Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coby Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coby Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

The Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo Player with AM/FM Radio features a programmable track memory. The telescopic FM antenna ensures a clearer radio reception. This top-loading CD player comes with a 3.5mm headphones jack to let you use headphones as an alternative to the stereo. The cassette player lets you record cassettes from the radio or CDs with its built-in stereo. The high-performing speakers offer you 3D stereo effect. The truly functional AM/FM stereo CD player comes in a trendy design and provides a lot of fun both indoors and outdoors during dance rehearsals, parties, picnics, camping, and other activities. The built-in digital LCD display with bright fluorescent background clearly displays the track number being played, frequency you have tuned in, and other details. The handy Coby AM/FM radio with player has a full auto stop feature for both recording and playing for greater convenience. It runs on a 110/220 dual voltage using eight D batteries (not included).
Average Customer Rating:
2.929 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation57%8 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

Lasted for two plays

05/29/2011
By ,
Illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased a similar Coby player last summer. Wanted to stock up on a few cassette players for all the tapes I have before those players become absolete. Tried the unit at purchase and it worked. Put it away in a safe, dry place until this summer. The tape player no longer functions and for no apparent reason. It was good for only two plays! And now it's really hard to find a boom box or stereo with a cassette player!!
To be fair, the radio and CD player still work, but I didn't buy it for the radio and CD player.
As for personal care and capability, I have an old GE boom box from the 1980s that still works, a stereo from the 1970s that still works, and a computer from the 1983 that would still work if technology hadn't changed so much. All were well used over the years.
Walmart is great and my favorite place to shop. However, Coby (and perhaps other off brand names) may not be the wisest purchase. You may want to consider the warranty if you're buying Coby. I didn't. I'm sorry now.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
+17points
Review 2 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

CD player didn't work

06/06/2011
By ,
south texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CD player didn't work on unit right out of the box. I tried different CD's, no difference. Everything else worked. The sound was good for the price. I would have liked a digital tuner, but the manual tuner worked well.
I don't necessarily blame WalMart for the broken CD player, I blame the manufacturer Coby. Wal Mart made it very easy to return this item and return my money. Coby had a "warranty" if you want to call it that. They want you to return the unit to them, pay for the return with your money, and pay for the replacement unit to be shipped back to you, all at your expense. At least that's what I got from reading the warranty info. This would have cost me more than the actual price I paid for the unit brand new!
Anyway, I'll still do business with Wal Mart. I think I'm done with Coby.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Review 3 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

gift for daughter

03/10/2011
By ,
Keithville,La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my daughters stereo was old and the lid for the cd player was broken, I ordered this to replace it and she seems very pleased with all the extras, cassette player am/fm radio cd player, recorder, I highly recommend this product and the price was reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Review 4 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

A replacement for an old one.

06/07/2011
By ,
West Wendover, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this player to replace a 30 year old player that finally stoppen working.
The value of this player was real great. I like it because of the price and they style.
The sound is very good and clear. It can play CD or tapes. I rate this a 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 5 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

Great Stereo - Great Bargain

07/09/2011
By ,
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Coby Stereo/MP3 Player/Am/Fm Radio is an awesome item at an awesome price. I like the compact size and the exceptional sound quality. It is a great poolside stereo. It also uses batteries or a plug, which is convenient for indoor/outdoor use too. This system exceeds our expectations !
Thank You Walmart and Thank You for the Fast delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio
06/18/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was cd/ cassette/ radio combo that just met my needs
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 7 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio
03/13/2012
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fine piece of equiptment.
Even with my limited sight it is easy to use, and has good sound quality.
The only draw back I have found is in tuning the radio, as it has such a small tuning face, the stations are too close together.
In saying that, I am still very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio
04/10/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this radio has very low volume, poor sound quality, and no bass control.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

Very Disappointed

04/21/2011
By ,
Northridge, Ca.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would love to review this product, however, when it arrived and I picked it up at the store the box was so badly damaged that it was taped together. Upon opening the box we (the store clerk & I) found that the item in the box was broken. I returned it. I am not going to attempt this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 10 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

Coby Portable Stereo

01/13/2012
By ,
Sanborn, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great looking, great sound. Good value for the money...!!! Very pleased with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

Poor Quality

08/19/2011
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Radio has horrible reception. It does NOT work with MP3 player as advertised. Very disapointed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 12 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

Mr

04/09/2012
By ,
Conover, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio

Only after 1 week the tape player stopped working

10/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very disappointed in this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coby Portable MP3/CD/Cassette Stereo with AM/FM Radio
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5