Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Make your workout session more effective with the Gold's Gym Weighted Vest. Wearing the vest while you cardio train will help improve the cardio conditioning and strength. This boost gives more power, speed, and agility in workouts and in life. You can wear the 12 lb weighted vest while running, walking or performing any other physical activity. The 12lb vest weight helps make the activity more effective. The vest buckles included prevent any interference and ensure complete comfort while you exercise. It also has a temperature controlled design that ensures that you dont feel uncomfortable in it. You can keep your iPod, MP3 player or mobile phone in the secure electronic pocket of the vest and enjoy your favorite music. This weighted training vest features reflective strips that ensure wearer visibility during all times.
Average Customer Rating:
4.469 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%76 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 44 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Perfect weight vest

12/22/2012
By ,
Versailles, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted a weight vest to help lose weight. Perfect weight for working out and is comfortable to wear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Perfect weight, I wear it backwards and love it!

09/11/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most of the weight in this vest resides on your back when you wear it as intended. This feels awkward and very unnatural to me, so I just turned it around! This makes it a fantastic training vest for a man, in fact I imagine it feels much the weight of a bra might for some women. This product won't work for some women - look at the photo I attached of the photo on the box cover.
But it's so inexpensive! As currently priced, you'll buy two of these and wear them simultaneously in opposite directions and it would only cost half what a 20 pound vest would. Or just give one away as a Christmas gift. Incredible value for someone looking to make their workouts tougher.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Almost Perfect

01/28/2014
By ,
Fresno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical when purchasing this vest because of the price ($17) but was pleasantly surprised when it arrived. PROS - The 12 pounds is distributed fairly well and I didn't feel a majority of the weight on 1 or 2 places only. I really liked how the weight rests higher on your body and does not restrict your mid-section. The construction and stitching is sturdy and I like that the weight is from sand and not metal. CONS - This vest is good for walking and light jogging but if the movements are sharp or hard then the vest has a lot of movement and depending on your size it could flop around. There is a small "net" type pocket on the back that isn't very functional because unless you are a contortionist or you remove the vest then its not easily accessible. There is a small velcro pocket which attaches to the front of the vest that I believe is meant for a cell phone but it is way too small for today's phones. You're luck to get your keys and maybe some gum in there. OVERALL - This is a great vest for the price. I've seen 8 & 10lb vests cost three times as much and not be as nice as this one. I would recommend this vest to consumers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

helpful, neat product

11/29/2010
By ,
LA, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i really like this vest. first, is as comfortable as it could get. i like the quality material that is made of.
i use it to do all my workouts except when im lying flat on the floor,. i use it to go running and it stays put and it doesnt hurt my shoulders. 12 lbs is a good poundage to be carrying around, is not a lot of weight nor a little bit.. im 5' 5" so i think the pounds are perfect for me because im not looking to get tired and exhausted carrying this on but rather i look forward to enhance all my workouts carrying with something i can bare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

GREAT workout asset!. GREAT INVESTMENT!

04/18/2011
By ,
SOUTHERN CALI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to amp up my cardio regime and this vest does exactly that. You burn more calories, build your tolerance, tone and enhance your muscle with the added weight. I use it mainly for cardio: running, cycling, and the eliptical. I've been using it lately, while doing push ups, pull ups and dips. Wow! you can really feel the difference. I've gotten so many compliments on the increased muscle definition in my upper body, legs and butt. The only negative comment: I wish I could remove the weights and throw it in the wash vs. hand washing after each use. You WILL work up a sweat!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Madison, AL
Get another one and lysol the one that smells bad
Posted 11/15/2013
Get another one and lysol the one that smells bad and let it sit for a week before using it again or it may cause skin irritation and it can be spot washed
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

easy to use, don't know its there

12/03/2013
By ,
Canton, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 lbs is heavier than you think, but I love it!!! I wore it for over 4 hours the first day while working clearing brush and cutting down trees. It is awesome. I have been trying to lose weight slowly, but have come to a plateau and looking forward to using the vest to assist in my weight loss and strengthening my back.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Okay

01/16/2014
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would like to state that I like as far as for female weighted vest the 8 lb. vest also available at Walmart. The feel is just better and I like how it snaps on the abdomen for support. This vest is mostly for shoulders and upper back and the fit isn't that comfortable. But I am making do with this product and it is supplying my workout needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Awesome

03/18/2014
By ,
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't let the size of the product fool you! Very comfortable and adds the perfect amount of evenly distributed weight. It definitely kicks your workouts up a notch
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Love it a lot!!!!!

