Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stack-On Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Keep your weapons safe and secure in the Stack-On 8 Gun Security Cabinet. The great looking stack-on gun safe has a black epoxy paint finish with silver accents on the cabinet door. This cabinet can holds eight rifles or shotguns up to 54" tall. It has a removable remsteel top shelf that provides additional storage space. This shelf is positioned in the back of the cabinet so longer guns can be stored in the front. The gun security cabinet features a foam padded bottom and barrel rests to reduce the chance of scratches. It also has a three-point locking system with a key coded, double-bitted lock that provides greater security.
Average Customer Rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(268 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
100
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation92%246 out of 266reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 189 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
100
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for ammo storage

11/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This arrived to my house very quickly and having no damage at all, with free shipping. I am using it for ammo storage. I probably would not trust storing my firearms inside because it probably could not withstand a prying attack for long at all. This is just to keep my kids safe from the ammo. I built wood shelves inside using 1/2" MDF for shelves and 1/2" ply for the top/bottom and sides of the shelf frame. I drilled holes for shelf pins in the sides of the shelf frame I built so I can easily vary the height of the shelves or add more. I use six ea 1/4" shelf pins per shelf and they are very sturdy. I am very happy with this as an ammo storage cabinet. I left in the original plastic shelf and the plastic rifle supports in case I want to store pellet guns or something in it later, but I will probably remove all the original plastic parts and build up my shelves even higher. Using an Amex promotion and also finding this on sale, I paid less than 60 dollars for this with free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Not a bad product...

09/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to store some firearms and ammunition. It seems pretty well built and if bolted to the floor and wall (which i did) it is very secure and nearly impossible to move. the size is pretty good, and can hold quite a bit. Will keep anyone out that you dont want getting into it. A would be robber could get into it with a crowbar and about 20 mins worth of beating and prying on it but it is a great deterant from a would be robber. Great product for the value. Does what its supost to do.
If you have firearms and dont want to spend a ton of money on a big heavy safe and want to protect them from children, robbers ex this is a good product just make sure you bolt it down because it is not very heavy.
My only issue is it is packaged very porly and there are some dings and dents on the corners from shipping but for being under $100 dollars im not to worried about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Very good cabinet. Great price. Fast delivery

10/04/2013
By ,
Central New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the cabinet. I considered the cheaper, unassembled GCB-8RTA, and am very glad I chose the GCB-908-DS. The GCB-908-DS is a much better cabinet. Heavier steel, fully assembled, and mine was very well packaged. Not one dent. Best of all, you can put your guns in the right way--all in a line, triggers out. A little customizing, like a carpet on the bottom and thin foam pads in the rifle rests, goes a long way. You can even put some well placed bumpers in to quiet the door.
I am very pleased with the cabinet, and am pleasantly surprised with Walmart on this. Great price, free shipping, and lightspeed delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Received damaged and keys missing

04/07/2014
By ,
plaistow, nh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this to store ammo and a long gun. After reading reviews of people saying they received it damaged/ keys missing I thought I might get lucky and get a non damaged unit and have the keys in it as well. I received it very quickly(under 4 business days) at my house and one end of the box ends was open, but no other damage to the shipping box. I removed it from the box and found 2 sledge hammer size dents in the corners of the cabinet. Then I checked for the keys. Well, the bag for the keys was there, however the bottom of the bag was ripped and no keys anywhere. Needless to say I returned it and am waiting for a replacement(site-to-store). Overall a very decent cabinet for the money, if you get a non damaged unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for the price

02/21/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with cabinet so far. Was excited it was fully assembled and only has to install the shelf after it was drilled into wall and floor. As other reviewer say top shelf is small good for ammo and a few small items. I drilled to wall and floor as mentioned by first finding studs then using 4" screws to drill a 2x4 to wall then using the pre made holes to mount cabinet to 2x4 making it easy to mount into wood. 3 post lock with key as others mentioned as well keeps the honest people out and I feel comfortable that kids will not use a crow bar to open door but even at that weapons are all put away with trigger locks and keep my mags in a separate safe makes life a little difficult to get ready to go out to shoot but I know it's safe. Box was banged up a bit and cabinet had a couple small dings but not a big deal other reviews say the same so I think it's poor loading at warehouse and probably not UPS causing all the damage that I have read about. Bottom line it's not a safe but a great cheaper alternative if you want to use for rifles and handguns to keep prying eyes out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stackon 8gun

