Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Winchester Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Winchester Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

The Winchester Personal Drawer Safe is the ideal option for those who need an extra measure of safety for their personal belongings. This Winchester safe drawer is made from superior-quality steel and comes with pre-drilled holes to be mounted in the drawer. Including the trouble key override feature, this personal drawer also comes with an electronic lock for enhanced security. You can use security code to open the drawer and once entered the code, the lid of the steel drawer safe will open up instantly. This personal security safe box is powered by 4 AA batteries.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%21 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Nice low-cost alternative

10/29/2011
By ,
San Diego, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a nice way to keep your handgun out of the reach of children while still accessible in a hurry, this is a great alternative to the more pricey safes out there. I'd been looking at biometric safes for a while but just couldn't bring myself to spend the $200+ to get one. This safe is solid, and access is quick and easy. I can punch in the code and have it open in 3 seconds or less, no problem. It has a low battery indicator, an option to mute or activate keypad beeps, timed lock-outs if incorrect codes are entered multiple times, and key access as a backup. Comes with the hardware to mount it in your drawer. The only thing I would add would be to make it actually "pop open." You have to turn a knob after entering the code and then manually lift the door - not as fancy as the expensive safes, but really not a problem at all. It takes less than a second to do. Reviews I've read on the expensive safes indicate they don't predictably "pop open" in many cases anyway! Overall I couldn't be happier with what I got for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Love this safe!

01/03/2012
By ,
Boise, Id
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought the winchester safe and I'm already in love with it! I needed a safe to keep my toddler from getting a hold of my gun and this does the job perfectly! I almost didn't buy it because of a few bad reviews but now I'm glad I ignored them. I needed something safe yet with quick access and this does both. Ya, you have to type o0your code, press * then turn the knob then open it but I was able to do all that in under 5 seconds in the dark. I even tried it multiple times with the same easy outcome. It has plenty of room and the lid stays open by itself with no problems. And yes, you have to turn the knob to lock it but anyone with children will double check it's locked anyways. It's a bit heavier but that's perfect for anyone who's not mounting the safe, little hands can't pick it up easily and take off with it. So anyone needing to lock up their guns whether to keep your kids safe, this safe is the one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Great Pistol/Security Safe for the Money

04/24/2011
By ,
Out West, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a REALLY great product for the price. I read the other review about not having "Quick Access", but this takes a grand total of 5 seconds for me to open in the dark, and its built like a tank. It is made by stack-on (Read the reviews of the same product being sold under the stack-on name on amazn), but is MUCH stronger and thicker than many of the other products by them I have seen. Easily holds my full size Glock 17 and 2 mags with room to spare. For under $50, if you need something secure by the nightstand, I would highly recommend this option if your on a budget. And it is also CA DOJ approved if that is important to you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe
08/19/2011
By ,
Springville, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this safe! Fits both my husband's pistols, plus more! I have been concerned about keeping them locked up for the safety of our children, and this was the perfect solution. It is relatively small, but looks really nice and can actually fit exactly what we need it to. It is awesome cause you can just type in a code and turn the handle and it pops open. Easy enough for an adult, but tricky enough for a child. Very, very happy with this purchase. Worth every penny, and my husband loves it too. He immediately took it out of the box and set it up in our bedroom and started messing with it. Awesome birthday gift!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Good lock box, not exactly fast-access

02/28/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are currently using this to store our handgun next to the bed in case of something bad going down. It works well for making sure the kids and others don't have access to the gun. As I said in the title, though, it's not exactly fast-access. To open the box, you need to punch in your code, press the key then rotate the lock knob to the open position. It doesn't take long, but in a panic situation when adrenalin is flowing, it would be easy to foul it up and have to start over. It would be nice if the keys were illuminated, but they're not, so plan on needing some ambient light or a flashlight when using this in the dark.
We plan to buy a different fast-access box in the future, but for the time being, this is serving us well.
FYI: This box can also be opened with a key. There is a plastic cover in the center of the door between the key pad and lock knob. The lock cylinder is behind this cover. I left the cover off so the lock can be easily accessed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

DESCRIPTION DETAILS ARE WRONG

10/15/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ok first of all, I bought this thinking it would be great for quick access in case someone is breaking in since the description said "quick access" and "pops open" after you enter your security code. This is NOT TRUE. after you enter your security code, you have to enter a "*", which electronically allows access to the safe. Then you have to turn a knob to physically unlock the safe and pull a small knob up to open the safe. Not what I'd call "quick access".
When you lock it, you have to close the lid, then turn the knob back to physically lock it, then after a couple of seconds the electronic lock kicks in. If you forget to turn the knob, it WILL NOT LOCK.
It will work for something basic but I guess you get what you pay for. I would not recommend based on the current description.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Just what was needed

03/11/2013
By ,
Loganville, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This drawer safe keeps the grandkids out, but gives me quick access if the need arises. I tried one of the "Whiz Bang" vaults that reads your fingerprint to gain you access, but I was left totally unimpressed. While it reads your fingerprints, it does so only about 60% of the time on they first try. I don't need to get into my handgun 60% of the time. 90% isn't satisfactory. After returning two I decided to give the Winchester drawer safe a try. Exactly what is needed. The kids can't get in, yet if I need quick access I can be in in less than 5 minutes. No, it won't keep a professional their from gaining access, but I feel secure that my grandkids can't get in. Good job Winchester!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Excellent safe! great price...

