Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

This Hamilton Beach Red Toaster is an ideal compact two-in-one appliance. The top slot functions as a traditional two slice toaster, while the lower portion serves as mini toaster oven. This lower oven portion is large enough to fit two 16-inch pizza slices. The one and a half inch wide toasting slot can fit thick breads and bagels. Featuring a removable crumb tray, this electronic toaster is easy to clean and maintain. An auto shutoff feature saves power and adds to the convenience and safety. The electronic toast shade and oven temperature controls in the Hamilton Beach Red Toaster provide consistent performance making this product a good addition to any kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.205 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(303 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
175
4 stars
68
3 stars
27
2 stars
13
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation84%256 out of 303reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 221 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
175
4 stars
68
3 stars
27
2 stars
13
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Toasts evenly, Great Retro Color Design

12/22/2011
By ,
Gardner, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little toaster oven. It's perfect for regular toast, bagels, frozen waffles and I can even fit a hot dog bun in the toaster part. The oven itself is good for small, FLAT food like french fries and chicken nuggets or a few slices of pizza. Do not put anything "fat" or the top will burn. It doesn't have a timer so you have to keep an eye on the clock or use a separate timer. It does not have a broil feature. My regular toaster oven's toast feature did not work so I bought this little treasure and have kept my old toaster oven for the "fatter" foods and for the broil. I guess I could have just gotten a regular toaster but I love the retro look and it's just perfect for my needs. I've included a photo for side to side comparison of a regular toaster oven and this little gem.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

I Wanted to Love This!!

05/12/2013
By ,
Pomfret, CT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First, the good: It looks fantastic--very retro and stylish. Who actually gets compliments on their toaster oven?! I did, when friends saw mine. Also, the toasting component worked extremely well--much quicker and even toasting than my former Black & Decker t/o ever did.
The not so good: The oven component is tiny! It barely fits a slice of pizza, and it is so narrow from top to bottom, I couldn't even warm up a regular sized dinner roll, because that's too tall. I had read some reviews about it being small, but I didn't quite believe them. I was wrong. Still, I liked how well it toasted, so I was willing to deal with this. Until...
The bad: Less than 3 months after purchasing it, the oven door started to get stuck when I tried to close it--it was like something was bent, although it never had been. Soon after, it wouldn't close all the way and I gave up on rationalizing why I should keep it. So, I returned it and am ordering a Hamilton Beach that has received great reviews. Not as good-looking, though!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

This is my OMG moment!

08/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. My boyfriend and I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg on kitchen appliances since were renting and were in the process of moving into a new house, so I found this cute little thing online and fell in love. It is my two favorite kitchen appliances in one, and it works. I can throw a bagel, english muffin, bread, poptarts, etc. into the toaster, or I can throw biscuits, pizza, frozen entrees, etc. into the oven part and it all comes out amazing. I especially love that if I'm cooking for just myself, I don't have to wait forever to turn an oven on and let it preheat, I can throw my meal in the toaster oven and it heats up extremely quickly! Which has it's disadvantages because I burned my crab rangoons not knowing it heated up as hot and as quickly as it did. But I can take it straight from the freezer and then it's cooked in no time. And it's an energy saver. I'm not using as much energy with it as I would with a regular oven. I would buy a million of these if I had a million kitches to cook in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

It's a toaster . . . & so much more

05/26/2014
By ,
North Greece, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only does this toaster oven toast bread, bagels and rolls, it cooks many other items when you do not want to heat up the regular oven. This is my second oven, this time for my cabin because the one at home works so well and has lasted several years. Easy to clean and easy to use. I unplug it when not in use just to be fire safe. Temperature gauge for oven portion cooks a variety of foods just like your oven without the cost of heating the large space. You will like this unit if you choose that it fits your wants and needs. Prior to getting one of these, I never thought I would want or need one of these toaster ovens, but once I tried it, it comes is so handy and safe money for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

