Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Regalo Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

The Regalo Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions is designed to help keep your child safe and secure at home. It can be used to section off a room or hallway, or to prevent access to ascending or descending stairs. This Regalo extra wide gate stands 31" tall and fits openings that range from 29.5" to 58" in width. It can also be used for a doorway or balcony. This white metal walk-through gate is constructed from steel for extra durability. It installs easily and securely with the help of four pressure mounts. The lever-style handle features a safety lock one-touch release that is easy for an adult to open but impossible for little ones to manipulate. The Regalo Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions is PVC free and JPMA certified to meet all current safety standards. Its easy assembly requires no tools. This Regalo extra wide gate would make a great baby shower gift. It can also be used to help keep pets in or out of certain rooms as needed.
Average Customer Rating:
3.99 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation82%78 out of 95reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 107 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Needs to be a little more sturdy

12/13/2012
By ,
Redding, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Basically it's a pretty good product. It is easy to open with one hand, but can be locked so that young hands can't open it. However, the wide span (which is perfect for large openings), is pretty flimsy when extended to it's full width. The entire span will sway and give when any type of pressure is placed on it. It just doesn't feel very strong at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great Gate!

07/01/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate! I did tons of research before I chose a gate and I was really excited when I found this one. We have a 49" opening to our extra wide stairs and traditional gates were too small. This gate is perfect!
We did not have to use the hardware mounting option because it was sturdy enough to be pressure mounted only. We also only used one of the extensions--the 12"--but I feel like it would still be pretty secure with all 3 of the extensions if you needed them.
The only problem I have with it is that the door is extremely narrow. Honestly, it's not THAT big of a deal for US, but I could see some larger people having difficulties getting through the gate, so that is something to think about.
The latch on the door is very secure. It is easy for any adult to open but would be difficult for a child.
Like I said before, it is sturdy. My 11 month old son constantly goes over to the gate, pulls up on it, and tries to shake it, but it holds strong!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Awsome Gate

07/01/2011
By ,
Dillsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this gate to contain our new puppy.. Puppy is a Black Lab/American Bulldog mix.. yes, he's a beast... 28 lbs at 12 weeks old. That being said, I needed a gate that would hold up to that force of nature. I also needed it to be a spring mount since I was placing it up against my kitchen cabinets and I didn't want to screw into them. I (a woman) put this together with a minor amount of help from my 4 year old who basically just had to hold two sections in place while I tightened the gate. It went up in about 15 minutes... I have since placed my entire body weight (which we won't discuss) up against it and it didn't budge. It has also withstood the force of the beast... the kitchen is now known as Puppy Jail! Overall.. this is a very nice gate and I'm very happy with the purchase. The jury is still out as far as the dog is concerned!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Best price, & a monkey could put it up.

04/16/2014
By ,
21157
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glad I read "some" of the reviews. Here is the skinny. Got it within 2 days of ordering. I have a 49" doorway. As someone said, better to have an extra extension than to be too small. You take it out of the box, cut the tie wraps holding it together, add the extensions if needed, slide the screw extensions into the end, & crank them out. That's it. Only tools required are your hands & a brain.
Side notes. You can put the opening part of the gate in 3 places. Left, right or center.
Once installed, you can slide the safety clip back & either tie wrap it or put a piece of wire in the hole, so all you have to do is lift up.
You get 3 extensions. 2 are about 10 inches each, & the 3rd is about 12-14. Plenty to make it work.
And the end caps keep from damaging the trim around the doorway.
I couldn't be happier. And forget what people say about flimsy. READ THE DIRECTIONS. You crank the screws until about 1/16 inch gap for the opening. It's tight as can be. Unless you are raising a baby gorilla, your rugrat or dog won't be pushing it over. We have a dog, so it's perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Wide Span Gate

10/07/2013
By ,
Anchorage, AK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this specifically for the fact that we needed two for across our hallway and into our kitchen, which are wider than normal spaces. I read the reviews about how easy it was to install and how great a product was and decided to give it a shot.
It was easy to assemble and it was easy to install. My only issue is that when you use all the extensions given to span the space you need spanned, the gate isn't as sturdy as I'd like. I have it as tight as I can get it and when you grab it and shake it, it moves a little.
For now our daughter is only 10.5 months old so she doesn't have a lot of tugging power behind her but as she gets older, I am not sure if her yanking on it, trying to figure it out, will make it come down or not. :/
We might have to zip tie the joints between the extensions together to give it some added strength.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Best gate on the market!

11/19/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I admit it was a little expensive,, but by far the best gate. I had an oversized hallway to block off to keep my child who is two , out of my kitchen. I've bought and used other gates at other times and would have used one of the others again, but none of the others expanded as wide as I needed. I found this one and was very skeptical thinking it would be flimsy due to the distance. I was wrong,, it is very sturdy and I've actually caught her more than once trying to climb it, it never once fell over. The latch mechanism is the best I've seen on a gate so far, very solid also. Way too tricky for a 2 year old to figure out, but not too complicated that a 4 year old couldn't work it without difficulty. As my boy had no problems learning how, i think He learned how after 2 tries. All in all, if you have a larger than normal area to secure off and have the money available, buy this one ! You will not regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great Fit!

