Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stack-On Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Keep your weapons safe and secure using the Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet. It features a black epoxy paint finish with silver accents on the door that easily matches a wide variety of decor. It is designed to hold up to 8 rifles or shotguns so you can store nearly all of your firearms with ease. It also comes with a removable remsteel top shelf positioned in the back that provides additional storage space for items such as ammo and gear. The unique positioning also ensures that longer guns can be stored right in the front. The Stack-On 8-gun security cabinet contains a foam-padded bottom and barrel rests to reduce the chance of dings, dents and scratches. A three-point locking system with a key-coded, double-bitted lock ensures that your guns remain secure at all time. Fully welded with staked steel to provide extra protection, this 8-gun safe is a great choice for use in the home, office or any other space where you want to keep your firearm.
Average Customer Rating:
4.181 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(314 Reviews) 282
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
109
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation91%284 out of 312reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 226 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
109
3 stars
23
2 stars
10
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

There were handling dents in one of them.

04/17/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recieved both of them in good time, but there were handling dents in one of them. The dent is just in front of the lock on the side and in the middle of gun case. I would have returned it but it wasn't worth the hassle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

My second one!

09/27/2014
By ,
Fort Smith, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happiness is needing two gun lockers? Okay, so most of the rifles belong to our adult sons, but that's beside the point.
These well made metal lockers are just about the right size for three scoped hunting rifles, plus up to four un-scoped rifles or shotguns. Because the top shelf installs toward the front of the cabinet, there is a gap between the trailing edge of the shelf and the back wall of the cabinet. Thanks to this, very long barreled rifles or shotguns (like a couple of heirloom pieces) can be manuevered into the cabinet. Nicely thought out or happy accident, I'm grateful.
A bit of installation advice: Put a board along the wall, and screw that into wall studs. Then bolt the cabinet to the board, especially if you live in a newer home. Never use anchor bolts unless you like holes in the wall. It seems like contemporary wallboard is brittle, and adherence to code on wall stud placement is - well - unreliable. I use 1x4 trimmed to length for these wall shims, and level the cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Product Would Be OK Other Than Poor Packaging

09/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Think everyone knows what they're getting when they order; just a steel cabinet but that's all I was looking for and that's all I got. However, if you read the reviews, you also know if will be dented. And it was dented when received, which is a function of how these are protected (or not protected) by the very poor packaging used. Unfortunately, almost all of the reviews of these Stack-Ons include the fact that they're dented when recd - so I expected it and accepted it as it still functioned OK, and of course, by the time you get it out of the packaging, way too much trouble to send it back. But frankly, I resent the fact that Stack-On and Walmart are apparently completely OK with lowering everyone's expectations and selling/delivering a product that they must know won't be 100%. For that reason, I would not buy another Stack-On product, at least not from Walmart/to be delivered and before I inspected it in person in a store (other than Walmart).
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for ammo storage

11/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This arrived to my house very quickly and having no damage at all, with free shipping. I am using it for ammo storage. I probably would not trust storing my firearms inside because it probably could not withstand a prying attack for long at all. This is just to keep my kids safe from the ammo. I built wood shelves inside using 1/2" MDF for shelves and 1/2" ply for the top/bottom and sides of the shelf frame. I drilled holes for shelf pins in the sides of the shelf frame I built so I can easily vary the height of the shelves or add more. I use six ea 1/4" shelf pins per shelf and they are very sturdy. I am very happy with this as an ammo storage cabinet. I left in the original plastic shelf and the plastic rifle supports in case I want to store pellet guns or something in it later, but I will probably remove all the original plastic parts and build up my shelves even higher. Using an Amex promotion and also finding this on sale, I paid less than 60 dollars for this with free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for the price

07/30/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great gun storage solution for under $100. A couple guys with the right tools and enough time could probably break it open or make off with it, but as someone on a budget who doesn't own a whole collection of expensive guns, and just wants to prevent a petty theft or an accident caused by the curious and untrained, it works great. It's about the same size and material of a large high school gym locker - hefty enough to stop anything short of two guys with a van stealing it, and strong enough to probably keep a crowbar or a metal drill out for about 20-30 minutes.
It arrived pretty darn fast without any scratches or dings. The sticker on the front was sort of a pain to get off though.
I'd buy it again with no regrets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Not a bad product...

