Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for AT&T AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

AT&T AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

The AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone comes with $10 of airtime and a Bluetooth headset, so you can start connecting to your world right out of the box. The Full 26-key keyboard lets you easily type messages and emails fast. Access your personal email including AOL, Yahoo! and Windows Live (data charges apply). Get easy-to-use texting with full text, picture, video and IM support (messaging charges apply). This AT&T Samsung GoPhone is a solid, basic phone that gets the job done with a minimum of hassle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation83%20 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Accurate product review

09/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great phone for the money, I purchased it so I wouldn't have to renew my contract and purchase a more expensive phone. Keyboard works fine, reception is good. Picture quality is ok but I don't really use it for pics. Works great for calls and texting. U have to be careful the back slides off fairly easy. I would definitely recommend for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Review 2 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

The Best Go Phone

08/12/2010
By ,
Kansas, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is great when it comes to texting love the features that this SAMSUNG a177 has. They can do a little better with the camera, not showing up clear needs improving, other than that its better then the Razor V3 phone I had, I paid $500 for it and it was a wast of my time. People go get this SAMSUNG SGH-a177 and believe me you will love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 3 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

A very good phone

09/01/2010
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone also included a blue tooth headset which made this a great buy. The phone is working great and does just about anything you can do with a more expensive smart phone. I am very pleased with its performance. I have an AT&T acccount. So all I had to do was move my SIM card to this phone and I was good to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Really . . .

08/19/2010
By ,
Dothan , AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got the $60 unlimited plan , guess I didn't do my homework other companies have unlimited web too but not at&t you still got to pay for it. I was on the web for a minute and it cost $2 , crazy, oh well guess I won't be using that feature. But aside from that and the fact the blue tooth only works on the head piece , it is a pretty good phone, meaning you can text and make calls.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Good phone

10/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone as a replacement for a more expensive phone that I killed in the laundry. It was the best deal out there for a phone with the basic modern amenities. Though I was pretty sure you could just switch out your ATT SIM card, I was slightly hesitant that it wouldnt work. There are instructions inside the phone specific to placing a previous SIM card in the phone- it worked perfectly and I am SO happy I didnt buy a different ,more expensive phone!!! This one is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 6 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime
09/28/2010
By ,
ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My phone died so I had to get a go phone, using it with my own sim card. It's a basic phone but so far seems to be a good phone, no problems with it. I even got a bonus blue tooth. For the price I would definatly recommend. It was the best deal I could find and I looked alot of places.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Just not for me

10/13/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I received this phone, used it for about 4 hours and knew it was just not for me. No fault of Wal-Marts at all, and it was a very good price for all the features the phone offers. I text lots, I mean LOTS. Ha haa. And I found the texting very difficult, the keys were tiny. Also the display screen was smaller than I was used to, and I found the camera of poor quality. I had bought this phone because I lost my Samsung Solstice. So, granted, I was used to a flat touch screen phone with a very good camera and large display. I returned the A177 to a Wal-Mart store with no problems at all, the service I was given from start to finish on this site and at the store was excellent. I ended up buying an LG Prime and I absolutely love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Perfect BASIC phone

10/21/2010
By ,
Utica, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PROS - the blackberry look to it is nice, the keyboard is fine unless you have big fingers. I got used to it in minutes.
its so easy to send messages really fast, i probably sent 1000 in the first week i had it.
camera snaps pictures very fast, on my samsung impression it took too long to focus a picture. this phone you just click, click and shoot and its saved instantly
the call quality matches my old samsung impression, which was stellar
phone is very lightweight, but doesnt feel cheap
service is perfect, at&t has an excellent network, cannot go wrong there
battery life is normal
price was very cheap for the amount of features included, bluetooth headset is a nice addon, which works perfectly
shipping was fast
can put old SIM card in if you need a quick replacement phone for contract
CONS - doesnt take video, receive or playback video whatsoever
no microsd support (for this store's model)
memory is low, again it would be nice to expand it
camera could be better, but hey at least it has one
wish usb cord was included, but that's a quick fix from amazon
other: i wouldnt mind holding on to this phone for the rest of my contract, about 1.5 years left. its nice, cheap, and basic. I needed a phone that sent messages fast, and had great call quality, this phone does it and more. if you dont care about camera quality and video playback and you want what i have, then buy this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Not exactly what I expected

