Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crane Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Crane Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

The Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black, has a convenient reservoir for steam medicine and features a minimum 10-hour running time. There is a one-gallon tank capacity providing a warm mist of approximately 131 degrees. This Crane humidifier has an auto-off function when the water tank is empty. This warm mist humidifier has a minimum 10-hour running time. The Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier includes a reservoir for steam medication.
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%17 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

The BEST humidifier ever!!!

03/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using humdifiers for years and have tried every type. The cool mist ones mildew up quickly and the wicks are expensive. The ultrasonics are nice, but unless you use distilled water, you run the risk of breathing in bacteria from tap water, since the mist is cool and the water and any particulates that are in the water are nebulized into the air. The warm mist are the best, since the water is boiled and only the steam escapes. I have used many brands of warm mist humidifiers over the years... Holmes, Duracraft, and Honeywell. This Crane model is THE BEST yet. It hasn't leaked once. The tank size is adequate for a medium sized bedroom. I run mine on the low setting and it goes for 12 hours easily. The operation is quiet. The other brands I've tired all have the same basic design... the heating element is round with a hole in the middle and is difficult to scrub on all sides if there is a lot of hard water build up. This design has a solid heating element built into the bottom of the unit and can be scrubbed easily with a brush to remove build up. There is some basic weekly maintenance required, but it's not difficult. You need to use distilled white vinegar to dissolve build up and disinfect. One thing I don't particularly like is the blue light that comes on when the unit is turned on. It's not bright enough to light up the whole room (kind of like a night-light), but for folks who like 100% pitch-black when they sleep, this may not be for you. I'm glad I found this brand and model. For the price, it's a great machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Review 2 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

Little Humidifier does a Great Job

01/29/2011
By ,
Beautiful East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The First thing you notice about this humidifier is it's total quietness on the lowest setting (only two available). We use it on 1 and it will operate for 12 hours before needing to be refilled. The tank is easy to refill and not too heavy to carry when full. We use it in our bedroom to supplement the larger unit in the kitchen. The Crane is simple to operate and has performed flawlessly. It does need to be cleaned every week however. This is a must, as white scale and minerals accumulate on the internal parts. The cleaning is easily done with a vinegar/water solution and a small, stiff brush. One word of caution however; the instructions are not very clear on how to disassemble the unit. To remove the water level sensor, you cannot simply pull the plastic cap off the shaft on which the sensor sits, as instructed. You must first remove the little phillips head screw and then carefully pry the cap off the shaft. Also, to remove the mister outer housing (to get to the inner parts) and the mister (two pieces that have to be disassembled to do a good cleaning) you have to pull a sliding spring loaded retainer to the right. You can then remove the outer housing and the inner two-piece mister. (Nowhere in the instructions is this retainer mentioned. It is identifiable in that it is the only other phillips head screw showing and has a metal washer under it. The first time I tried to disassemble my unit, I had to loosen the phillips head screw slightly, in order to get the retainer to move.) Cleaning is essential. Do it regularily and the Crane Eight Hour Warm Mist Humidifier will do you a great job. We live in East Texas, where you cannot find a room humidifier in stores, because the season for them is too short. We sure are glad we got ours though, because the increased humidity in the house during the winter is much more enjoyable now. Getting our unit through Walmart.com was a breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 3 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

All I expected.

01/26/2011
By ,
Anoka, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The humidifier is quiet, and easy to use. There were some gurgling sounds as water dispensed into the heating unit.
Instructions are easy to understand. I had unit filled with water and in use in less than five minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 4 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

Worth it.. especially for the price

12/08/2011
By ,
Hawthorne,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say i''ve looked all over on a few websites and read tons of reviews to get a idea on which brand or what type of humidifier to buy.. This one was perfect.. works great.. no leaking.. enough mist for a medium size room which i have.. especially when you use the medicine cup.. the aroma is strong enough when u walk in the room after its been running for a little while.. its last about 8 hrs on max on about 11 on low.. i always keep it on max cuz it blows more steam.. its does get slightly warmer in the room since its a warm mister but not discusting hot & unbearable.. its great for winter when needed most.. i mostly use it for 1 year old cuz he gets congested & stuffy easily esp. around this time of year.. Used it myself too just to see the results.. Great buy.. Never heard of crane before.. i was looking into a vicks brand humidifier but most reviews were terrible & even on the more pricier ones.. times are hard & i didnt want to waste money to just throw it away.. Hey for the price.. you cant beat it.. go for it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

