Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

First Alert First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

The First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket is a wonderful and convenient tool to have in and around your household. This device automatically turns a light on when you enter a room and then turns it off again when you leave. Its innovative motion detection system effectively senses movement in all directions, so it will always sense your presence. To use, you only need to plug the special motion sensing socket into any of your existing light receptacles, then simply install a common household bulb to use with the device. Just this small change will give you instant hands-free lighting. Use it in areas with hard-to-reach light switches, children's rooms, entryways, closets, stairwells, garages or any indoor location where you want the convenience and safety of motion activated lighting. The First Alert Motion Sensing Light Socket is designed for use with 25- to 100-watt bulbs and works well with both incandescent and CFL varieties.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%60 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Just as expected

12/19/2012
By ,
Staten Island, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works fine, only time will tell how it holds up. Easy and quick to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Really nice!

10/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just like we wanted it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Returning it

10/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
slow to turn on, light stays on
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

just what I wanted.

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is the only motion sensor light fixture that actually works. Don't even bother with the others. I have waisted my money on them twice and will never do it again. Just wish Stores had THIS one on their shelves instead of the other brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

works as promised BUT

05/31/2011
By ,
palm springs, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this is my third unit. they work well but for only about 1 year. don't know why such a short life-span especially when they are never touched. mine is in the ceiling of the garage but dies each year....just bought a new one for MY LAST TIME. I am trying another company next. This unit is poorly made to only last 1 year......my one light bulb has out-lived two of these units....let's hope the third times a charm.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles
Posted 07/23/2014
Must be the dessert heat. Because heat is the #1 killer of electronics.
0points
Customer Avatar
Harford, New York
First alert light socket
Posted 07/15/2012
The Mfg's warrantee is for 3 years - why didn't you get a replacement item ?????
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Works ok for my needs, but . . .

10/25/2010
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an automatic light in my garage to turn on whenever a car pulled in because the ancient (but still working quite well) garage door opener doesn't have a light. Opted for the 360 degree version because I wanted it to also turn on automatically when a person entered the garage from the house, the opposite direction. Worked ok with some directional tweaking, but be warned it is not a full 360 degrees, has some dead or blind areas. Otherwise, works well for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Good product but has limitations

02/15/2014
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to put in a ceiling light fixture. I was not made aware that it does not work through glass. That detail was on the packaging, but not on the website. I ended up using it in a bare garage fixture, where it actually works well. It did not work where I originally intended to use it because of the glass fixture.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Works great for my covered porch

07/08/2014
By ,
Upper Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this in my covered porch. I like it because of the limited sensing radius of about 12 feet, and the shut off time of about 4 minutes. Other products sense too much and stay on too long, this is great for using in a small area and sensing just a smaller area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Operates well in my garage for entry and exit.

07/02/2014
By ,
Wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Works Great

05/18/2011
By ,
High Point, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this in our laundry room where the switch is hard to reach. Walk in and the light comes on and stays on as long as you are in the room. Walk out and 4 minutes later is goes off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Wonderful Product

04/04/2011
By ,
Independence, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We put this up in our garage. On dark mornings or late evenings we no longer have to turn the light on, start up the car and go back to turn the light off. It works perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

For safety and to save money.

03/31/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works as advertised. It is an inexpensive way to convert an exposed light on your porch or in your garage to a motion detection light, for safety and to save money. Works every time. I had the same one for years and decided to purchase a second one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket
01/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had an earlier model of this device set up in my basement stairwell for a number of years. It recently stopped sensing motion, and not turning the light on. I was very pleased to see that the product is still available thru the Walmart website. This unit is improved as it now allows the use of the new CFL bulbs. Which I am using. I had the product shipped directly to the Walmart by me. The price was resonable, the whole process of purchase, and pick-up was flawless. The product functions as indicated in the description, and is a God send for my Irish setter which is partially blind, and very terrified of navigating the steps without a light on. We no longer have to get up to turn on, or off a light for our dog, as it senses her also.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Ordered for ship to store

06/13/2012
By ,
Orland Park
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WALMART IS PAINFULLY SLOW WITH SHIP TO STORE. The product is good for the intent but plan on replacing them yearly. They do not last long even under regular use.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Gtreat !!!

12/06/2013
By ,
Taylorsville North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my laundry room/entry way. Love it the light comes right on. The first time it takes a few seconds to come on but after that it comes right on.The light goes out about 3-4 minutes after you leave the room so no more forgetting to turn the light off.Wish I had them when my kids lived at home, they were always leaving the lights on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Turns on quickly without me having to move around

04/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had an older one. New one works faster and reconizes movement better, no having to jump or wave arms to make it come on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

It is just what we needed

12/07/2013
By ,
Oviedo, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It gives a full 360 degree coverage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Let There Be Light

05/27/2014
By ,
LYNDHURST, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The switch to the overhead light for my small enclosed porch is inside the house. When I know I am coming home at night, I can either leave the light on all day so I can see to put the key in the lock or fumble in the dark. This is the perfect answer. I open the outer door and the light goes on allowing me to see to unlock the inner door. Nice that it stays on for a few minutes in case I have to go back and carry something into the house. Gets only 4 stars because there is no sensor to stop it from going on in the daylight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Great price and value...

01/12/2014
By ,
New York, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The First Alert Motion Sensing Light Socket device works perfectly as intended. Works great in areas where the lighting switch is far to reach. The device automatically shuts off the light approximately 3 minutes if the unit doesn't sense any motion. It would be great if First Alert offers a model that allows the user to adjust the timer (ex 3 minutes default to 5 minutes or to 7 minutes). Overall, a superb product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Met all of our expectations.

06/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We tried three other similar products, 2 from Mwnard's and 1 from Lowe's and they did not perform well at all. We ordered the First Alert from Walmart and we wish they would stock this item in their store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next