09/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to store some firearms and ammunition. It seems pretty well built and if bolted to the floor and wall (which i did) it is very secure and nearly impossible to move. the size is pretty good, and can hold quite a bit. Will keep anyone out that you dont want getting into it. A would be robber could get into it with a crowbar and about 20 mins worth of beating and prying on it but it is a great deterant from a would be robber. Great product for the value. Does what its supost to do.
If you have firearms and dont want to spend a ton of money on a big heavy safe and want to protect them from children, robbers ex this is a good product just make sure you bolt it down because it is not very heavy.
My only issue is it is packaged very porly and there are some dings and dents on the corners from shipping but for being under $100 dollars im not to worried about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Very good cabinet. Great price. Fast delivery

10/04/2013
By ,
Central New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the cabinet. I considered the cheaper, unassembled GCB-8RTA, and am very glad I chose the GCB-908-DS. The GCB-908-DS is a much better cabinet. Heavier steel, fully assembled, and mine was very well packaged. Not one dent. Best of all, you can put your guns in the right way--all in a line, triggers out. A little customizing, like a carpet on the bottom and thin foam pads in the rifle rests, goes a long way. You can even put some well placed bumpers in to quiet the door.
I am very pleased with the cabinet, and am pleasantly surprised with Walmart on this. Great price, free shipping, and lightspeed delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Bought but did not take delivery

09/11/2014
By ,
So Cal.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This review echos the problem that I saw in other reviews. The box and safe are easily damaged during shipping. Since I was forwarned by other reviews, I checked the safe before taking delivery. The damage was a dent on the front middle of the safe next to the key. There is no foam or structure in the box to protect the safe at this location and so it was damaged. This review mostly reflects the packaging since I haven't used the safe at all. Check the safe before you take delivery so you are not disappointed. I even called Stack on service to warn them of the problem but the service gal seemed more interested in getting me off the line. I hate to see a US company loose sales for simple problems like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

God product for cost

09/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product for cost. Cabinet arrived in good condition and is made of adequate gauge steel. I would not consider it a safe. And I certainly would not consider it to be fireproof. But it does have adequate locking of the door to keep children and visitors out of the cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Received damaged and keys missing

04/07/2014
By ,
plaistow, nh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this to store ammo and a long gun. After reading reviews of people saying they received it damaged/ keys missing I thought I might get lucky and get a non damaged unit and have the keys in it as well. I received it very quickly(under 4 business days) at my house and one end of the box ends was open, but no other damage to the shipping box. I removed it from the box and found 2 sledge hammer size dents in the corners of the cabinet. Then I checked for the keys. Well, the bag for the keys was there, however the bottom of the bag was ripped and no keys anywhere. Needless to say I returned it and am waiting for a replacement(site-to-store). Overall a very decent cabinet for the money, if you get a non damaged unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Good deal for the price

09/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good cabinet for the price. The interior is very roomy and the locking mechanism is smooth and easy to use (I have run across some sticky ones). It is a pretty lightweight cabinet and it can fall forward when you open the door if you have not bolted the cabinet secure. If you are looking for something cheap and simple go ahead and buy this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

5 stars for Walmart, none for Stack-ON

07/07/2014
By ,
Manassas, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Walmart delivered the unit in half the projected time. When I took out the cabinet, it had a dent on the side next to the lock. Without that dent, the cabinet would have been perfect. Fortunately, I live 1/2 mile from the store, so returned it. Walmart took it back and credited my card immediately.
The cabinet came with heavy Styrofoam corners that protected the corners, but no protection, other than space, for the long edges. If the Styrofoam had extended the length of the cabinet, it would have been fully protected, though I realize that would have added both expense and weight.
I find it hard to believe that many of these cabinets would arrive without some dents from handling. The metal is thin.
My next purchase will be for a heavier cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stackon 8gun