11/01/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not everything I want, but what I want would run me close to a grand not feasible for me at the moment ,however this unit was everything I needed and would indeed recommend this buy to anyone looking to safely store firearms.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
I have a question.....
Posted 11/24/2013
I am planning on buying this case for my boyfriend as a xmas gift. He has rifles, shot guns and pistols; ammo etc....but yet in all he has no safe to put them in so i figured this would be great. I read that it's for rifles and shot guns...I was wondering within this cabinet would he be able to store his ammo and pistols in it as well?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

great value for the price

11/28/2013
By ,
NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is exactly what I expected for the price , it will protect little hands and some big ones from gaining access to what is being stored within . I do not expect this safe to beat the real professional thief but then a real professional can open safes costing thousands of dollars , however I do believe this would be a deterrant to most opportunists. Its well made and very easy to assemble , the nuts and bolts are all supplied even the bolts to secure the safe to the wall . Its a very handy size and I have stored four rifles which include a shotgun to a AR15 with mags and boxes of ammo. The shelf is a little small but with only four guns there is ample room on the base. I am happy with this product and now have some peace of mind not having guns and ammo out in the open .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Started out good, then lock stopped working

01/21/2014
By ,
Souther California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, the box was ripped at the top, and the keys were exposed in a little baggy. Who knows if anyone tried to make copies of them. The packing was good, had styrofoam inserts on all corners and wrapped in plastic. The cabinet had not dents or scratches.
I opened and closed it approx. 6 times and noticed that one of the keys took a little bit of jiggling to work right, didn't think much of it. Moved it over to where I was going to secure it to the wall, and when I tried to unlock it, the key would not open the lock, tried the 2nd key to no avail. Jiggled it around, and neither key would open it.
Stack-on customer service wanted to help, but I was not in the mood for their suggestion (get a 1/2 inch drill bit, drill out the lock, and wait for them to send me a new one for me to install myself). I returned it to Walmart, and they took it back without any issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Excellent Cabinet for it's intended purpose!

12/04/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I must congratulate Wal-Mart. The delivery time was unbelievable! I received the cabinets in two days! Free delivery! They actually were delivered a day sooner than stated and in Excellent condition. Not a ding on them. Thanks Wal-Mart!
As for the cabinets, they are great if you keep in mind that they are NOT safes. They are very decent school locker type material as stated by countless other reviewers with very decent locks that will give a common thief an extremely hard time to open, and logically won't be able to if they are in a hurry. I really recommend them. It's better than having a bunch of guns and ammo stacked against the wall in your closet. You have the option of securing these cabinets to a wall or not. Very easy to assemble and the locks worked flawlessly.
Anyway, for the price you can't beat it. One thing, be sure of the model number that you order. Some of them have the foam rifle dividers which I read rot with time and gun oils etc. This particular model has the solid dividers, which in my opinion, is better. Just food for thought.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great buy

11/30/2013
By ,
concord, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase.Product was delivered to my door in about 2 and a half days in perfect condition, all for under a hundred bucks. The cabinet is more substantial than i thought it would be and very nice looking. I like the fact that it locks in 3 places. I was looking at the Stack on that Wall mart has for $79 but it has to be assembled and from the reviews sounds like its not as solid. Spend the xtra $10 for this model. It will come in one piece. All you have to do is attach shelf
,gun rests ( about 10 min. ) and anchor to wall. Overall, for the price, the quality, the free shipping and speed in which it was delivered i would give this product a 6 if i could.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Nice option to keep firearms safe

02/01/2014
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I own several of Stack-on gun safes and they all have one thing in common, they all arrived damaged! Snap-on does not package their products well and their on-line retailers do not improve the packaging before shipment. If you order on-line and ship to your home, EXPECT it to arrive damaged! My advice is to have it shipped to store and then go pick it up. If its damaged, get a refund right at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Good Value

09/20/2010
By ,
SoCal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Gun Cabinet for the money. Did arrive via FedEx with noticeable dents around edges. Knowing it wasn't going to be a display piece, the dents did not bother me. It's being used to store my M4, Mossberg Defender shotgun, sidearm, mags, ammo, and some additional accessories. Did some mods that included: lowering the rack to support the M4. thus allowing more space above to add an additional shelf. Lining the interior with padded shelf liner. Bought some double sided carpet tape to attach the liner. Used longer screws to bolt down onto the wall. Will definitely keep my "toys" safe from the kids. Overall I'm pretty satisfied for what it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Good Security Cabinet for the price.

