Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Koss Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Koss Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Enjoy clear, crisp sound with the Koss Stereophone Plug Isolation Earbuds. The Koss Plug Earbuds feature a dynamic element positioned just outside the ear that extends sound frequency. The dynamic element is connected to a tubular port structure that is inserted into a soft expandable cushion conforming to the ear canal. This noise-isolating design enables Koss Plug Earbuds to reproduce the full range of discrete sounds from treble to bass. Further enhancing deep bass tones and clear treble notes, the cushion on each earbud gently expands within the ear canal to create a custom fit that improves noise isolation. Koss Stereophones with Plug Isolation block out ambient sounds that can interfere with your listening experience. Since each earbud conforms snugly to the ear canal, these Stereophone Plug Isolation Earbuds will stay in place while you're on the go. Koss Plug Earbuds offer a wide 10 Hz to 20,000 Hz frequency response range.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation79%22 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Great product FOR THE PRICE

11/27/2012
By ,
Bloomington, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bass-boosting 9/10
Noise-cancelling 8/10
Clear sound 10/10
Comfort 6/10 (the fact that it plugs your ears closed makes it slightly uncomfortable; and they pop out sometimes with the slightest accidental tug)
All things considered, this is probably the best headphones you'll find for $10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Mow the lawn, wait in crowds, fire a gun!

06/21/2014
By ,
Farmington, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though this is my third pair of these, I have never doubted Koss products. From my first purchase to now, these are still my favorite earbud earplugs. I wear them everywhere, and that's why I lost the first two.
When I saw these on a display at Walmart, my first thought was, "I could listen to my music and mow the lawn now! And without buying $100 pair of over the ear phones!" But these were more than headphones, this was like listening to erotica in surround sound! The bass, the quality, the clarity was amazing!! Sure, everyone might be buying $500 Beats brand headphones right now, but they can't compare to these the least bit!
They work beautifully with my Samsung Galaxy Note 2 but they seem to miss some treble quality with this phone. When I plug these into my iPod though, it's nothing quite like having to drown out everything around you with a full blast of Muse and Deadmou5. Heck, these worked just fine as ear plugs at the gun range and at the airport!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Work well and stay in the ear

10/28/2012
By ,
Southern NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had these for a week so I can't comment on durability. The sound quality is fine for my purposes, namely listening to podcasts. I haven't tried them with music. They are billed as "isolation" earbuds and they do fit well enough to reduce the ambient sound level a bit but they certainly don't provide "isolation". I didn't expect that they would so I am not disappointed in that. The biggest plus is that they do fit well in the ear canal and don't fall out even when I move around a lot unlike the Apple ipod earbuds I had been using. I like the fact that there is a spare pair of foam cushions included since I suspect they might get chewed up with the abuse of stuffing them in a pocket, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

A no brainer at $!0.00 as you might from Koss.

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivered on every aspect identified in their description. I know Koss from their stereo headphones in the 70's and 80's and they have not lost their edge. I prefer these to the Sony soft earbuds I paid $20 for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Outstanding Product

03/25/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for people who have tender or sensitive ears. Most headphones cause my ears to hurt after a few minutes. Unless I want to wear the large ones that completely cover the entire ear, these are the way to go. Soft and block out unwanted background noise. Just wish I could find replacement cushions since my wife's dog ate mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Can't Beat "The Plug"!

04/03/2013
By ,
OKC, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these Koss "The Plug" noise isolating earbuds 2 or 3 years ago at my local Walmart store and felt I'd hit the Earbud JACKPOT! For the price paid, "The Plug" earbuds have incredible sound and are very lightweight in the ear. You've got to 'knead' the foam earbuds a bit just b4 putting them in your ear(s)...then they'll swell to form a sealed fit once you've got them in place. I found it difficult at times to use these earbuds when the foam plugs were wet (from sweating while jogging). Another problem I had was there seems to be delicate wires inside. I've had to replace a couple pair because of one-sided earpiece failure, due to (internal) wiring failure/breakage. Can't seem to find these earbuds available in stores locally anymore. If you've used them and had good results, you MIGHT want to get a pair (or two) NOW at www.walmart.com before they become phased out! (Seems to ALWAYS happen with things that 'work' for me...) I wish I'd known about them when I ran my 1st marathon in '03!! The more expensive (foamLESS) brand I was using kept falling out of my ear canals during the 26.1 mile event! Disastrous! These 'stay put' when I use them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone
04/15/2012
By ,
Kansas City, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good sound - stays in ear even when jogging
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Tech= 'Swell' (pun)...Sound='Muddy' (to me)

