Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Regalo Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

The Regalo Extra Wide Widespan Gate is the ideal safety measure to keep your child safe from household accidents. This gate prevents kids from falling down a flight of stairs or wandering away from their place while you are busy. This child safety gate will fit any kind of openings from 29.5 inches to 58 inches, using the three included extensions (includes a 4-inch, 6-inch, and 12-inch) that come along to offer you that extra width. It is constructed from steel for sturdiness and durability. This 31-inch tall walk through gate ensures complete safety for your child by blocking openings. This convenient metal walk through gate is suitable for a doorway, balcony, top and bottom of staircases, and wide hallways. The Regalo Extra Wide Widespan Gate is a great precautionary measure for containing toddlers and even some large pets in an area.
Average Customer Rating:
4.139 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
22
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%62 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 78 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
22
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Needs to be a little more sturdy

12/13/2012
By ,
Redding, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Basically it's a pretty good product. It is easy to open with one hand, but can be locked so that young hands can't open it. However, the wide span (which is perfect for large openings), is pretty flimsy when extended to it's full width. The entire span will sway and give when any type of pressure is placed on it. It just doesn't feel very strong at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great Gate!

07/01/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate! I did tons of research before I chose a gate and I was really excited when I found this one. We have a 49" opening to our extra wide stairs and traditional gates were too small. This gate is perfect!
We did not have to use the hardware mounting option because it was sturdy enough to be pressure mounted only. We also only used one of the extensions--the 12"--but I feel like it would still be pretty secure with all 3 of the extensions if you needed them.
The only problem I have with it is that the door is extremely narrow. Honestly, it's not THAT big of a deal for US, but I could see some larger people having difficulties getting through the gate, so that is something to think about.
The latch on the door is very secure. It is easy for any adult to open but would be difficult for a child.
Like I said before, it is sturdy. My 11 month old son constantly goes over to the gate, pulls up on it, and tries to shake it, but it holds strong!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Awsome Gate

07/01/2011
By ,
Dillsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this gate to contain our new puppy.. Puppy is a Black Lab/American Bulldog mix.. yes, he's a beast... 28 lbs at 12 weeks old. That being said, I needed a gate that would hold up to that force of nature. I also needed it to be a spring mount since I was placing it up against my kitchen cabinets and I didn't want to screw into them. I (a woman) put this together with a minor amount of help from my 4 year old who basically just had to hold two sections in place while I tightened the gate. It went up in about 15 minutes... I have since placed my entire body weight (which we won't discuss) up against it and it didn't budge. It has also withstood the force of the beast... the kitchen is now known as Puppy Jail! Overall.. this is a very nice gate and I'm very happy with the purchase. The jury is still out as far as the dog is concerned!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Best price, & a monkey could put it up.

04/16/2014
By ,
21157
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glad I read "some" of the reviews. Here is the skinny. Got it within 2 days of ordering. I have a 49" doorway. As someone said, better to have an extra extension than to be too small. You take it out of the box, cut the tie wraps holding it together, add the extensions if needed, slide the screw extensions into the end, & crank them out. That's it. Only tools required are your hands & a brain.
Side notes. You can put the opening part of the gate in 3 places. Left, right or center.
Once installed, you can slide the safety clip back & either tie wrap it or put a piece of wire in the hole, so all you have to do is lift up.
You get 3 extensions. 2 are about 10 inches each, & the 3rd is about 12-14. Plenty to make it work.
And the end caps keep from damaging the trim around the doorway.
I couldn't be happier. And forget what people say about flimsy. READ THE DIRECTIONS. You crank the screws until about 1/16 inch gap for the opening. It's tight as can be. Unless you are raising a baby gorilla, your rugrat or dog won't be pushing it over. We have a dog, so it's perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Wide Span Gate

10/07/2013
By ,
Anchorage, AK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this specifically for the fact that we needed two for across our hallway and into our kitchen, which are wider than normal spaces. I read the reviews about how easy it was to install and how great a product was and decided to give it a shot.
It was easy to assemble and it was easy to install. My only issue is that when you use all the extensions given to span the space you need spanned, the gate isn't as sturdy as I'd like. I have it as tight as I can get it and when you grab it and shake it, it moves a little.
For now our daughter is only 10.5 months old so she doesn't have a lot of tugging power behind her but as she gets older, I am not sure if her yanking on it, trying to figure it out, will make it come down or not. :/
We might have to zip tie the joints between the extensions together to give it some added strength.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great Fit!

