Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crock-Pot Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Crock-Pot Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

If you are looking for a versatile pot that serves 4-5 people, look no further than the Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker. A popular brand among chefs as well as non-professionals, Crock-Pot brings you the cooker that produces the unique taste characteristic of slow cooking every time. This black stoneware slow cooker maintains a constant heating temperature, which ensures the ingredients are cooked gradually, retaining their moisture and infusing taste as a result. You can get tasty, home-cooked food even on the busiest of days thanks to this easy slow cooker. It features three temperature settings, namely, high, warm and low. To prepare dips, snacks, and hot meals in a quick time, the "high" temperature setting on this Crock-Pot slow cooker is ideal. If you want your meals to be cooked while you are away, the "low" setting comes in handy. The Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker's "warm" setting keeps your food ready to eat over an extended period of time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.332 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(286 Reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
191
4 stars
52
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation88%251 out of 285reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 161 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
191
4 stars
52
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

No heat

12/17/2012
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Extremely disappointed! I had been sick and was looking forward to cooking a roast so I cold have something good to eat. I set the cooker on high, put the roast in and came back about 45 minutes later to find that there was no heat whatsoever!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Out with the old, in with the new, or so I thought

02/20/2013
By ,
Hudson, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I finally decided to replace my old slow cooker. It still works fine but the glass lid I’ve been using on it developed a large chip and I’m afraid of ending up with glass in my food. The old unit was a 3 ½ Quart Crock-Pot model 1350/2 manufactured by Rival Manufacturing Company. I purchased it in 1994 and used it almost weekly since then. I’d say I got my money’s worth. It only had a low and high setting; the label on the bottom says 135-210 watts.
Looking for a model like my original one, the closest I could find was a Crock-Pot model SCR400-B 4-Quart slow cooker. I paid the regular price of $15.92 at my local Walmart. It was well packaged with Styrofoam blocks on top and bottom and the glass lid and owner’s guide located in a bag on the top block. The box says it is made by Sunbeam Products now instead of Rival.
After reading a lot of reviews online about loose fitting lids I thought I’d open the box and check it out before purchasing. The display unit’s lid fit well. I looked at a total of four and two of them fit well; the other two didn’t fit as well and seemed to wobble. The glass lid has a metal rim. I suspect where the metal rim is spot welded together there might be a raised spot that causes some lids to wobble slightly. The removable stoneware has four “grooves” equally spaced around the top rim where the lid rests. I checked to see if any of these were raised causing the lid to wobble but they seemed flat. In addition to the metal rim, this lid has a plastic knob on top. This knob is handy, as I don’t need a potholder to remove the lid as I did with the glass lid I was using. The original lid that came with my old slow cooker was some sort of clear plastic. It wasn’t long before it developed a lot of what looked like cracks that can’t be felt on the surface. I believe this is known as crazing. I continued to use the plastic lid until a friend gave me a heavy glass lid that I think was Pyrex glass. I kept the old lid as a spare and over the years the crazing turned into cracks so it was discarded. The owner’s guide says the new lid is dishwasher safe but can’t be used in an oven, on the stove or in a microwave. The stoneware is good for dishwasher, microwave and oven but not the broiler or stove.
The aluminum liner inside the new unit seems much thinner than the sturdy liner in the old unit. I don’t know how much thinner it is but it feels about like a beer can. Like the old unit the new one has three round legs that it rests on but they are farther away from the outside edge on the new model. This must be why they seem less stable to some people. It doesn’t seem to be a problem to me. The old unit had a power cord approximately twenty-six inches and the new one about twenty-four, hardly a concern for me.
There are numerous complaints online that most models of slow cookers now cook much hotter on the low setting than older models. The bottom of my new Crock-Pot says 200 watts versus 135-210 that the old model said. I thought I’d do a comparison of my old slow cooker on low versus the new slow cooker on low. My plan was to record the temperature of the chili I’m cooking today each hour. That plan didn’t last too long. I loaded the stoneware about half full and turned it to the low setting. The starting temperature was about 105 degrees measured with a thermometer stuck in the middle of the chili. A half hour later the temperature was only 100 degrees. I guess the cold stoneware absorbed some of the heat from the cooked meat I added to the mixture in the beginning. One hour later the temperature was 125 and two hours later it was 150 degrees. Even though the temperature only measured 150 in the center of the chili it was rapidly boiling along the inside edge of the stoneware, all the way around. It’s no wonder people are complaining. My old Crock-Pot wouldn’t boil anything rapidly on the low setting! I abandoned this temperature measuring experiment because I didn’t want my chili boiling for another five hours before supper. Some reviewers have complained that the newer model slow cookers are so much hotter they have damaged the counter top. This Crock-Pot definitely makes the counter top hotter where it sat compared to the old one. It’s probably no hotter than setting a hot pot or pan on the counter but the owner’s guide suggests placing a hot pad or trivet under the slow cooker to prevent possible damage.
I removed the stoneware and placed it in my faithful old slow cooker on the low setting so it wouldn’t continue to boil. The old stoneware seems to fit pretty decent in the new slow cooker. The diameter is very similar so there’s no gap around the sides, at least at the top. The newer stoneware seems tapered more and slightly shorter so there’s probably more of an air gap inside between the slow cooker and the bottom of the stoneware. I don’t think it will matter when cooking. Two hours after swapping the stoneware with chili to my old slow cooker it measured 192 degrees in the center and 205 close to the inside edge.
I’m not happy with the heat produced on the low setting of this new Crock-Pot. I’ll continue to use the new stoneware and lid in the old slow cooker until it fails. I won’t return it because buying a replacement lid for the stoneware of my old Crock-Pot will cost more than what I paid for the whole new slow cooker at Walmart. I can’t see successfully using this new Crock-Pot to slow cook anything without somehow modifying the heat output.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