Warm Mist

11/15/2010
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for. So far it has operated flawlessly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 6 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

Excellent Product

09/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after I saw rave reviews on here and other sites and just knew I had to try it!! I bought it mainly for my 3 year old daughters use because she tends to have an acute hacking ocugh when shes sick and the nights are pretty rough .. I received this just in time because she had the cough the same day I picked it up. I turned it on the same night and also used the vapor medication and there was a noticeably change by the following day! After 2 nights the cough was very minimal. My daughter sleeps with me when shes sick and the one thing I must say is that I couldnt use it continuously throughout the night because of course it is warm mist and my daughter and I were both sweating (even with the door open) so I would turn it on and off maybe once or twice a night. Overall great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 7 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

Warm mist humidifier

03/02/2011
By ,
Western New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I checked online consumer reviews before selecting a humidifier, and this one meets all expectations. It is relatively quiet, and what sound it does make is not distracting, but soothing. If anything is distracting, it is that the light comes on and goes off as the humidifier does - in a dark room that is quite distracting, and I could do without it. But the performance is excellent, the run time on a tank exceeds specs and it humidifies around 900 sq. ft quite comfortably.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

Warm Mister Opinion

03/12/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this warm mist humidifier is healthier than the competing cool mist products. It is quiet and I like the nice dim LED night light, contrary to others who think it is too bright. Besides increasing the humidity of the room, placing one nose in the warm rising stream of mist is a comforting experience. Be warned though, that because these warm misters boil the water, one needs to maintain the removal of the build up of minerals from the water as describe in the instructions. It is not difficult, but does require a little time and some soaking in vinegar solution every once and awhile. I only wish the tank was larger to last 10 hours instead of 7.5 hours before refill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

Warm Mist Humidifier

11/03/2011
By ,
Louisville, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit appears to be really functional. I was not really able to use it because I didn't think about room size in a warm mist humidifier. It says in a small room (10x12 I guess) to leave the door open. If not a lot of condensation will form on the walls and windows especially in the winter when you would want to use it because of the dry air. This will not work because we have 2 cats that are in their terrible 2's still. Open door=2 cats on your head while you're trying to sleep means no sleep. So.........anywhoo, I wouldn't have bought it had I known that you needed to close the door. Should work great in a bigger room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 10 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black
11/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 different humidifiers last year that did not last. My husband has terrible allergies and the gas heat causes him lots of problems. Since this purchase he is not having any troubles with his allergies relating to the gas heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black
11/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE THIS PRODUCT; DOES THE JOB AND HAS TWO LEVELS OF HUMIDIFYING; THE SOUND OF THE FIRST LEVEL IS BARELY AUDIBLE AND THE THE SECOND LEVEL IS A WONDERFUL WHITE NOISE
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

Shipping was fast and the product works.

11/28/2011
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The humidifier is a little loud at times.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black

Great humidifier for the price! Easy to clean!

12/11/2011
By ,
Tsaile, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This humidifier on high pumps 3-4 gal of water a day into our house, in the high desert of Arizona. Our water is extremely hard so it's critical to clean it weekly using vinegar per the manufacturer's instructions. Very easy to use. Only drawback - I tripped over my cat and dropped the reservoir and broke it, it seems a bit fragile in retrospect. I was able to repair it, and a new reservoir is on order with the manufacturer. I still give it a great rating because it is quiet, efficient, and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black
11/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this humidifier recently and LOVE it! It was bought for our children's room because our they have sinus issues. It's not silent...but you only hear the boiling water and it's not loud at all. It has two out output settings, which definitely comes in handy. The nightlight is fairly bright, though. I would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a warm mist humidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black
12/09/2011
By ,
florence,co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
been using for 2 weeks now and has worked great. only down fall so far is when using the high setting will run out of water before the night is over so i use the low setting
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Crane 8 Hour Warm Mist Humidifier, Black
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5