Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

With the Philips 46" 1080p LED-LCD HDTV, you can enjoy extreme motion sharpness without picture imperfections. This 120Hz Internet-ready model brings the response time of LED TV to a new level so even the fastest action scenes are presented clearly. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Philips 46" 1080p LED-LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.492 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation90%120 out of 134reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Great TV but having Netflix issues

11/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. Picture and sound are perfect quality and features are great. I am having trouble connecting to Netflix but not due to TV, but to ISP issues. It not only meets, but exceeds all my expectations.
My initial order was delivered to the store and when I opened the box the TV screen was broken in a corner. I called Walmart.com customer service and I must say they have the best customer service I have ever experienced. Not only that they replaced the item, but they shipped it (overnight) to my house so I don't have to go to the store to pick it up again, AND they offered to have UPS come and pick up broken TV.
Replacement TV arrived in perfect condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Review 2 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Philips

03/05/2011
By ,
Murfreesboro, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice TV. Great value. The sound leaves much to be desired. It is a good thing I already had a surround sound. High pitched screeching sound. Zero bass. Overall I am very happy. The picture is awesome. This is my second Philips TV, the first has lasted 15 years and still going. Quality product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 3 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Great picture

03/20/2011
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great TV! The picture quality is wonderful. There are many adjustments to customize the picture to your preferences. I like the menu you can use to switch between the components you have hooked up through the TV such as your video games, DVD, etc. Also you can plug in USB and listen to MP3, view pictures, or videos. Very nice! On the down side, the sound isn't great from the TV speakers so we added a Philips soundbar. **Note that the only sound output on this TV is through a coaxial cable or HDMI. There are NO red/white A/V outputs, only inputs.** The only other thing that is disappointing is the NET TV portion of the TV. There are only three "apps" available to use the internet. Netflix, Twitter, and an internet radio sight. It appears the Philips offers extensive choices to overseas customers but not the U.S. customers. Not sure what their reasoning is here but hopefully more choices are added in the future to fully use the internet capabilities. Overall, I love my new TV and would definitely recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Fantastic TV and Picture!

03/23/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this TV Site to Store. It took about 14 days exactly to show up at the store after some delays. I researched quite a bit before purchasing this TV because some people think Philips are bad but I think they've improved greatly.
The picture quality is incredible and despite what others have said about the sound quality I think it's great! The TV is mounted on my wall and the speakers are on the back of the TV but it provides perfect sound throughout the living room.
It was incredibly easy to set up the picture settings. I think this is a fantastic TV for the price.
The ONLY downside is that it is Internet ready to stream movies from Netflix BUT you have to attach an ethernet cable from the TV to your router which seems very inconvenient and ridiculous to drag a cable across the house. Most people I know don't have their router in their living room. I purchased this TV thinking it had a built-in wireless card but it doesn't.
Aside from that, Great TV!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Awesome TV

03/15/2011
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV very light and thin. good sound. after some tweaking i got the screen to how i prefer and picture looks amazing. also if u call up philips they will send u a wireless dongle for the tv to be used wirelessly absolutely FREE after u provide serial number and model of the tv
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Great TV, Great Price

03/11/2011
By ,
Merrill, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing this TV. This was by far the best value for the type of TV. It was easy to set-up, looks great and works great. It was a long wait to get the TV because we shipped site-to-store, but was worth the wait. I definitely reccomend this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Awesome TV at a great price

04/02/2011
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading reviews on walmart.com and not being able to find much information when googling the model, I was a bit nervous about buying a $780 TV without seeing it in action. Walmart said it would be delayed in transit, but it ended up showing up in the original timeframe. Setup was a breeze, it took about 10 minutes to unbox and set up, including the assisted picture quality setup. Sports in HD look excellent on this TV, as does HD cable programming (I especially enjoyed watching Girls Gone Wild uncensored on HDNet). The picture quality is amazing. Regular DVDs look very sharp and PS3 was awesome after turning off the Digital Natural Motion. Before turning it off, it was very choppy. I think the sound was fine, especially since I expected it to be terrible based on some reviews, but I hooked up my 5.1 surround sound through the orange coaxial hookup and its good as it gets now. I expected to have to hook up an ethernet cable to use netflix, so I wasn't disappointed there and my modem is next to my TV, so that wasn't a problem. Overall, this is a great TV with outstanding picture and I have nothing bad to say about the audio. The one thing that could be better is NetTV. All thats included is Vtuner internet radio and Netflix, I think they could have added facebook widgets as well as some other basic widgets, but Netflix is great. Great TV at a great price, I just hope it doesn't fail to turn on or start smoking after a few months, like I've heard some philips TV's are capable of doing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

The best deal I found

03/13/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this TV! Great deal for the buy. If you're lookin to spend under a $1000.00 this is the TV. It's a decent size LED, lite and durabale, great picture quality, and internet ready. Took 5-10 min to install. Came with a free month of NetFlix witch worked immediatley. I found that very convienent. Curious to see if updates will support more internet features later on. I highly recommend this deal. It's the biggest bang for you buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Great value on a really nice television

05/10/2011
By ,
NW Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw some other reviews that said the sound quality was poor on this set, but since I got it on clearance price, I went for it anyway. Pleasantly surprised - the sound is fine! Better than my old set (a 42-inch Sony Wega). Took a little research to learn how to do the settings on a HDTV, but found several internet sites with helpful tips and got everything adjusted to taste in about 30 minutes. Digital channels are incredibly clear. Non-HD shows/channels a little jerky on the movements - Everybody Loves Raymond on TVLand really suffers, but no fault of the set. Sporting events on a HD channel are like being there. Only thing approaching a complaint is the set is a little slow to respond to channel changes and volume adjustments from the remote. But overall a really high-quality product at a really great price. I'm giving this review after having the set for about a month, so it's early. But if it holds up, it'll be the best TV I've ever owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7
02/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV has it all. Four built-in speakers, perfect contrast,Surround HD, PC VGA input. Great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 11 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Excellent product!

