Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Regalo Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

The Regalo Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions is designed to help keep your child safe and secure at home. It can be used to section off a room or hallway, or to prevent access to ascending or descending stairs. This Regalo extra wide gate stands 31" tall and fits openings that range from 29.5" to 58" in width. It can also be used for a doorway or balcony. This white metal walk-through gate is constructed from steel for extra durability. It installs easily and securely with the help of four pressure mounts. The lever-style handle features a safety lock one-touch release that is easy for an adult to open but impossible for little ones to manipulate. The Regalo Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions is PVC free and JPMA certified to meet all current safety standards. Its easy assembly requires no tools. This Regalo extra wide gate would make a great baby shower gift. It can also be used to help keep pets in or out of certain rooms as needed.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
28
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation77%85 out of 110reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 113 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
28
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Needs to be a little more sturdy

12/13/2012
By ,
Redding, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Basically it's a pretty good product. It is easy to open with one hand, but can be locked so that young hands can't open it. However, the wide span (which is perfect for large openings), is pretty flimsy when extended to it's full width. The entire span will sway and give when any type of pressure is placed on it. It just doesn't feel very strong at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great Gate!

07/01/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate! I did tons of research before I chose a gate and I was really excited when I found this one. We have a 49" opening to our extra wide stairs and traditional gates were too small. This gate is perfect!
We did not have to use the hardware mounting option because it was sturdy enough to be pressure mounted only. We also only used one of the extensions--the 12"--but I feel like it would still be pretty secure with all 3 of the extensions if you needed them.
The only problem I have with it is that the door is extremely narrow. Honestly, it's not THAT big of a deal for US, but I could see some larger people having difficulties getting through the gate, so that is something to think about.
The latch on the door is very secure. It is easy for any adult to open but would be difficult for a child.
Like I said before, it is sturdy. My 11 month old son constantly goes over to the gate, pulls up on it, and tries to shake it, but it holds strong!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Awsome Gate

07/01/2011
By ,
Dillsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this gate to contain our new puppy.. Puppy is a Black Lab/American Bulldog mix.. yes, he's a beast... 28 lbs at 12 weeks old. That being said, I needed a gate that would hold up to that force of nature. I also needed it to be a spring mount since I was placing it up against my kitchen cabinets and I didn't want to screw into them. I (a woman) put this together with a minor amount of help from my 4 year old who basically just had to hold two sections in place while I tightened the gate. It went up in about 15 minutes... I have since placed my entire body weight (which we won't discuss) up against it and it didn't budge. It has also withstood the force of the beast... the kitchen is now known as Puppy Jail! Overall.. this is a very nice gate and I'm very happy with the purchase. The jury is still out as far as the dog is concerned!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Best price, & a monkey could put it up.

04/16/2014
By ,
21157
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glad I read "some" of the reviews. Here is the skinny. Got it within 2 days of ordering. I have a 49" doorway. As someone said, better to have an extra extension than to be too small. You take it out of the box, cut the tie wraps holding it together, add the extensions if needed, slide the screw extensions into the end, & crank them out. That's it. Only tools required are your hands & a brain.
Side notes. You can put the opening part of the gate in 3 places. Left, right or center.
Once installed, you can slide the safety clip back & either tie wrap it or put a piece of wire in the hole, so all you have to do is lift up.
You get 3 extensions. 2 are about 10 inches each, & the 3rd is about 12-14. Plenty to make it work.
And the end caps keep from damaging the trim around the doorway.
I couldn't be happier. And forget what people say about flimsy. READ THE DIRECTIONS. You crank the screws until about 1/16 inch gap for the opening. It's tight as can be. Unless you are raising a baby gorilla, your rugrat or dog won't be pushing it over. We have a dog, so it's perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Not good for wide door ways

01/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this wide gate for my daughters playroom, since the door way is big a normal sized one wouldn't work without a lot of extensions. I installed it the way the instructions said screwed it into the wall, tightened it up so the gap to keep it closed would closed, had half an inch and the gate extensions started to bow and not stay straight, when you push on it a little bit, the screws with the padding bent out of the hole and fell... took it down and used the other type I had gotten for the up stairs down to her play room used the extra extensions I had for my two gates and that worked better than the one made for wide door ways. I put it as the up stairs gate and it works for smaller door ways had one of the smaller extensions on it and it didn't bow or move.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Best gate on the market!

11/19/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I admit it was a little expensive,, but by far the best gate. I had an oversized hallway to block off to keep my child who is two , out of my kitchen. I've bought and used other gates at other times and would have used one of the others again, but none of the others expanded as wide as I needed. I found this one and was very skeptical thinking it would be flimsy due to the distance. I was wrong,, it is very sturdy and I've actually caught her more than once trying to climb it, it never once fell over. The latch mechanism is the best I've seen on a gate so far, very solid also. Way too tricky for a 2 year old to figure out, but not too complicated that a 4 year old couldn't work it without difficulty. As my boy had no problems learning how, i think He learned how after 2 tries. All in all, if you have a larger than normal area to secure off and have the money available, buy this one ! You will not regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Wide Span Gate

10/07/2013
By ,
Anchorage, AK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this specifically for the fact that we needed two for across our hallway and into our kitchen, which are wider than normal spaces. I read the reviews about how easy it was to install and how great a product was and decided to give it a shot.
It was easy to assemble and it was easy to install. My only issue is that when you use all the extensions given to span the space you need spanned, the gate isn't as sturdy as I'd like. I have it as tight as I can get it and when you grab it and shake it, it moves a little.
For now our daughter is only 10.5 months old so she doesn't have a lot of tugging power behind her but as she gets older, I am not sure if her yanking on it, trying to figure it out, will make it come down or not. :/
We might have to zip tie the joints between the extensions together to give it some added strength.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great Fit!

