Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

This Hamilton Beach Red Toaster is an ideal compact two-in-one appliance. The top slot functions as a traditional two slice toaster, while the lower portion serves as mini toaster oven. This lower oven portion is large enough to fit two 16-inch pizza slices. The one and a half inch wide toasting slot can fit thick breads and bagels. Featuring a removable crumb tray, this electronic toaster is easy to clean and maintain. An auto shutoff feature saves power and adds to the convenience and safety. The electronic toast shade and oven temperature controls in the Hamilton Beach Red Toaster provide consistent performance making this product a good addition to any kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.177 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 204
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
62
3 stars
26
2 stars
11
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation84%224 out of 266reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 211 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
62
3 stars
26
2 stars
11
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Toasts evenly, Great Retro Color Design

12/22/2011
By ,
Gardner, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little toaster oven. It's perfect for regular toast, bagels, frozen waffles and I can even fit a hot dog bun in the toaster part. The oven itself is good for small, FLAT food like french fries and chicken nuggets or a few slices of pizza. Do not put anything "fat" or the top will burn. It doesn't have a timer so you have to keep an eye on the clock or use a separate timer. It does not have a broil feature. My regular toaster oven's toast feature did not work so I bought this little treasure and have kept my old toaster oven for the "fatter" foods and for the broil. I guess I could have just gotten a regular toaster but I love the retro look and it's just perfect for my needs. I've included a photo for side to side comparison of a regular toaster oven and this little gem.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

I Wanted to Love This!!

05/12/2013
By ,
Pomfret, CT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First, the good: It looks fantastic--very retro and stylish. Who actually gets compliments on their toaster oven?! I did, when friends saw mine. Also, the toasting component worked extremely well--much quicker and even toasting than my former Black & Decker t/o ever did.
The not so good: The oven component is tiny! It barely fits a slice of pizza, and it is so narrow from top to bottom, I couldn't even warm up a regular sized dinner roll, because that's too tall. I had read some reviews about it being small, but I didn't quite believe them. I was wrong. Still, I liked how well it toasted, so I was willing to deal with this. Until...
The bad: Less than 3 months after purchasing it, the oven door started to get stuck when I tried to close it--it was like something was bent, although it never had been. Soon after, it wouldn't close all the way and I gave up on rationalizing why I should keep it. So, I returned it and am ordering a Hamilton Beach that has received great reviews. Not as good-looking, though!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

This is my OMG moment!

08/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. My boyfriend and I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg on kitchen appliances since were renting and were in the process of moving into a new house, so I found this cute little thing online and fell in love. It is my two favorite kitchen appliances in one, and it works. I can throw a bagel, english muffin, bread, poptarts, etc. into the toaster, or I can throw biscuits, pizza, frozen entrees, etc. into the oven part and it all comes out amazing. I especially love that if I'm cooking for just myself, I don't have to wait forever to turn an oven on and let it preheat, I can throw my meal in the toaster oven and it heats up extremely quickly! Which has it's disadvantages because I burned my crab rangoons not knowing it heated up as hot and as quickly as it did. But I can take it straight from the freezer and then it's cooked in no time. And it's an energy saver. I'm not using as much energy with it as I would with a regular oven. I would buy a million of these if I had a million kitches to cook in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Fortunate that I could return it

12/11/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a case of trying to do two things with one and falling short with both. The oven uses two quartz rods on both sides of the toast, and the heat is at the rods and does not spread evenly. We tried a couple of Eggos and after 4 cycles in the toaster the centers were burned and one edge on each was raw, untouched by any heat. We then tried to toast a slice of bread. It was half brown, half cold. We did not try the oven, but read later that it is necessary to block the heat coming out of the toaster door to get heat to the oven because the heating elements are at the toaster section.. On the Hamilton Beach site, in Comparisons, they show this unit as capable of Broil, but there is no broil heater and no broil on the selector. I am thankful that Walmart has such a reasonable return policy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Works great and is pretty addition to the kitchen!

04/21/2014
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Hamilton Beach Toastation. I had the chrome one already, but when I saw it in red, I gave the chrome one away. It makes perfect bagels in the morning, plus reheats small dinners any time you want a snack. The color is striking and such a nice focal point on the counter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Great Looking - But Don't Buy

01/02/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was trying to save on counter space, getting two much used items in one. First time we used it, worked great. Toasted a bagel, two cycles to get a light toasting. The oven part worked well the first couple of times, then the door became hard to close. Looking at it, it would appear that the temperature to cook anything, tater tots and chicken nuggets for grand son, causes the bracket that holds the shelf to get soft so it bends out of shape just enough to hinder the door operation. Have used it a week, it is going back today. Can no longer open and close the door to properly cook. The product is more frustrating than cooking ability.
Save your self some grief and money and look for a more substantial unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Good little combo, nice price

02/23/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for the small kitchen in my new rental. Very cute, space-saving (replaced separate toaster & oven), and both the oven and the toaster heat evenly and consistently. My only complaint is that the oven area is REALLY small. I understand some space is lost due to the mechanisms that coordinate the two functions, but the height of available cooking space is tiny. You cannot fit an average size potato in the oven to bake (not a huge russet, I'm talking even the average red potato!) You'd have to slice it lengthwise to even come close. That's disappointing because i loved the convenience of doing one baked potato without heating up the joint via the full sized oven. But for pizza or other flat stuff, it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

As it means to be, it serves well enough.

