Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Earth Friendly Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Earth Friendly Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Ecos laundry detergent Free & Clear 128 fl oz lets you do load after load of laundry with a powerful cleansing formula that's 100 percent natural. The smart choice for families, this item gets the job done well every time. This natural laundry detergent leaves your clothes fresh and the color guard tech helps prevent fading and bleeding.
Average Customer Rating:
4.671 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation93%71 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

awesome and green!!

04/03/2012
By ,
slc, ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried all the green laundry detergents out there, seventh generation, Biokleen, store so called green brands and many more free and clear brands. This one by far surpasses all the others. It not only is green and simple in ingredients but it only contains plant derived materials like coconut oil, but it works fantastically, on all stains-old and new. I have three children, one is an extremely messy girl and I have a two month old baby so I know what stains are. This gets it all out, if you use their oxo clean for a booster and borax, you will have fresh smelling and super clean laundry. Also we have exzema and sensitive skin in our family and this is wonderful. The five stars are for the fact that for a green product it is super cheap! We can afford this on a budget cause a little goes a long way and we do not have HE machines in our apartment. I have shopped around and this stuff is great, it is also the cheapest at WalMart, most places it will run you around 12 bucks for a smaller jug. You will love this stuff, I promise!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Did better then I thought. Better then Tide.

10/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to save on my water bill. I run the washer discharge to underground irrigation to my garden. Grey water. I saved over 1500 gallons a month. This product came up multiple times across the web as safe to the soil. My garden is still flourishing as the last week of Oct. Look up California based Grey water to garden. Good info. Now the clothes; smell fresh, feels softer, and it last longer then Tide. I think tide is superior to the rest, but not to this one. It doesn't have a petroleum base smell or feel. I grew up thinking that was clean, but it's not. Buy it. Down side...I need to separate because the whites don't come as bright as they did with Tide. So I now use bleach for that. PS.Don't run bleach into your garden.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Use this product to wish babies cloth diapers

03/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product because bum genius diapers recommended this detergent as a free chemical agent. I have used it on my cloth diapers and they have turned out clean and free of stains. They say it is also good to use on babies clothes but I haven't used it on her clothes. My diapers are super clean so I would think her clothes would turn out that way as well.
My only concerns is the way the product was delivered. They sent the detergent in a clear bag packed inside the box, however the clear bag was leaking detergent. I had a messy clean up prior to using the detergent for what I actually purchased it for. Seems they should find a better way to package this liquid. Upon reading reviews before I ordered this product, I saw another reviewer had this same issue. So if you order this product don't be alarm if this plastic bag is also full of his detergent.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Make clothes clean and soft!

11/26/2012
By ,
Joplin, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to wash my cloth diapers, but started using it on regular clothes as well as towels and rags. I was impressed by how SOFT everything comes out of the wash, it's just really soft!! Not sure why.
As for cleaning power, it seems to be cleaning better than the ALL free & clear I was using, but I don't have any heavily soiled clothes to test with.
I like how you only have to use a little bit, so far I've only had to fill it up to the first line for a load of laundry, and I have a top loader machine. I also like how easily accessible this detergent is, my local Walmart carries it, that means I don't have to 1. pay for shipping or 2. risk the detergent leaking during shipping.
As for the scent, it has none. Most of my cloths come out smelling like nothing. I'm not allergic to anything so I cannot comment on how it does for sensitive skin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Clean clothes!

11/23/2010
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always used brand-name laundry detergent. I got to try Ecos Laundry Detergent. I was skeptical because it was a 'green' product (will it really clean my clothes?). I felt compelled to pour more than the "measured amount" to make sure they were clean. My clothes were totally clean. Its a great product! I like the unscented one the best. Would I use it again? Yes. Would I buy it again? Yes. Would I recommend it? Yes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz
02/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It cleans really well and is the only off the shelf detergent I've ever tried that didn't cause hives. All the free and clear ones failed miserably, both on me and my family. If you have sensitive skin, you should even be able to tolerate the lavender of this brand, which is what we use if we can't find the unscented. Its gentle and smells wonderful!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/08/2011
just read your comment re: first off the shelf "free and clear" you used... in looking up detergents a lot contain "brighteners" in them. That might be what you're actually allergic to in detergents because a lot of other "free and clears" i've looked into contain brighteners even though they don't contain scent.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Awesome for everyone, and GREAT for cloth diapers!

