Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bostitch Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Bostitch Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Help keep your pencils sharpened and your work environment germ-free with the Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount or Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener. It has been treated with a special compound that safely reduces the growth of viruses, bacteria and mold. This black Stanley Bostitch pencil sharpener comes with dual cutters to keep pencil points sharp. The 8-position guide accommodates most pencil sizes. This wall-mount pencil sharpener can be also be installed as a table-mount sharpener. It can be used horizontally or vertically and features Tip Saver Technology to prevent over-sharpening. The Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener comes complete with a clamp and mounting screws. It features an all-metal construction for long-lasting durability and has a large shavings receptacle that is easy to empty. This handy pencil sharpener is great for classroom, office or home use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.432 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation86%32 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Didn't work for me

12/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item to replace an over 30 yr old Boston sharpener that isn't feeling so good anymore. This sharpener 'sucks' the pencils right in, eating them inches at a time. The mechanism is smooth for sure, but each time you stop turning the handle and restart, it sucks another inch or so of pencil in. I've tried a number of pencils in this sharpener, from Ticonderoga to Staedtler and others - so it isn't the pencil. When I try to hold on and not let it eat pencils an inch at a time, it doesn't put a proper point on the lead. I just couldn't get this sharpener to work and had to return it. So disappointed. Should have stuck with Boston - that is what I'm going to try next time. Having to return this Bostich.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Built to withstand a classroom

02/28/2012
By ,
Titusville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been through many pencil sharpeners in my classroom and have fallen in love with this one! Our school library has two of these and I thought they were great so I bought one for my classroom. It is much cheaper and better built than previous models I've tried. It has sharp blades so the kids don't waste time cranking away at it and it's very quiet compared to other manual sharpeners. I like the idea that it's antimicrobial, but honestly, with the way it works I could care less about this feature that I'm not even aware of if it works. It also has a little larger triangular handle that's easy to grip. The holding cup could have a larger mouth for easier dumping, but it's not really a big deal. I am buying this again as a gift for another teacher.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

No School Like The Old School

10/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, a pencil sharpener with two helical cutters. After pulling my hair out using the cheap, single razor blade type sharpeners (manual and well as electric), I'm so happy with this. Not available in the store, but through Site To Store for no shipping. This actually was cheaper than my usual route where it shows up with a smile on the side of the box. Reviewers have complained about the lead tip not being perfectly exposed on one side, but I've also read that it could be with cheap pencils. I noticed this slightly in my case, but I'm using free pencils given away as promotion. To get around this, I simply allow the pencil to turn a little while sharpening. Perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black
05/27/2011
By ,
Westfield, In.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would have liked the length of sharpened lead a little longer. But it's worth the money. I like the different sizes for the size of pencils.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Sturdy and Works well!

02/01/2011
By ,
PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best pencil sharpeners I ever owned! It actually sharpens pencils like it is suppose to!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Excellent product

10/22/2014
By ,
Palestine, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like a dream.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Ok

10/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont know how to make it work
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Just what we needed

01/29/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sharpener is great. I was tired of using the little cheap sharpeners that just didn't work. We homeschool and use pencils all the time, so this was a great investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

What a Point !

11/11/2012
By ,
Ocean Springs,MS.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice pencil sharpener. I forgot what it is like to have one. I have been using a nice little hand held forever, but it has its flaws. This (Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black) pencil sharpener sharpens the pencil straight on, not one sided. Easy to install, after I started the screw holes, I have numbness in fingertips, those screws are small for my numbness. Shavings are easy to empty from a large metal compartment. The base feels like a metal product. I mounted it to a shelf on my computer desk, very sturdy, no wobbles, looks nice. The black color also makes it invisable, blends in. Does not stand out like a focal point. This reminds me. I still have a piece of pencil lead from elementry school, probably 3rd, or 4th grade. I am 60yr old now. The sharpness of the point reminded about the incident. You know how children are, we lined up every day to sharpen our pencils, a little pushing, little giggles, yep, I am looking at the piece now in my arm. This sharpener sharpens pencils just like the sharpener in elementry school.
My Review
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Great pencil sharpener.

