Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Panasonic Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

The Panasonic 42" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV provides you with the ultimate in picture resolution. A clean touch bezel design keeps your TV bezel looking crisp and clean with a smudge-resistant finish. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the 42" Panasonic plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.677 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%58 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

Disappointed

11/22/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After doing extensive research, I settled upon this Panasonic 42" S2 model, and I am extremely disappointed. I bought it for it's "anti-reflective filter", which cuts the glare on the screen. Unfortunately, that same anti-reflective feature also decreases picture clarity, and has a negative impact on picture quality. In short, the picture looks flat and dull. Instead, I would recommend Panasonic's 42" U2 model, which is basically the same as the S2 (1080p), but has an ultra-clear screen, and superb picture clarity. The U2 model does not get much press, as everyone seems to think that the S2 is inherently better....but it's not. The U2 line is Pansonic's entry level 1080p line, and is also deemed a "best buy" according to Consumer Reports. If budget is important, I must add that the C2 line, which is Panasonic's lowest level plasma, is superb. It's only 720p, but at 42", you cannot tell. While the C2 and U2 models do not have anti-reflective filters, I can attest that it's not a problem...it's really a non-issue. So if 1080p is important to you, get the U2 line. But if money is more important, the C2 line is also a great choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 2 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

Great product...poor shipping!

12/19/2010
By ,
West Lebanon, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV is amazing for the price. We had a 32" LCD, but wanted to get a larger plasma for sports and movies. We've only had it for about 3 days, but the contrast is amazing and the colors really "pop." Took us awhile to get the settings figured out because they recommend using the cinema setting, but it seemed really dark. It just took some getting used to because it really looks amazing now. It really picks up on the different colors. Just watched a football game and a basketball game on it today and we love it. The colors on the field/court, in the stands, and the on the players are great. You can see the grain on the baskeball court and even the beads of sweat on the players. We are just blown away by this. We haven't watched a movie yet, but I'm sure it will be great because the sports were the true test for me. I would highly recommend this product. Just make sure you pick it up from the store, because it was the worst shipping I've ever had. It took over three weeks for us to get the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

AWESOME!

12/08/2010
By ,
sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We go this TV online through Walmart for $578!!! And OH BOY was it money well spent. THe picture exceeds my expectations. Sound is good for built in speakers. Set up was so easy a caveman could do it. =) I set the set up last night and was blown away by the picture quality. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HDTV. To get an LCD with this picture quality you'd spend well over 1k. I used these calibration specs I found online and they worked extremely well:
Picture Settings
o Picture Mode : Cinema
o Contrast : 71
o Brightness : 60
o Color : 47
o Tint : +9
o Sharpness : 0
o Color Temp : Warm
o x.v. Color : Off
o C.A.T.S. : Off
o Video NR : Off
o Blur Reduction : Off (turning this to On supposedly gives the full 1080 lines of motion resolution, but does some frame interpolation/insertion)
* Aspect Adjustments
o Screen format : FULL
o HD size : Size 2
* Advanced picture
o MPEG NR : Off
o Black level : Light
o 3:2 pulldown : On
Service Menu Offsets
WB-ADJ MENU
R-DRV: +5
G-DRV: -11
B-DRV: -11
R-CUT: -2
G-CUT: 0
B-CUT: +4
Note: These offsets must be entered for both Color matrixes. You access the different matrixes by using a 1080i/p signal for the HD matrix and 480i/p signal for the SD matrix. The WB Method Select option should be set to 00 instead of 03.
The thread can be found on the AVS forums if you want to do the service menu offsets and want to learn more about the set.
Ok so stop searching and buy this TV. Seriously! =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 4 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

Best value on the market!

12/07/2010
By ,
Schenectady, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching HDTV's for over a year, (bought a SONY Bravia 32" in the meantime) I finally found one that my fiance would love! I had to choose between LCD-LED and plasma and am very happy with the plasma!
I chose the plasma because it is ideal for low lighting situations and we usually dim the lights for movies. For those concerned with well lit rooms, Panasonic has developed an automatic light ambience detector that adjusts brilliance and contrast according to room light conditions. Perfect!
With a 2,000,000:1 contrast ratio, the images are sharp and crisp. A 600 refresh rate surpasses any LED-LCD capability and assures blur free fast action. Ideal for sports as well as special effect movies.
The HDMI inputs allow WiFi viewing of Netflix from a laptop or desk top PC with no additional USB adapter. There are also various digital component inputs and out puts to retain the integrity of digital signals.
Setup is a breeze and the remote is adequate. Not a lot of bells and whistles but easy to use.
Sound quality is good enough without hooking up to home theater although there is a tendency toward distortion and high treble when played at maximum volume. The feature is two 10 watt speakers that can be adjusted for bass, treble and balance. If you're an audiophile, you'll probably want to set up external speakers.
Overall, the picture adjusts easily for natural flesh tones and colors and provides a sharp, crisp scenic view. I purchased this set for $599 with free shipping (took a little over a week from CA to NY).
A true value driven HDTV that should please even fussy folks. And don't worry about burn in or loss of pixel resolution. Panasonic has developed a screen that makes burn in less hazardous (although they do warn about a still shot for over 15-20 minutes) as well as a screen "eraser". Also has a slot for SD cards so you can shoot pictures or video digitally and view them right away.
A great value for the money and better than many 42" HDTV's that are higher priced! I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 5 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2
08/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price category, this flat screen is on top of the list, as well as its features and display quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Review 6 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2
08/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of features, crisp colors, clear sound are the offerings of this beautiful tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 7 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

Great TV for a great price!