11/01/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not everything I want, but what I want would run me close to a grand not feasible for me at the moment ,however this unit was everything I needed and would indeed recommend this buy to anyone looking to safely store firearms.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
I have a question.....
Posted 11/24/2013
I am planning on buying this case for my boyfriend as a xmas gift. He has rifles, shot guns and pistols; ammo etc....but yet in all he has no safe to put them in so i figured this would be great. I read that it's for rifles and shot guns...I was wondering within this cabinet would he be able to store his ammo and pistols in it as well?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Rifle cabinet

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good cabinet perfect size
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Excellent value; secure storage

09/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cabinet arrived quickly, in perfect condition. It is a sturdy steel cabinet with a flush door and a three-point key operated lock. Because it is not a safe, it must be secured to a wall, or preferably to both a wall and the floor. Depending on the configuration of your space, this may require removing or trimming some floor moulding so the cabinet will fit flush against the wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

serves purpose...safe storage

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received with a dent, but other than that... all good. Has additional parts for up to three weapons with sights. No room for pistols or ammo because shotgun is long and only one position to install shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

great value for the price

11/28/2013
By ,
NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is exactly what I expected for the price , it will protect little hands and some big ones from gaining access to what is being stored within . I do not expect this safe to beat the real professional thief but then a real professional can open safes costing thousands of dollars , however I do believe this would be a deterrant to most opportunists. Its well made and very easy to assemble , the nuts and bolts are all supplied even the bolts to secure the safe to the wall . Its a very handy size and I have stored four rifles which include a shotgun to a AR15 with mags and boxes of ammo. The shelf is a little small but with only four guns there is ample room on the base. I am happy with this product and now have some peace of mind not having guns and ammo out in the open .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for the price

02/21/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with cabinet so far. Was excited it was fully assembled and only has to install the shelf after it was drilled into wall and floor. As other reviewer say top shelf is small good for ammo and a few small items. I drilled to wall and floor as mentioned by first finding studs then using 4" screws to drill a 2x4 to wall then using the pre made holes to mount cabinet to 2x4 making it easy to mount into wood. 3 post lock with key as others mentioned as well keeps the honest people out and I feel comfortable that kids will not use a crow bar to open door but even at that weapons are all put away with trigger locks and keep my mags in a separate safe makes life a little difficult to get ready to go out to shoot but I know it's safe. Box was banged up a bit and cabinet had a couple small dings but not a big deal other reviews say the same so I think it's poor loading at warehouse and probably not UPS causing all the damage that I have read about. Bottom line it's not a safe but a great cheaper alternative if you want to use for rifles and handguns to keep prying eyes out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Good Value

09/20/2010
By ,
SoCal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Gun Cabinet for the money. Did arrive via FedEx with noticeable dents around edges. Knowing it wasn't going to be a display piece, the dents did not bother me. It's being used to store my M4, Mossberg Defender shotgun, sidearm, mags, ammo, and some additional accessories. Did some mods that included: lowering the rack to support the M4. thus allowing more space above to add an additional shelf. Lining the interior with padded shelf liner. Bought some double sided carpet tape to attach the liner. Used longer screws to bolt down onto the wall. Will definitely keep my "toys" safe from the kids. Overall I'm pretty satisfied for what it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

good overall, except original lock.

07/28/2014
By ,
Kalifornia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The packaging was fairly good with sealed foam (no mess) in the corners and 1 dent. Likely the result of shipping and not from Stackon. The lock mechanism failed horribly when opening the cabinet for the 9th time. After inserting the key into the lock to unlock the cabinet, it felt a bit difficult to turn. It remained stuck in the lock after I was finally able to open the door. It had a catastrophic failure with spring and pin that were stuck and exposed. I contacted Stackon support and was shipped a spare...never received it. I contacted them again and this time I received a tracking number. I received a replacement a good 3 weeks after the failure--not good. Thankfully the lock works and I tightened the lock nut to ensure the mechanism was in working order.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 283 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next