Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nintendo Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Nintendo Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

From jungle to beach, caves to volcanoes, mine carts and swinging vines to exploding barrels, Donkey Kong Country Returns will provide hours of adrenaline- fuelled fun for friends, family and Donkey Kong fans alike in this all-new, co-op multiplayer Wii platformer. With Donkey Kong, players can use the motion controls to make him pound the ground, roll into enemies and blow air. Meanwhile, Diddy Kong can make use of a Barrel Jet which offers hovering abilities, as well as a Peanut Popgun, which he can use against enemies whilst hitching a ride on Donkey Kongs back. Youll need to keep your eyes peeled as each level contains secret areas and collectibles. For those players wanting to set their pulses racing even faster, theres a Time Attack mode which challenges you to complete the stage as fast as possible in order to get a gold medal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.814 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(177 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
23
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation98%174 out of 177reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 45 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
23
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Brought the game for me.

12/17/2012
By ,
San Antonio,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy playing Donkey Kong Country Returns on my WII and I'm 63years old too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

A very fun game but it is not easy

12/29/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game has the best graphics for a wii game. It is not easy though, the first levels get you used to timing your jumps and there is no clock, so take your time. If you lose several lives in one stage the "super guide" feature (like in Super Mario Bros. wii) will ask you if you need help and can pass the stage for you. Two players can help each other but in later levels you should have the computerized diddy kong help you so you can control all the action. The second player may not jump just right and mess up the play. Your wii remote can be turned sideways to play or use the nunchuck with it. The classic controller is not supported. Each world will have a shop where you can buy extra lives, key to open a locked stage, and many other items to help you. Overall one of the best games for the wii but be prepared for a challenge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

super game!

11/25/2010
By ,
enumclaw
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nintendo does it again! awesome game for all ages.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Great Game... a MUST BUY!!!!!

11/27/2010
By ,
Everett, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great graphics... easy to play.... brings memories from the old game.... you will love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Donkey Kong Country--Wii Game

12/12/2010
By ,
Bucyrus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very fun! not quite like 1st , but very near!---my grandchildren really enjoy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Great graphics and fun worlds to play

04/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game has great graphics and is very funny to watch the boys play. It is really different from other games. There is cool tricks and tools to use. My 6 and 9 year old can both play together and they love it. I would definitely recommend this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Great Fun

04/05/2011
By ,
East Rutherford, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Wii game was lots of fun for our grandchildren to play - they loved it - ages 5-7 & 8.
We enjoyed watching them play this - seeing the fun & enjoyment they were having.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Enjoyed by all!!!

11/28/2010
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the BEST games Wii has ever made!!! If you loved the old Donkey Kong, then this game is for you! Old meets New!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Amazing

12/18/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three words: GET THIS GAME! This is hands down the best game that I own for the Wii system. Loads of fun for both single and multiplayer. This game is very similar to the older ones, but jam packed with new features. The graphics are not too bad either. Get this game, you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

great for children six and up

01/08/2012
By ,
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a four year old and six year old and they LOVE this game. It makes them think about how they are going to pass the levels. I have also played and I enjoy it very much!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Must-have for Wii

10/30/2011
By ,
Southcoast, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I paid 25 at the time of purchase (ended up buying two, one for me, one for a friend). Chose in-store pick up, got home sat down and started playing. I am a veteran of the console games of yesteryear, which included the original Donkey Kong (think I had it on Intellivision). At 28 years old now, having played all Donkey Kong games since, I can honestly say this one is better than the original Donkey Kong Country for SNES. This is perhaps the first time I've ever given a higher praise to a newer version of a game. For instance, I loved the Metroid Prime Trilogy (Prime 2 being the best), but I'll say to my dying day, Super Metroid was the best of all. Same with the the Zelda games... A Link to the Past was the best (seeing a proclivity for SNES?). So what's the point I'm getting across? Even with my proclivity for older games, I still think Donkey Kong Country Returns for the Wii is the best of the Country games. Sounds and Music are great, controls are great, graphics great (for the Wii). Even the level of progressive difficulty is spot on (found the original got too difficult too quickly). It's a casual gamers (or a young kids) perfect mix of progressive difficulty. Not every level has to be beat, but there are added challenges/benefits to get you to spend the time to do so, and collect all puzzle pieces and Kong Letters. If you played the new Super Mario Bros. Wii and liked it, you will like this. If you like this and haven't played the new Super Mario Bros. Wii, you will probably want to pick it up.
Bottom line for Donkey Kong Country Returns: Get it. Play it. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

addicting!

02/07/2011
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 6yr old LOVES this game, he was frustrated at first but the option of having super kong play the level first is fabulous! Once he saw how a level was played and mastered, he was eager to try and take on the challenge. I played myself and the kids love to sit back and laugh as I tried to complete levels LOL Great game and like many others have said GREAT graphics!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Donkey Kong Rocks!!!!!!!!!!

11/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad they came out with a new Donkey Kong game!!! Its so much fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

my kids love this game

12/30/2013
By ,
Gillette Wy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for less violent video game
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

donkey kong

12/27/2013
By ,
south carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kids were happy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

item is great

12/15/2013
By ,
hazleton, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my wife wanted this game can't wait to give it to her on christmas
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)
12/04/2012
By ,
Terra Alta, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought it would be like the old Donkey Kong, but it isn't but alot of fun.
Glad I got it... I would reccomend this to all members of the family...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

It's ok

12/17/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It doesn't have any snow levels or any swimming levels, but other than that it's good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Everything I excepted

02/20/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the game
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Donkey Kong Country Returns (Wii)

Awesome Wii Game

01/22/2011
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased Donkey Kong Country Returns for our daughters for Christmas and it has turned out to be alot of fun for the whole family. We really love playing this game. All of the stages we have passed have been amazing and challenging. I strongly recommend purchasing this game. I guarantee you will have hours and hours of fun:o)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next