12/21/2010
By ,
Marana, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer Reports listed this tv as a great tv and recommended it, and I couldn't agree more. The picture quality (the most important thing) is excellent. I had to play with the colors a little bit to get it to my liking, but it was very simple to do so. I chose a plasma because it has a better, crisper picture than an LCD, and watching football over the weekend helped reinforce why I made that decision. No "motion lag" with 600hz, and the blue ray and true 1080 lines of moving picture resolution was amazing! Panasonic is the top manufacturer of plasma televisions, and I would recommend this tv to anyone. The only problem is that it takes a while to receive it through Wal Mart since they don't carry this tv in stores. It also lacks some of the "extras" but you don't have to pay for them with this tv. Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF FURNITURE

10/27/2010
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EASY SET UP. LOOKS GREAT, SOUNDS GREAT AND HAS A OUTSTANDING PICTURE.
LOVE IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

An excellent value in a 42" Plasma TV 1080p

12/13/2010
By ,
Eastern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I and my wife are really pleased with our new TV and its performance - especially with movies! So far, we haven't gotten the HD tuner from DirectTV for true 1080p performance, or a Blue Ray player, but it does amazingly well even at 480 and its signal processing is generally very good at making the best of a lower standard signal. If it performs as well as other 42" Panasonics in HD mode we have seen, it should be stunning!
The setup and the remote have been both easy and genuinely intuitive with no weird programming/adjustment rituals like with some other units we've had. Also, I would definitely recommend serious consideration of a Plasma set like this over the majority of LCD units as they really seem to be able to overcome some problems, like motion glitches and image transformations more gracefully than many LCD units.
Audio is very good given we are using only the set's speakers at present. Panasonic has always delivered decent sound in all their products I've had, so no surprise. And it should get better once it is connected to our home sound system.
Our only negative in this whole experience so far has been that "free to the home" shipping was slow (almost 2 weeks). Probably due to both Xmas and cost savings by Walmart for the free shipping offer. Still, the unit came in "as left the factory" condition, so I don't guess we can complain too much.
We would rate it a 5 star bargain as well as a 5 star TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

Excellent Plasma

12/17/2010
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my research and I was not disappointed. Awesome TV for my bedroom, easy setup, sound quality is above my expectations.. especially for TV speakers there arent typically all that great.
Overall I am very satisfied, I will be looking for a bigger one for the living room. Great product. The only thing I wasn't impressed with was the freight company chosen by Walmart to ship this product, Seko Worldwide. They are very slow and seem to be extremely backed up with deliveries. I ended up going right to their dock for a pickup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 11 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

Great choice for TV

12/16/2010
By ,
Cheyenne WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I consulted several rating sources to come up with this choice, and we have not been disappointed. We set it up right out of the box with no assistance. Selections on the remote provide flexibility in choosing color and contrast settings, and the format for viewing, so you can satisfy your own preferences. Standard pictures (at 480i) are pretty sharp, and the HD programming (and even HD ads, at 1080i) are even more clear and sharp. Many of our cable channels are viewable without an additional set-top box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2
12/16/2010
By ,
Rutherfordton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The overall quality of the set is excellent. Out of the box, it was easy to set up and configure, even a non-geek can do it. The picture is excellent, although I did tweek it according to some specks provided online by others. If there is any shortcoming it is the sound. Don't expect big booming, all surrounding sound for the little speakers in the set. Already planning for a theater system. Set was on sale during the holiday season and offered at a reasonable savings. Think we are going to love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

Enjoyed it for almost a month - then it broke

01/03/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I ordered this tv on Thanksgiving Day as an early Christmas present for our family. It was delivered to our house a little over a week later and we really enjoyed the picture quality. Unfortunately, it stopped working on New Year's Eve and now we have to take it to a Panasonic approved service center for repair. Flat screen plasma tvs have style and elegance, however, I never had a problem with my old "boat anchor" big screen. This tv didn't even last a full month.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

Big Screen WOW

12/28/2010
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is our first big screen TV, and we've always chosen Panasonic prodcuts. We were not disappointed at the quality of this television. The HD picture quality and sound remind us of true theater experience in our own home.
We purchased this "early" just after Thanksgiving, so the price most likely came down as Christmas was getting closer. However, we feel that it's a great entertainment investment, especially for we who no longer go to the movies. Four thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2
08/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am quite impressed by this tv, and its performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Review 16 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

A solid value for 1080p Plasma.

01/19/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good value for a plasma HDTV. Plasma does not have the brightness of a LCD, so would not be good in a very bright room. Works great in my great room enclosure. Easy to setup. I also added a Panasonic Sound Bar, which was very easy to hookup and offers nice sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2
12/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not review this product, because when we opened the box the television was broken. There was a huge shatter mark on the screen. Don't know if it was because we had it shipped site to store, but what a huge disappointment!! Not sure, if i would use that option again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-11points
Review 18 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

Plasma TV

12/28/2010
By ,
Mapleville, RI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After plugging in this TV, I found that there is a line on the right side of the screen that only disappears after it warms up. I am returning the TV for a non-Plasma TV. Very disappointed especially since it was highly recommended by many to purchase this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 19 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2
12/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set up was easy, nice picture right out of the box. No issues whatsoever, but I would think that all remote controls these days would have sort of illumination. I have to turn the lights on when I need to use the remote. Overall great bang for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

Great Deal

12/29/2010
By ,
Kalispell, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this product online on Thanksgiving Day and were pleased with the incredible price for a plasma TV and the fact that it could be shipped directly to my daughter's house for hiding until Christmas Day!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next