12/10/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item was well packaged and no damage was seen during inspection. Shelf and barrel rests were easy to install and also provided are 3 extra rests that you can attach to the barrel rests to accommodate a scoped rifle. The shelf is good for placing a pistol or magazines and ammo but watch the weight because its made of plastic. The foam padding provided is thin and shorter rifles will not be able to reach the barrel rests but its easy to fix by just adding extra foam. The top of the cabinet has holes to secure the stack-on pistol/ammo security cabinet if you want extra room. Recommend you to anchor to a wall or floor or both as the unit is light and is easy to fall. Overall, I am very pleased with the product and the fast shipping from Walmart is always a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great Cabinet- No Major Complaints

01/17/2014
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cabinet does exactly what it says it will- Secure your guns and ammo from people who shouldn't have them... But then again, locks only keep honest people out.
This cabinet came in a fairly harge box that had plenty of packing and foam. Assembling the barrel rests were a snap. The only issue I had was that the cabinet only has 4 holes in the back, one in each corner. The location I was putting it doesn't have 16" studs, so I was only able to attach it to one stud. (Not the cabinets fault). The two holes to attach to the floor did the job, and now the cabinet is as solid as a rock.
I would recommend adding a piece of foam weatherstripping on the sill of the door, otherwise the door can be loud and rattle.
Overall, the cabinet is a great place to keep firearms out of the hands of those that don't need to be using them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

flimsy but ok for what i paid with discounts.

02/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
if you are the sort that gets cranky when things don't fit just right, then this is not for you...you'll likely get peed off and spend the morning sreaming at people or throwing things...
the cabinet needs to be tweeked to fit together...it's simple enough...just take your time and have a hammer and pliers handy.
mine came a little banged up...had to hammer out a few dings so i could assemble...corners were bent and one side was out of sync.
it is easy enough to put together but takes time due to all the bolts that need to be installed. plan on about 60 - 90 minutes.
i paid $60 with all the discounts. if i had to do it over, i'd go to tractor supply and spend $140 for a much better unit. for $60, it will do.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Awful Experience

02/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second stack on cabinet I have purchased in the past month. One was delivered site to store and the second was delivered to my home. The first one was fully assembled but had no key. It had a bag where the key use to be but no key. I took it back to the store. The second one delivered to my house was not assembled but was not a huge deal to put together. I got the whole thing put together and the locking mechanism fell apart into several tiny pieces leaving no possibility of putting back together. Needless to say, I am back to the store for yet another refund. Very frustrated!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Best value for home firearm security

01/25/2014
By ,
Pearl, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot complain. Stack-On has a winner here. For an inexpensive security cabinet the metal is sturdy and the three point locking system will keep out all but real criminals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Better than no security cabinet!

02/18/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It claims to be able to hold longer shotguns behind the shelf, but it doesn't mention that it won't handle a typical over/under 12 gauge with the shelf in place. I had to remove the shelf.
The spacing between the barrel rests is just a bit too narrow to handle putting anything next to a typical bolt-action rifle. You'll need to leave an open spot next to any bolt-action.
The barrel rest extensions for scoped rifles are pretty cool, but don't extend the barrel rest enough to accommodate a scoped flat-top AR-15 even with low ring mounts. Also, the depth of the cabinet isn't quite enough to allow the door to close due to the AR-15's pistol grip. I had to store my AR sideways, further reducing the overall number of guns this cabinet can handle.
The pre-drilled holes and hardware are pretty much useless for attaching it to the floor and wall. Expect to drill your own holes and provide better hardware. Not a big deal, just mentioning it.
I also found the door to be a bit loose after locking it, so I put some self-stick foam on the inside frame to give it a better feel when closing and locking.
The lock and key are decent and the 3-point locking mechanism is simple and works just fine.
Overall, I still find the cabinet to be useful and the price is amazing. I can really only put 5 guns in it though, and can't use the shelf. I wish it were about 3 inches wider and about 3 inches deeper, that would have solved almost all of the issues I have with this cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great value!

07/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent choice for a first gun cabinet. Remember, it's NOT a safe. It's not fire rated, waterproof, or hundreds of pounds of thick metal. If you have a small investment of firearms and are trying to keep them away from little curious hands or want a solid lockable place to store them, this will do it. A thief could certainly pry or cut it open if he was given enough time, so do not put your most prized assets in it. One thing to note is it MUST be secured to the floor and/or wall, because with the door open, it becomes unbalanced and will tip over. This can also make assembly a little tricky, but can still be done with only one person.
The shelf makes it a little tough to get a really long gun in, but it can be done as advertised. Just do not expect to be able to pull it straight out without carefully moving it to the side at an angle while likely having to remove any other gun(s) in its path. The shelf is also not very large and is really only useful for boxes of ammo and smaller accessories.
Having the ability to expand it with the matched ammo/handgun cabinet on the top is a real plus and I will likely purchase that in the future.
Mine was delivered site-to-store without any damage to the unit. The box itself had some wear, but the packaging to protect the cabinet did its job.
Highly recommended!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Gun Safe

02/21/2014
By ,
Carrollton, Ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered Gun Safe online and had it sent to the nearest store near my home. After I picked it up and took it home. I removed to gun safe from the box. I notice some damage to the box. There was some damage to the gun safe. I called the online 800 number. The person I talked to was very nice. She said that I could return the Safe to the store that I had picked it up from and they give me a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 237 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next