Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

With the Philips 40" LED-LCD HDTV, you can enjoy extreme motion sharpness without picture imperfections. This 1080p full-HD television brings the response time of LED TV to a new level; so even with the fastest action scene you will be enthralled by the sequences, without having to sacrifice any image quality. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Philips 40" LED-LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(209 Reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
50
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation89%182 out of 205reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
133
4 stars
50
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Simply an awesome TV.

05/31/2011
By ,
Hudson, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooked it up - not my first rodeo with Philips. Fast setup. This TV really is far superior to the older 42" Philips that only had 60hertz refresh rate. 120hertz is instantly noticeably better. I bought this for the internet connectivity and Netflix capability. Of course, I have HDTV cable hookup, and while watching Return of the Jedi on TV I was amazed at the sharpness of the image. I never noticed this level of clarity before. Bargain priced and loaded is a quick summary. Philips has another I thought about that had a 240hertz refresh rate. I can only imagine how awesome that picture is, but it didn't offer internet connectivity, so I passed on it.
I shipped to store. The box was thinner than the last Philips I had bought and slipped easily in the back seat of my Hyundai Elantra. Pretty light weight. I had no trouble getting it out of the car and into the house. Customer service at Walmart was excellent. They brought it from the back of the store and helped me get it in the car .
Would I order online with confidence again... DEFINITELY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Wi-Fi? What Wi-Fi?

04/01/2011
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me begin by saying I was impressed with the ease of ordering this TV from Wal-Mart. The order process, shipping, and tracking were all great. Store pick-up went well and I was happy to bring the new TV home.
Surprise number one, you need a proper HD cable converter! The picture is horrible without it. Okay, easy to fix. Swapped old converter for HD and HDMI interface converter box, changed cable connections, and had FANTASTIC picture quality.
Surprise number 2 - audio is a bit 'thin" almost tinny sounding. Had to go into set-up mode and manually adjust equalizer. Better but no where near the sound quality of a big-box CRT TV.
Really BIG and ANNOYING SURPRISE - NO WI-FI!! That's right, the Wal-Mart site says Netflix streaming to your TV via Wi-Fi connection. Well guess what - you can find the MAC address with ease, add the device to your network, then try all you want to stream Netflix to the TV only to find out there isn't any Wi-Fi capability installed in the TV.
You are now forewarned!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Philips LED TV 40PFL7705D/F7...Not what I expected

09/15/2010
By ,
Toronto, Canada
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live in Canada and since this TV was not for sale here I drove across the border to buy it. I have been buying only PHILIPS products for years now and this TV does not meet the standards I would expect from this Dutch electronic giant. The features are poor to say the least, the menu screen looks cheap and not of a TV you would pay $1000 for. The volume icon is poorly displayed. Don't get me wrong the picture is very good, but I just would have expected more. In my opinion this is a step down from the 32 inch PHILIPS LCD TV I had (which was made by PHILIPS). I guess when you have another company (Funai Corp.) making your TVs now this is what you end up with. You may want to think twice before picking this TV up. For the money the Samsung 40 inch LED TV might be a better choice and it's cheaper too!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Review 4 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Great TV and a great value!!

05/13/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tv almost a month ago and Ive been very happy with it. The sound is great, once hooked up properly with HDMI cables. There were many reviews as to a tin-ny sound w/ this model. Thats only true if it is not hooked up w/ HDMI cables.
This tv is so clear that I didn't realize I wasn't watching it in HD for two days! Boyfriend hooked it all up and read no instructions. Lol. Finally stumbled across the portion of instructions that tells you to press source on your remote, and click the port your HD cable is in. Once I did that the sound and picture improved phenominally as to be expected!! Great sound, especially with movies. Great picture too. The LED really gives great contrast. Love, love, love it!!
You're lucky to find this tv with all these features for such a great value. Would have gave it five stars for features but it doesn't have facebook just twitter...
Also Philips will send you a Lan adapter if you need one. It is listed as included on their website but not on walmarts. Philips is also great for upgrading the tv's software! All over the phone. Beautiful set, a must have!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Fantastic picture & sound

02/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both of my daughters have flat screen HD TV's and both told me the picture on my Philips LED is better than theirs. I bought mine on Wal-Marts web site, and it was delivered to the store in about a week, (well worth the wait) with 4 speakers, the sound is almost like a sound-around. the picture clearity in HD is what impressed me the most. FANTASTIC PICTURE what more could you ask for in a TV set but the picture?
Before buying I did some research and decided on buying a LED instead of cheaper LCD and am now a "Happy Camper"
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 6 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Something to write home about ... :)

02/13/2011
By ,
New Britain, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV as a gift to myself the week before Thanksgiving 2010. Everyone including myself are amazed at the quality picture and sound from this TV. Everything looks fantastic ... football games, movies and DVDs, Wii games, Xbox games, and all cable channels - regular and HD. The set up was very simple - took less then 15 min including hooking up DVD player, cable, and games systems. I have a large but very awkward living room that lacks an actual wall so I had to place the TV in a corner and this TV was the perfect size and still Large enough to be seen from the kitchen. PLUS you can't beat the price comparing it to the top brands like Samsung and Sony. Philips is absolutely the BEST BUY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 7 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Best TV for your money.

