Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stack-On Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Keep your weapons safe and secure using the Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet. It features a black epoxy paint finish with silver accents on the door that easily matches a wide variety of decor. It is designed to hold up to 8 rifles or shotguns so you can store nearly all of your firearms with ease. It also comes with a removable remsteel top shelf positioned in the back that provides additional storage space for items such as ammo and gear. The unique positioning also ensures that longer guns can be stored right in the front. The Stack-On 8-gun security cabinet contains a foam-padded bottom and barrel rests to reduce the chance of dings, dents and scratches. A three-point locking system with a key-coded, double-bitted lock ensures that your guns remain secure at all time. Fully welded with staked steel to provide extra protection, this 8-gun safe is a great choice for use in the home, office or any other space where you want to keep your firearm.
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(328 Reviews) 296
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
164
4 stars
111
3 stars
24
2 stars
10
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation91%297 out of 326reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 226 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
164
4 stars
111
3 stars
24
2 stars
10
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

There were handling dents in one of them.

04/17/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recieved both of them in good time, but there were handling dents in one of them. The dent is just in front of the lock on the side and in the middle of gun case. I would have returned it but it wasn't worth the hassle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

My second one!

09/27/2014
By ,
Fort Smith, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happiness is needing two gun lockers? Okay, so most of the rifles belong to our adult sons, but that's beside the point.
These well made metal lockers are just about the right size for three scoped hunting rifles, plus up to four un-scoped rifles or shotguns. Because the top shelf installs toward the front of the cabinet, there is a gap between the trailing edge of the shelf and the back wall of the cabinet. Thanks to this, very long barreled rifles or shotguns (like a couple of heirloom pieces) can be manuevered into the cabinet. Nicely thought out or happy accident, I'm grateful.
A bit of installation advice: Put a board along the wall, and screw that into wall studs. Then bolt the cabinet to the board, especially if you live in a newer home. Never use anchor bolts unless you like holes in the wall. It seems like contemporary wallboard is brittle, and adherence to code on wall stud placement is - well - unreliable. I use 1x4 trimmed to length for these wall shims, and level the cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for ammo storage

11/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This arrived to my house very quickly and having no damage at all, with free shipping. I am using it for ammo storage. I probably would not trust storing my firearms inside because it probably could not withstand a prying attack for long at all. This is just to keep my kids safe from the ammo. I built wood shelves inside using 1/2" MDF for shelves and 1/2" ply for the top/bottom and sides of the shelf frame. I drilled holes for shelf pins in the sides of the shelf frame I built so I can easily vary the height of the shelves or add more. I use six ea 1/4" shelf pins per shelf and they are very sturdy. I am very happy with this as an ammo storage cabinet. I left in the original plastic shelf and the plastic rifle supports in case I want to store pellet guns or something in it later, but I will probably remove all the original plastic parts and build up my shelves even higher. Using an Amex promotion and also finding this on sale, I paid less than 60 dollars for this with free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Product Would Be OK Other Than Poor Packaging

09/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Think everyone knows what they're getting when they order; just a steel cabinet but that's all I was looking for and that's all I got. However, if you read the reviews, you also know if will be dented. And it was dented when received, which is a function of how these are protected (or not protected) by the very poor packaging used. Unfortunately, almost all of the reviews of these Stack-Ons include the fact that they're dented when recd - so I expected it and accepted it as it still functioned OK, and of course, by the time you get it out of the packaging, way too much trouble to send it back. But frankly, I resent the fact that Stack-On and Walmart are apparently completely OK with lowering everyone's expectations and selling/delivering a product that they must know won't be 100%. For that reason, I would not buy another Stack-On product, at least not from Walmart/to be delivered and before I inspected it in person in a store (other than Walmart).
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Not a bad product...

09/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to store some firearms and ammunition. It seems pretty well built and if bolted to the floor and wall (which i did) it is very secure and nearly impossible to move. the size is pretty good, and can hold quite a bit. Will keep anyone out that you dont want getting into it. A would be robber could get into it with a crowbar and about 20 mins worth of beating and prying on it but it is a great deterant from a would be robber. Great product for the value. Does what its supost to do.
If you have firearms and dont want to spend a ton of money on a big heavy safe and want to protect them from children, robbers ex this is a good product just make sure you bolt it down because it is not very heavy.
My only issue is it is packaged very porly and there are some dings and dents on the corners from shipping but for being under $100 dollars im not to worried about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Very good cabinet. Great price. Fast delivery

