Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Stack-On Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location. With the Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Cabinet, your armory stays locked and secure. This hunter green stack-on security cabinet uses doubles-bitted locks so only person who can access this stock-on cabinet is you. You can store it anywhere in the garage or tool shed without sacrificing unnecessary space. The stack-on security cabinet interior has four padded shelves to help protect your guns and rifles. Plus, the shelves are removable, so you can add ammo, handguns and other valuables. Designed with a reinforced steel door, this tack-on security cabinet is built to last.
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%65 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Good value for the price.

12/09/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for the price. It's a gun cabinet NOT a safe. I got what I expected. It came to the store on schedule and the box was undamaged. Picking it up at the store was easy. Unpacking and set-up/assembly was also easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

it's exactly what I wanted

09/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product met all my expectations. Very good product. It came packaged well. No dings or scratches. It was the security i was looking for to keep the guns away from my children. When I unpacked it I did have to put all the shelves and barrel rests in which wasn't a problem. It helped me get acquainted with the cabinet. I especially like the extra extenders so you can put a rifle(s) with a scope in the cabinet. And you can put them where you want. As far as putting 16 guns on that side???? It would be tight. Especially putting all 16 guns in and taking only a specific one out. But I only have 6 guns. That's why I opted for this cabinet. I only have two b.b. guns, one .22 rifle, an M4, one twelve gauge, and a 30 .06 and only two rifles have scopes. So I figured It would not be cluttered with just my small selection of weapons. My only gripe is 4 of my guns were too short for the barrel to meet the barrel rests. I ended up using some Styrofoam that came with the packaging at the bottom of the cabinet to raise the guns higher so they would meet the height requirements of the non-adjustable barrel rests. You can see this in the picture I posted. If it wasnt for this i would have given it 5 stars. --And the left side--perfect for all my ammo, handguns, cleaning equipment, and other miscellaneous items.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Is everything advertised

02/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a solid, heavy gauged steel, well constructed cabinet. I personally did not want a safe because I didn't want 600 to 700 hundred pounds of empty weight sitting on my floor. As it is with this cabinet full its probably pushing close to 400 pounds. Having said that the locks are solid and the inside door lip folds over so no one's getting in this cabinet unless they've got at least 30 to 40 minutes to waste working at it. In my neighborhood that's not going to happen and if it did that's why I have replacement value home insurance. It has plenty of room inside for all my guns, ammo and miscellaneous extra's. For this price I think it was a very good deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Good Security Cabinet, but Not a Gun Safe.

10/01/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As many have stated this is not a safe but a cabinet. It will keep kids and curious adults from the contents. But anyone who is determined to open it and has a few basic tools (a hammer & chisels or a Sawzall) and doesn't care about noise can be inside in 10/15 minutes or so. So if you understand it's limitations you will not be disappointed.
That being said it is a good deal. I saved a couple of hundred dollars buying through WalMart.com. I was very concerned when picking up the box at the local store with the damage to the cardboard shipping carton. Almost refused the order but after going over the box without actually removing it I felt lucky (or maybe desperate) and loaded the box with the help of a Wal-Mart employee into my Subaru Outback. It was a close fit but went in without much trouble. With a appliance dolly from U-Haul I got the box from my vehicle at the curb to my basement stairs and with 2 five foot lengths of 2x6's slide the box down the 5 steps and wrestled the box into my refinished basement. It was not until then that the cabinet was removed from the box to reveal that it was completely undamaged.
My 9 year old son helped with the installation of the shelves. I got the rifle racks in by myself. The instructions call for securing the cabinet with the supplied lag bolts and washers at the rear top and also to the floor. The floor was not possible in my case but I used the predrilled holes in the rear lower back that aligned with the top holes and attached it to wall studs, 2 lag bolts per stud. That baby is secure to the wall and gives the whole thing a stout feeling.
From there the sticky back foam was installed (needs to be done carefully cause if it does not go on aligned right it would be a mess to remove it to realign.
A few well placed "felt bumpers" from the hardware store inside the door(s) keep them from rattling and contribute to the sense of sturdiness of the product.
This product was purchased to receive the overflow from my "real" gun safe which was overloaded. Plenty of space here for ammo/pellets and less expensive firearms/air guns.
I believe the product will serve me well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

gun safe

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heavier than I thought! Took it upstairs on my own but should've had help. Very slight door misalignment o other issues. Great she for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Good for what it is.

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great size for lots of storage and serves it purpose to lock things up. Not a safe but a great cabinet. Perfect for keeping the kids out of harms way.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Great Item for the price

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not a heavy duty gun safe but it is a very good product. If you look around you can get a great Walmart price on it as well.
It has a good locking system and pre-drilled holes that line up with the studs in your home and 2 floor anchor points as well.
It you only need something to secure you guns and are not worried about a fire prof heavy gun safe this fits the bill.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Perfect

03/02/2014
By ,
Isanti
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With kids in the house we needed a gun safe, but we like to be self reliant when it comes to things like moving or doing projects. This cabinet provided both security and portability. It has enough room for all of our firearms, locks securely, and when we move we can move it ourselves without hiring a moving company to hoist a 700 pound safe. The girlfriend and I hoisted it up to our 3rd floor apartment on a 2 wheel dolly with moderate effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Just a cabinet.