04/03/2011
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my Dell LCD HDTV died (after only three to four years of use) I wanted to do some extensive research to ensure I didn't end up with another half a grand of lemon on my hands. I took just shy of a week to read up on product and brand reviews, pricing, and quality. (Luckily I had kept an old tube style tv/vcr to use in the meantime...which I might add is about 20 years old, still working fine).
The picture and sound are amazing through hdmi cables. I use the tv for everything. High def cable, I have it hooked up to my computer as a monitor, all of my video gaming systems, my dvd player, and as soon as the wifi adapter arrives, my netflix streaming as well. Aside from the internet part, I've tried everything out on this tv... Not one issue to report--dare I say flawless?
Phillips came through (as promised in a previous review on here--thank you btw) by sending me the adapter to make this tv wifi capable, as well as a usb memory stick FOR FREE. I've been using the LED LCD HDTV for about a week now, and although I haven't received the wifi adapter yet (it should arrive tomorrow, usb stick came in yesterday) I am very pleased with the purchase... Money well spent. Phillips customer service was great. They offered plenty of help/information to a person who is less than tech savvy. Walmart.com took forever to process my order, and almost as long to ship it to one if their stores... But when I wrote them an email griping about the whole experience, they made it right by refunding a decent percent of the total cost. Kudos to both companies.
I would definitely recommend this HDTV. Best bang for your buck by far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 8 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Best Specs For The Buck!

04/10/2011
By ,
South Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE GOOD: It has fantastic high definition (HD) picture quality! My XBOX 360 games look absolutely gorgeous. Its HD picture is bright, vivid and crisp. Every component (XBOX, DVD player etc.) plugged in can have custom picture and audio settings. Wireless internet! Automatic noise leveling for those loud commercials! It can automatically adjust its backlight to match current lighting conditions in the room or by different component signals. Multiple screen formats so everything is always visible. It can be used as a giant computer monitor. Semi-gloss screen finish is not as ugly as a matte finish and not as overly shiney as a high gloss finish which means there's less glare and it still looks pretty! The unit itself has a high gloss finish which looks sharp. The swivel stand moves with ease. Plenty of HD connections available. Very easy to update its firmware. No ghosting when playing video games!
THE BAD: The sound quality through its built in speakers is average at best. The onscreen display for its menu system is just plain ugly. Reds/Blues/Greens are tough to balance on 480p inputs. The volume indicator doesn't show a number, just bars. Its booting up time is very slow. There are NO analog L/R (red, white) audio outputs. There is only 1 set of (red, white, yellow) video/audio inputs available. There is some bleeding along the top corners on a black screen.
SETTINGS: Out of the box, most of the settings for a high def picture are perfect. However, the first feature you may want to turn off is the "Digital Natural Motion" because that is what causes things to look like they were filmed with a low budget handheld camera (soap opera effect). Out of the box, the sound to speakers is tinny so you'll need to adjust these settings too. If you're like me and don't have HD cable service or a Blueray DVD player yet, you will need to change almost all of the settings to get a decent picture. Understand that standard cable service or a standard DVD player's output is only at 480p. Well, this TV does 1080p so if the input is only 480p, it will stretch it causing the image to degrade. As a result, you'll see a grainey texture that is often too pixelated.
The following settings will reduce image artifacts so you can still enjoy your new TV with your older devices/technology:
Settings Assistant = Select pictures on RIGHT
Contrast = 100
Brightness = 26
Color = 50 (adjust to your preference)
Tint = -15 (adjust to your preference)
Sharpness = 5
Color Temperature = Cool
Dynamic Contrast = On
Digital Natural Motion = Off
Noise Reduction = On
MPEG artifact reduction = On
Color Enhancement = On
Active Control = Off
Picture Format = Widescreen
The following settings will improve the sound quality through the speakers:
Equalizer
120 Hz = 5.0
500 Hz = 3.0
1.5 kHz = 4.0
5 kHz = 0.0
10 kHz = 4.5
SRS TruSurround HD = On
AVL = On
Delta Volume = 0
**Note: Don't forget to repeat these settings for each component! (Cable, DVD, XBOX 360 etc.)
WIRELESS INTERNET ADAPTER: It wasn't in the box but call customer service. They will gladly mail you one at no charge. This little USB dongle will allow you to use your wireless internet which makes updating its firmware even easier.
UNTESTED: I don't yet have a compatible surround sound system to test the output of its digital audio so I can't provide a review for that feature.
BOTTOM LINE: This TV is a steal at $600! I am ecstatic about my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+120points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/02/2011
This is a fantastic review and is just what we were looking for since we don't have a blu-ray player, etc yet. Thanks so much!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Rock solid television