10/18/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The main thing I'm noticing is the reception isn't very good. I am having lots of "static" on my calls and dropping calls in areas I didn't usually have problems before. I don't like how quickly the keyboard locks & I can't seem to adjust the time delay. It's either "on" or "off" without offering me the ability to extend the time until it locks or until the screen dims. It's a good basic phone though and is serving it's purpose when I was in a bind for a dependable phone. I doubt I'll keep it very long though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Very pleased

10/13/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not wish to sign another contract with ATT at the time, so I had previously purchased a LG neon go phone to replace my 6 year old razor which finally died. The neon started out fine, then went haywire after about 2 months. Was told by LG I had to mail it back for repair/replacement. Went ahead and bought this samsung & have had nothing but good results. Already has mobile banking preloaded, and was easy to set up. A fine deal at a great price for the features. Bluetooth bonus was a pleasant surprise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Affordable & Just Right!

09/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased two of these phones. The first one I bought, I did it because I needed an emaegency phone and it WORKED wonderfully, the bluetooth is SO clear. I liked it so much, for its price and all that I purchased a 2nd one for my 11 year old son. An affordable and just right phone that may not have extremely upgraded capabilities but for what you need it for---excellent---texting, calls, email, chat....the bluetooth. I would definitely recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Great phone

10/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is great. This phone make clear calls and the qwerty keyboard is great for me.
The keys are small but after a week I am a pro with it.
The camera is what you would and should expect from a phone but still glad its there.
The screen is nice and large and well lit.
I don't need to go online with it so I haven't really tried.
I had Virgin Mobile for eight years but am so much happier with At&t.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

What memory?

10/22/2010
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Okay yes its great for messaging but you can ONLY have 200 txt's in your inbox, there is NO expansion slot for memory, and no you can not record video just take snapshots. ALSO, the BLUETOOTH only works with the headset it comes with. You can NOT connect to any other device via its bluetooth so if you have ringtones on another phone and wish to transfer them, your out of luck.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

great buy

10/15/2010
By ,
st.robert,MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone cause I didn't wanted to upgrade my contract! All I did was take out my sim that I already had with my at&t contract and put it into this phone it works great!! The buttons are a little small but not a problem to me! I use speaker phone a lot so I love how loud it is compare to my old phone!! I love love love the phone would recommend for sure!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

pleasantly surprised

09/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My brand new AT&T (3 months) phone suffered a tragedy. The screen cracked due to an unfortunate accident. I was unwilling to pay the quoted $399.99 retail to replace the Pantech Reveal, so I bought the Samsung Magnet.
It serves my needs very well. I plan to buy a case as the plastic is not very sturdy. A good deal and worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

GoPhone

10/20/2010
By ,
Wharton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is great. I bought it for my son, who broke his original phone, again. Already have AT&T wireless service, so we just transfered the SIMS card from the old phone to this one. I chose this phone for him, because he does a lot of texting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Nice phone, tiny, tiny keys

10/28/2010
By ,
OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is nice but not so much for non-texters. Even then I don't know how they would use the itsy-bitsy keys. The screen is great & the default ring tones have a great variety. Sound is crisp & clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Great value + fast shipping

10/27/2010
By ,
Maysville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unloacked GSM phone for use in East Africa. When I return I will edit this review.
The phone did arrive **brand new** and the battery charged right up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Great for the price!!!

09/01/2010
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is a great alternative to the more expensive ones. The only drawback is that it doesn't have a flash for the camera but everything else is great so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A177 Pay As You Go Smartphone with $10 Airtime

Cool Phone

09/06/2010
By ,
Lemoore,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is cool. I can do lots of things a normal phone would do. YAY(:
I would recommend this product big time!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next