03/28/2014
By ,
beaverton. OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works ecelent on bagels, but not on thin bread. Some times it bites bottoms of bread and won't let go.that, s the reason I gave 4 stars on expectations. And it bakes cutely well small things which, s too small for the conventional oven.When cleaning, it needs a little force to remove the rack , but then the rest is easy.
Overall it serves well enough for 5 stars
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Perfect for our apartment

03/24/2014
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this product and saved me space in my kitchen! The oven is a small one just as it explains and that's exactly what I need to make chicken nuggets, french fries, fist sticks,and pizza rolls for my little ones for lunch time. Also heats up quickly and I love how you can actually see the food cooking so not to burn it. The toaster works great also, have only done toast though. Oven tray is easy to clean. Love it!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Right product for certain people

11/05/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking to save counter top space this is a fair choice. If you want something to really cook in, I would recommend you look for something bigger.
It makes toast fine, and we were able to cook biscuits in it, but the whole can of 8 wouldn't fit, so had to do two batches.
Please note that the oven part does NOT have a timer, so is either on or off, and you must watch it.
One plus is that when you open the oven door, the tray or rack comes out to meet your hand, so you don't have to reach into the hot interior, risking a burn. This was the only model I saw in the Walmart store display that has that feature, even amid the much pricier models.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Great Toaster oven and toaster in one

03/24/2014
By ,
Portsmouth, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my toaster oven/toaster for about three weeks. So far so good. I like the fact when you are making toast you can actually see the toast toasting. The oven cooks pretty good too. I definitely would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Tray difficult to position in oven.

04/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Toaster works great. The oven tray is hard to insert.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

A kitchen must have!!

01/08/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product 2 months ago and use it everyday. My boyfriend and I love to come back from the bars late and heat up food. I'll make chicken fingers, french fries, toast/ waffles, mini pizzas etc. Everything comes out juicy and cooked through. I read many bad reviews and I just don't understand why. It perfect. Walmart was the best deal I found. I bought another one today as a gift for my grandma who is having trouble getting around. This would be easier for her then turning on the entire oven. I recommend this to 20 somethings and the elderly as an easy way for them to make a quick meal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

so far daughter likes

04/20/2014
By ,
Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
seems okay so far thanks
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Perfect for 1-2 people!

08/24/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this toastation. I bought the Black and silver one. I live alone, so mostly only cook for myself. I had a really old toaster that would only toast normal size bread, that's it. I also had a large toaster oven, that I gave to my daughter after she got married and she uses it a lot. Since my husband is now in heaven, and my children are grown, I have found I need smaller, more personal sized appliances. So I set out to buy a new toaster and new smaller toaster oven. When I came across this toastation, I thought, "Well, How clever is that! 2 in 1...hmm." So I decided to give it a try. Well got to tell you....It is Fantastic for my needs. I love it. It will toast bagels, English muffins, texas toast and bread slices. The oven will cook the individual frozen French bread pizzas, flat bread pizzas and pizza slices. I have cooked whole potatoes, brussel sprouts, asparagus and sausage patties in it. I have found that if you cover the top of the oven, covering the toaster top, with heavy duty aluminum foil, the oven will maintain it's heat much better and cook more evenly. I also lay a folded dish towel over the heavy duty aluminum foil to help weight it down and keep heat in better. For me, this toastation is perfect for my needs. I highly recommend it and wish you best of luck with yours as well. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

LOVE THIS TOASTATION!!!

10/25/2013
By ,
Branson, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this & thought it was an unusual combination that I hadn't seen before & it takes the place of 2 items, saving on counter space! When I used it I was very happily surprised as to how great it works! My husband & I both love it. The toaster pops up toast, bagels & english muffins so you don't have to burn your fingers trying to get them out! We both Love This Item & also the Bright Red Color & it works Great!! Thanks for creating such a useful & space-saving Item!! Cost is also well worth it & We Highly Recommend it to Everyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

perfect size

06/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed something very small and this one is. I love the color (red) and the retro-look for my vintage kitchen. I have used all the features and it works perfectly. Toasts evenly and fast - compared to my larger Dualit, which took forEVER. The oven is also very fast to heat up and monitors the temperature as set. Warmed up pizza never tasted so good!
I keep foil on the baking sheet and that prevents food and crumbs from burning. Toss it after job is complete - and the oven looks like new again.
This is a wonderful find at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

1

04/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Too Small! The product description made it sound bigger then it was. I returned the product
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

Excellend for toast, bagels, and waffles

11/03/2012
By ,
Cary, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little toaster is exactly what we were looking for.
Pros:
1. It's very fast compared to our old convection toaster oven.
2. It's much more versatile than a traditional toaster-- the toast slot accomodates frozen breakfast pastries, waffles, many sizes of breads, bagels, and the oven does a great job with cheese toast or a slice of pizza.
3. The outside doesn't get too hot like the giant toaster ovens do.
4. It doesn't take up much counter space
5. It makes great tasting, evenly toasted toast.
Cons:
1. It is small--only one sandwich at a time or one slice of pizza. It's so quick, though, this hasn't really been a problem.
2. It's tough to clean. It has a groove around the toast slot on top that is very difficult to get crumbs out of. It also collects crumbs at the bottom of the front door.
3. Sometimes our waffles pop up and out of the toaster onto the counter. Our kids think it's hilarious, so it adds to the fun of breakfast. Heavier items don't fly out.
4. There's no timer/auto shut off for toasting in the oven. We've solved this by setting a 2 minute timer next to the toaster, but I still wish I could set it and walk away.
Overall, we are very pleased with our little toaster and highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, Red, 22703

helpful product

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the product :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 205 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next