05/16/2011
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For what you pay, you cannot beat this television. It's no Samsung or Sony, but then you're paying about $300 less. The sound is pretty bad, but it's a snap to run it through a cheap home theater setup and fix that problem. For the record, all these skinny LCDs have low-grade sound, even the high end televisions. I did a ton of research before I bought this and I would say that in the mid-tier LED section, it is the top. Vizio and LG, who run in this league, look like garbage when put next to this and they have all sorts of quality control issues.
The remote is a little less responsive than I like, but it's usable. The apps and networking features are pretty incredible. The latest firmware from Philips allows you to use their wireless dongle for net access, so no need to buy the next model step up.
Net TV is actually pretty cool. I thought it would be dumb, but it isn't. Oh, and the setup wizard for this TV is really slick.
If you buy this TV, you will have no regrets. Just buy the Walmart 3-year extended warranty, too. I read the fine print and it is really good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Very good value

03/19/2011
By ,
Atlanta, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup, excellent picture, good ATSC sensitivity and good audio, considering the thin package. We used only over the air TV before, but with the Net TV, we can now get Netflix to complement. The only thing I miss from the old converter box is the Electronic Program Guide, which all the broadcasters send out. This TV doesn't decode that, except for the current program information, so you cannot plan your viewing. If you have cable or dish, this is obviously not a concern.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 11 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Great Value, Fabulous Features, & Nice Look****

05/13/2011
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had this for a week so far, and have been very pleased.
Pros: Easy set-up.
Sleek look. Nice Look, Thin and Lighweight
Nice features , Clear Picture, Good stand,
Easy plugs and remote. Speakers sound great to me. Loud enough before I hooked up the stereo.
Cons: toggle for ethernet connection not in box (due to Japan's crisis...just call Phillips, they'll send you one in 8-10 weeks.) Haven't tried that feature yet.
Don't like the volume button with no numbers, but not a biggie.
Have to play with the settings a bit to get the color/tone I like...but another review on here gave great numbers for that.
I have to say, overall this TV was a steal (shopped around for same and was $400 more other places)...for the features and quality.
Lets see how long it lasts this nice!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 12 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Not so great

06/10/2011
By ,
alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My initial impression was to return it to the store immediately. My older samsung 60Hz 15000:1 contrast 40in LCD tv has a better picture than this LED tv. I called customer service and they are sending out the PTA01 wireless dongle in 5 business days. I am happy about that. So i can then try the internet capabiliites of this TV. I noticed that my tv was made in august 2010. it has been sitting around for 10months. This is my first LED tv but it seems to me that the regular CCFL lcd tv;s give better picture than these. The picture from the philips LED tv seems computerized and not as realistic as my older samsung lcd (LNT4066F model). I updated the software on the tv and that seemed to help somewhat, I also manipulated the settings and that helped out too. The samsung comparable tv is retailing for 1K now. So this is 400 less. I think I am probably getting what I am paying for. I did expect more. I may return it soon after watching it for a while and spend the extra 400$ to get the samsung. We'll see.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Great LED-LCD

03/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After comparing many 40" LED-LCD HDTVs with Internet capabilities currently on the market, the Philips was the best deal. At the time of purchase it was on sale.
Pros:
Super Picture Quality, fantastic overall value for the price, does everything you'd expect and then some. Very user friendly menus, remote, great slim design.
Netflix supported, you can watch movies from your instant queue.
Cons:
Unfortunately there is no built in wireless option in this TV.
It was extremely hard to find information on this before the purchase. Even called Philips and they couldn't tell me...!!
So please know that while this comes with an ethernet port to access the internet options, for wireless access you will have to purchase i.e. a wireless adapter (at the time of purchase we bought one in a Walmart store for $59).
Also, note there is only one Digital Out audio port from the TV to any home theatre system/DVD player. Not all home theatre systems/DVD players will be compatible with that, newer once of course would be, but you may end up having to buy a new home theatre/speaker system if you want the audio supported for all functions (i.e. Netflix live streaming), other than only via TV built in speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Nice TV!

