Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

The Access HD digital TV converter box is a compact, low-cost converter that enables analog TVs and digital-ready TVs to receive off-air UHF and VHF digital television signals. Simply attach your antenna to the back of this digital TV converter box and it will convert your local broadcast station's standard, enhanced, and high-definition digital signals into an analog TV signal format. This Access HD digital TV converter box connects to your television using your choice of a composite video (RCA jack) or 75-ohm RF cable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.892 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(583 Reviews) 408
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
285
4 stars
140
3 stars
49
2 stars
28
1 star
81
Customer Recommendation79%458 out of 583reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
285
4 stars
140
3 stars
49
2 stars
28
1 star
81
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Great Alternative for those with Basic Cable

07/03/2011
By ,
Cornelius, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weekend TV really Stinks for a Basic Comcast Cable customer. Nothing but infomercials and Reruns of Man vs Wild and the likes. I don't watch a lot of TV but on the weekends it would be nice NOT to watch the same thing you saw last weekend, and the one before, and the one before, and the one before. I could swear it was a tape they play to bore one to death and force them to upgrade their cable. Anyway I'm not easily manipulated or extorted so I bought this HD convertor and now pick up more channels than basic offers, in my Portland, OR Metro area, and there's actually something on worth wacthing. It requires an antenea, bigger the better. It also helps if you're in a location that offers several local stations. The other option, as opposed to being extorted, would be to throw out your TV for the newer HD models but I'm not ready to make that investment. Quite frankly if not for Comcast Long Distance and Internet Access, I wouldn't have them and would be perfectly content with local broadcast and my AccessHD 1080D, Over Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Amazing!

12/18/2010
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased several converter boxes over the past year. This one met all my expectations. It was easy to setup. The instructions were accurate. The box was nice and small. It fit perfectly. Great Deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+85points
Review 3 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Digital-Analog Converter Box

10/07/2010
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product performs as describe. Picture reception and quality are super! Good product for the price. Don't forget attena thought. Scanning gave me about 30 local channels in Cleveland areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+130points
Review 4 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

works great

02/10/2011
By ,
Evansville,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older model flat screen TV and to our surprise it`s an analog. I hooked up the converter and it brings in all of the local stations perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 5 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Disappointed

11/16/2010
By ,
nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was purchased to replace a converter box that had already gone bad. The bad box had been purchased at walmart and I was very happy with it so I chose to go with Walmart again. It was not the same box, but I figured it would be just as good. Unfortunately it was not. There were some minor things that I could have lived with like, you could not use the remote to turn the TV on and off, the channel was displayed,but not the program, and the change in channels was pretty slow. The part I could not live with was the noisy static on the network channels. It was so loud, you could barely hear the show. We checked all the connections, but nothing fixed the problem. I am returning the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 6 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

All that it says it is.

02/05/2011
By ,
Springfield Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We connected this converter box to our other HDtv in just a matter of seconds. We were also able to use our existing antenna. So easy to program. The online price was much better than in store. Fast delivery. The entire process and end result of this unit couldn't have been better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 7 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Great for getting on air channels

04/08/2011
By ,
Irving,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must admit that this device lived up to what I was expecting and more. It seems to me that as time goes on since the permanent change to mandatory digital broadcasting, the devices used to receive signals have improved. Just make certain that you DON'T overlook getting a strong antenna. My suggestion is to pay the money for a good antenna and you'll never have problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 8 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box
03/21/2011
By ,
Mesa, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, easy setup, fro start to finsh took about 30 min, that included the time it took to scan for channels. I picked up like 30ish channels, still having problems picking up channel 5 in Phoenix, but Im told its the ant, which I also bought from Walmart. Its the flat black one that looks like wings.
Great products, especially for ppl on a budget. The cost of the box and the ant.. is bout the cost of cable or sat. for 1 month. Not as many channells, but I dont watch TV, much except for news and CSI, Criminal minds. Thx
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 9 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Great Basic Converter Box

09/16/2010
By ,
Dallas/Ft.Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great box, does everything it's supposed to, good price too. I wish it would give info about the show we're watching, as some boxes do. But, for the price, you can't get everything, right?!?!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 10 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Expectations exceeded

01/27/2011
By ,
Middleburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I ordered the Converter box, I didn't expect much from it. I thought it would be huge and that the channels would be staticy. I was surprised to find crisp, clear pictures on the tv even with just using the old "rabbit ears" antenna. Nothing fancy. My worries about it being huge were completely wrong. It is so small , that I forget it is there. This is an excellent, top-notch converter box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 11 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Would not purchase this again.