02/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your looking for just a lockable cabinet, it is Great. It is by no means anything close to a fire resistance SAFE.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

well built and secure

02/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For me this was the next best thing to a safe. And i have no means to get a heavy safe into where i live. Easy assembly dense foam for shelves and even thicker pad for the bottom portion where the guns rest. And was able to mount to the wall and floor. Love the extra side with shelves for storage.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Not quite a safe, but good

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a better method to secure my firearms and ammunition. I am still shopping for safes, but I'm not sure I have an ideal location in my home for one (yet).
This is a good compromise until I get my safe.
I already own a Stack-On 14 gun security cabinet and have been pleased with it. This was an addition to the existing cabinet and not a replacement.
My order arrived and was NOT damaged in any way.
It's heavy enough, that a thief can't just walk off with it, but I was able to push this cabinet up to my 2nd floor office.
Once I got it setup and mounted to the wall and floor, it is very secure. Top that off with a bunch of ammo and rifles and this bad boy isn't going anywhere.
I understand that it's not a SAFE, so given enough time and some tools, a really determined bad guy can penetrate these defenses, but it will keep my firearms and ammo secure from children, curious folks, and the non-prepared burglar.
This is a great safe. I would buy it again, and I'd have to no problems telling a friend or family member to buy one!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

a fast install

02/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thanks to peoples reviews before purchasing this item I got exactly what I expected, a secure cabinet, not a safe. As a reviewer noted you should have a second persons help for installing racks & shelves, but not a lot & that it for assembly. A second review for using weather striping around the doors for tighter fit helped a lot.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Great value and lots of room

01/14/2013
By ,
Blue Springs, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembled in less than 1 hour. Roomier than I expected. Great value! The only setback is the way they packaged the keys. They were laying under some of the styrofoam in the bottom of the box. I couldn't find them at first. I nearly threw them away. Maybe put them in the hardware bag or tape them to the side of the cabinet?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Just Received It

01/09/2015
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Freight company was great! Lowered it and rolled it into garage for me, didn't even have to ask him
2 thumbs up for Estes Freight company!!
Next shipping container was in good shape, but wanted to inspect. Everything was great, NO scratches and NO dents.
FYI didn't even think about different keys, but each door is keyed different so if you keep keys separate then you increase your security.
Plus cabinet has interior divider that stops instant access to both sides. So even if they break into one side they gonna have to work hard to get into other side, unless you leave both keys together and the keys are easy to find.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Good

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the idea that it is fully assembled when it arrives. Not to heavy for one person to man handle.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

great cabinet for the price

01/22/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, when I got it home and out of the box, there were two small dings. One one each side obviously from shipping/handling. They were not so bad that I wanted to bother packing it back to the store and getting another one. I was a little disappointed though, because when you buy something brand new, you expect it to be in perfect shape. As other reviews I read stated, they keys are rough in the locks and they locks are stiff. I hope this will improve over time. Very difficult to install the shelves and the gun rests on you own. You are gonna need a helper. The gun rests in the pre-drilled positions are too high up for several of my short guns. AR15, Rugger 10-22, coach gun, riot shot gun. Very nice gun cabinet for the value though. Lots of space and since I bolted mine to the wall and the floor, I feel it's pretty secure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green
09/13/2010
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used the Site-to-Store shipping method and I was not impressed with the 9 days it took to get to the store. However it came with no damage and assembled the shelves in minutes. I am using to store some tatical shotguns, AR's, M1a's, and various pistals. All fit fine. Lastly I have to say that Wal-Mart is the cheapiest. Bass Pro, Cabela's, Miday USA, and many other places do not even come close to Wally World's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Perfect for firearm related items

05/14/2014
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lets first agree that this is not a gun safe, nor did I order it for that purpose. Even the name says "cabinet".
The box arrived undamaged, as well as the contents. This seems to be a concern with most of the reviews from this company. What surprised me was the locks on each side of the door was keyed differently. Good feature if you looking to share this container with someone. Simple twist lock mechanism that works good keeping honest people honest. A dedicated or persistent attacker will have it open in 30 minutes, maybe less.
I needed somewhere to securely store my ammunition and related accessories. With half of it open and the the other half shelves, it was what I needed. on one side I loaded up my surplus ammunition for secure storage. It will easily hold ammo cans, but I was unable to get my wooden crate in there. Not a big problem. I started to load up the shelves, not sure of how much weight they recommend, but I was able to comfortable load one self with 600 rounds of 12 gauge 00 buck. Anymore than that and I would be concerned.
Since nothing is perfect, it only gets 4/5 stars. If your using it as a safe, its better then nothing. And really, do you need $1000 worth of safe to store your $1000 worth of guns?! I can understand that. So, with that said I would recommend this for secure storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Just what I needed

03/09/2013
By ,
Cocoa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This double door security cabinet is an excellent buy from Walmart. Probably saved $200.00 buying it from Walmart. I had it shipped to the store for free and had no problem picking it up from there with my truck. It is well built, and everything was well packaged. There was no damage of any kind.
There is some assembly required. You have to install the barrel rests if you are going to store long guns in it and there are also shelves if you want to install them. All holes are pre-drilled in the cabinet. It only takes a wrench and a phillips screwdriver to install everything. It makes it a lot easier to install everything if you have a helper. Overall it is just what I needed for my purposes. I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On 16 to 31 Gun Convertible Double Door Security Cabinet, Hunter Green

Good Cabinet

06/12/2013
By ,
Kansas City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It will hold 31 guns if they are all shotguns. When you have multiple scoped rifles, space goes fast. Stack-On supplies 6 extension for scoped rifles which are great. The only problem is if you want more you can't find them on Stack-On's site or anywhere else that I've looked. So you wind up stacking guns on top of each other to make them all fit. I'd say realistically it would hold about 16 scoped rifles and the rest could be shotguns or non scoped firearms. But if you have more than 16 scoped rifles, I'd suggest you buy two! As far as construction goes, it's hard to beat for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next