Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

With the Philips 40" LED-LCD HDTV, you can enjoy extreme motion sharpness without picture imperfections. This 1080p full-HD television brings the response time of LED TV to a new level; so even with the fastest action scene you will be enthralled by the sequences, without having to sacrifice any image quality. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Philips 40" LED-LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(209 Reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
50
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation89%182 out of 205reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
50
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Excellent price, customer service

04/14/2011
By ,
Riverdale, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you to the previous reviewers who said that they contacted customer service and were able to get the dongle for free! It's another $70 saved! To be clear, it's Philips customer's service that was truly excellent. Walmart only had email to contact them.
For the price, this TV's specs are great. I was worried because of some reviewers who stated that Philips was no longer a good name after being associated with Funai, but the picture is great. Will update as soon as the wireless capability comes here. The customer service representative at Philips also stated that this wireless dongle will allow you to stream NetTV wirelessly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 22 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

killer LED

04/27/2011
By ,
roanoke rapids,NC.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought 2 tv's in 2 weeks. one was a vizio 42 inch LED, for living room. then I saw the philips 40 inch on sale, online only. the reviews were really good, so I bought it for my bedroom. It only took 7days for it to arrive at store. when I set it up in the bedroom I wish I had bought 2 philips LEDs! The picture was better than the vizio. even though it is 2 inches smaller than the vizio I may put it in my living room anyway. The vizio sound is weak, but I have a surround sound and keep the tv speakers off. The philips picture is hard to beat, the philips was over 1oo dollars cheaper. and it is netflix ready. I usually don't buy audio, or Tv's off of the net, I want to see the picture lit up for comparason, but I took a chance on the philips and it paid off big time!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 23 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Very nice TV

04/08/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do like everything about this TV. The price I paid for a LED LCD flat that is internet enabled was a good bargain. BUT I am disappointed with NetTV. The only apps available is Netflix, Twitter, and Vtuner. I searched on line and can not find any more available. This was the main reason for this purchase. Samsung had plenty of apps available Philips should be able to do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 24 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

sweeeeeeet

05/13/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this tv about 2 weeks ago and so far no problems, it was easy to set up, just follow instructions.some people may find the colour not bright enough, all you need to do is adjust it, the sound may not be loud also, that too can be corrected. just remember this tv is high defination, so to get the perfect results from this tv, you have to go HD too.
buy the HDMI cable, especially when hooking up your blu-ray player. everything changes, the sound,picture quality etc. when finish hooking up you would say "WOW" and wonder why some companies are selling the same quality tv at more higher price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 25 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

nice TV, nice price

04/06/2011
By ,
N Attleboro, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is our 2nd 40" flat screen purchase in the past 6 months, so it had competition at the start. Our other TV ( Sharp Aquos ) was for the main family room and had a bigger price tag and incredible 4 color picture. I felt sorry for the Philips having to fill such big shoes, but it has a beautiful picture and good "surround sound". It did need a bit of "tweeking" to the color--people's faces tended to be extra pink/red and most colors seemed over saturated. I called Philips for advice and they were very responsive and offered suggestions. The color is now life-like and is pleasing to watch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 26 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Great value hdtv

05/31/2011
By ,
Fairhope, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had been looking for a tv with all the features that this one has. When I saw this one at this price, I felt like it was the right time to buy. I did ship to site and was pleasantly surprised when it arrived the next day. It was simple to set up. The picture is beautiful and it is a great enhancement to our living room. The sound is not the best, but it is by no means bad. I have recommended this television and the ship to site shipping feature to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 27 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

So this is what HDTV can really be!