07/25/2011
By ,
Arlington, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit gets incredibly hot, so much that you can actually feel the heat it generates from a distance. It cuts off on its own; probably because it gets so hot. It also goes into a repeat freeze mode, sort of like a scratched record or scratched up dvd, which requires you to unplug the power and restart. The remote is also quirky; it will mute but will not control the actual sound level. When the signal is strong enough the picture is really clear and I can get more channels than I expected, but I spend too much time trouble shooting the problems. I will be purchasing a different brand from another retailer tomorrow. I don't recommend this unit. I guess I got what I paid for.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

it's what she needed

03/06/2011
By ,
Sierra Vista, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter who can't afford cable right now. She now can watch at least our local channels. Somewhere they should write that a separate antenna is necessary because I didn't know that and had to buy 1 of those too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 13 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box
12/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not sure what the issues are with consumers who have had negative experiences with this converter box, but I can do nothing but sing its praises. I have two old television sets that weigh a ton and barely work at all, and this converter box has worked beautifully with them. The set-up literally took about two minutes, I pressed the command to scan for channels and within minutes I was getting the most crisp and clear picture I've ever seen on my TV. The other converter boxes I had caused the picture to freeze every once in a while and I would have to turn the channel and then turn it back again, but I'm not getting that problem with this box. The box also picked up many more channels than did the others I had. My review is getting long-winded, so I'll just say that I consider it an excellent product with the bonus of being $15-$20 cheaper than the other boxes I've seen. I am very happy with the box and I've recommended it to everyone I know who has a box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Very useful.

02/21/2011
By ,
Norfolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you don't want to pay outrageous monthly payments for cable or satellite services, this is the way to go. You can rent a movie. If you really look at services you're paying for it is paid programming. In this economy, we need to look at ways to save a few pennies!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 15 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Easy to use

11/15/2010
By ,
Trinidad, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My converter box arrived at my local Walmart promptly for me to pick up with no shipping cost. It was easy to install and program. It works great! I would suggest anyone using this to get a surge protector for antennas though because that's how my old one blew.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 16 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Warranty

02/22/2012
By ,
FLA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Call Support, described problem with device. Informed it was defective and to mail it in. Once they received it they said they tested it and it was not defective and required me to pay to have it shipped by. The 2-way shipping would exceed the price of the product and I would get my defective product back. Unit consistently drops channels between 2 and 9 even though the signal strength on channels consistently exceeded 90%
Their convoluted return policy guarantees that you will not get a positive result if you unit fails
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 17 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

GREAT PRODUCT

11/03/2010
By ,
Garrett County, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family had used another brand of converter box. When it went bad, we needed to purchase a new one. This one is a thousand times better than the old one. Since we had no prior experience when we purchased the first box, we thought the reception, etc. was what is was suppose to be with a converter box. We were wrong. What a big difference a good product makes! We highly recommend this converter box to anyone who is in the market for one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Simple and necessary

10/25/2010
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this digital converter box for a TV at my work's breakroom. The box is half the size of the box it comes in, it includes a remote, RCA (red/white/yellow) cables and the instructions. You will also need to add an atenna (to the box) to get better reception of channels if the signal is not strong (I connected a dollar store atenna to it). Worth the price and, in my case, required to watch the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Money saving device over cable

02/06/2011
By ,
Dallas TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not expecting this to be an easy set up. It was super simple and only took a few moments. Easy quick hook up directions and I had an awesome picture. I did find ABC was harder to get a good picture. once my antenna was turned in the right direction up popped a crystal clear picture. My cable bill was going to be $60 a month for basic. This unit cost was much less than the first months cable bill would have been. I get 40 channels and can't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Access HD 1080D, Over-Air Digital-Analog Tuner Converter Box

Garbage! DO NOT BUY!

11/24/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One word: GARBAGE!
Returned the product. TV reception was terrible. Bought another box at another store. It was $15 more, but so worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
1-20 of 409 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next