03/07/2011
By ,
Alexandria
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vest is great. It is not too heavy or too light. I got it in a timely manner and immediately started using it. It has helped tone my stomach (wear it while doing my situps) and with my walking. I can't wait to wear it in the summer time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Great Autism tool!!!

07/07/2011
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son (13 y/o) is on the autism spectrum. You'd never know unless you spent a little time with him.....weight on his joints and back are particularly calming to him. This vest is not too heavy and small profile enough that he can wear it under his clothes at school (he's very concerned about standing out and being different, so concealment is key for him).
This vest works GREAT for him. It seems well built, it does not have any smell other than what you generally get with neoprene. Totally happy with this and when he wrecks or loses the one he's got, I will for SURE be getting another!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Not constructed for women with large breasts

02/04/2012
By ,
Griffin, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The vest fits around the body fine but I am not able to use the snap belt due to large breasts. a woman would have to be small to medium build to be able to snap the belt and do something like situps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Good product

03/05/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is good for basic work out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Exactly what I wanted

03/03/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it's suppose to do. Stays nice and tight in it's place...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Just the right size for heavy cardio.

02/27/2014
By ,
Richardson,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this to kick up my cardio a notch for longer workouts. It hits the spot. I am about 200lbs so it is light enough to do any plyo work, but definitely noticeable on those higher reps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

It's a great vest for me and is worth the $17

01/13/2014
By ,
Eastern NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 205 lb./6'0", and I've been wanting a vest to work out with for a while now. However, I was not interested in paying $50 for a weighted vest. Then I found this one for $17 and I am very pleased so far.
I was a little skeptical about it being 12 lbs. at first, but now I realize that 12 lbs. is heavier than I thought it would be. It's enough to add some weight to my workout without feeling like I'm putting too much strain on my body. It also fits me well and I find it comfortable.
I don't know how durable it is, being that I've only had it for a few days, but it seems to be made well and looks like it will last a while if it's taken care of. I will definately be using it often so I guess I'll find out soon enough. I will try to post photos later if I am able.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Used for walking and resistance bands

05/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this vest to increase the intensity of my Wii walking game... which it does. It feels like I am exercising at 20% more effort. If I were to wear the vest outside, it has a handy optional pouch for cell phone or other items. I also wear it while using resistance bands. The large armhole area allows for a wide range of motion. The filler product appears to be made of sand or some other heavy substance. The instructions say "do not wash" and most likely it would fall apart if washed the normal way. The strap/fastener for the vest fits across the upper part of the chest. I measure 37" and the strap could increase another 8". I was a little worried that the vest would not be heavy enough, but everyone who picks it up says "THIS is 12 pounds!?" It is a useful product at a good price.
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Great for running

02/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this vest as a gift and he loved it. It is great for running because there are no individual weights.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Just right for what I need...

01/25/2014
By ,
Syracuse, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did a lot of shopping around for a weighted vest and I am a slightly above normal fit guy...I mention this because when I first saw it I thought 12lbs was too light. I wanted a 40lbs vest but the cost was too high.
But, since I got it for a good deal as part of a bundle package from Walmart (which included a 40lbs dumbbell set and a bench) it was worth the price to try it out. I have used it a few times while running on a treadmill and doing push/pull ups, and the little extra weight gives me a slightly harder workout which is just right for what I need. The vest is also adjustable, fits snug enough that it does not move around much and has a pouch for an mp3 player which is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Got this as part of a bundle

02/24/2014
By ,
Newport News
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This came as part of a bundle...I am using it two times a week and it makes my abs and squats brutal, lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gold's Gym 12-lb. Weighted Vest

Great way to get a better workout.

02/16/2014
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have worn the vest three times so far. I wore it in both kickboxing and zumba to get a better cardio. So glad I purchaced it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next