Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

First Alert First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

The First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket turns a light on when you enter a room and then turns it off when you leave. It effectively senses movement in all directions and is meant only for indoor use. Simply attach this motion sensor socket into any existing light socket for instant hands-free lighting. Use it in areas with hard-to-reach light switches, childrens' rooms, entryways, closets, stairwells, garages or any indoor location where you want the convenience and safety of motion activated lighting. It is designed for use with 25 to 100-watt bulbs, both incandescent and CFL. 3-year limited warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%53 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Just as expected

12/19/2012
By ,
Staten Island, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works fine, only time will tell how it holds up. Easy and quick to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Good product but has limitations

02/15/2014
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to put in a ceiling light fixture. I was not made aware that it does not work through glass. That detail was on the packaging, but not on the website. I ended up using it in a bare garage fixture, where it actually works well. It did not work where I originally intended to use it because of the glass fixture.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Turns on quickly without me having to move around

04/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had an older one. New one works faster and reconizes movement better, no having to jump or wave arms to make it come on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Useful product

04/16/2014
By ,
Ct
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
One must be very close to sensor to activate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

not at all impressed

03/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We've had this about 2 weeks now, and this was definitely not worth the $20 we paid. About 5% of the time it will sense us walking up and turn on ... 20% of the time we have to wave our hands directly in front of it .. but the rest of the time, I have had to tap or slightly turn the bulb/socket to have it turn on. I don't recommend this product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Gtreat !!!

12/06/2013
By ,
Taylorsville North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my laundry room/entry way. Love it the light comes right on. The first time it takes a few seconds to come on but after that it comes right on.The light goes out about 3-4 minutes after you leave the room so no more forgetting to turn the light off.Wish I had them when my kids lived at home, they were always leaving the lights on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Great price and value...

01/12/2014
By ,
New York, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The First Alert Motion Sensing Light Socket device works perfectly as intended. Works great in areas where the lighting switch is far to reach. The device automatically shuts off the light approximately 3 minutes if the unit doesn't sense any motion. It would be great if First Alert offers a model that allows the user to adjust the timer (ex 3 minutes default to 5 minutes or to 7 minutes). Overall, a superb product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Works ok for my needs, but . . .

10/25/2010
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an automatic light in my garage to turn on whenever a car pulled in because the ancient (but still working quite well) garage door opener doesn't have a light. Opted for the 360 degree version because I wanted it to also turn on automatically when a person entered the garage from the house, the opposite direction. Worked ok with some directional tweaking, but be warned it is not a full 360 degrees, has some dead or blind areas. Otherwise, works well for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Great motion light

03/03/2014
By ,
Chula Vista, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job exactly as I had hoped. The 360 sensor is perfect for my use as an exit/entry light at front door.
. Note: my original light socket has a recessed housing which means i needed an additional screw-in light socket for extension...otherwise, the pir725 is too short for effective motion detection in the deep housing.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

works as promised BUT

05/31/2011
By ,
palm springs, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this is my third unit. they work well but for only about 1 year. don't know why such a short life-span especially when they are never touched. mine is in the ceiling of the garage but dies each year....just bought a new one for MY LAST TIME. I am trying another company next. This unit is poorly made to only last 1 year......my one light bulb has out-lived two of these units....let's hope the third times a charm.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Harford, New York
First alert light socket
Posted 07/15/2012
The Mfg's warrantee is for 3 years - why didn't you get a replacement item ?????
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Do Not Recommend

03/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would not screw into light socket easily, and doesn't screw all the way in. Large solder blob on threads may be reason. Light does not come on as advertised. Two weeks "Site-to-Store" was an excessively long time to wait for an order to arrive. Will return for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

It is just what we needed

12/07/2013
By ,
Oviedo, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It gives a full 360 degree coverage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

See the light

02/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product serves my needs I have pull strings in the basement and now I just walk in and the light comes on and go out 4 min after I leave
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Great Deal

02/16/2014
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing simpler, easier or more reasonably priced. Great product for garage (especially when your garage door opener light will cost $100 to fix).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Works Great

05/18/2011
By ,
High Point, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this in our laundry room where the switch is hard to reach. Walk in and the light comes on and stays on as long as you are in the room. Walk out and 4 minutes later is goes off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Wonderful Product

04/04/2011
By ,
Independence, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We put this up in our garage. On dark mornings or late evenings we no longer have to turn the light on, start up the car and go back to turn the light off. It works perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

EXCELLENT purchase

11/29/2013
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as my husband cannot find the switch for the hallway to the bedroom/bathroom... this has been beyond expectations ... as soon as you step into the hallway it turns on; turns off after a while, but when you come out of bedroom it comes right back on. Haven't blown a bulb yet from all the on/off ... more than worth it ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket
01/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had an earlier model of this device set up in my basement stairwell for a number of years. It recently stopped sensing motion, and not turning the light on. I was very pleased to see that the product is still available thru the Walmart website. This unit is improved as it now allows the use of the new CFL bulbs. Which I am using. I had the product shipped directly to the Walmart by me. The price was resonable, the whole process of purchase, and pick-up was flawless. The product functions as indicated in the description, and is a God send for my Irish setter which is partially blind, and very terrified of navigating the steps without a light on. We no longer have to get up to turn on, or off a light for our dog, as it senses her also.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

For safety and to save money.

03/31/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works as advertised. It is an inexpensive way to convert an exposed light on your porch or in your garage to a motion detection light, for safety and to save money. Works every time. I had the same one for years and decided to purchase a second one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert PIR725 Motion Sensing Light Socket

Ordered for ship to store

06/13/2012
By ,
Orland Park
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WALMART IS PAINFULLY SLOW WITH SHIP TO STORE. The product is good for the intent but plan on replacing them yearly. They do not last long even under regular use.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next