Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Enameled cast-iron construction makes this Dutch oven ideal for cooking a wide range of recipes and a durable choice for years of use. Cast-iron cookware is perfect for preparing your family's slow cooked stews and soups, braising meats, baking, frying and much more. The Dutch oven goes from the stovetop or oven right to the table, and cast iron retains heat to keep foods warm for serving. This piece of cast-iron cookware was developed with the famous Better Homes and Gardens Test Kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation95%20 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven
02/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE this. nice and heavy, beautiful color. cooks like a dream, and cleans up very easily. i like that the handle on top is metal, because unlike other dutch ovens that have plastic knobs, this one can go in the oven up to 450F. i was afraid it would arrive with chipped edges (common occurence) but BHG did a great job of packing it, so no problems with that. there are a few minor surface imperfections, but nothing that affects use and nothing that is very noticeable. i am SO glad to have found this...i couldn't bear the thought of spending a fortune on a big-name dutch oven, and now that i have this one i can't imagine how it could be improved. i might even start buying these as gifts...fabulous!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 2 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Dutch oven

03/01/2011
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Without a doubt, one of the best buys I have ever made. The coated cast iron heats evenly, color is perfect and if I could find a whole set of cookware made like this, I would buy it. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Review 3 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Beautiful Color and Well Made

09/17/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this pot!! The color was just a beautiful hue of purple. I thought it would be a "liverish"purple. But I was pleasantly surprise. I read other reviews before I brought it and I must agree with most of them. The pot has a good weight to it. Clean up is a breeze. I did season the pot like it was advise - the instructions are very easy to follow. Please when you use the pot use a low to med heat. If the heat is too high it may crack the enamel finish off. Always hand wash your enamel pots NEVER put them in the dishwasher as this may dull the finish and the extreme heat use to dry the dishes may crack off the enamel on it as well. It is on par with the other more expensive gourmet pots and pans. I plan to get another one for my son and his wife. I am happy,happy, happy with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 4 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Beautiful to look at and beautiful to cook with

05/05/2011
By ,
Summerlin, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pan is goregeous and the price is right. It is highly rated by Consumers Reports.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 5 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Perfect for mother's day

04/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently my mom had been eying my BH&G dutch oven, so for mother's day, I bought her one in another color. I love cooking w/ mine and I've let my mom borrow it too. She is amazed at all she can do with it. It's definitely got some weight to it, but the durability it great. The cleanup is also really easy. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 6 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Great product for a great price!

01/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend, works just as well as a very expensive dutch oven, just half the cost! Awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 7 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Wonderful product

03/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality, GREAT color, everything I wanted!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 8 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Amazing value and I love the color!

07/04/2011
By ,
Cali
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have wanted a Dutch oven for years but didn't want to pay the $200+ price tag. When I saw this one and read the reviews I had to have it. I have used my moms expensive Dutch oven and find that this one works the same. The only complaint I have is the handle. It seems to be sturdy but the shinny finish seems like it won't hold up for years to come. Overall, I would buy this item again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 9 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

PRETTY!

05/20/2011
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 2 but 1 was badly damaged, I believe it was from shipping. One corner of the box was a little smashed. I returned it and reordered another. Hopefully it arrives undamaged. But it is a beautiful
color!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 10 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven
10/11/2011
By ,
Colfax, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting to get a good cast iron dutch over for several years, but had been put off by the price. I was SO happy that I found this one. It is heavy duty and beautiful!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 11 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Nice Gift!

02/18/2011
By ,
Watkins Glen, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a wedding gift. Great color, excellent-appearing quality. I think the bride will love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 12 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

purple wonder!!

08/25/2011
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is my 1st ever cast iron pot.. the eggplant color + reasonable price is unmatchable... i absolutely love it! :) it took a bit longer to arrive but the packing/shipping condition was exceptional.
i seasoned/conditioned the exposed edges as instructed. it heats evenly.. clean up is easy-peasy! the only flaw is that there is a bump in the bottom of the pot.. so each time i stir, my ladle gets caught in it :( otherwise everything else is wonderful!
if i could only have 1 pot, this would be the 1 to get :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Lovely Dutch Oven

10/05/2011
By ,
Charlotte, Nc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Super Heavy. Mine has had a slight chip from day one. ugh.
fade from dark to light color is subtle in person.
Looks great sitting out. big. Lovely Color, nice shape, love the handles
Burns foods easily.
Enamel finish on the interior is always hard to clean and seems stained after only a handful of uses.
It is a hassle to clean in general, though this is probably true of all dutch ovens.
I won't be giving mine away anytime soon but I can imagine it could designed/made better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Pretty Pot with flaws

10/31/2011
By ,
Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though not listed as such, this pot appears to be a "second," as it has flaws in the outer surface. There is a smudge in the coloring, and several "dimples" in the outer coating. Since the dimples do not go all the way through, they are cosmetic and should not affect the pot's usage. I purchased this as a gift for my daughter because of its color, and since she loves the color, she will overlook the flaws and keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Just as good as the top of the line Dutch Ovens !!

10/23/2011
By ,
hesperia, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The color is what I wanted which is purple and it works just as good as the expensive Dutch Ovens. I always wanted one of the other 2 more expensive brands and I saw this and got it as a gift. It is made well and I beleive it will last for ever as long as it is taken care of and is seasoned when needed along the top of the Dutch Oven and the lid. This is well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

A heavy, well-made Dutch Oven

10/12/2011
By ,
Folsom, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this is a great dutch oven. Seems to be well made and comes with pads to keep the lid from chipping the pot in storage. Well packed for shipping! I love the color... If you want a good cooking tool without having to pay major brand name prices, this is for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Love this Dutch Oven

10/09/2011
By ,
Grass Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was in perfect condition upon arrival something I always worry about when an item is shipped, no chips or scratches. I have already recommended this to a friend who also bought one and she is very happy with hers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

fabulous for the cook of the house

12/02/2011
By ,
Halifax, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dutch oven is so good for braising. You never over cook your meal. It truly is the best tool in my kitchen.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven

Does the job

08/27/2011
By ,
Dallas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great, heavy/strong and makes the perfect Irish stew.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Cast-Iron 6-Qt. Covered Dutch Oven
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5