Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stack-On Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Keep your weapons safe and secure using the Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet. It features a black epoxy paint finish with silver accents on the door that easily matches a wide variety of decor. It is designed to hold up to 8 rifles or shotguns so you can store nearly all of your firearms with ease. It also comes with a removable remsteel top shelf positioned in the back that provides additional storage space for items such as ammo and gear. The unique positioning also ensures that longer guns can be stored right in the front. The Stack-On 8-gun security cabinet contains a foam-padded bottom and barrel rests to reduce the chance of dings, dents and scratches. A three-point locking system with a key-coded, double-bitted lock ensures that your guns remain secure at all time. Fully welded with staked steel to provide extra protection, this 8-gun safe is a great choice for use in the home, office or any other space where you want to keep your firearm.
Average Customer Rating:
4.184 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(305 Reviews) 273
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
107
3 stars
22
2 stars
10
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation91%277 out of 303reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 219 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
107
3 stars
22
2 stars
10
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

There were handling dents in one of them.

04/17/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recieved both of them in good time, but there were handling dents in one of them. The dent is just in front of the lock on the side and in the middle of gun case. I would have returned it but it wasn't worth the hassle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for the price

07/30/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great gun storage solution for under $100. A couple guys with the right tools and enough time could probably break it open or make off with it, but as someone on a budget who doesn't own a whole collection of expensive guns, and just wants to prevent a petty theft or an accident caused by the curious and untrained, it works great. It's about the same size and material of a large high school gym locker - hefty enough to stop anything short of two guys with a van stealing it, and strong enough to probably keep a crowbar or a metal drill out for about 20-30 minutes.
It arrived pretty darn fast without any scratches or dings. The sticker on the front was sort of a pain to get off though.
I'd buy it again with no regrets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for ammo storage

11/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This arrived to my house very quickly and having no damage at all, with free shipping. I am using it for ammo storage. I probably would not trust storing my firearms inside because it probably could not withstand a prying attack for long at all. This is just to keep my kids safe from the ammo. I built wood shelves inside using 1/2" MDF for shelves and 1/2" ply for the top/bottom and sides of the shelf frame. I drilled holes for shelf pins in the sides of the shelf frame I built so I can easily vary the height of the shelves or add more. I use six ea 1/4" shelf pins per shelf and they are very sturdy. I am very happy with this as an ammo storage cabinet. I left in the original plastic shelf and the plastic rifle supports in case I want to store pellet guns or something in it later, but I will probably remove all the original plastic parts and build up my shelves even higher. Using an Amex promotion and also finding this on sale, I paid less than 60 dollars for this with free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Not a bad product...

09/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to store some firearms and ammunition. It seems pretty well built and if bolted to the floor and wall (which i did) it is very secure and nearly impossible to move. the size is pretty good, and can hold quite a bit. Will keep anyone out that you dont want getting into it. A would be robber could get into it with a crowbar and about 20 mins worth of beating and prying on it but it is a great deterant from a would be robber. Great product for the value. Does what its supost to do.
If you have firearms and dont want to spend a ton of money on a big heavy safe and want to protect them from children, robbers ex this is a good product just make sure you bolt it down because it is not very heavy.
My only issue is it is packaged very porly and there are some dings and dents on the corners from shipping but for being under $100 dollars im not to worried about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

5 stars for Walmart, none for Stack-ON

07/07/2014
By ,
Manassas, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Walmart delivered the unit in half the projected time. When I took out the cabinet, it had a dent on the side next to the lock. Without that dent, the cabinet would have been perfect. Fortunately, I live 1/2 mile from the store, so returned it. Walmart took it back and credited my card immediately.
The cabinet came with heavy Styrofoam corners that protected the corners, but no protection, other than space, for the long edges. If the Styrofoam had extended the length of the cabinet, it would have been fully protected, though I realize that would have added both expense and weight.
I find it hard to believe that many of these cabinets would arrive without some dents from handling. The metal is thin.
My next purchase will be for a heavier cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Very good cabinet. Great price. Fast delivery

10/04/2013
By ,
Central New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the cabinet. I considered the cheaper, unassembled GCB-8RTA, and am very glad I chose the GCB-908-DS. The GCB-908-DS is a much better cabinet. Heavier steel, fully assembled, and mine was very well packaged. Not one dent. Best of all, you can put your guns in the right way--all in a line, triggers out. A little customizing, like a carpet on the bottom and thin foam pads in the rifle rests, goes a long way. You can even put some well placed bumpers in to quiet the door.
I am very pleased with the cabinet, and am pleasantly surprised with Walmart on this. Great price, free shipping, and lightspeed delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Received damaged and keys missing

04/07/2014
By ,
plaistow, nh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this to store ammo and a long gun. After reading reviews of people saying they received it damaged/ keys missing I thought I might get lucky and get a non damaged unit and have the keys in it as well. I received it very quickly(under 4 business days) at my house and one end of the box ends was open, but no other damage to the shipping box. I removed it from the box and found 2 sledge hammer size dents in the corners of the cabinet. Then I checked for the keys. Well, the bag for the keys was there, however the bottom of the bag was ripped and no keys anywhere. Needless to say I returned it and am waiting for a replacement(site-to-store). Overall a very decent cabinet for the money, if you get a non damaged unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

good overall, except original lock.

