Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Regalo Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

The Regalo Extra Wide Widespan Gate is the ideal safety measure to keep your child safe from household accidents. This gate prevents kids from falling down a flight of stairs or wandering away from their place while you are busy. This child safety gate will fit any kind of openings from 29.5 inches to 58 inches, using the three included extensions (includes a 4-inch, 6-inch, and 12-inch) that come along to offer you that extra width. It is constructed from steel for sturdiness and durability. This 31-inch tall walk through gate ensures complete safety for your child by blocking openings. This convenient metal walk through gate is suitable for a doorway, balcony, top and bottom of staircases, and wide hallways. The Regalo Extra Wide Widespan Gate is a great precautionary measure for containing toddlers and even some large pets in an area.
Average Customer Rating:
4.128 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation86%74 out of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 104 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Needs to be a little more sturdy

12/13/2012
By ,
Redding, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Basically it's a pretty good product. It is easy to open with one hand, but can be locked so that young hands can't open it. However, the wide span (which is perfect for large openings), is pretty flimsy when extended to it's full width. The entire span will sway and give when any type of pressure is placed on it. It just doesn't feel very strong at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great Gate!

07/01/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate! I did tons of research before I chose a gate and I was really excited when I found this one. We have a 49" opening to our extra wide stairs and traditional gates were too small. This gate is perfect!
We did not have to use the hardware mounting option because it was sturdy enough to be pressure mounted only. We also only used one of the extensions--the 12"--but I feel like it would still be pretty secure with all 3 of the extensions if you needed them.
The only problem I have with it is that the door is extremely narrow. Honestly, it's not THAT big of a deal for US, but I could see some larger people having difficulties getting through the gate, so that is something to think about.
The latch on the door is very secure. It is easy for any adult to open but would be difficult for a child.
Like I said before, it is sturdy. My 11 month old son constantly goes over to the gate, pulls up on it, and tries to shake it, but it holds strong!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Awsome Gate

07/01/2011
By ,
Dillsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this gate to contain our new puppy.. Puppy is a Black Lab/American Bulldog mix.. yes, he's a beast... 28 lbs at 12 weeks old. That being said, I needed a gate that would hold up to that force of nature. I also needed it to be a spring mount since I was placing it up against my kitchen cabinets and I didn't want to screw into them. I (a woman) put this together with a minor amount of help from my 4 year old who basically just had to hold two sections in place while I tightened the gate. It went up in about 15 minutes... I have since placed my entire body weight (which we won't discuss) up against it and it didn't budge. It has also withstood the force of the beast... the kitchen is now known as Puppy Jail! Overall.. this is a very nice gate and I'm very happy with the purchase. The jury is still out as far as the dog is concerned!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Best price, & a monkey could put it up.

04/16/2014
By ,
21157
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glad I read "some" of the reviews. Here is the skinny. Got it within 2 days of ordering. I have a 49" doorway. As someone said, better to have an extra extension than to be too small. You take it out of the box, cut the tie wraps holding it together, add the extensions if needed, slide the screw extensions into the end, & crank them out. That's it. Only tools required are your hands & a brain.
Side notes. You can put the opening part of the gate in 3 places. Left, right or center.
Once installed, you can slide the safety clip back & either tie wrap it or put a piece of wire in the hole, so all you have to do is lift up.
You get 3 extensions. 2 are about 10 inches each, & the 3rd is about 12-14. Plenty to make it work.
And the end caps keep from damaging the trim around the doorway.
I couldn't be happier. And forget what people say about flimsy. READ THE DIRECTIONS. You crank the screws until about 1/16 inch gap for the opening. It's tight as can be. Unless you are raising a baby gorilla, your rugrat or dog won't be pushing it over. We have a dog, so it's perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Wide Span Gate

10/07/2013
By ,
Anchorage, AK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this specifically for the fact that we needed two for across our hallway and into our kitchen, which are wider than normal spaces. I read the reviews about how easy it was to install and how great a product was and decided to give it a shot.
It was easy to assemble and it was easy to install. My only issue is that when you use all the extensions given to span the space you need spanned, the gate isn't as sturdy as I'd like. I have it as tight as I can get it and when you grab it and shake it, it moves a little.
For now our daughter is only 10.5 months old so she doesn't have a lot of tugging power behind her but as she gets older, I am not sure if her yanking on it, trying to figure it out, will make it come down or not. :/
We might have to zip tie the joints between the extensions together to give it some added strength.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Best gate on the market!

11/19/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I admit it was a little expensive,, but by far the best gate. I had an oversized hallway to block off to keep my child who is two , out of my kitchen. I've bought and used other gates at other times and would have used one of the others again, but none of the others expanded as wide as I needed. I found this one and was very skeptical thinking it would be flimsy due to the distance. I was wrong,, it is very sturdy and I've actually caught her more than once trying to climb it, it never once fell over. The latch mechanism is the best I've seen on a gate so far, very solid also. Way too tricky for a 2 year old to figure out, but not too complicated that a 4 year old couldn't work it without difficulty. As my boy had no problems learning how, i think He learned how after 2 tries. All in all, if you have a larger than normal area to secure off and have the money available, buy this one ! You will not regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great Fit!

