Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Regalo Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

If your little ones have started to toddle or climb, then this Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate is essential for their safety. It is ideal for doorways and hall openings. This baby safety gate in white features a convenient walk-thru design. The simple lift lever-style handle can be opened with a one-touch hand release convenient for parents whose hands are occupied. Its extra height prevents your little ones from climbing over. This Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate has a strong steel construction and is PVC free. This walk through baby gate meets all the current safety standards and is JPMA certified to assure your kid s safety. The white color of this walk through gate blends well with your contemporary home decor. This Regalo gate is 38 inches tall and expands from 29.5 to 52 inches wide with the help of 6 and 12 inch extensions that comes with it. The four pressure mounts help in easy and quick installation and each can be individually adjusted for a perfect fit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.28 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%44 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 43 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Misleading

12/09/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product description advertises that "toddler-proof" latch, which is what I needed for my 2.5yo. Less than 10 minutes after setting up the gate, my son was able to easily unlatch it. We returned this gate and purchased a step-release latch instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Easy set up

05/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was easy to set up, took less than 10 mins. I did only use the pressure mount and not the wall mounted cups. I found the pressure mount grips to be not very "grippy" - they slip easily. I'd be happier if the rubber was thicker. The closing latch seems pretty cheap. Granted, I've only had this for one week, I honestly would be surprised if the latch lasted longer than a few months. Maybe, if this were placed in a doorway that does not get regular traffic it would suffice. I also was not happy with the doorway opening - not wide enough. If you are not a thin person, you will have to enter sideways. I did like that the gate had a stop guard on the bottom so the gate only opens one way. I purchased because I wanted something taller than normal - I am very happy with the height, does not reach / cover the doorknob, so the door can still close easily. The bars do seem to be well made, I do not foresee them being bent by children climbing etc. Overall, I would rate as average - will work until I have to replace.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Not What It Seems

07/22/2014
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is great if you are looking for height. The Door itself is not what they say. The width is very small. You would have to be extremely small to fit through it. A man or woman of average size would have to turn sideways to get through. I returned it the next day. I would not recommend this gate to anyone ..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Attractive and fairly strong. Works great for pets

04/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Attractive and fairly strong. Fairly easy to install. Works great for pets; even our medium size cat cannot squeeze between the bars. It does fit our 48" opening, even though the online manual on the Regalo website said it would not fit openings between 39 and 49". Lock is quite difficult to open, but it can remain unlocked, unless you are trying to confine a tall 2-and-1/2-year-old like ours who opens it easily when it is unlocked.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Helpful product

02/03/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I searched for a week for the perfect baby gate. I needed a gate that could go between a banister and a wall at the bottom of the stairs. My daughter insisted on going up the stairs many times a day so I was determined to find the perfect gate to keep her safe. I also needed it pressure mounted so that I didn't have to make holes in the wall. And I also needed a lock that my very smart twenty month old couldn't open but yet we could easily get open when we needed too. I measured how tall I would need the gate, and the gate wasn't as tall as it had said. I was an inch or so off but it works. I have to adjust it about once a week but I expected it because it's not screwed in. I only rated it a four because of the fact that I have to adjust it and the measurement was off, but other than that, I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
For bottom of the stair with banister
Posted 09/29/2013
How do you fix this gate at the bottom of stair that has banister?? Do you any other kit to secure the gate??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

It's only okay

07/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I much prefer the Dreambaby Chelsea Extra Tall gate. I ordered this thinking it was the same in error. The opening is much narrower and the latch is not as simple. I really do not feel it as good a value at all. It was easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Great Product

01/24/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a gate that would keep my dog out of certain areas of my apartment. He is a big dog and the opening between the rooms is wider than a normal door so this product was perfect. It was too tall for him to jump over and wide enough to fit the opening. The assembly and installation were simple. The only problem I had intially was that my dog could push the gate out, but that problem was solved by installing the wall cups that were included. Great product overall!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Wonderful buy!

