Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coby Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coby Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

Experience 300W of home theater surround sound with the Coby 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System. It is designed for use with 5.1-channel DVD players, computer systems, and more. A built-in switch allows you to easily change between audio connections. The home theater system features a wall mountable or desktop design.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation64%14 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

great sound for the price

09/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just like the title says its a great sound for a cheap price it rattles the windows with clear clean sound
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

An exceptional product

09/03/2010
By ,
Rhinelander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this system using standard shipping and got it the next day. I am very impressed with the quality of it. I guess I should have read more carefully because there is no hook up for any sort of iPod. I am trying to find an adapter, so for now I listen to music through my TV. It has a volume adjuster, bass adjuster, and a treble adjuster, which is very nice. I don't know if there is a way to hook it up to my iPod, but I am looking. If you want to buy a system for your iPod, make sure you can first!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 3 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home

11/04/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Coby CSP 96 5.1 Home Stereo more than meeting my expectations.
I was originally looking for something to hook up to the HDTV TV since the speakers it came in were weak and lacking decent bass. For ~$50, this really does everything that I need it to do. Granted, the bass isn't really that deep neither are the sounds of the higher-frequencies coming from the other speakers, but I'm no audiophile so totally works for me.
THe stereo has two types of inputs: a) via RCA plugs (red + white) b) true 5.1 plugs for each of the center, right, left, surround left, surround right, and bass connections. In my case, since I don't have true 5.1 output from my HDTV, I connect the headset output from the TV to the stereo using regular RCA red/white plugs. In my connection, there's really no surround or anything since all 6 channels are driven by the same signal, again, this works for me perfectly.
WOuld recommend to anyone who doesn't care much about true surround
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 4 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

Definitely worth the price

12/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Coby CSP96 5.1 Home Theater System is a terrific addition for a small to medium sized room. I have owned this product for about a month and a half now. I mainly use this set with my Playstation 3 and it is a BEAST.
The first movie I tested out was 'Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith' on DVD. I was little disappointed with the overall sound quality, so I tested 'The Dark Knight' on Blu-Ray and WOW. The quality surprised me -- the sound was very loud but clear. Dialogue was easy to hear over the sound effects.
Every Blu-Ray I've watched with lossless audio has sounded amazing. DVD audio just doesn't compare. I do recommend 'Transformers' though as a regular DVD to test out the system if you don't have Blu-Rays. The speaker set is still a much preferred option over the default TV speakers. I would highly recommend this system for people who can use the RCA connections.
The reason I didn't give 5 stars for the overall rating is because of the limited connectivity options and for the short wires on some of the speakers. I live in a small apartment, but I would still prefer longer wires, especially for the satellite speakers.
Overall though, this set is great and the quality is worth more than the price. If you're looking for a cheap set of speakers, CSP96 should be good as long as you can connect it to proper set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

You get what you pay for.

09/21/2010
By ,
Port Richey, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had this cheap surround sound system given to me by a friend. I repair car amps and other electronics and have 2 degrees in electronics, one for basic electronics tech & repair and the other I have is a electronics engineer so I know a thing or to. After taking the cover off the sub woofer cabinet it has very little circuitry and the IC amps used put out up to 10 watts and the seperate sub amplifier is a pentawatt transistor which puts out a max of 35 watts at 30-36 volts. It is only getting 12 volts and the other IC amps are getting 9 volts. So the sub is putting out about 10 to maybe 15 watts rms. It does'nt sound bad but for some one on a budget and wants true surround they must use the DVD setting and use all the inputs if you are lucky enough to have all those outputs on a DVD player. I think for true surround it's best suited for a computer that has a surround sound audio system like a lot of the newer HP's. You can hook it up to your TV and flip the switch on the back of the sub woofer box to TV and it puts out sound to all the speakers. Not true surround but gives you that effect of surround sound. With the proper cord you can buy at Walmart or Radio Shack which one end has 2 RCA phono plugs and the other a 1/8 inch jack to plug into your IPOD or MP3 player, Sounds pretty good used those ways. Also it gives you bass, treble & volume adjustments which is good to have on this. Hope this helps someone looking to buy this. Overall, it does sound good and a good deep bass around 60-90 hertz. Also it depends where you place the sub woofer box It only has a 4 inch sub woofer or I should say woofer. I plan on ordering a high end 4 inch real sub woofer to see the difference but you much watch the wattage of your new woofer cause if the woofer is of high watts it will require more power than this will put out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+30points
Review 6 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