03/22/2011
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was tempted to write this after owning this set one night, but thought that it would be prudent to wait. It's been two nights and I am just so completely blown away by the picture on this 40" LED 120hz Philips that there is no reason to wait longer before writing about it. I have had and returned four other 37 - 40" HDTV's in the past 8 months while trying to find one I liked. This is it. I have had a Sony, both LCD and LED Samsung's and a LED Vizio. Not one of them came close to comparing to what this set looks like. As soon as I got this home and set up, took 5 minutes, I called Philips. They guided me through downloading and installing the updated (JAN 2011 I think) firmware for this set. I have it hooked up via HTML cable to a Comcast Hi Def box. Of the previous sets that I have tried, none of them looked like this. The HD shows (like Castle, The Event) just JUMP off the screen at you with characters looking so crisp its like nothing any other set ever displayed. I saw parts of a Star Wars and also a Harry Potter movie and they were both the same. Almost like 3d definition without any glasses. NCAA Basketball and MLB Network and CNN programming all look great too. I cannot understand why, of 5 different HD sets this one is the only one that has displayed the picture with such an incredible and appreciated difference in HD quality. If someone knows the answer I'd sure like to hear it. The sound on this set is just fine and better than most. There are not a lot of settings available on this set like some others which have things for sound and viewing like movies, sports, music or even specific like basketball, baseball. This simply has an equalizer for sound and settings for the picture brightness, back light, contrast... After trying 5 HD TV's this one stands head and shoulders above the rest. I cannot understand why the HD quality is so vastly superior on this set. All I can say is: BUY THIS TV!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 28 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Great tv at an AWESOME price!

04/06/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was floored when I came across this gem of a deal! A 40" LED LCD 1080p 160 hz refresh slim tv at this price! No where else will you find as many features packed into a tv for such a low price! The picture is awesome! The sound is incredible...4 speakers packed into a tv that is only 1.5'' thick!
I highly recommend you jump on this awesome bargain! You will not be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 29 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

after alot of research i am so glad i bought it

06/02/2011
By ,
austin,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very ease to set up... great features more features than other tv's that cost over 1000.
i continue to be impressed with the picture. it is so bright and realistic. the surround sound exceeded my expectations. i am so pleased with it that in the new few months i will buy another one for my bedroom. i highly recommend this awesome tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 30 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Verdict is Still Out For Me On This TV

05/06/2011
By ,
Leesburg, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am not quite sure if I will keep this tv yet. Just got it a few nights ago via site to store shipping. We got home and plugged it in and it seemed like it was great. But then I started noticing with the Digital Motion Picture (the feature that makes it look almost 3D) there is pixelation around objects when they move, which bothered me. So I turned this feature off, but when I did that the whole picture had that sort of pixelated digital look to it. Not bad, but definitely noticeable. I have Directv with HD channels and have all HDMI hookups. I have tried tweaking the settings and still can't get it to look quite right. I will think I have it fixed then notice it isn't. It is my first LED tv so I don't know what is causing this. I noticed with my grandparents' samsung LED that they had the same pixelation problem sometimes, but it wasn't nearly as often and barely noticeable. This is more noticeable to me. If anyone knows how to fix this please let me know. I am not sure if I will keep it or return it yet. Wasn't expecting highest quality for this price, but was expecting pretty good quality. I will update if I get it fixed or if I decide to return it and try another tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 31 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Decent Buy

05/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pros- great value, picture looks great, lightweight
cons- lack of picture settings, no standby mode for pc display, cheaply made
the one i received had severe light leaks from every corner on the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 32 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Bad customer service

05/19/2011
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Will not be able to use our new tv until 12+ weeks after we bought it. Unfortunatley some of these tvs are missing the wifi adapter and you have to call customer service to have them send you the missing part. Did that, its now been more than two weeks of anxiously checking the mail so I can use my new tv (we bought it for its wifi internet bc we use netflix and do not have cable or dish). Finally called back today to see where its at. They say will be on back order for 10 more weeks!! I am very dissapointed. I am angry I bought something that can't be used for 3 months!!! On top of that the customer service member who I spoke with tonight was rude, saying well at least you can watch tv. Well no I can't. I should've been told the first time I called that it was on back order.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 33 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

not to standard of Phillips

06/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this because of online special price and the Brand name Phillips. when I got the TV the pic was blurry not crisp even in 1080 120Hz HD mode using HDMI connection. Wifi does not work and later found out it was included but they will ship it 90days back order. It was slow and channel selection was poor. Again not at all to Phillips standard which are normally high.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 34 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Great Value!