10/17/2012
By ,
Oregon City, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family has sensitive skin but just about any free and clear will work for us. What convinced us to buy ECOS was the fact that it's cloth diaper safe. We'd had issues with some other detergents and switched to ECOS. It has been working great. We've used it for about a year on diapers and baby clothes and it lasts us 3+ months so it's a great bargin. Maybe other cloth diaper safe detergents are expensive and this is the BEST deal I've found and it leaves my diapers fresh and soft. LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

ECOS DETERGENT

01/08/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using this detergent for a couple of years now. I used to get it at Costco, but having it delivered from Walmart is a lot more convenient now that I no longer drive. These are also smaller bottles, so easier for me to pick up and pour into the washer.
I think this stuff works as well as other detergents I've tried, and it's about the same price. I'm not sure how it is "green," but I suppose that's a bonus for the earth. I've tried it without additional fabric softener and find my clothes are full of static, so I do use a softener with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scent
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

great product!

10/20/2014
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No scent or dyes to bother sensitive skin and noses. Cleans well, no residue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Best Buy

12/30/2013
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using ECOS Laundry Detergent for years. I try to keep a chemical free home and laundry. ECOS cleans well, keeping my clothes clean and fresh. It also keeps my washing machine smelling fresh. Walmart prices are the best I've found. As a value and bargain shopper, I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Great for cleaning clothes without chemicals

10/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is great. However, the shipping department at Walmart needs to learn how to pack this liquid product for shipment. The first time I ordered this detergent in bulk, I never received it because it was damaged in transit. This time I ordered, one of the bottles cap unscrewed (because it wasn't secured with tape like it should have been) and it completely leaked all over the rest of the shipment. What a mess!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Great stuff!

04/24/2011
By ,
Overland Park, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this together with Sun Oxygen cleaner and the combo does a very good job cleaning and getting odors out of all my clothes. Even my gym clothes are fresh and clean! Amazing cleaner at an amazing price. Better than Tide!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Love this USA made natural detergent!

03/28/2014
By ,
The Sunny South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm careful about what I bring into my house, detergent included. I've been buying this one for several years without hesitation. It's made in the USA; each bottle made in a different state. It is effective and good for the environment. What else can I want?
Overall, I recommend without hesitation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

great product

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mild but cleans well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Saving the Earth one load of Laundry at a time!

01/09/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of very few detergents you can employ so that you can use the grey water to irrigate and not harm the either the plants or the planet. The price is excellent. You just can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Love this

03/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure how this would work but it works great. Since I have such a problem with allergies I thought this might be a good choice if it worked well. It gets our clothes clean and soft and I am not disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Not used it yet. Great packaging

09/19/2014
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are expecting our baby boy soon. So thought to order this after searching millions of brands of laundry detergent for kids. But, my review is not for the product quality as we have not yet used it. This review is about the way Walmart packs and ships liquid products. Great packing. Was taped thoroughly and in a zip lock bag.
Walmart- We love you and miss you (no Walmart stores near our home)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Grandson's rashes disappeared!

03/18/2014
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So happy to find Ecos Free and Clear at Walmart.com! It is getting hard to find - the Lavender scented one seems to be replacing it in local stores. But even that one gives my baby grandson rashes which disappear with Free and Clear on his clothes, sheets and burp cloths. Cleans so welI we use it for our own wash as well. I buy 6 at a time online and give 4 to baby's parents. Bottles are a great price and are delivered in perfect shape!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Lives up to every product claim

06/24/2013
By ,
Springtown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first of all the "unscented" claim....a lot of "unscented" products just mean that they don't add extra perfumes, but the chemical smell of the product is still very evident. as someone who is sensitive to smells, I can tell you that this is TRULY unscented. second: only having to use a capful per load makes this seemingly pricey detergent last a loooooooooong time. I live with my Mom and with laundry for the 2 of us, 1 bottle has lasted us 4 months! and the added bonus of it not having ANY of the harshness of so many laundry detergents on the market today is just the icing on the cake!! I would HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone who wants good value for money, super gentle ingredients, and long lasting usability!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ecos Laundry Detergent, Free & Clear, 128 fl oz

Great product

02/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great detergent to wash my cloth diapers and infant clothing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next