Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nintendo Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

Nintendo Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

Offering a planet-sized world of adventure to explore and conquer, Golden Sun: Dark Dawn puts the raw power of the elements in players' hands. Each of the game's playable characters is capable of carrying Djinn, spirits that imbue their owner with unique and powerful abilities. Players can collect more than 70 unique Djinn, granting them the ability to summon mighty deities who unleash devastating attacks that fill both Nintendo DS screens. Djinn powers can also be used to navigate puzzling dungeons and overworld environments that will have players flinging fireballs to burn away obstacles, freezing water to raise platforms, or summoning whirlwinds to create bridges out of floating objects.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation93%13 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

Great game marred by terrible storytelling

12/07/2012
By ,
Foster City, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm a big fan of the original two games and was excited to play a new entry which promised to refresh the series. The gameplay mechanics are still as satisfying as ever, but the long-winded nature of all the dialog in this game ultimately forced me to put it down.
Both the story and characters are utterly generic, especially for an RPG. So when you get in a dialog scene where all 5-8 characters in your team (and the additional 2-3 tag-a-longs) HAVE to say at least one thing each, these worthless, uninteresting conversations become unbearable. The last time I played the game, I spent 5 minutes not looking at the screen just mashing A hoping to skip through all the talking as quick as possible (again, because it is so boring and unoriginal). Even after 5 minutes of not actually playing the game, the scene was far from over, as everyone in my party continued to share their 2-cents. There is no way to flat out skip these scenes, and the text scroll is never fast enough.
The first 2 games were verbose themselves, but it was never as unbearable as this. It's such a bummer to realize what was once one of my favorite gaming franchises will never again be for me.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

Golden Sun: Dark Dawn

12/07/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you ar elike me and have played both golden suns for the gameboy advance and have been waiting for another golden sun to come out then you must get this, the game starts off 30 years after the golden sun event from GS:TLA and you play as the Childen of the Warriors of Vale its a great game and there is no need to have played the first 2 because it tells you everything that has happened
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

faithful follow up

04/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For video game reviews I would always recomend checking out 2-3 gaming sites for in-depth reviews, but i will say that fans of Golden Sun should be very happy as the game is very true to the original games. they did not change what made the first game great and so far all of the new things are welcome by me. I'm 18 hours into the game now. I'm also playing it on a 3DS which has an analog slider, i would imagine it may be difficult to control with just the d-pad and probably annoying with the touch screen to run around. With the 3DS slider however running around is perfect. Only downfall is that the graphics aren't as spectacular as the previous ones felt when they were released, but that may be due to system limitations (I'm not sure as this is the only DS game I own). However even the graphical feel is similar to the originals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

excellent game

07/02/2011
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is all it's promised to be! Terrific graphics! Only reservation is the price, kind of expensive for the DS.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

great game

04/02/2014
By ,
St. Louis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have all three Golden Sun games. I have a DS Lite which has a port that lets you play GBA games. (I don't know about previous generations of the Game Boy games.) It was fun to play the three games in order. It is a shame that there is still no resolution with the orgin of Sheba, who fell from the sky and it was greatly hinted at in the Lost Age that there was a floating city.
But on to Golden Sun Dark Dawn. For once if you missed a djinn and you went beyond a certain point, you could not go back and get it. That really pushes you to fully explore and try to collect everything you can as you cross the land. There are three points that keep you from going back.
For people who have played the other two games, you do get to meet up with people and children of people from previous games. Certain motifs are repeated and you do get to see certain items like the Lure Cap and Nurses Hat. Gone are the class changing items like the Mysterious Card. There is a greater limit to the type of pysnergy you can collect. In the older games you could equip any item to any individual despite elemental alignment. In this game you have to be a water user to use the frost gem and so on and so forth for the other gems/tools. You do get two of each element user. The last one you get like three dungeons before the last battle.
The battle system is turn based al a Finial Fantasy style. By moving or using djinn you can change you class or summon larger monsters.
There is minimal grinding and not as many side quest.
Once the game is beat you do have the option of going in a few extra dungeons that can only be accessed once you have the finial weapon the Sol Blade.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

Great

01/09/2011
By ,
long island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Own the previous 2 games to the series and I loved them so decided to buy this one and it met my expectations. Def recommend!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)
02/06/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you like adventure games you might wanna buy this. I like the game play. I rate it at 8/10
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

great product

11/05/2013
By ,
Uniontown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

Awesome game!

07/25/2013
By ,
Fresno, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the golden sun series from GBA and love this version even more. It's got awesome graphics and is still fun to play and addicting!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

Amazing sequel!

02/24/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far everything I expected and more. A great sequel to the Golden Sun games for the Game Boy Advance. Highly recommend to any fans of those games. Strongly suggest playing them before this one as it is a direct sequel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)

Great RPG

02/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is a great buy even if you have not played the prior golden sun installments. Just watch out for missable djinni and collectibles as you journey through Weyard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn (DS)
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5