten screws almost all the way so there was wiggle room when putting the last pieces together. This is chest height for me (I'm 5' 4") which is nice so I can tuck my son in and get a hug goodnight. There is room underneath for toys, but he has to duck to get under.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black
02/03/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 8 yr old son, a standard loft bed was to high, but this bed it the perfect height especially if u live in a trailer, and ur child has a tiny bedroom it opens up the floor space there is room for him 2 get up under there and play! I was concerned about the sturdiness of the bed but once it was 2 gether it is sturdy! The only complaint I have is the steps on the ladder hurt my sons feet...but tht is nothing tht can't be easily fixed! It was well worth the money! My son loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 268 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  14 Next