02/16/2011
By ,
Naperville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a pressure mounted gate that would fit a 55" opening to contain my 2yr old. I have purchased and tried several different gates and I like this one the best.
Setting it up was easy- took only minutes. It is not different than any other pressure mounted gate with a door. You have to tighten the bottom and then tighten the top so that you leave only a small gap where the gate closes. The gate looks slightly croocked until it is installed.
The one hand opening is a little ackward at first cause you have to push a lever back then pull the handle up but all the adults are now able to use 1 hand to open it. It does not auto latch or close so you have to be diligent about doing that but it is very secure once closed.
Most wide pressure mounted gates I have encountered only allow you to add 1 extension to each side of the gate so beware that you can't endlessly extend a gate to fit any opening. This gate is no different.
The description says it will fit openings up to 58" but if you go to the Regalo website, they sell 24" extensions for $24.99 so if you get two of those you can actually fit a max opening of 82" (base gate extends up to 34").
To clear it up this gate with all three extensions in the box allows the gate to reach a max of 58" total. Great gate would defiantly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

gate not very sturdy

04/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the gate is very wobbly not very strong it will not last. i returned it and purchased a summer brand gate and its great.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

As Advertized

11/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this gate for a dog & future grand-baby. It was very easy to install and one of the three extensions worked perfectly. I had to install this gate at the head of a stairway with a wall on one side and steel railing on the other. Installation was virtually effortless and the gate was very convenient to operate and quite substantial. You can either leave it almost closed, closed but not locked or closed and fully locked.
My only frustration is that the Gate opening is only about 17" (kinda' narrow). I'm a big guy and I did have to get used to sort of "slithering" though it.
All in all though, 5 stars and no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Best gate on the market!

11/19/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I admit it was a little expensive,, but by far the best gate. I had an oversized hallway to block off to keep my child who is two , out of my kitchen. I've bought and used other gates at other times and would have used one of the others again, but none of the others expanded as wide as I needed. I found this one and was very skeptical thinking it would be flimsy due to the distance. I was wrong,, it is very sturdy and I've actually caught her more than once trying to climb it, it never once fell over. The latch mechanism is the best I've seen on a gate so far, very solid also. Way too tricky for a 2 year old to figure out, but not too complicated that a 4 year old couldn't work it without difficulty. As my boy had no problems learning how, i think He learned how after 2 tries. All in all, if you have a larger than normal area to secure off and have the money available, buy this one ! You will not regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Not Sturdy

03/24/2014
By ,
co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
With the enclosed extensions to fit a 47" opening this gate was very wobbly due to the poor design so I returned it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great baby gate

04/19/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy. My husband installed it. Wasn't quick, but wasn't too complicated. Drilling into the wall makes the gate very sturdy. Other gates are always slipping down, but this one isn't going anywhere. With the extensions the total width is 58 inches which is exactly what we needed. The lock on the swinging door is tricky at first, but now I'm used to it and it's easy. Very satisfied especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Good gate.

03/03/2014
By ,
Bridgeview IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate for a 56 inch space between kitchen cabinets.. It came up about 3 inches to short with the extensions added on. The end caps that screw to expand were at the Max extension. That made it a little unstable. Had to modify with cut two by fours . Its now wide enough and stable. It looks nice and does the job. I Do wish you could buy more extensions. A 2 Or 3 inch extension would help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

good gate for toddler

03/10/2014
By ,
Chateaugay, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this gate to keep my 18 month old out of the kitchen. It works great. My older children can open it easily, but he can't. Good at keeping him out of trouble
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

So far so good

10/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We searched high and low for a gate that would fit a 65" opening and not require hardware to be mounted. While we had to order a larger extension directly from Regalo, this gate was able to give us the desired coverage that we needed. My husband had no trouble installing it and it went up quickly. We did the shipping directly to the store and it took FOREVER. I would say that the shipping method was the least satisfactory part of this purchase. The extension from Regalo was shipped directly to our home and was here at least a week before the gate made it to the store. Being that this is the first gate we have every purchased the only other dislike so far is the width of the door. Maybe all doors are like this??? This gate seperates our two living rooms and we have to carry loads of wood through the gate for the wood stove. It is a very tight fit for me as I am short and making sure I clear the gate is annoying. Overall, the gate is doing its job right now and my little one isn't pulling on it so I cannot atest to the beating I'm sure it will get soon enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Keeps my Havanese in their room

03/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the Regalo Extra Wide gate to keep my Havanese in their room. It does a great job doing that, but I wish it had a better finish and was made in more colors.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

It did the job!!

03/06/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shipment came pretty quick, I had a little trouble putting it together, but once we figured it out, it worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Alright

03/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Gate only opens one way and not an easy open gate it takes both hands
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great Gate for wide spaces

02/18/2014
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these gates for openings from my living area. My grand daughter is now crawling and I needed some way to keep her contained. I have a different gate for my dog in another area of the house, but prefer this one because of the ease of installation. One negative is the gate opening is 16 inches and my existing gate opening is 22 inches, which is better. I have adjusted to the opening because it fits perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Great gate for our dogs

11/28/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I almost gave this a 5. We have a 54" opening that we needed to gate for our dogs. This gate has worked out well, especially considering it was like one of the only ones that I could find that could get wide enough. It's very nice looking also. We don't open and close it every day, though, only when we go out. It seems like the more extensions you put on, the weaker it will get. I don't think I would use it for over a 54" gap. Every once in awhile, we have to push it back straight with our foot. Very happy overall, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo - Extra Wide Widespan Gate with 3 Extensions

Works great!

03/07/2011
By ,
Whitehouse, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate because I have a wider doorway that is a weird size to find a gate for and this gate works great! With the door my 3 year old cannot open it and my youngest daughter cannot crawl into the kitchen. Works great and easy to install! Would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next