Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Dorel Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

The Junior Metal Loft Bed is the perfect choice for kids' rooms as it saves space and is safe too. It is ideal for any small to medium-sized room. This sleek kid's loft bed with its trendy design will enhance any bedroom decor. It incorporates a one side-ladder and upper guard rails. Your kid can easily climb to the bed using this one sided ladder and the guard rails provide safety. The strong steel construction is highly durable and is complemented with an impeccable black finish. The contemporary twin loft bed accommodates one twin mattress and proves to be really comfortable for children to use. It withstands weights up to 225 pounds and is easy to assemble. You can even utilize the area underneath the bed to put stuff like bean bags, and other stuff. Save space without compromising on safety with this contemporary twin loft bed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(275 Reviews) 250
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
185
4 stars
71
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation95%261 out of 274reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 250 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
185
4 stars
71
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great Loft Bed

01/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is also excellent for adults. It gives me room for my office and it doesn't squeak. The only downside is putting the bottom sheet on the mattress.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Perfect for little kids.

12/28/2011
By ,
Dayton, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the bed as a Christmas present for my 4 year old son. I didn't take it out of the box until Christmas Eve to put it together, there were scratches on the frame straight out of box, even though it was wrapped in plastic. I couldn't do anything about it at that point so just went ahead and assembled it. It's not near as sturdy as I thought it would be. Before I bought it I looked and it said the weight limit was over 200lbs, like 220 or something, but I'm well under that and I won't even attempt to get on the bed. The instructions weren't in a good order and not very detailed so became a little frustrating. Had to loosen screws on one thing to be able to put another thing on, after the first time I just tightened them enough for it to stay together then at the end went back through and tightened them all. I love that it's not super tall, perfect height for a little kid, he loves that he can play under it and we have even hung blankets to make the bottom a fort. I wouldn't recommend it for older kids though, I don't think it's as stable as they make it out to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great durable product!

12/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tall enough for a dresser to fit underneath but short enough for my scardy-cat kid to feel comfortable. Very well made & easy to put together!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black
08/07/2011
By ,
Sioux falls sd
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this loft! Perfect height for our upstairs room with slanted ceilings. Also not squeaky at all, I was worried it might be with all the metal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great space saver

01/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bed for my daughter's room which is small. Now she has a play area under the bed and we also sometimes put a small mattress on the floor under the bed for her sister to sleep underneath. I like the metal construction. It is very sturdy and I like how open and roomy it feels. I like it better than the equivalent wooden beds. I also like that it is a low loft bed rather than a full sized bunk bed. It is the perfect height for my daughter. It took about 2 hours to put together. It was easy to install. The instructions were very good and each piece is labeled with a sticker and letter. You can do most of it by yourselft, but towards the end you need two people to put the sides together. Nice bed at a great price and got free shipping through the Ship to Store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Good bed, great price.

07/29/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bed was for my son. I was hoping not to replace this bed in the next 10 years so weight limit was important. It is listed at 225 lbs which should last him a while. Very sturdy. Easy instructions and he loves it. We got black and there was not a mar on it. Do yourself a favor and leave the white warning sticker on the product. It is a pain to take off. Tons of room underneath for storage or a hideout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Works for now.

03/10/2014
By ,
MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Good bed for adding extra room, however it is wobbly with my 100 lb son on it. Says it's good for up to 225 lbs. we won't be testing that limit any time soon. Hoping it lasts a couple years for him. Wish I had spent the extra money and got something that would be more than a "temporary bed", as I don't see this lasting too long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Disappointing

09/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading the great reviews I decided to get this bed for my son. We ordered from Walmart.com since none of our local stores carry it. When the bed arrived (with the new mattress purchased seperately) I threw out my son's old bed and began putting it together. Turns out that one of the leg pieces is missing. It should have included legs marked A, B, C and D. What I got was B, C, D, D. Frustrating, but no biggy. I called the manufacturer on the manuel. The leg marked A is out of stock and they can't send it to me for 6 to 8 weeks. In the meantime my son has no bed. I'm very disappointed and irritated. I can't really review the bed, because I can't put it together but the company that makes the bed is slacking misreably. If you do purchase this bed for your child be sure not to throw out the old one until you have this bed fully assembled.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

great for the price

02/11/2011
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed was the perfect height for my son. He wanted a loft bed with a hiding place. We saw a taller one in a store with curtains underneath making a fort. I attached 36 inch panels to the bottom of this and its just want he wanted. Great for the price and not too high that he would be afraid up there. Easy to put together and very sturdy. If he changes his mind a few years from now I won't mind because it didn't break the bank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

A+++

10/25/2010
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy! Love the bed. The shipping was fast; I got it in less than a week. Overall, a very painless process. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Happy i purchased it, and my son loves it!!!