10/04/2013
By ,
Central New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the cabinet. I considered the cheaper, unassembled GCB-8RTA, and am very glad I chose the GCB-908-DS. The GCB-908-DS is a much better cabinet. Heavier steel, fully assembled, and mine was very well packaged. Not one dent. Best of all, you can put your guns in the right way--all in a line, triggers out. A little customizing, like a carpet on the bottom and thin foam pads in the rifle rests, goes a long way. You can even put some well placed bumpers in to quiet the door.
I am very pleased with the cabinet, and am pleasantly surprised with Walmart on this. Great price, free shipping, and lightspeed delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for the price

07/30/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great gun storage solution for under $100. A couple guys with the right tools and enough time could probably break it open or make off with it, but as someone on a budget who doesn't own a whole collection of expensive guns, and just wants to prevent a petty theft or an accident caused by the curious and untrained, it works great. It's about the same size and material of a large high school gym locker - hefty enough to stop anything short of two guys with a van stealing it, and strong enough to probably keep a crowbar or a metal drill out for about 20-30 minutes.
It arrived pretty darn fast without any scratches or dings. The sticker on the front was sort of a pain to get off though.
I'd buy it again with no regrets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Who could ask for anything more ?

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Found the product that I wanted at a very good price. Delivery was faster than I had expected. I would recommend Walmart and will surely let my friends know how happy I am with the purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Not a gun safe, just a locker. Serves its purpose

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the money
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for the price

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits my needs. Meets expectations.
Fast shipping
John
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

great value for the price

11/28/2013
By ,
NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is exactly what I expected for the price , it will protect little hands and some big ones from gaining access to what is being stored within . I do not expect this safe to beat the real professional thief but then a real professional can open safes costing thousands of dollars , however I do believe this would be a deterrant to most opportunists. Its well made and very easy to assemble , the nuts and bolts are all supplied even the bolts to secure the safe to the wall . Its a very handy size and I have stored four rifles which include a shotgun to a AR15 with mags and boxes of ammo. The shelf is a little small but with only four guns there is ample room on the base. I am happy with this product and now have some peace of mind not having guns and ammo out in the open .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

RETURNED IMMEDIATELY

12/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Glad we had an instore pickup, as we had to return it immediately. It was badly damaged & couldn't open the cabinet - no key. Looked like a nice Gun Cabinet.
On the brighter side was very happy with Walmart service.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

GREAT cabinet for the PRICE

11/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Low price cabinet that works perfectly to keep your long guns out of the hands you don't want on them. This is not a $500 + safe. It is not fire or water proof. It is a thin metal cabinet with a simple locking devise that will keep out only those with innocent intentions. I hung mine on the wall (nice and light). Nothing fancy, what you see is what you get.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Received damaged and keys missing

04/07/2014
By ,
plaistow, nh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this to store ammo and a long gun. After reading reviews of people saying they received it damaged/ keys missing I thought I might get lucky and get a non damaged unit and have the keys in it as well. I received it very quickly(under 4 business days) at my house and one end of the box ends was open, but no other damage to the shipping box. I removed it from the box and found 2 sledge hammer size dents in the corners of the cabinet. Then I checked for the keys. Well, the bag for the keys was there, however the bottom of the bag was ripped and no keys anywhere. Needless to say I returned it and am waiting for a replacement(site-to-store). Overall a very decent cabinet for the money, if you get a non damaged unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Good Size, good construction..........

12/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeping my grandchildren safe..............
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Very good Product and inexpensive.

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed to stay within the California guidelines, very good quality am very pleased with te quality and the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Gun Safe

11/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got what I paid for not to big or small and has a few safety measures.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stackon 8gun

11/01/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not everything I want, but what I want would run me close to a grand not feasible for me at the moment ,however this unit was everything I needed and would indeed recommend this buy to anyone looking to safely store firearms.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
I have a question.....
Posted 11/24/2013
I am planning on buying this case for my boyfriend as a xmas gift. He has rifles, shot guns and pistols; ammo etc....but yet in all he has no safe to put them in so i figured this would be great. I read that it's for rifles and shot guns...I was wondering within this cabinet would he be able to store his ammo and pistols in it as well?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

more 4 less

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value for less money. My husband is downsizing his gun storage since our son married and has his own home and this works out perfect. The quality is very good for the price and the green color is nice AND there was no damage to the cabinet when we opened it. Good Job!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Bought but did not take delivery

09/11/2014
By ,
So Cal.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This review echos the problem that I saw in other reviews. The box and safe are easily damaged during shipping. Since I was forwarned by other reviews, I checked the safe before taking delivery. The damage was a dent on the front middle of the safe next to the key. There is no foam or structure in the box to protect the safe at this location and so it was damaged. This review mostly reflects the packaging since I haven't used the safe at all. Check the safe before you take delivery so you are not disappointed. I even called Stack on service to warn them of the problem but the service gal seemed more interested in getting me off the line. I hate to see a US company loose sales for simple problems like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 297 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next