04/14/2011
By ,
Des Moines, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TV was surprisingly thin. The picture is the best I've seen on an LED/LCD, hands down. I have an average-sized room, and the size of the screen was a little overwhelming at first. I didn't realize how huge 40 inches is!
The NetTV application was, in a word, a letdown. Don't get me wrong; the Netflix portion is awesome--you can stream a surprising amount of content directly to the unit, most of it in HD--but the other apps are nearly useless. The sound is good enough for me, but I'm not inclined to tweak sound settings anyway. I wish there were a more robust programming guide when watching over-the-air broadcast stations; it only gives information about what's currently on, and it doesn't go much further than the title of the show.
The USB wi-fi dongle didn't come included in the box, but I called the company (after registering for the warranty) and ordered it free of cost. That was 7 business days ago, and I'm still waiting for the piece to arrive in the mail. I tried to update the software (which would render the TV capable of using wi-fi media connect) using a USB drive, but the TV wouldn't update because it supposedly already has the latest software.
All in all, it's a GORGEOUS TV with AMAZING picture quality. If you're mainly planning to use it with cable/satellite service or a game system, the negative aspects I mentioned won't be a problem at all. This TV is a great value and I'm very glad I bought it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 35 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Great TV!

04/20/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this TV 5 days ago and we love it! My 11 year old said it is the best picture from a TV he has ever seen and I have to agree! The picture is so clear. I think the sound is great too....we don't turn it up too loud, but for our purposes it is the better than the TV it replaced! Like the other reviewers stated, I called customer service and they are sending me a wireless dongle. I can't wait to recieve it so I can watch Netflix without having to go through the playstation. Graphics from the different game systems are exellent also!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 36 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Awesome TV

06/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This t.v. is the best you can find for the money. Trust me, I did weeks of research. A few people may say the sound quality is poor; it's a t.v. not a sound system. If you want awesome sound, buy some speakers and a reciever. I think the sound is the most of what you can expect out of an integrated speaker. The picture quality is amazing. Crisp and clear. The colors look vibrant(black is true black and not dark grayish color). Watched the NBA Finals on this t.v. Sports lovers need to check this t.v. out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 37 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Excellent Buy

05/18/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this TV a week ago, and I am very happy with it so far. The picture is excellent, but I do have HD service and I am useing HDMI. Set up was easy too. I called Philips about the wireless dongle, and they are shipping not only the dongle, but what they called "the wireless package", at no cost to me. It's a great fit for the room I have it in. And it's a great deal @ $599. If your shopping for a LED_LCD tv, get this one!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 38 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Great led-lcd!!

03/23/2011
By ,
Cordele, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this led-lcd in-store and only use it for playstation 3 gaming and watching blu-rays as I already have two other lcd tv's in the house hooked to cable for regular veiwing. The other tv's are both 42" and are a Vizio and a Hannspree, but I wish they were both this Philips 40"-- I mean the picture is great colorful and vibrant! The sound is awesome-great for gaming and movies! I love my other two tv's, but I love this Philips a little bit more! Great television. Oh- FYI- always purchase a service plan when buying any television, you'll thank yourself later!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 39 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Love it!

05/16/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I followed some of the previous reviewers' suggestion and called Philips to get the Wifi Connect USB. It came within two weeks of calling and I am happy to say it was easy to connect. I can now stream movies from my Netflix instant queue and see my Twitter timeline. Very cool! Excellent price! Very easy to assemble as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 40 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Philips? Vizo, Samsung?

06/20/2011
By ,
San Leandro, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value was excellent as with many WalMart products! Compared this product with "Best Buy" products and was happier with the WalMart selection. Purchased for my son who loves the Internet connection. I also liked the furnished TV stand. Would buy it again and that means something!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
21-40 of 126 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next