04/16/2011
By ,
Reno,NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only con I have about this TV is that if you don't have HD programming the picture is going to be just like a tube TV on most channels. I bought a blu-ray play along with this TV and the picture is AMAZING, even with regular DVD's. I can't speak for the internet ready features as of yet cause I have not had the desire to hook it up sense my dvd player is wi fi for my netflix (im happy) a lot of people COMPLAIN about the features and I happen to like them they are without a doubt USER FRIENDLY! I am all new to this new age of TV's and I had NO problems getting things set up ALL BY MYSELF non the less. The picture was too "real looking" and the movement was not looking all that great so with 30 seconds of looking through the easy to use features I was able to turn on of the picture settings off and it fixed the problem. I've had the TV for about two weeks now and I am happy happy happy! I'll be even happier when I shell out the money for HD programming!
Cheers folks, you can't go wrong with this TV if you are like me and want to keep it simple. Some people love to nit pick at everything and I don't know what you could really complain about with this TV, the price is right!!!! DON'T order site to store on this order! It took over two weeks for the TV to get here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Excellant LED TV

03/05/2011
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son went online and researched LED TV's for me. He found this one on Walmart.com and suggested I purchase it. I did and have been extremely happy! I picked it up at the store, brought it home, set it up and love it. Single, over 50 and had no problems at all. Also, I just use an antenna and get perfect picture. I called Phillips and inquired why the product description stated it was WiFi capable, but I did not get the LAN adapter with my TV. The service tech stated at the time this model was shipped, it was not included. They are sending me one for FREE! They have also been extremely helpful with downloading the software update needed to make the LAN adapter work. Would recommend this awesome TV to anyone shopping for a new one. Have owned it for 2 weeks now and love every time I turn it on. Is also capable of communicating with your computer WiFi. Phillips has a download for this available on their site. Any other TV that I shopped for that was WiFi capable was very expensive and the LAN adapter was an additional $75+.
Walmart.com has the BEST price for this product.
I also bought the extended warranty for this TV and Walmart.com. Would suggest buying at the same time as the TV.
Very happy customer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

As good as it gets!

04/25/2011
By ,
Gulf Shores, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 5 weeks of research and shopping for a new TV, I can say with certainty that you will not find a better value on a top-quality TV than this Philips. Other TVs comparable in size, features, and technology are several hundred dollars more. The picture quality is amazing. The 120mhz LEDs produce such brilliant color and precise detail that I forget that watching TV and feel like I'm actually there. The setup was fast and easy. Philips did forget to include a wireless adapter with the TV, but all it took was a call to Philips customer service and they sent me one. When it arrived, I had the TV connected to my home wifi network and was streaming a Netfix blueray movie in about 15 mins. The Philips Tv has many more great features and gualities, but I will leave you with this - there's no need to shop any more. This is as good a it gets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Great TV for the Dollar

04/13/2011
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased the Phillips 40PLV7705D LED-LCD to replace an existing 37" LCD that we gave to our daughter. Was the owner of an Stereo/TV store for many years and had experience with Phillips products before. Needed a TV to fit in an existing cabinet so had to keep the size around 40". Liked the features and price ($599) and decided to give it a try. Love the TV! Great picture! Sound is good, but be aware that speakers are on back of cabinet so could be problem in some installations. Highly recommend TV. Also purchased Phillips Blu-ray DVD, BPD5010 ($99) to go with TV. Work great together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Amazing picture

04/25/2011
By ,
Moreno Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to thank the other reviewers for getting me to buy this tv. I love it!!! As stated earlier called phillips customers service and wifi adapter on the way for free. I selected 1 day shipping. I bught it on Thursday 4/21/11 and got it Saturday 4/23 in the am just in time for my directv installation at my new house. Yay. I did have to turn off digital natural motion so it will not look so soap operarish. Now its perfect. By far the best picture you can get for the price and perfect size for my master bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Excellent Product

04/27/2011
By ,
Portland, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally purchased a 37" Vizio and realized the sound and picture quality were very poor. I didn't know much about Philips products but after seeing the price for a 40", 120 hz, 1080p LED/LCD television and the many reviews that consistently said great sound and picture quality, I bought it. I am so glad I returned the Vizio and purchased this Philips tv. I did not need to adjust the color balance as I did with the Vizio. It is a fantastic tv!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Philips 40" Class LED-LCD 1080p 120Hz Internet-Connected HDTV, 1.57" Slim Design, 40PFL7705D/F7

Phillips 40" LED

05/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv has a great picture for a great value. I have wall mounted this tv with a slimline mount and it sits just less than 2" off the wall... INCREDIBLE. The tv has more features than you can even use but one great one is if you save a video file from you computer as a .avi file you can load it to a USB drive, plug straight into the tv and play the video from the drive. Great sound, great picture and a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next