01/09/2014
By ,
Bowling Green, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Golly geez, Mr. Wilson, these are 'swell' (get it?). Well, they DO swell in order to fit into your ear.
I highly recommend you do NOT order these 'Site-to-Store', especially to Walmart, as mine arrived with the first set of earplug sheaths crushed (KOSS product packaging is fine for peg-board displays, but not shipping in a poly bag, anyway).
Overall, I give these about a 7 out of 10...for the price, now, it's different--9 out of 10.
Sound quality is often hampered by the ends of the plugs, which cinch up in my ears.
They sound okay, but a little muddled, with less highs, and a deep bass without much clarity.
I used 4 different Android apps to test these earbuds on my LG Optimus G smartphone, and had to use the 'best' (paid for) equalizer to get the AC/DC song "For those about to Rock...We Salute You", to sound correct.
Posted my video review of these on Youtube, if WM will allow the link.
http://youtu.be/ga5DH5_3gc4
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Excellent Sound

06/05/2012
By ,
Pontiac, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised and very pleased at the quality of sound. They are the most comfortable I have used, and they stay in my ear. The price is fantastic. I had just bought a more expensive pair and they didn't come close to the performance of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Awesome

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bass.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Great !!!!

03/22/2014
By ,
Whittier
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bass on these headphones is AWESOME....I'm a rocker so AC/DC, Aerosmith, Stones, etc...sound GREAT...their noice cancelling capacity is so great...my phone rang right next to me and I didn't hear it...too busy rockin'
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

ok earbud

06/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was ok for money. I do not like outside form and small plastics thing(small pipe). So I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Good sound sounds good!

04/18/2014
By ,
Middle River, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the angled plug design but the sound was better than expected. A very nice product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Just The Ticket For Me.

10/19/2012
By ,
DeLand, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have looked around at earbuds and have found most of them lacking in sound quality and bass response. These have both. They are comfortable for me and I am touchy about my ears and what goes in them. The sound is concentrated right in the ear canal. They do isolate the listener, so the conversations will have to require the removal of at least one of the earbuds. I hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone
10/17/2013
By ,
Panama City , fla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These earplugs are great. Very soft plugs and does not feel like you have them on. Sound is fantastic. I use them for watching movies on my IPAD. Great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Pretty good but...

06/08/2012
By ,
Anaheim, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought this Earbuds were going to be louder and clearer from the five dollar ones I found on Walmart.com but they are not. My other complaint is that I thought that the wires were going to be thicker for the price paid. I was wrong. Anyway, I think these earbuds perform at an average level. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Good sound

10/26/2012
By ,
Monrovia, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was surprised that for the cost you would get that good of a sound, but you do. I would buy these again when needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

Lousy earbuds

05/23/2013
By ,
Lockport, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I threw these things away 10 minutes after I opened the package. The soft part of the headphones that go in the ear is so soft it's like squishing a marshmallow - except the earbuds don't go back to their original shape. They stay smashed. They're also impossible to change the earbuds. The physical part of the headphone on which the earbud is attached is a cheap piece of plastic tubing that bends and makes it nothing short of aggravating to try to put the earbuds on it. In the process, the earbud gets squished and is ruined and impossible to use. Don't waste your money...
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone
09/10/2012
By ,
Pearland, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They don't hurt my ears & the sound is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Koss Plug Isolation Earbud Stereophone

One earbud worked

02/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The left earbud was shorted out, right out of the package. Product defect, will return.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next