03/23/2011
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know what the big ho-ha is about big name products, but this TV is excellent. It's easy to set up out of the box, and is even Netflix-ready. I hooked up my cable and, since I'm a member, watched Netflix that night. Although the instructions tell you that you have to have an internet connection for both your computer and the TV at the same time, I called Netflix and while the TV was connected to the internet, they initialized it for me.
The picture quality is beautiful and the sound is as good as my husband's 62" TV without additional speakers. I suppose that may improve it and give it surround-sound, but this is just fine for me as a second TV. It's also hooked up to a satellite service and my DVD player. It all works beautifully together. The HD is so clear, it's startling!
I always research products before purchasing, and the time I spent on this was well worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Excellent Value

03/20/2011
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Styling, simple, classic. - Exellent price on WalMart.com. - Would have like more color controls but after spending enough time fiddling with it am thrilled with the picture. - Internet connectivity is a wonderful feature. Can stream NetFlix staight to the TV. - Powerful sound, best I have heard from a slim screen. - Quick & simple set-up. - - Can't go wrong with this screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 13 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Great product for the value

03/19/2011
By ,
Gold Bar, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this T.V. for my new house and I am in love. I had shopped around for a few months to find the perfect T.V. for our needs and this one was well worth the search. The picture is incredible and the sound quality is good even with out the surround sound system. I have read many reviews talking about the sound quality of the slim cabinet T.V.'s but that does not hold true on this one. I had the T.V. shipped site to store and was very pleased with how easy it was to pick up. No need to stand in line just pick up and go. I would definetly recommend this product to any one who is lookg for a great T.V. at an even better price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Do not buy.

03/30/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I previously owned a 37" LCD from Philips and loved it. This display has noticeable picture quality issues. It over saturates an image that has already been over-saturated by the networks. (I'm sorry, but your golf course is not THAT green.) Similarly, the whites are far too bright. Unfortunately, when you attempt to bring the brightness/contrast/color settings back down to earth, the image looks all washed out. I've played with the settings for about two weeks to no avail. One final thought... While it is LED, it is edge lit - not Full LED backlit. This means that the blacks are not as black as even a traditional LCD. In fact, during dark scenes you'll notice a clouding effect originating from the edges.
Let's just say, I've learned my LED lesson.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Great value

04/27/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price on this model was about half of others that I looked at with similar features, so the minor nitpicks I have with the unit are not a big detractor for me.
Great screen, color, clarity, ease-of-use.
One peculiar thing about the picture is that it makes most shows look like they were videotaped, even if they were filmed, which is a bit disconcerting for movies. We're playing with the picture quality settings, especially contrast, trying to adjust the picture to our preference, but it is slow-going.
Love the TV apps, especially accessing Netflix through the TV. YouTube isn't one of the accessible apps, but it looks like they have room for expansion, so I hope Panasonic adds it.
The sound quality isn't quite what you'd expect for a TV of this size, but we got used to it pretty quickly and don't have an external sound system hooked up.
Overall, I love this TV and could not have found a better value out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 16 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Adventures With New TV

04/10/2011
By ,
Alliance, NE
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I may be doing somethings wrong but I am not very happy with the picture on our new Phillips TV. It's size is impressive and exciting but the color is not right and I can't seem to figure out what to do. Some parts of the picture are almost "unnaturally" colorful and others are quite low in color intesity, almost dull. Also the defenition or clarity of some parts of the picture are poor in relation to other parts.
I don't have an issure with the delivery or timeliness of my order.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7
03/31/2011
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was just what I expected after much research of this product. At a great price and excellent picture I knew before hand that I was getting a great TV and also knew that WalMart was not adverticing it correctly when they said it was a Wi-Fi TV. In order to get Wi-Fi you need to download the firmware update then contact Phillips and get on their backorder waiting list for a Wi-Fi adapter. Been two weeks and still have not seen it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7
02/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many features, including PC input.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 19 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Great TV

03/30/2011
By ,
Crossville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV has exceeded my expectations as far as picture and sound. The picture is as good or better than the Samsung un46c750 that I had a few months ago and the sound is great when mounted on a wall. I don't have to use my home theater at all. The internet was not a big deal to me but I figured that it was hard wired since the word "wireless" was nowhere in the description.
On the negative side, it takes a long time to turn on and the sound has given me trouble at times and I have to turn the tv off then back on to fix it.
Overall, its a big tv with excellent picture and sound quality at a great price. I highly suggest you buy one while the still have them
.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Philips 46" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV , 1.57" Slim-Design, 46PFL7705D/F7

Sad, Sad, Sad...

02/21/2011
By ,
Binghamton, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was one of my worst experiences with site to store. This item was delayed for 2 weeks from original order date. when I did receive tv installation was easy. three main problems with this tv: heavy,no audio output with av cables, picture quality was terrible compared to other models. we looked at the 40" model and the picture quality was much better. We couldn't even use our sound bar because of the hook ups.Even though item was on sale it was more trouble than a bargain. We ended up buying a SONY Bravia LED LCD and couldn't be happier with the quality. originally what I wanted. This tv is much heavier than the SONY.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next