Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coby Electronics Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coby Electronics Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Enjoy your favorite songs with amazing stereo effect using the Coby CXCD400BLK Mini AM/FM/CD/Cassette Recorder. It features a top-loading CD player with programmable track memory, front cassette player with playback and recording, and an AM/FM radio with analog tuner. You can record cassettes from CDs or the built-in radio with its convenient two-way cassette recording option. This versatile portable cassette player helps you experience superior stereo surround sound with its two full-range speakers. Its built-in, clear LED display and convenient, labeled controls make for easy operation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation71%46 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Bad Bad !

12/25/2010
By ,
Tallmadge, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work from day one do not buy returned it to store found a much nicer one for less money and it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 2 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Very disappointed with this System

05/26/2012
By ,
Mishawaka, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the price I was not expecting the greatest sound quality but I did expect a functional system. The package did arrive in a timely manner. The speakers were both separated from the main system and I never did get them to latch on to the sides correctly. The one page of directions were no help at all. I had to attach a very thin set of speaker wires to the unit and my fingers would not fit in there, a very trying experience :) Finally, I was done and the power cord did not want to stay in the back of the unit. I had to replace it. At last the unit was together, I pushed the button on the CD Play button and nothing happened. In all fairness, the FM stereo did work. I returned the product the very next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 3 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

received a used item

11/16/2012
By ,
Union, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I cannot believe that Walmart would actually send me a used item. As soon as I opened the box, it was evident that this system was used and repackaged. There was no power cord anywhere and there was a cassette tape still in the cassette chamber. The tape was an old beat up tape with foreign handwriting on it. I have purchased many things from Walmart online with no problem. This is the last thing I will ever buy from them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 4 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

I would not recommend this to anyone.

10/15/2012
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The player only worked for one week. The CD player would not read the CD's. Radio and tape player worked. Hard to attach speaker wires. Awkward positioning on player. Took it back to Wall-mart for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 5 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

cassette play key caved in while pressing

05/03/2012
By ,
Farmington, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My second day of playing cassettes, I experienced problems with the play key and also I could not close the door while playing cassettes, it would not align with the molding to turn the tape and playing rollers inside. After numerous attempts, I took mine back. I was afraid it might break my cassette tape.
It was very undependable, and I had it on my dressertop.
I could understand, if I had dropped the stereo, but it was straight out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 6 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder
07/02/2012
By ,
Canonsburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return it because it did not work. I called the Coby 800 number but the person I talked to just said it must be a defected unit and to return it to Wal-Mart. It was a nice looking unit too bad it didn't work
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 7 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

disappointed

01/04/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arrived with hole in speaker but probably done in shipping. Plugged in speakers and neither played. Speakers just were very lightweight more like a toy but can't attest to sound since neither worked once we finally got them plugged in which was a task in itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Review 8 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

cheap for reason

09/13/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
you get what you pay for...sounds cheap, looks cheap, fm radio is junk, took back to store
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 9 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder
11/02/2012
By ,
Grenville, New Mexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item evidentally was damaged in shipping. Upon inspection it is noticed that the quality of this item is rather insufficient and will never order another without physical inspection before purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Not worth the energy

04/25/2012
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this after reading all the positive reviews about sound quality as I needed something to play a few old cassettes. Do yourself a favor and buy a USB cassette converter to record into your pc, that's where I am headed.
Never could get the second speaker to hook up. The sound coming out of the first speaker sounded like it was off an AM tuner (it wasn't--I checked!). Other negatives include very short speaker wires, a rather weak antennae, overall brittle plastic look to the unit, and a very strange low level hum, similar to short wave, while flipping the tuner.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 11 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder
09/20/2012
By ,
Massillon,Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Item didn't work and I had to return it and lost my time and patients
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 12 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

low quality sound

12/03/2010
By ,
minot nd
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the product is of a very cheap make up and the speakers sound really poor then the fedex person musta dropped it so it was all busted up and im not getting any reply from them as to if im gonna get a refund or if im gonna get nothing out of this deal
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 13 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Not Impressed

07/08/2012
By ,
Brockport, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very poor sound quality. Not like the old school radios at all, which is what I expected. This big thing puts out less speaker volume than a small one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Underachiever

08/13/2013
By ,
S. California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old radio/cassette player when the cassette player died. (The radio still worked.) I was playing CDs on my DVD player, so I liked the idea of getting three audio machines in one. Of the three components(cassette, CD and radio), I really only found the cassette player satisfactory.The CD player hung up or skipped on CDs that played fine on other machines. I found the the radio difficult to tune. I ended up leaving it on one station and going back to using the radio on the old cassette machine most of the time. I tried everything to clean up my CDs in the hope that they would play okay, but nothing helped. In addition, I found that the low-tech, open wire connections for the speakers disconnected easily and I had to hold them in with masking tape. Finally, when I moved, I just gave the machine to Goodwill. Because of the low price, it wasn't worth trying to get it 'fixed', even though I bought an extended warranty. On the plus side, the speakers are nice and big. I wish it had worked better because conceptually it's definitely an improvement on a boom box. If you buy it, check it out carefully and return it if its not right. I wish I'd acted sooner rather than hoping things would improve or I'd get used to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Not a very good design

12/02/2010
By ,
Mustang, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking for a good cassette recorder that would record off-air for later playback at the gym. Not too many such devices available nowadays, though. This one looked promising, the price was right, so I decided to try it. First, it took too long to set up the speakers--just to attach the speakers to the radio seemed to take ages, and the speaker wires wouldn't stay attached and would need stripping to get a good conection to the speaker jacks. Oh, well, those seemed like minor inconveniences to overcome, as the radio-recorder feature would make it worhwhile.
When I turned the radio on, the FM stations came in pretty well, but the AM stations were hard to tune, plus the sensitivity to weak signals could be improved. The knobs were probably designed by a fashion geek who knew nothing about functionality. There are 2 operating knobs: The large knob controlled the sound amplitude, while the small knob was in charge of tuning in the radio stations. Right away you can see that that was a big mistake. Tuning with the small knob made it difficult to find stations, especially weak ones. It really needs an external antenna to draw in weak stations.
So not only was the tuner anemic on AM, but it was mechanically disappointing, as was the entire radio. I had to return it to Wal Mart for a refund.
The audiotape function was adequate, but it was poorly described in the operating instructions. It is supposed to automatically reverse directions when the tape ends, but the handbook described another radio-CD-audiotape recorder.
I never got around to trying out the CD player because I didn't buy the boom box for the CD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Review 16 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder
07/10/2012
By ,
DeLISLE, MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CD player/recorder did not function. I had to return the product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Good for the price

01/18/2011
By ,
Rocky Point, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took me a min or so to connect the speakers & when I played a cass tape it was a little hard to get the tape out but it gives off a good sound & the cd player is easy to use & for the $ its worth it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Good Quality for price

08/08/2012
By ,
Yulee Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good sounding easy to use palyer. Quality is evident.Good reception for radio.Hard to read radio station finder. Would recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Great sound,able to play both cassettes and CD's

06/15/2012
By ,
Gardner,Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lacks Bass and Treble adjustments,which would be a nice touch to improve sound quality.Overall
a nice unit reasonably priced,good size,and well made.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Coby CXCD400BLK Mini Hi-Fi CD/AM/FM Stereo Cassette Player/Recorder

Great little stereo

04/26/2012
By ,
Pahrump, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a GREAT little stereo for the price. My only wish is that it had a treble/bass knob. I would like it to have a little more treble. Other than that I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next