07/28/2014
By ,
Kalifornia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The packaging was fairly good with sealed foam (no mess) in the corners and 1 dent. Likely the result of shipping and not from Stackon. The lock mechanism failed horribly when opening the cabinet for the 9th time. After inserting the key into the lock to unlock the cabinet, it felt a bit difficult to turn. It remained stuck in the lock after I was finally able to open the door. It had a catastrophic failure with spring and pin that were stuck and exposed. I contacted Stackon support and was shipped a spare...never received it. I contacted them again and this time I received a tracking number. I received a replacement a good 3 weeks after the failure--not good. Thankfully the lock works and I tightened the lock nut to ensure the mechanism was in working order.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great Box for a good price

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as I needed an extra box for spare barre;ls, ammo and some other items that beed to be uner lock. Fits in the closet just right and the perefect size/ This is the 2nd one I own...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Good product. Don't ship to your house.

08/24/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cabinet is fine quality. They have removed the peg board style inner panel inside the door. Don't have it shipped to your house, though. The first one arrived as others have, damaged and missing keys. The second arrives damaged as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

what a grear price!!

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PERFECT FOR THE CLOSET TO HIDE AND LOCK UP THE GUNS, NOW MY DAUGHTER AND BROTHER EACH WANT ONE, CHRISTMAS IS GUNNA BE EASY THIS YEAR!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great Cabinet For The Money

08/24/2014
By ,
Graham, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Gun Cabinet, big enough for guns and extra supplies with great locking system. Had it shipped to home came in perfect condition no dents or scratches, Great Buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Prevents unintended use, not high security

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very fast ship. Fit and finish is excellent. Much better quality than I expected for this low price. Plenty of room for 8 rifles. This is NOT a high security gun safe and will not deter someone who is determined to get into it. BUT it will keep out children and others who might let curiosity try to get the best of them. If you don't have a gun safe at all, please spend $99 on this one to prevent access to those in your home who should not have it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stackon 8gun

11/01/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not everything I want, but what I want would run me close to a grand not feasible for me at the moment ,however this unit was everything I needed and would indeed recommend this buy to anyone looking to safely store firearms.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
I have a question.....
Posted 11/24/2013
I am planning on buying this case for my boyfriend as a xmas gift. He has rifles, shot guns and pistols; ammo etc....but yet in all he has no safe to put them in so i figured this would be great. I read that it's for rifles and shot guns...I was wondering within this cabinet would he be able to store his ammo and pistols in it as well?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

GREAT STARTER CABNET

08/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VERY NICE LOOKING CABNET,HOLDS MY 16 GAUGE SHOTGUN, [1] ruger 10-22 carbine rifle
[1] HERITAGE 22 -6 SHOT REVOLVER-LR&MAG.[1]S&W 40 caliber hand gun.
I have [3] gun cleaning kits.
I have [3] Ammo boxes in bottom of cabnet containing
3,510-22 LR---800-22 shorts---900-22 magnums---270- 40 caliber bullets---50-16 gauge shells,
I store my [2] pistols on top shelf ,after all this I still have more room for ammo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Not Tall Enough For Small-ish Shotgun

08/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We were hoping to be able to use this cabinet with the shelf installed, however with the shelf it makes the storage area too short for our shotgun. This is disappointing as it is not a particularly large shotgun and we thought for sure it would fit - or why would they include a shelf at all?
Also had it shipped and though the packaging seemed more than adequate, the left side was slightly damaged. Doesn't affect how it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for the price

02/21/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with cabinet so far. Was excited it was fully assembled and only has to install the shelf after it was drilled into wall and floor. As other reviewer say top shelf is small good for ammo and a few small items. I drilled to wall and floor as mentioned by first finding studs then using 4" screws to drill a 2x4 to wall then using the pre made holes to mount cabinet to 2x4 making it easy to mount into wood. 3 post lock with key as others mentioned as well keeps the honest people out and I feel comfortable that kids will not use a crow bar to open door but even at that weapons are all put away with trigger locks and keep my mags in a separate safe makes life a little difficult to get ready to go out to shoot but I know it's safe. Box was banged up a bit and cabinet had a couple small dings but not a big deal other reviews say the same so I think it's poor loading at warehouse and probably not UPS causing all the damage that I have read about. Bottom line it's not a safe but a great cheaper alternative if you want to use for rifles and handguns to keep prying eyes out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Pain in the butt to put together

08/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The safe is great. It came dented on a corner. the box was not damaged. The dent had to be from the factory. I personally do not mind the dent. Some people might not see it that way. I like there is no handles or knobs. I keep things other than guns. And I do not tell anyone about the safe. You might ask the makers how the dent came to be. At $99 I can live with the small dent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

great value for the price

11/28/2013
By ,
NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is exactly what I expected for the price , it will protect little hands and some big ones from gaining access to what is being stored within . I do not expect this safe to beat the real professional thief but then a real professional can open safes costing thousands of dollars , however I do believe this would be a deterrant to most opportunists. Its well made and very easy to assemble , the nuts and bolts are all supplied even the bolts to secure the safe to the wall . Its a very handy size and I have stored four rifles which include a shotgun to a AR15 with mags and boxes of ammo. The shelf is a little small but with only four guns there is ample room on the base. I am happy with this product and now have some peace of mind not having guns and ammo out in the open .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Serves the purpose without a high price

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Serves the purpose without a high price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 274 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next