03/07/2012
By ,
Iota, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is perfectly toddler proof. The mounting process is very easy. You just have to screw in the mounting retainers, find the right width needed, and pressure mount it. It's strong, sturdy and easy to open.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Really sturdy gate

02/11/2014
By ,
Austin, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gate, at first when putting it together I thought I was doing it wrong because the door kept opening wile putting it on wall but once you tighten the rubber stoppers it fits great, a little tricky when alighning the plastic holders or stopper to hold the rubber stoppers but over all not bad.... Would purchase again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Extra Tall Baby Gate

04/11/2012
By ,
Middle Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate to keep my new Pug {dog} in the kitchen area at night and when we go to work. I only have two words for it, LOVE IT. If you are a tall person like me 5'10" it's a perfect height. It's alittle on the expensive side but we will have it for a long time to come. Plus, no nails in the wall. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Great, Tall Baby Gate!

12/07/2012
By ,
Central PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much research on baby gates, I found that this was the best fit for what we're looking for. I like the fact that it expanded to 52" (although, we only needed 40.5") and that it was tall so you don't have to bend over with baby in arms. I also like the fact that it didn't have an automatic close mechanism, which is unnecessary for us...especially since we have dogs. We put the gate in a rather awkwardly curved hallway where the walls aren't exactly parallel to each other and it worked out perfectly. The bottom pressure mounts are on the wooden baseboards and we nailed-in the top pressure mounts to the wall (with the provided "cups") to ensure that our baby wouldn't push it over. With some spackle and paint on the wall, that's an easy cosmetic fix! Very pleased with our purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Just what I needed

01/25/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My vet recommended a baby gate to keep one cat (who is obese) from eating the others' food. I searched for an extra tall gate and this came with the extensions. It was a snap to put together, it's sturdy and does the job perfectly. I used the 6 inch extension and it is a snug fit. Now, one cat can lose weight and another can gain weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Wonderful! !!

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the perfect solution for us! Our 15 month old likes to climb everything, expecially the kitchen table and kitchen island! We put the gate up so he could not get into the kitchen. He can't climb the gate and I can keep him out of danger! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate
08/30/2013
By ,
Casselberry FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is easy to install....no screws in my walls. It is tall enough to keep my little jumper from escaping, easy to open with one hand. It only loses one star because the opening is rather narrow and I can't get certain wide items through without lifting them over. Because it is used to keep my little escape artist from running out the door to the garage, I often have large items to get through the opening. If the opening were double the size, I would give this gate 10 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Didn't fit my space

03/08/2012
By ,
Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall I liked the gate but it didn't fit the space I needed. You must have the exact size in order to use the extensions. One was too small and using two made it to big. Measure properly before you order this gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Easy to install.

04/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only use this every other week, so easy set up and removal makes it a great option. I have a 36 inch doorway, so used the smaller extension which was included. It keeps muddy dogs in the mud room until they are clean!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Helpful product

05/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Great height.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Great gate for avg to thin sized people

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is exactly as described and shown, it was easy to install and sturdy. We are average to thin sized people so we easily walk thru the door but I would not recommend this for bigger waisted people, it is do-able but they would have to walk thru sideways to go in and out of this gate door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

for a puppy

04/21/2014
By ,
miami, fl (coral way & 84)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got a puppy Boxer and i will see if he can't knock it down !! but it's easy to install if you go to you tube and type regalo fence instructions,, it helped me !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo - Extra Tall Widespan Gate

Great gate for tall people

03/29/2014
By ,
Walnut Creek, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband is 6'6 and I'm 5'10 and this gate is perfect for us. It's sturdy. Hubby said it was easy to install. The only cause for concern would be if you have wide hips as the actual walk through is pretty skinny. I haven't measured but it's probably around 15 inches. So you'd have to turn sideways if you are bigger than that. We have a 9 month old and have had this gate since she was 7 months, no problems with it yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next