05/17/2012
By ,
San Juan, PR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits nicely in my night stand drawer. Excellent quality. Excellent price...
The safe is easy to intall and program... barely holds average size pistol with two magazines, but that's exactly what I was looking for... if you're looking for more space, look for a larger safe.
I'm glad I checked Walmart.com first before buying this safe at nearly double the price at my local gun shop... and I couldn't believe the unbelievably low shipping! ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Not secure. Can easily pick the lock!

02/11/2013
By ,
Cartersville, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am able to quickly open this safe with a simple small paper clip by inserting it fully into the key lock and pulling it back slightly while turning it counter-clockwise. This is a common way to open most cheap key locks like this one has. Also, the front cover around the keypad is cheap plastic that can be easily cut open with a knife or screw driver, exposing the solenoid mechanism that locks the safe, allowing someone to easily open the safe.
Other than that, the safe is well-constructed and will serve my purpose of keeping firearms locked up when we have company or children here.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sanford, FL
Realllly?
Posted 03/25/2013
I don't think it's a very smart too advertise how easy the safe is to get in to especially when the majority of people hold Firearms in it to keep them away from children and young adults.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Nice, Sturdy Drawer Gun Safe

07/21/2012
By ,
Burleson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy and well built, easy to program in key pad ombination.
Is Winchester brand made by Stack-On, which means Winchester name costs $10 more than identical Stack-On safe.
For sentimental reasons, I wish Winchester was engraved or painted somewhere on outside of safe.
Electronic keypad works great now. Hope it doesn't act up in future. Will update review if it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Great Buy!

05/20/2012
By ,
San Clemente, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I made this purchase, and did not pay attention to the negative reviews. This is a heavy duty and quick access gun safe that is very well priced compared to other safes I researched. I really like the key feature in case I forget the combination. I bought this for a friend and I am going to buy another one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

perfect for the money!

10/21/2012
By ,
ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great, very secure. the mounting bolts that come with it are a joke, but so is the idea of keeping a safe in a drawer... i had to felt the inside, and lag it to the floor (it won't work well on a wall). the functionality is great, especially given the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe
10/26/2012
By ,
SW Washington state
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
surpassed my expectation. Heavyweight construction a pleasant surprise.
However, the mounting bolts/nylon locking nuts need a washer to insure that there is now wiggle room when the safe is mounted in a permanent position.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Great safe

05/23/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good safe for the price. Like that you can disable the "beep."
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Very Happy!

01/12/2013
By ,
Sanford, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My main number one reason for purchasing this safe was so I wouldn't ever have to worry about my children getting a hold of one of my guns. It was a constant worry because I had them up in the closet but it's only a matter of time before one of them finds a way to climb up there. I got tired of worrying myself to death for their safety. This is a very solid, heavy duty little safe which fits perfectly and easily bolted in my nightstand drawer next to my bed. I can enter up to an 8 digit code that can easily be changed or reprogrammed in seconds if need be. I can enter my code and unlock the safe and have it opened in approximately 3-5 seconds. There is a knob to the left of the keypad that only needs to be turned a quarter turn to release the door. I found the quickest way to open it is to enter my code and then just flick the knob to the left with ease and lift the door and have my loaded gun in 5 seconds flat!! This is awesome and gives me piece of mind that my family will be safe in more ways than one. If you enter the code and do not turn the knob to release the locks, in about 4-5 seconds you will have to re-enter the code which is great because if you get side tracked you don't have to worry if it has been left unlocked. The safe comes with 4 AA batteries that are supposed to last up to a year but I've been practicing a lot so I probably cut the battery life in half already lol. The safe also comes with 2 keys in case the batteries die and you need access. I keep these in another safe.
Inside the safe there is plenty of room for 2-3 full size pistols and a revolver, extra clips and my extra 12 gage shells and a small mag light. There is a cheap foam lining on the bottom that slides around a bit so I just replaced it with a rubberized drawer liner cut to fit. I used a light color so I can easily see what I have an there. I plan on buying a few more for around the house and one for the trunk of my car. I think 50 bucks is a very small price to pay for peace of mind and the ability to be up an armed in seconds to defend your family if need be. Five Stars all the way. I would Highly recommend this safe!
T
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Can't follow setup instructions

01/31/2012
By ,
Napa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The safe describes a removeable small central panel for the key to do initial setup. No panel is evident and good 'ole Winchester does not list a help number in its instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
Just An FYI
Posted 05/14/2012
The panel is hidden under a plastic cover between the keypad and turn knob. It hides the key hole for a little added security from small children, a very nice feature.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Excellent!

04/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built and easy to use. It literally takes me 3 seconds to get in it. Fits nicely in my nightstand drawer. Perfect for what I wanted and it exceeded my expectations. Definitely a nice product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe
04/23/2012
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i dont think my kids will be getting into this. nice size for gun and small personal items. i'm very satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe
04/20/2012
By ,
portsmouth va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made. I trust this safe will keep my family safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Winchester Personal Drawer Safe

Pretty Solid Deal

12/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little more heavy duty than I was expecting.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next