Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stack-On Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Keep your weapons safe and secure using the Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet. It features a black epoxy paint finish with silver accents on the door that easily matches a wide variety of decor. It is designed to hold up to 8 rifles or shotguns so you can store nearly all of your firearms with ease. It also comes with a removable remsteel top shelf positioned in the back that provides additional storage space for items such as ammo and gear. The unique positioning also ensures that longer guns can be stored right in the front. The Stack-On 8-gun security cabinet contains a foam-padded bottom and barrel rests to reduce the chance of dings, dents and scratches. A three-point locking system with a key-coded, double-bitted lock ensures that your guns remain secure at all time. Fully welded with staked steel to provide extra protection, this 8-gun safe is a great choice for use in the home, office or any other space where you want to keep your firearm.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(289 Reviews) 257
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
104
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation92%263 out of 287reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 203 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
104
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

There were handling dents in one of them.

04/17/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recieved both of them in good time, but there were handling dents in one of them. The dent is just in front of the lock on the side and in the middle of gun case. I would have returned it but it wasn't worth the hassle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

5 stars for Walmart, none for Stack-ON

07/07/2014
By ,
Manassas, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Walmart delivered the unit in half the projected time. When I took out the cabinet, it had a dent on the side next to the lock. Without that dent, the cabinet would have been perfect. Fortunately, I live 1/2 mile from the store, so returned it. Walmart took it back and credited my card immediately.
The cabinet came with heavy Styrofoam corners that protected the corners, but no protection, other than space, for the long edges. If the Styrofoam had extended the length of the cabinet, it would have been fully protected, though I realize that would have added both expense and weight.
I find it hard to believe that many of these cabinets would arrive without some dents from handling. The metal is thin.
My next purchase will be for a heavier cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for ammo storage

11/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This arrived to my house very quickly and having no damage at all, with free shipping. I am using it for ammo storage. I probably would not trust storing my firearms inside because it probably could not withstand a prying attack for long at all. This is just to keep my kids safe from the ammo. I built wood shelves inside using 1/2" MDF for shelves and 1/2" ply for the top/bottom and sides of the shelf frame. I drilled holes for shelf pins in the sides of the shelf frame I built so I can easily vary the height of the shelves or add more. I use six ea 1/4" shelf pins per shelf and they are very sturdy. I am very happy with this as an ammo storage cabinet. I left in the original plastic shelf and the plastic rifle supports in case I want to store pellet guns or something in it later, but I will probably remove all the original plastic parts and build up my shelves even higher. Using an Amex promotion and also finding this on sale, I paid less than 60 dollars for this with free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Not a bad product...

09/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to store some firearms and ammunition. It seems pretty well built and if bolted to the floor and wall (which i did) it is very secure and nearly impossible to move. the size is pretty good, and can hold quite a bit. Will keep anyone out that you dont want getting into it. A would be robber could get into it with a crowbar and about 20 mins worth of beating and prying on it but it is a great deterant from a would be robber. Great product for the value. Does what its supost to do.
If you have firearms and dont want to spend a ton of money on a big heavy safe and want to protect them from children, robbers ex this is a good product just make sure you bolt it down because it is not very heavy.
My only issue is it is packaged very porly and there are some dings and dents on the corners from shipping but for being under $100 dollars im not to worried about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Received damaged and keys missing

04/07/2014
By ,
plaistow, nh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this to store ammo and a long gun. After reading reviews of people saying they received it damaged/ keys missing I thought I might get lucky and get a non damaged unit and have the keys in it as well. I received it very quickly(under 4 business days) at my house and one end of the box ends was open, but no other damage to the shipping box. I removed it from the box and found 2 sledge hammer size dents in the corners of the cabinet. Then I checked for the keys. Well, the bag for the keys was there, however the bottom of the bag was ripped and no keys anywhere. Needless to say I returned it and am waiting for a replacement(site-to-store). Overall a very decent cabinet for the money, if you get a non damaged unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Very good cabinet. Great price. Fast delivery

10/04/2013
By ,
Central New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the cabinet. I considered the cheaper, unassembled GCB-8RTA, and am very glad I chose the GCB-908-DS. The GCB-908-DS is a much better cabinet. Heavier steel, fully assembled, and mine was very well packaged. Not one dent. Best of all, you can put your guns in the right way--all in a line, triggers out. A little customizing, like a carpet on the bottom and thin foam pads in the rifle rests, goes a long way. You can even put some well placed bumpers in to quiet the door.
I am very pleased with the cabinet, and am pleasantly surprised with Walmart on this. Great price, free shipping, and lightspeed delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

This unit arrived in perfect condition with no Key

07/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would like to provide a decent review but we have a unit that seems to be in good condition without a key. Of course it is locked so we will probably return it to the store for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

SMALL

07/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't know what 8 guns it claims to hold, but I could barely fit 3 in it (Mosin-Nagant w/scope, SKS w/scope - had to remove 20 round mag), and a Remington 870 w/pistol grip and scope). There is not a spec of room for another gun, except for a few pistols on the shelf. All had to be placed sideways since the cabinet is so shallow. "Scope extensions" were useless, since then the door wouldn't close if you had a mag or grip on the gun.
BUT, it arrived in one piece, no dents, quick shipping, and seems built OK for some small guns with no accessories on them...and minimum need for real security, but its better than leaving a bunch of guns laying around in cases
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great for the price