EXCELLENT

12/21/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frozen beef cubes were nice and tender in less than 3 hrs. My beef stew was not dried out at all. Don't pass this up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

GREAT investment for a noncook's kitchen!

05/30/2011
By ,
Tampa, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a cook and hate coming home to prepare meals! At one of my weight watchers meetings someone suggested that instead of fast food, I opt to get a slow cooker to prepare meals while I am at work. I didn't want a large 6 or 7 qt slow cooker or spend a lot of money on one especially since it is just one person I have to prepare meals for...This was the right size and my 1st meal (Lemon pepper chicken, brown rice & broccoli) came out smelling and tasting delicious. I set my slow cooker on LOW and put in the meat, ingredients etc then 8-9 hours later I come home to a great smelling kitchen and dinner! Betty crocker online has some pretty easy and great tasting recipes online!
Pros
Very sturdy, round removable stoneware dish
Great for Small kitchens or 1-3 family member meals
Easy to use
Recession proof price at $13.95 at my local Wal-mart store
Cons
Only 2 settings LOW and HIGH (would love a WARM setting but for the price who cares)
4 qt. doesn't come in stainless steel design
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boston, Ma
High, Low, Warm settings.
Posted 10/01/2011
The High and Low settings are actually the same tempature on a crock pot/slow cooker. The Low and High refer to how long it takes the crock pot/slow cooker to tempature. High will come to cooking tempature faster and is better if you want it cooked faster. Low will take a whilt to come up to cooking tempature and is better for cooking something when you go to work. Warm is a lower setting to keep the food at a good serving tempature.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

CROCKPOT 4 QT IS A WORKHORSE at an awesome price!

07/02/2011
By ,
Lakewood, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this crockpot!
Holds much more than you would actually think for a 4 qt unit, nice deep pot to it (not oval)....and yet is a smaller footprint for fitting on stovetop or counter.
I made a large pot of chili that could have fed 6 normal people..(in my family it overfeeds 4!)
I really like the stoneware easy clean pot, and it holds a great simmer on high. (Chili was actually done sooner than expected, and tasted terrific.)
It's true it has no warm function, but the stoneware holds the heat in for quite some time w/the lid on. I agree with a previous reviewer..I also did not want a crockpot whose top had a rubber seal, and went with this one since it did not have it. Glad I did, and now no left over food odor smells from the seal!This lid fits great, and being clear means I can easily check on my food w/out lifting the lid.
Unbeatable in-store price of $13.96.
I may buy another of these at this price...it works like a charm!
VERY HAPPY W/PURCHASE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Aweful, NOT a slow cooker

07/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned a Hamilton Beach slow cooker for 5 years before my 2 year old broke the dish, so I picked this model up about a year ago, I figured for the price and that it is a brand name "Crock pot" it would be a good replacement. Not at all. I have attempted to use this about 4 times a week for the last several months, prior to that just using on occasion. A recipe will call for de-thawed chicken to be cooked on low for 8 hours of high for 4, and I can tell you that FROZEN chicken on low is BURNT in 4 hours. Not really a "slow cooker". If I wanted something cooked within an hour or two I would just cook it on the stove, so this thing is a joke. Also, I'm not sure if its because it gets hot so fast, but the coating on the dish is all worn off toward the bottom, some times I feel like we're eating metal dish for dinner. Unfortunately, after a year of headache, this is going in the garbage. I love Walmart and will return to by another Hamilton Beach, we've been happy with their quality, but on this one, you get what you pay for.
The cost of meat that I've had to throw away due to this pot burning it is not even worth my time :(
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Extremely inexpensive!

06/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great crock pot. Also makes a good gift. I use it at least once a week and it's very easy to clean. Love using the low setting. Start cooking food in the morning and it's done by dinner. Excellent for chicken and dumplings. I love experimenting with different seasonings and meats. Makes great pork, chicken and beef. Food is nice and flavorful and meats tender. If you have the money, get a small one and a large one. The picture doesn't show a "warm" position but mine has one. I highly recommend getting one.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

I'm in love!