This Thing Works and Works As Advertised

08/06/2014
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay. I don't normally bother to write reviews. I'm retired and lazy. But this combination machine really gets the job done. I bought it when my faithful old toaster's spring finally gave out after ten years of daily use. So, I shopped around looking for a replacement. I read all the reviews and decided to give this one a shot. First of all, no assembly required (something I like a lot). Then, it's got 2 control knobs, one for simple toast and one for the oven. The toaster gets the job done quickly and quietly pops up your toast. The oven, I LOVE it! Instead of throwing things in the microwave that should be re-heated in an oven, I just pop them in this small oven now and let me tell ya, it's fast too. The regulator on this oven is precise and never uses more energy than it needs. Plus, instead of having to heat up a big oven just to re-heat a pizza slice, I save lots of electriicity bill money just using this little baby. The oven's size is the only downside. I wish it were about 50% larger, then I wouldn't ever have to use my regular oven except for when I have guests. The only other thing I have to say is to Walmart ... Don't change anything about your shipping protocol or policy. Your stuff gets to me Fast and that's how I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Fortunate that I could return it

12/11/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a case of trying to do two things with one and falling short with both. The oven uses two quartz rods on both sides of the toast, and the heat is at the rods and does not spread evenly. We tried a couple of Eggos and after 4 cycles in the toaster the centers were burned and one edge on each was raw, untouched by any heat. We then tried to toast a slice of bread. It was half brown, half cold. We did not try the oven, but read later that it is necessary to block the heat coming out of the toaster door to get heat to the oven because the heating elements are at the toaster section.. On the Hamilton Beach site, in Comparisons, they show this unit as capable of Broil, but there is no broil heater and no broil on the selector. I am thankful that Walmart has such a reasonable return policy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

great toaster/oven

08/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great counter space saver and works perfect. The toaster and its handy little cancel button that pops the toast right up and good size for bagels also. I enjoy how the pan at the bottom catches all the bread crumbs. Works great and fast at heating up also. It is a great price and you get 2 in 1.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

I like this toaster oven!

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought several of this same toaster oven. The first one was used so much it got old and ratty looking, even though it still worked. I am giving its replacement to my daughter to take to college so I just bought a third one! Its a nice sleek size that doesn't take up too much room on my counter. Its toasts well and I often use it for an oven. Perfect for our family!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

ok if you are in a pinch

07/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We already had a HB Toastation, bought a year or so ago. WE LOVED IT !! But it got to where it wouldn't always turn off! Since we have a small space, I ordered another one. This new one has been "improved" with a shorter cord - which is a disaster. It is also slightly smaller, which is a real bother. The food is about 31/2 inch closer to the grills, which I don't like.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Works great and is pretty addition to the kitchen!

04/21/2014
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Hamilton Beach Toastation. I had the chrome one already, but when I saw it in red, I gave the chrome one away. It makes perfect bagels in the morning, plus reheats small dinners any time you want a snack. The color is striking and such a nice focal point on the counter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Works only in a toast mode; oven doesn't work

07/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this toaster today. Great idea and the thing looks good; however, it heats only in a toaster mode i.e. if bagels are inserted from the top. If the switch is flipped to the "oven" mode, it doesn't heat at all.
Goes back to Walmart. Will buy a toaster from another manufacturer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

A kitchen must have!!

01/08/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product 2 months ago and use it everyday. My boyfriend and I love to come back from the bars late and heat up food. I'll make chicken fingers, french fries, toast/ waffles, mini pizzas etc. Everything comes out juicy and cooked through. I read many bad reviews and I just don't understand why. It perfect. Walmart was the best deal I found. I bought another one today as a gift for my grandma who is having trouble getting around. This would be easier for her then turning on the entire oven. I recommend this to 20 somethings and the elderly as an easy way for them to make a quick meal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Good little combo, nice price

02/23/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for the small kitchen in my new rental. Very cute, space-saving (replaced separate toaster & oven), and both the oven and the toaster heat evenly and consistently. My only complaint is that the oven area is REALLY small. I understand some space is lost due to the mechanisms that coordinate the two functions, but the height of available cooking space is tiny. You cannot fit an average size potato in the oven to bake (not a huge russet, I'm talking even the average red potato!) You'd have to slice it lengthwise to even come close. That's disappointing because i loved the convenience of doing one baked potato without heating up the joint via the full sized oven. But for pizza or other flat stuff, it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Great Looking - But Don't Buy