10/06/2014
By ,
Florence, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pencil sharpener works great! It is very sturdy. I gave 4 stars because the clamp that holds the sharpener to the table does not hold. It keeps coming off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Great Sharpener!

11/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very sturdy, dependable sharpener. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Manual pencil sharpeners rule

09/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At a private school, with grades K-8, we use a variety of pencils, shapes and sizes. This works great to sharpen the big along with the normal. We are fed up with electric sharpeners that just don't hold up. So back to the manual sharpeners of our childhood. Armed with a drill, we mounted 3 sharpeners in 3 classrooms and everybody is pleased. Our classrooms with the electric sharpeners are envious.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

looks nice but thats about it

09/24/2012
By ,
Newberry, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this because i am homeschooling my daughter and it did not meet my expectations. it sharpens my pencils lop-sided. the lead is exposed on one side but not the other. i wanted this to be available for my daughter to use herself but i can barely get it to sharpen even just a little straight. i would not recommend this product. it isn't any better than a manual plastic sharpener bought from the dollar bin at a discount store. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Great pencil sharpener!

09/02/2014
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 4 & 5 year old love this pencil sharpener! They use it multiple times a day- very easy for them to use.
Only small issue I found is that the cover can be tricky to get back on after it's been emptied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Meets ALL expectations EXACTLY to specifications

04/08/2014
By ,
Metro Atlanta, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This manual metal pencil sharpener meets all our expectations. Sharpens multiple sizes, sharpens pencils to a sharp point without breaking the lead. Very easily installed with three screws into work bench or wall (with or without studs). It feels as though our replication of Dad's garage is now complete. Our original sharpener on Dad's garage wall lasted four-plus decades and we expect this one to out do that record. The crank turns smoothly and quietly and takes seconds to do the job.
As an additional treat for us, we ordered this on a Saturday on the web and it reached our house by Tuesday. Impressed with the service received. Very happy to see that you can still "get what you pay for" and that a terrific product from long ago can still do the job better than "modern" versions run by batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Classic Manual Pencil Sharpener

07/13/2013
By ,
Rockton, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This classic manual pencil sharpener works easily and efficiently. Has adjustments for every pencil circumference. Smooth and perfect operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Very sharp pencils!

03/28/2012
By ,
Mansfield, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pencil sharpener works pencils to a sharp point every time. We've only had it about a month, so hopefully I can say the same after a year??!!
We use the table mount hardware, and it will jiggle loose. However, I put a grippy, cabinet liner between the table and bottom of sharpener ~ that did the trick!
Glad I got this sharpener, rather than waste money on the ones they offer in store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston, Tx
TABLE MOUNT
Posted 11/15/2012
I was wondering how the table mount worked. I am a teacher and just want to mount it to my desk without having to screw it in, will this work?
Thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Best sharpener

11/21/2011
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one may be old fashioned but it does the job. I like all the sizes and how quickly it works. I've been looking for a good sharpener for a long time and finally found it. It's just like the ones we used when we were kids in school. It has to be anchored well so it can be freely turned. That takes a little thinking of where to put it. Now it has become our favorite.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

Very Well made @ an excellent price

05/26/2014
By ,
snellville, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using for my home office to give my desk that "old school" feel w/this sharpender.
Pros: The metal is very durable.
Pros: Sharpens pencils very well.
Tip: screwing into solid wood, be sure to pre-drill holes before attempting to put screws in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stanley Bostitch Table-Mount/Wall-Mount Antimicrobial Manual Pencil Sharpener, Black

PERFECT

02/03/2012
By ,
Lou KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sharpener has been great for us. I thought it was our pencils that were so bad, but it was our dinky old pencil sharpeners! We have this convenietly clamped to our kitchen island and use it almost every. Definately recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next