02/16/2011
By ,
Naperville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a pressure mounted gate that would fit a 55" opening to contain my 2yr old. I have purchased and tried several different gates and I like this one the best.
Setting it up was easy- took only minutes. It is not different than any other pressure mounted gate with a door. You have to tighten the bottom and then tighten the top so that you leave only a small gap where the gate closes. The gate looks slightly croocked until it is installed.
The one hand opening is a little ackward at first cause you have to push a lever back then pull the handle up but all the adults are now able to use 1 hand to open it. It does not auto latch or close so you have to be diligent about doing that but it is very secure once closed.
Most wide pressure mounted gates I have encountered only allow you to add 1 extension to each side of the gate so beware that you can't endlessly extend a gate to fit any opening. This gate is no different.
The description says it will fit openings up to 58" but if you go to the Regalo website, they sell 24" extensions for $24.99 so if you get two of those you can actually fit a max opening of 82" (base gate extends up to 34").
To clear it up this gate with all three extensions in the box allows the gate to reach a max of 58" total. Great gate would defiantly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Excellent Product

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gate with the option to expand to accommodate varying doorway sizes. The handle is easy to use and secure. The sides do not scuff the walls. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Not sturdy at all!

08/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am using this gate to cover a fairly wide door between the living room and kitchen to restrict my two medium sized dogs. The gate has the width to cover the opening but this gate is not stable once it has been installed and the dogs can and have pushed against it and gotten it to flex enough to eventually get it to fall. I previously had a smilar length (slightly more expensive and much better looking!) wooden gate and it was much more solid and stable. It felt much less flimsy. I would still be using that except one of our dogs is a chewer and chewed through a couple of the wooden bars (so much for looking good!). This problem caused my desire for a metal gate since I figured it should be chew proof! On its own this gate is not stable or sturdy enough to do the job! I have little confidence in it! I am using the chwed gate and various other things to try to "stabilize" the gate and keep it standing so it can be used but I have been very disappointed with this gate. The "length extenders" on this gate when installed have too much flex as compared to the other gate I had and this is what is allowing the gate to flex when pushed even a little. I would not recommend this gate! It seems to me that even a child might be able to push it over!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great gate

09/19/2014
By ,
Washington state
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this gate. The door part could be a little wider and the handle a bit easier to open but overall it does what it was designed to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

So far so good

10/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We searched high and low for a gate that would fit a 65" opening and not require hardware to be mounted. While we had to order a larger extension directly from Regalo, this gate was able to give us the desired coverage that we needed. My husband had no trouble installing it and it went up quickly. We did the shipping directly to the store and it took FOREVER. I would say that the shipping method was the least satisfactory part of this purchase. The extension from Regalo was shipped directly to our home and was here at least a week before the gate made it to the store. Being that this is the first gate we have every purchased the only other dislike so far is the width of the door. Maybe all doors are like this??? This gate seperates our two living rooms and we have to carry loads of wood through the gate for the wood stove. It is a very tight fit for me as I am short and making sure I clear the gate is annoying. Overall, the gate is doing its job right now and my little one isn't pulling on it so I cannot atest to the beating I'm sure it will get soon enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

A very nice pet gate

08/28/2014
By ,
Meadville,MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I inherited my mothers dog and I needed a way to keep her on the tile floor of my house. She is very old and has health problems. This gate was the best solution. We tried a cheaper gate that was unsuccessful in retaining her. This gate worked fine until the first thunderstorm she encountered at my house. I'm still pleased with the gate although it has not worked as well as I had hoped. We love the gate feature, eliminating the need to climb over the structure. I think this gate would work great for a smaller dog. The dog we have is big and could probably tear through almost anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

You do have to screw in the door frame!

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed this gate for an extra wide door way and it does the job. It was a little difficult to get set up with all the extensions, and even though it says it's pressure mounted you do have to screw the mounts into the door frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Not sturdy, gate doesn't latch well!

08/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This gate is so unstable and shakey. My ten month old daughter stands up and shakes it and it looks like its about to fall over. The latch on the gate is also very unreliable. It can be tightened as tight as you can possibly get it and look secure but just jiggle it a little and it comes open. The only reason I am keeping this gate is because I have a very wide opening in my kitchen and it took me quite a while to find a pressure mount gate big enough to fit the space.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great baby gate

04/19/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy. My husband installed it. Wasn't quick, but wasn't too complicated. Drilling into the wall makes the gate very sturdy. Other gates are always slipping down, but this one isn't going anywhere. With the extensions the total width is 58 inches which is exactly what we needed. The lock on the swinging door is tricky at first, but now I'm used to it and it's easy. Very satisfied especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Good for babies 6 months to 3 years

09/07/2014
By ,
tampa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for babies 6 months to 3 years
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

not helpful

09/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This gate is not that sturdy. I only need it for a short period so I did not want to nail it into my wall. With out making it in place, my 7 month old son can tug on it and pull it right off the wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

As Advertized

11/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this gate for a dog & future grand-baby. It was very easy to install and one of the three extensions worked perfectly. I had to install this gate at the head of a stairway with a wall on one side and steel railing on the other. Installation was virtually effortless and the gate was very convenient to operate and quite substantial. You can either leave it almost closed, closed but not locked or closed and fully locked.
My only frustration is that the Gate opening is only about 17" (kinda' narrow). I'm a big guy and I did have to get used to sort of "slithering" though it.
All in all though, 5 stars and no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

great gate works well

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went through a couple of gates before I purchased the Regalo-Extra Wide gate. It was easy to put together and was up & working in minutes. I like how the gate opens & closes and solved our child & dog problem. I would buy another in a heartbeat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Very hard to put together and specific lengths

08/23/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This gate states up to 58" width but if you have a 55" width you have to basically not use this gate. Because of the hassle of a return we had to purchase a piece of wood and screw it into the wall to make this gate work. I am not happy with it at all and when the extensions are together there is nothing to hold the pieces together - it makes installation very difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next