02/21/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with cabinet so far. Was excited it was fully assembled and only has to install the shelf after it was drilled into wall and floor. As other reviewer say top shelf is small good for ammo and a few small items. I drilled to wall and floor as mentioned by first finding studs then using 4" screws to drill a 2x4 to wall then using the pre made holes to mount cabinet to 2x4 making it easy to mount into wood. 3 post lock with key as others mentioned as well keeps the honest people out and I feel comfortable that kids will not use a crow bar to open door but even at that weapons are all put away with trigger locks and keep my mags in a separate safe makes life a little difficult to get ready to go out to shoot but I know it's safe. Box was banged up a bit and cabinet had a couple small dings but not a big deal other reviews say the same so I think it's poor loading at warehouse and probably not UPS causing all the damage that I have read about. Bottom line it's not a safe but a great cheaper alternative if you want to use for rifles and handguns to keep prying eyes out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stackon 8gun

11/01/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not everything I want, but what I want would run me close to a grand not feasible for me at the moment ,however this unit was everything I needed and would indeed recommend this buy to anyone looking to safely store firearms.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
I have a question.....
Posted 11/24/2013
I am planning on buying this case for my boyfriend as a xmas gift. He has rifles, shot guns and pistols; ammo etc....but yet in all he has no safe to put them in so i figured this would be great. I read that it's for rifles and shot guns...I was wondering within this cabinet would he be able to store his ammo and pistols in it as well?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Good safe

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shipping was fast so that was a plus. Good safe. The safe itself is light so you're really gonna want to bolt it to the wall but it's very easy to do. Seems to lock up pretty well. I fit two aks, two ars,(if I had optics on the aks or ars, probably wouldn't have fit standing straight) a pump shotgun, a lever gun and two 22s and was a lot more spacious than I expected.(just to clarify, I'm not saying it's huge but was surprised to be able to fit pistol gripped rifles in it with ease) overall. Good safe
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

great value for the price

11/28/2013
By ,
NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is exactly what I expected for the price , it will protect little hands and some big ones from gaining access to what is being stored within . I do not expect this safe to beat the real professional thief but then a real professional can open safes costing thousands of dollars , however I do believe this would be a deterrant to most opportunists. Its well made and very easy to assemble , the nuts and bolts are all supplied even the bolts to secure the safe to the wall . Its a very handy size and I have stored four rifles which include a shotgun to a AR15 with mags and boxes of ammo. The shelf is a little small but with only four guns there is ample room on the base. I am happy with this product and now have some peace of mind not having guns and ammo out in the open .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

good

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super fast shipping! easy to set up!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Good Value

09/20/2010
By ,
SoCal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Gun Cabinet for the money. Did arrive via FedEx with noticeable dents around edges. Knowing it wasn't going to be a display piece, the dents did not bother me. It's being used to store my M4, Mossberg Defender shotgun, sidearm, mags, ammo, and some additional accessories. Did some mods that included: lowering the rack to support the M4. thus allowing more space above to add an additional shelf. Lining the interior with padded shelf liner. Bought some double sided carpet tape to attach the liner. Used longer screws to bolt down onto the wall. Will definitely keep my "toys" safe from the kids. Overall I'm pretty satisfied for what it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Stack-On 8 gun cabinet

06/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's what I expected for the price although I should have planned for the lack of depth. I have an AR with optics so I have to put it in sideways which takes up at least 3 slots. I ca only get in one more rifle with pistol grip and optics and a shotgun or a simple rifle. The finish is nice and it is nice and compact.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

size and price we wanted

05/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just what size and price we wanted
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product... VERY quick delivery to house!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great value!

07/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent choice for a first gun cabinet. Remember, it's NOT a safe. It's not fire rated, waterproof, or hundreds of pounds of thick metal. If you have a small investment of firearms and are trying to keep them away from little curious hands or want a solid lockable place to store them, this will do it. A thief could certainly pry or cut it open if he was given enough time, so do not put your most prized assets in it. One thing to note is it MUST be secured to the floor and/or wall, because with the door open, it becomes unbalanced and will tip over. This can also make assembly a little tricky, but can still be done with only one person.
The shelf makes it a little tough to get a really long gun in, but it can be done as advertised. Just do not expect to be able to pull it straight out without carefully moving it to the side at an angle while likely having to remove any other gun(s) in its path. The shelf is also not very large and is really only useful for boxes of ammo and smaller accessories.
Having the ability to expand it with the matched ammo/handgun cabinet on the top is a real plus and I will likely purchase that in the future.
Mine was delivered site-to-store without any damage to the unit. The box itself had some wear, but the packaging to protect the cabinet did its job.
Highly recommended!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Great affordable gun cabinet

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the price! Locks great and keeps guns out of children's hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On GCB-908-DS 8-Gun Security Cabinet

Useful Product

12/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used the Ship to Store for this Gun Cabinet. It was easy, and the Cabinet was in excellent condition. Mounted it to the wall studs (it's not going anywhere). Good product for basic secured firearm storage. And yes... this model will hold 8 rifles and shotguns (and some ammo on the shelf).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 258 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next