Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for IOGEAR IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

IOGEAR IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

You can make and take calls on the road and even while driving using the IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit. This practical device for your vehicle is a true travel companion that will help you wirelessly communicate with others on your Bluetooth-enabled cell phone. This IOGear model features an integrated solar panel that harnesses natural energy from the sun to help recharge the kit on the go. The wireless Bluetooth car kit can be connected to two phones at the same time and allows you to switch between your personal and business phones, depending on which one you use to receive your call. You also do not have to worry about running out of power because it offers between 11 hours and 13 hours of talk time on a single charge. This solar Bluetooth car kit is compliant with Bluetooth 2.1 +EDR and comes with superior echo cancellation and noise reduction for clear communication. With this impressive device, you can drive a lot more safely and stay in touch at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.109 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%55 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Great For The Money

11/22/2013
By ,
Tempe, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have no complaints about this. It works very well. I can hear the person who is calling me and the people I have talked to say that they can hear me very well. I especially like the solar cell charging on it. It makes it so that I very rarely have to charge it "the old fashioned way". That is great so that you do not have to have lots and lots of charging wires in your car as you drive (When you start trying to hook up a GPS unit, a smartphone, a tablet and a speaker you end up with a mess of wires, the solar cell makes it so that one less wire is needed). I used to try to use bluetooth headsets but I found that those were so inconvenient as I would lose them because they are so small and they did not last very long. Also, it was a pain driving down the road trying to find your headset and get it on quickly to take your call. I kind of discovered for myself that the only place I was using the headset was when I was driving so I decided to try this. I find the speaker to be a lot more convenient. Yes, there are higher quality bluetooth speakers on the market that have higher quality stereo sound and some other feature but if you buy one of those expect to shell out between $60 to $100. At $30 this unit is a good bargain that comes very close to the expensive units in quality. It is a great speaker for the money you pay for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Works great! Cheaper than many others!

05/26/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my husband as his new job has an hour commute one way and he is often on the phone for both business and leisure. He says it works great, is very easy to use and install and has good sound quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

works great

04/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
real easy to use and pal with phone.
sound qualtiy is very good.
solar recharge is great, i havn't had to plug it in to recharge since i bought it.
this is a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Really Cool Device!

09/25/2013
By ,
Park Ridge, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my work truck where I have to call into the office after every service call that I perform. There are lots of towns near here that have "hands free only" laws and so I decided to get this Hands Free Car Kit to keep on the safe side of the law. I charged it for 3 hours like it said to do in the instructions and turned it on. It was simple to link it to my phone. I used the suction cup mount and I put it way up high in my windshield. The girl in the office says she can hear me real clear and I do not have to yell. I used to turn it off after I got to each new service call location, but evidently the device senses when it is not near my phone and it turns itself off automatically. So now all I do when I finish a service call and I get back to my truck is turn the Hands Free device on and my phone connects to it automatically. Sweet! And through some sort of magic, whenever I receive a text message, the freaking thing asks me if I want it read out loud to me! I am pretty sure that this is a function of my phone and not the hands free device, but man, it sure is awesome. So now I have our office dispatcher text me my service call info and my phone reads it out loud to me through this amazing little device. Go get one, now! It was the best $30 I've ever spent. The solar charger seems to work OK. I have had this for a few weeks now and it has stayed charged. Today I had to use the car charger for the first time, but no big deal really. Excellent product at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Inaudible; Bad echo

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my mother so that she could have a handsfree device in her vehicle. While she could hear her caller (mind you this was at a low volume), the caller could hear a horrible echo that made the call unbearable.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Great value and product.

01/17/2014
By ,
Peoria, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voice carries well for both parties in conversation. Easy to set up to your phone. Great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

It is right for my purpose.

03/02/2014
By ,
Hawthorn Woods, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching other products this unit appeared to do more than expected.
The solar charging feature is very good, there is no fumbling with wires, just place on the windshield.
Anyone I call say the sound is very good.
Cannot beat the price.
Bought 2 units,one for my wife's car and mine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Great Value

03/08/2011
By ,
Detroit, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product that suprised me in its usefulness and ease of use. i just stuck it up above the rearview mirror. I haven't had it so easy and I feel so much safer talking completely hands free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Does the job.

01/15/2012
By ,
Hampstead, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well. The solar charging option really helps. Having two mounting brackets allows you to change easily between cars. Easy to put into and take out of brackets. Acceptably clear. Real easy to use by pressing a big button to answer call. Volume buttons are readily accessible also. Easy to pair with your phone. Don't have to mess with putting something in your ear. Definitely worth what it costs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit
03/28/2011
By ,
Broadway Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great it was an easy setup and my Wife loves it and uses it every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Excellent product for the money!

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband drives semi trucks and this hands free product works perfect for him!! I would highly recommend this product to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

nice hands free

10/01/2014
By ,
crestwood,il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good reception, hear and heard well while on windshield. sound quality is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit
01/11/2012
By ,
Chicago area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sound, easy to set up, easy to use, can set up more than one phone with it. don't have to plug in - let the sun do it. helps keep you legal and safe in most states. I recommend this product for everyone, especaly to those who think they can hold the phone and drive safely.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

way to handle talking on cell when law says no

01/02/2012
By ,
Cumberland, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit works great, no need to break the law to answer or make a call on your cell phone while driving. The idea of having a solar panel a person doesn't have to worry about plugging into the lighter receptacle. This is a inexpensive way to go for hand free cell phone calling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Does not meet the standards I was looking for.

04/01/2014
By ,
Cherry Hill, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I received this device, I thought it would be perfect being small, compact and bluetooth. However, once I read the directions and paired it up with my cell phone, I found out that the volume was week and distorted. I couldn't understand what it was saying and it couldn't under me either. Producing the wrong words and numbers to my phone. It's been a real disappointment. It might work better with an IPhone but doesn't seem to like Androids. Oh well, my loss.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Did not charge with any of the chargers provided.

10/15/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has 3 options to charge; a car charger which is provided, a usb cable to your computer which is provided, or use the usb attached to a usb ac adapter which is not provided but I had. It was suppose to charge within 3 hours. I left it on the charger for over 12 hours. Did not charge and cannot turn it on. It is going back. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit
02/13/2012
By ,
Indianapolis IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well for me, makes it very easy to make phone calls and receive them hands free while driving. I recomend this to anyone who makes or receives phone calls in the car. make the roads safer please....
I have not tried the solar charging, so i cannot comment on that. but all other features are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Easy to use, works as expected

04/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This device is simple to use and good at it's job. It came to the store a day earlier than promised and delivers everything I need/expect from a hands-free blue tooth device. For the price I don't think you will find a better bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

It works fine but

07/27/2014
By ,
Strubridge MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The suction cups don't stick to the window as expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for IOGear Solar Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

Best Bluetooth Hands-Free Car Kit

06/16/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very pleased with this product. The fact that it is solar powered has made it well worth the money I spent for it. It has great sound clarity. I have not needed to use electricity to charge it in five weeks that I've had it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next