hard to use

09/28/2010
By ,
Douglasville, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does not come with a remote, you have to turn off at the back of the base. You can't adjust the volume unless you go to the base. The speakers don't work if you have the volume low.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 7 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

just what the doctor ordered

11/29/2010
By ,
Randallstown, Md.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The purchasing of this item was to enhance my new Sharpe 60" flat screen television; this product did just that. The value for my dollars was on point.
Watching shows, listening to music channels and taking in the football games have been quite enjoyable. I would purchase this unit again to
enhance my T.V. watching experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

Good value for inexpensive sounds

01/10/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This system was a good value for an inexpensive sound system. The six AV input jacks for the DVD player was a little bit surprising. It is made specifically for the Coby DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 9 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

Good for a beginner

11/16/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this system a few months back and for the price we paid, it had pretty good sound. However, we ended up getting something better because it was a little too quiet for our tastes, but for a beginner or a small room this system is great! It was clear sound and fairly good bass, especially for movies. It is definitely a good deal for the price! Like I said, I would reccomend this for someone who is just getting started or if you have a small room to put it in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 10 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

Decent system for 50 bucks

11/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought this for my comp and i'm impressed, for music its great, movies its good. it can't handle all the bass offered by the system, kinda rattles when its too loud but all in all i'm happy with the purchase
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 11 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

Sub woofer started smoking within 24 hours!

01/03/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I purchased this surround sound, the reviews were exactly what I wanted to hear and the price was perfect! the shipping was also faster than expected - although it did show up on the porch without being put into another box. I'm surprised no one stole it off the porch. It was a Christmas gift for my brother. He set it up on Christmas Eve; everything was working perfectly! Then Christmas morning when he went to use it again the sub woofer started smoking. We were both pretty upset. Instead of trying to return it, my brother decided he wanted to open it and see if he could fix it himself. There was a small part that melted. Needless to say, we could not return it, and it doesn't work. #PrettyUpsetCustomer
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

very disapointed

11/28/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I realise that this system cost only 60 dollars,but it was said by wamart that this product was worth 179 dollars. the system was very chep the sound was terrible, Icound only hear sound from the center speaker.Also there was no remote control which means you would have to get up to adjust the volume DO NOT BUY THIS SYSTEM YOU WILL BE VERY DISSAPOINTED. W. MOGARDO .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 13 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

No remote

11/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These may be fine speakers for the price, but with no remote I'm not sure what they would be good for. I can't imagine getting up off the couch every time I wanted to adjust the volume. I didn't even think to look to see if a remote was included because I thought that was a given with home theater speakers. I returned this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 14 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System
10/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The small Speakers serve their purpose but the Subwoofer connections such as the RCA jacks and the wiring inside are touchy. The sub itself doesnt work. Got about 12-20 hours out of it. I got what I paid for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 15 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

unsatisfied

09/21/2010
By ,
bronx,NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was really disappointed because with the tv u can only hear 2 speakers and the only way you can hear all five speakers is with a high tech dolby digital 5.1 surround sound design. I do not recommend this product
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-6points
Review 16 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

Awesome for what we needed!!!

09/24/2010
By ,
Killeen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted just a little extra sound and with this product we get great sound!!! Great choise when we decided to get this one!!! Better than the last one we bought!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

Do not buy this product

10/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The wires for the speakers are really short, the sound quality is not good and the volume is not either. Subwoofer is a no, no as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 18 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

excellent product for the money

12/31/2011
By ,
Harmony Twp PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we bought this to boost the sound of our 42" flat screen LED. The sound is very good. Its a good deal for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

great sounding speakers

12/30/2010
By ,
HERNANDO, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
meets expectations, will buy another set
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Coby CSP96 300-Watt 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System
01/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next