02/28/2013
By ,
Dallas, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was looking for a bed for my son to transition to from a toddler bed. it was the perfect bed for him. he is four and i was worried about it being to high for him but its perfect size and height for him. it took me 2 hrs to put together and it was pretty easy all my husband had to do when he got home was tighten the screws to make sure i had done it tight enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

sturdy and easy to assemble bed

06/08/2013
By ,
near Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some of the other reviews, I was still *mostly* confident in purchasing this bed. All of us are very glad that we did. We bought one for my 11 yo son and one for my 8 yo daughter. First, it arrived before the promised delivery date. Second, it was neatly packaged with all parts clearly labeled. Even the bolts were all separately grouped in a blister pack according to size (no need to sort, and I could cut them out and label the cardboard backs for even quicker assembly). Next, the assembly went smoothly and quickly. A hex wrench was included and I only needed a Phillips head screwdriver for a few parts. The pieces were so easy to identify and match to the instructions for placement. I didn't time our build but I can say that the second one was so easy to put together after a slower run with the first, that I dare say the bulk of my time was spent simply making sure all the bolts were well tightened. The builds did require two people for ease; each child was my partner for his/her own bed. My only desire would be that the placement of the ladder could change, however this would negatively impact the very obvious ways each piece lined up with another. The kids have been sleeping on them for over a week and love them. They enjoy the extra space under the bed to play and they like that the bed is just high enough to feel like a bunk without worrying that their heads will hit the ceiling. Their only complaint is that the ladder hurts their feet. We will be putting some sort of foam over the bars to alleviate this. All in all we couldn't be happier. With the weight limit being 225, and the various ways the company has made sure the bed is sturdy, I feel confident that this bed will last the kids through high school.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great bed!

02/08/2014
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy bed to put together! I did it by myself, because I am Super Mom! The only drawbacks are: a thinner mattress is needed because it is not a deep space, thank goodness I was able to swap it for my other sons mattress and the stair rungs hurt your feet, but I am going to attach some pipe insulation to fix that. Otherwise it is a hit!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Awesome bed at a good price

04/30/2014
By ,
Windber, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 7 year old wanted his room redone, which is small, so I started looking around and saw this online. Great quality, strong, he loves it. Now he goes to sleep w/o any problems. He keeps his bookcase, hamster cage, beanbag chair and a small foam couch under it and hangs a blanket from it for a fort. I would say easy to put together but I didn't do it, his dad and big brother did and like usual they don't read instructions (man thing) and the holes did not line up so they had to take most of it apart and redo it, but that is how they roll (every time). Other than that I highly recommend this bed. Now all his friends want one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Great loft bed for a reasonable price

10/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this loft bed for my 6 year old son based on the strength of the reviews. I was not disappointed. It is relatively easy to put together, is very sturdy and looks attractive in my boy's room. He loves it, I love it and it's wonderful to have created more space in my son's small room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Loft Bed

06/10/2014
By ,
Modesto CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect size for a very small bedroom. Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black
10/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Easy to put together but would be even fsster with a partner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black
01/30/2013
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My five year old loves his new bed. Clear directions and pretty simple to put together. Took aless an an hour and a half to do by myself. (I also had a 3 yr old and a 5 year old bouncing around me moving parts). It is good quality. The bars for support are close together so no need for a hunky board. He has a regular size twin mattress and there is still plenty of railing around to keep him safe. I love that it is about half the height of a bunk bed. It gives plenty of storage space. We have the feet of my other sons bed tucked under one side to make an L shape. It is also low enough to make his bed with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Perfect bed for kids!

08/26/2012
By ,
Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed for our 5 year old son, and we couldn't be happier. It gives him the feeling of a bunk bed without being too high (plus it fits under our sloped ceilings!), and the space underneath is great. There's around 3' of height underneath, and we were able to put our futon underneath, so that he can sit there and read, and we have a place for company to sleep. It's easy to put together, but time consuming, took my husband by himself about 90 minutes, but it's sturdy, I'm really impressed. My only complaint is that we didn't buy two of them - because now his younger sister keeps trying to climb up to sleep!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Junior Metal Loft Bed, Black

Excellent alternative to bunkbed!!

04/05/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a single mom and was able to put this bed together by myself in a couple of hours. It was easy and the instructions were detailed.
My son is five and is making the transition from a toddler bed; I wanted a bunk bed but they were too high for his comfort. The height of this bed is perfect - his toy chest and a bean bag chair fit with room to spare underneath, but it's not so high that he's frightened of falling out.
The bed is sturdy and there are none of the usual shimmy and shakes you get from metal furniture. He jumps up and down on it frequently and there are no issues with stability.
There are so many slats underneath that you do not need to purchase anything else to put under the mattress.
Just a note that the maximum mattress height you can use with this bed is six inches; anything higher compromises the safety with the rail height.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 251 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  13 Next