12/11/2013
By ,
Gresham, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a counter the size of a postage stamp and a sink even smaller than that. But this round, sleek crock pot fits perfectly. And the food I've made so far (chicken, chili, soup) has come out exactly the way I wanted it. No fuss nor muss. Easy to clean and easy on the eyes.
I had ordered what I thought was a round one a few weeks before. It looked round on Walmart's online site. It was, instead, oblong. Not only wouldn't it fit on either the counter or in the sink, the insert was huge and heavy. Worse still, I tried cooking three meals in it and everything came out dry. I've never had that happen before with a crock pot and blame it on a silly vent hole in the lid. (I believe it was a Hamilton Beach and I'm afraid I was pretty underwhelmed.)
Until something untoward happens (and it appears sturdy enough so that I don't intend to worry), I can give this item all stars and thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this crockpot. It is the perfect size and cooks enough food for at least 4 adults (and the dog and cat...lol) I like that it has 2 temps so I can either cook faster or let it go all day while I am busy. It cleans up like a dream and does not take up a huge amount of counter space. If you are hesitating.....buy this one!!! You don't need all the electronic options.....that's more to go wrong! This is well made.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

I like it!

10/06/2013
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm new to the slow-cook concept and wanted one just to see if I'd like it. The price was right, and I dove in. I LOVE that it's footprint on the counter is so small! This picture is somewhat misleading. It's not as squat as it's pictured; it's thinner and taller. It is definitely on the low-tech side - no light to hlep you remember it's plugged in, and no "warm" setting, just "low" and "high." It's also not the heaviest sturdiest pot I've ever seen, but it also didn't cost anywere near some of the other higher-priced models. I figured I couldn't go wrong with the pot that started it all - "Crock Pot," and I think it's going to be much used, definitely worth the small investment. Cooking my first batch of red beans in it as I write - and the smell is wonderful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

I love it

06/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It did exactly as I expected maybe a little better. My scalloped potatoes with ham were delicious.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Great way for a trucker to eat healthy on the road

09/03/2012
By ,
Rossville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm an over the road trucker looking to lose my "trucker gut" by eating healthier food. I'd also like to not spend $15/meal at truck stops. I bought this item at the Wal-Mart in Lincoln, IL. I use bungee straps to secure it in a cabinet and to secure the lid while I drive and it cooks. The side and lid handles make perfect places to hook small bungee cords to keep the lid on, even on the roughest roads. I just do prep work when I get up in the morning, turn on the crock pot and let it cook my supper while I drive. The only down side is smelling the wonderful aromas of pot roast or pinto beans or corned beef and cabbage while I drive all day. My dog and I are both drooling with anticipation by the end of the day :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Just the right size at the right price!

07/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to clean with removable crock!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Runs hot

07/24/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have used it twice now to cook chicken on low. The first time I left it for 8 hours, which is what the recipe called for, on low and came back to brown burnt mush. Second time I cooked it on low for 4 hours and it still cooked too much.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Excellent Choice

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really wanted a larger oval crockpot, but at our local store the next size up was 7 qts, which we felt was too big for us. There was a 5 qt cooker, but the lid had a rubber seal on the lid. Do not buy any crockpots with the rubber seal. The seal attracts and absorbs order. We had one before, and would hand wash it thorough and run it through 2 dishwasher cycles on the "sterilized" setting and could never get out the smell of cooked food. There is nothing more gross than opening up a cupboard of clean dishes and smelling cooked potroast or cooked chili.
So with that being said, our only option was to get this 4 qt cooker, as the lid does not have a rubber seal, which is what we wanted. We were concerned that someone posted a review that said the 3 legs made this crockpot unstable.
We got it home, and basically the 3 legs only appear unstable. Mainly when you have the crock pot out of the base. So of course the base is light and tilted just a little to lean on the leg, as I was cleaning it. But as my husband pointed out, it won't tip over, at the most it just tilts on to the leg, but again this was only when the cooker is empty. With the crock pot in it, it seems sturdy enough. The weight will keep it balance.
We found it also for only $13.96 at our Walmart, so we were delighted with the price. If anything negative should appear later, we will let you know. But for now, seems to be a great investment for a healthy meal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+198points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Great for stews and carnitas

04/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for what I wanted it for: cooking dinner while we're out. It works best for stews, carnitas and beans because of the long cooking time. Soak beans overnight, turn it on low and in a few hours the beans are perfect. I have not had much success with cakes and breads. They come out either tough or soggy. Could be because the timing is more important with those recipes.
No warm setting on this model, but the price is right.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Great item

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't like to cook often, and my crockpot really came through for me. It works well and is very easyto clean. IIt's a really great item for the single person who doesn't like to cook often or doesn't have time to cook often. ~*~
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Historically GoodQuality

07/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since this was a gift, I'm certain the user will find this historically-acceptable crock pot more than acceptable. Advice: Test both low and high heat settings during first few times of use - so you can judge appropriate length of cooking time.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Slow Cooker Review

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect size for 2-3 people. I have slow cooked pork and chicken and it came out tender and juicy.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, Black

Awesome appliance, a must have!!!

07/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Crock Pot for my Aunt after buying one for myself. She absolutely loves it! This is a must have in every home especially if you're a busy working mom.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 228 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next