02/16/2011
By ,
Naperville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a pressure mounted gate that would fit a 55" opening to contain my 2yr old. I have purchased and tried several different gates and I like this one the best.
Setting it up was easy- took only minutes. It is not different than any other pressure mounted gate with a door. You have to tighten the bottom and then tighten the top so that you leave only a small gap where the gate closes. The gate looks slightly croocked until it is installed.
The one hand opening is a little ackward at first cause you have to push a lever back then pull the handle up but all the adults are now able to use 1 hand to open it. It does not auto latch or close so you have to be diligent about doing that but it is very secure once closed.
Most wide pressure mounted gates I have encountered only allow you to add 1 extension to each side of the gate so beware that you can't endlessly extend a gate to fit any opening. This gate is no different.
The description says it will fit openings up to 58" but if you go to the Regalo website, they sell 24" extensions for $24.99 so if you get two of those you can actually fit a max opening of 82" (base gate extends up to 34").
To clear it up this gate with all three extensions in the box allows the gate to reach a max of 58" total. Great gate would defiantly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Bows

01/12/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This gate is for a 56" opening for my 16 month old granddaughter. She can push on the gate and it bows in the middle and moves. I was going to return it but we attached a piece of wood trim to the floor in the middle of the gate and now it works fine. I am disappointed about it bowing in the middle but we seemed to fix it. I like the door to walk thru. It sure makes it easier than climbing over it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

doggone gate

01/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this walk-thru gate to keep my dogs out of my bathroom. yes, my bathroom has a door, but we are reconstructing bathroom and door is not set correctly yet, so it does not close all the way. so my dogs think it is the place to potty when I don't let them out on time. now, gate stops them. thanks
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

DOG GATE FOR LARGE PLAYFUL DOG

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT WORKED PERFECTLY. WISH GATE WAS A LITTLE WIDER BUT STILL WORKED BETTER THAN ALL OTHERS I TRIED
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great Gates!!

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used to have the accordion type gates and they were just hard to open and close. Now we just open the latch and close it! It's great!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Wide, but a bit unstable

12/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a wide gate, but the opening is small, so it's easy to hit the sides when passing through. Seems a bit unstable because of the length and the design. Most of the pressure is on the bottom bar (typical of this design).
Also, there is a gap between the latch and the inside bar of the door - it is not a flaw....but....you really got to tighten down the upper bar piece so the gate door will close properly. I was afraid that it would be so much tension that the dry wall would give in. I did not tighten it too far since I use it to keep the cat from going to the upstairs, but if you got a child...then, you may want to consider another style or brand.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Awful

01/01/2015
By ,
Stillwater mn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this gate for a wide opening it fit with the extensions but bowed out terribly. We had it as tight as it could go on the pressure mounts and you could still push the door right open without even working the latch. If you have a wide opening go with something that's one piece, this was unless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

So far so good

10/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We searched high and low for a gate that would fit a 65" opening and not require hardware to be mounted. While we had to order a larger extension directly from Regalo, this gate was able to give us the desired coverage that we needed. My husband had no trouble installing it and it went up quickly. We did the shipping directly to the store and it took FOREVER. I would say that the shipping method was the least satisfactory part of this purchase. The extension from Regalo was shipped directly to our home and was here at least a week before the gate made it to the store. Being that this is the first gate we have every purchased the only other dislike so far is the width of the door. Maybe all doors are like this??? This gate seperates our two living rooms and we have to carry loads of wood through the gate for the wood stove. It is a very tight fit for me as I am short and making sure I clear the gate is annoying. Overall, the gate is doing its job right now and my little one isn't pulling on it so I cannot atest to the beating I'm sure it will get soon enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great baby gate

04/19/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy. My husband installed it. Wasn't quick, but wasn't too complicated. Drilling into the wall makes the gate very sturdy. Other gates are always slipping down, but this one isn't going anywhere. With the extensions the total width is 58 inches which is exactly what we needed. The lock on the swinging door is tricky at first, but now I'm used to it and it's easy. Very satisfied especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Not sturdy, gate doesn't latch well!

08/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This gate is so unstable and shakey. My ten month old daughter stands up and shakes it and it looks like its about to fall over. The latch on the gate is also very unreliable. It can be tightened as tight as you can possibly get it and look secure but just jiggle it a little and it comes open. The only reason I am keeping this gate is because I have a very wide opening in my kitchen and it took me quite a while to find a pressure mount gate big enough to fit the space.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

As Advertized

11/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this gate for a dog & future grand-baby. It was very easy to install and one of the three extensions worked perfectly. I had to install this gate at the head of a stairway with a wall on one side and steel railing on the other. Installation was virtually effortless and the gate was very convenient to operate and quite substantial. You can either leave it almost closed, closed but not locked or closed and fully locked.
My only frustration is that the Gate opening is only about 17" (kinda' narrow). I'm a big guy and I did have to get used to sort of "slithering" though it.
All in all though, 5 stars and no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great gate for our dogs

11/28/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I almost gave this a 5. We have a 54" opening that we needed to gate for our dogs. This gate has worked out well, especially considering it was like one of the only ones that I could find that could get wide enough. It's very nice looking also. We don't open and close it every day, though, only when we go out. It seems like the more extensions you put on, the weaker it will get. I don't think I would use it for over a 54" gap. Every once in awhile, we have to push it back straight with our foot. Very happy overall, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Works great!

03/07/2011
By ,
Whitehouse, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate because I have a wider doorway that is a weird size to find a gate for and this gate works great! With the door my 3 year old cannot open it and my youngest daughter cannot crawl into the kitchen. Works great and easy to install! Would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next