01/02/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was trying to save on counter space, getting two much used items in one. First time we used it, worked great. Toasted a bagel, two cycles to get a light toasting. The oven part worked well the first couple of times, then the door became hard to close. Looking at it, it would appear that the temperature to cook anything, tater tots and chicken nuggets for grand son, causes the bracket that holds the shelf to get soft so it bends out of shape just enough to hinder the door operation. Have used it a week, it is going back today. Can no longer open and close the door to properly cook. The product is more frustrating than cooking ability.
Save your self some grief and money and look for a more substantial unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

perfect size

06/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed something very small and this one is. I love the color (red) and the retro-look for my vintage kitchen. I have used all the features and it works perfectly. Toasts evenly and fast - compared to my larger Dualit, which took forEVER. The oven is also very fast to heat up and monitors the temperature as set. Warmed up pizza never tasted so good!
I keep foil on the baking sheet and that prevents food and crumbs from burning. Toss it after job is complete - and the oven looks like new again.
This is a wonderful find at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Excellend for toast, bagels, and waffles

11/03/2012
By ,
Cary, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little toaster is exactly what we were looking for.
Pros:
1. It's very fast compared to our old convection toaster oven.
2. It's much more versatile than a traditional toaster-- the toast slot accomodates frozen breakfast pastries, waffles, many sizes of breads, bagels, and the oven does a great job with cheese toast or a slice of pizza.
3. The outside doesn't get too hot like the giant toaster ovens do.
4. It doesn't take up much counter space
5. It makes great tasting, evenly toasted toast.
Cons:
1. It is small--only one sandwich at a time or one slice of pizza. It's so quick, though, this hasn't really been a problem.
2. It's tough to clean. It has a groove around the toast slot on top that is very difficult to get crumbs out of. It also collects crumbs at the bottom of the front door.
3. Sometimes our waffles pop up and out of the toaster onto the counter. Our kids think it's hilarious, so it adds to the fun of breakfast. Heavier items don't fly out.
4. There's no timer/auto shut off for toasting in the oven. We've solved this by setting a 2 minute timer next to the toaster, but I still wish I could set it and walk away.
Overall, we are very pleased with our little toaster and highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Huge disappointment

12/26/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This toaster oven is not a good deal. Although it looks nice and the red color is great, ( not metallic like so many other red appliances) it does not work well at all. If you are purchasing this to use it every day for frozen eggos or english muffins don't bother. The waffles and bread fall in between the wire grates and make it hard to get the food out. You have to unplug the toaster and shake it out. Honestly, who has time for that in the am! Also the other reviews were correct. You can't cook frozen pizza in it either. It burns.
I was really looking forward to this toaster oven b/c it matches my kitchen, but what a huge dissapointment it turned out to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Right product for certain people

11/05/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking to save counter top space this is a fair choice. If you want something to really cook in, I would recommend you look for something bigger.
It makes toast fine, and we were able to cook biscuits in it, but the whole can of 8 wouldn't fit, so had to do two batches.
Please note that the oven part does NOT have a timer, so is either on or off, and you must watch it.
One plus is that when you open the oven door, the tray or rack comes out to meet your hand, so you don't have to reach into the hot interior, risking a burn. This was the only model I saw in the Walmart store display that has that feature, even amid the much pricier models.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

Cute Little Toaster, emphasis on little :)

04/04/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted a red toaster oven and there aren't many out there. Love that this one has the toaster section--although oddly enough, it isn't deep enough to toast a regular-size slice of bread. (I guess that is why they show bagels in the product photo, haha.) The oven section is also quite small, the elec. cord very short, and, overall, it doesn't exactly scream sturdy--so I could not check "yes" for recommending. But, all that said, it looks nice and fits well in my small kitchen, and, for the price, I'm happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach Toastation 2-in-1 2-Slice Toaster & Oven, 22703

good toaster

08/07/2014
By ,
sa tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great works. Well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 242 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next