02/16/2011
By ,
Naperville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a pressure mounted gate that would fit a 55" opening to contain my 2yr old. I have purchased and tried several different gates and I like this one the best.
Setting it up was easy- took only minutes. It is not different than any other pressure mounted gate with a door. You have to tighten the bottom and then tighten the top so that you leave only a small gap where the gate closes. The gate looks slightly croocked until it is installed.
The one hand opening is a little ackward at first cause you have to push a lever back then pull the handle up but all the adults are now able to use 1 hand to open it. It does not auto latch or close so you have to be diligent about doing that but it is very secure once closed.
Most wide pressure mounted gates I have encountered only allow you to add 1 extension to each side of the gate so beware that you can't endlessly extend a gate to fit any opening. This gate is no different.
The description says it will fit openings up to 58" but if you go to the Regalo website, they sell 24" extensions for $24.99 so if you get two of those you can actually fit a max opening of 82" (base gate extends up to 34").
To clear it up this gate with all three extensions in the box allows the gate to reach a max of 58" total. Great gate would defiantly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

At last a simple gate that works

08/16/2014
By ,
Angier, NC 27501, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very impressed with this extra wide gate with 3 extensions. Where I am using it, I needed all three extensions, but once it was put up - it fit nicely and I never attached the cups on the walls. The tension adjusted so that it fit very securely. I like the gate, which was larger than I expected, and worked out very nicely. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a sturdy gate at a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

You do have to screw in the door frame!

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed this gate for an extra wide door way and it does the job. It was a little difficult to get set up with all the extensions, and even though it says it's pressure mounted you do have to screw the mounts into the door frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Poorly made, not a good gate at all.

08/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great baby gate

08/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The gate was very easy to assemble. It fits our opening very well, it's sturdy and I really like the swinging gate for a walk through.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Late on Shipping

08/01/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gate is okay, not as nice as Carlson but you get what you pay for.
Shipping is totally lame, they say "shipped" a few hours after purchase and it comes over a week later, two days after their "delivery date"...totally lame, but hey what do you expect from the bottom of the barrel retailer? "money talks and......walks"
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

great gate works well

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went through a couple of gates before I purchased the Regalo-Extra Wide gate. It was easy to put together and was up & working in minutes. I like how the gate opens & closes and solved our child & dog problem. I would buy another in a heartbeat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

love my gate

07/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
worth the money. I use as a dog gate and love it. Walking thru gate without having to remove is awesome. Has both tension mount or permanent mount.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

great gate

07/21/2014
By ,
Waveland,Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far so good. my dog cant chew her way out of this one. glad we were able to get this product
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

So far so good

10/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We searched high and low for a gate that would fit a 65" opening and not require hardware to be mounted. While we had to order a larger extension directly from Regalo, this gate was able to give us the desired coverage that we needed. My husband had no trouble installing it and it went up quickly. We did the shipping directly to the store and it took FOREVER. I would say that the shipping method was the least satisfactory part of this purchase. The extension from Regalo was shipped directly to our home and was here at least a week before the gate made it to the store. Being that this is the first gate we have every purchased the only other dislike so far is the width of the door. Maybe all doors are like this??? This gate seperates our two living rooms and we have to carry loads of wood through the gate for the wood stove. It is a very tight fit for me as I am short and making sure I clear the gate is annoying. Overall, the gate is doing its job right now and my little one isn't pulling on it so I cannot atest to the beating I'm sure it will get soon enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Was not easy for 1 person to put together at all.

07/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Once in place it is easy to knock it out of sink since it does not all lock together but simply sits inside each piece. It would work better if it's screwed to the walls only. If kids or pets lean on it, it can come apart. I bought it for a puppy gate. For that it worked ok. It's flimsy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

As Advertized

11/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this gate for a dog & future grand-baby. It was very easy to install and one of the three extensions worked perfectly. I had to install this gate at the head of a stairway with a wall on one side and steel railing on the other. Installation was virtually effortless and the gate was very convenient to operate and quite substantial. You can either leave it almost closed, closed but not locked or closed and fully locked.
My only frustration is that the Gate opening is only about 17" (kinda' narrow). I'm a big guy and I did have to get used to sort of "slithering" though it.
All in all though, 5 stars and no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great baby gate

04/19/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy. My husband installed it. Wasn't quick, but wasn't too complicated. Drilling into the wall makes the gate very sturdy. Other gates are always slipping down, but this one isn't going anywhere. With the extensions the total width is 58 inches which is exactly what we needed. The lock on the swinging door is tricky at first, but now I'm used to it and it's easy. Very satisfied especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Not so sturdy

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased 2 of them, one with 2 extensions and the other with 3 extensions. While everything about the product is good, the gate with 3 extensions does not seem to align straight and sturdy. No issues so far but I have to see how it holds up against my toddler in the next few months..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next