Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ironman Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Ironman Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table is designed to provide you with back and stress relief in the comfort of your home. This Ironman inversion table provides continuous blood circulation throughout your body so you can feel better. This heavy duty Ironman table keeps your muscles flexible to help improve your athletic performance. The steel frame Ironman inversion table has a 3/4-inch soft- foam backrest for comfort. The scratch-resistant, powder-coated finish of this table gives it a sleek and polished look. The table can be inverted in different angles with the help of an adjustable strap. The ankle holders keep your ankles safely in place when the table is inverted and during return to its upright position. This Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table has a weight capacity of 275 pounds and the height can be adjusted from 410 to 66 so everyone in your household can enjoy the benefits.
Average Customer Rating:
4.513 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(503 Reviews) 471
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
344
4 stars
118
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation95%476 out of 503reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 310 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
344
4 stars
118
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Skeptical - pleasantly surprised

12/21/2012
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received this on Monday quicker delivery than expected. My hubby put it together that night, took about 45 mins, without much swearing, so I assume it went together fairly smoothly. Once it was assembled, I immediately jump on it, only went partial inversion. I've been increasing the inversion slant daily. I was very skeptical about it helping my back (spinal stenosis with sciatic) but I tried everything else so figured I'd give this a try - why not? After 5 days, I feel real improvement. I'm not 100% but I did not need to take any meds yesterday or today. This is a first in 9 months!!!! I am pleasantly surprised!! I use the table twice a day for 3-5 mins each time. For the price, you should give it a try, it's well constructed and has help my back pain. Hoping for more improvement as the weeks go by.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread :o)

03/31/2014
By ,
Westchester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I assembled this chair on Sunday (3/30/14) and tested it out; adjusting the straps to control the angle of inversion; supported my neck with a neck roll as I didn't like the feel of the blood going to my head. All I have to say is that Sunday afternoon the constant and dull pain in my back has practically disappeared. So after only a day and being used twice, I am singing its praise!
Note: It is big and it is heavy and will look awful in your space (if not a basement), but your health is a priority over esthetics. It is also a little scary being inverted, but do it slowly, using the handlebars at all times.
PS: The only little "Con" is that I wish there were some type of ankle straps.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Westchester, NY
Assembly?
Posted 04/07/2014
How difficult was it to put together? Like is it "partially" assembled or not at all and needs to be assembled completely? thanks!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Excellent Inversion Table

04/18/2014
By ,
Rockwall, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rate the entire process, "Outstanding"! The ordering portion was efficient, timely, and inorder! The product is of great quality as compared to more expensive tables, not just in looks but usability as well. In shopping for an Inversion Table, I saved approximately 200$ by purchasing this product! Sometimes more money does not equate to a better product and this is a prime example! Bottomline, this table will serve you well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Sturdy, comfortable, well-made, works well

12/15/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product arrived promptly and in good condition. There was a small bend on one metal plate, but it was straightened easily. This is very sturdy and well-built. My husband has broken his back 3 times and needs relief from disc pain. He cannot completely invert, so the adjustable strap to control the angle is a good feature for him. The large handles make it very easy to grab to help right himself, although it is usually unnecessary since it is balanced for his height. He is 6'1", and the board is very comfortable for his height. The only down-side that I might mention is the inablility to fold completely flat. However, I knew this before I purchased it, so it was not unexpected. He uses it daily, sometimes multiple times a day, so folding it would be more hassle than it's worth for him anyway. I looked at other products with heat or massage, but he uses it for short periods, and these features would not be of enough benefit to warrant the extra cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Better than expected!

01/18/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Searching for an inversion table on-line is similar to buying shoes...It's just so hard to tell if the item will be the right size, what is the quality etc. My decision to purchase was originally decided by price and reviews. Walmart offered the best on-line price. But, truthfully, at that price I didn't expect much. I was surprised at how sturdy and comfortable it is. The board is nice and firmly padded and the frame work is hefty. Not rickety at all. As far as size, it does take up some space - you will need an area of approximately 3' x 5' to place and use it. I am 5'4" (135 lbs.) and my husband is 6'1" (185 lbs.) and we both experienced the same level of comfort and sense of safety/durability. The adjustable leg braces are also nicely foam padded. I have recommended this item to my friends and neighbors because I am so happy with it. And unlike other equipment I have bought and not used - I just can't stay off this thing because it is so much fun!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table
01/12/2012
By ,
alma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'VE BEEN USING INVERSION TABLES FOR ABOUT 30 YEARS, AND THE TWO MOST IMPORTANT FACTORS ARE COMFORT WHILE INVERTED & BEING ABLE TO HANG AT 180 DEGREES. I PURCHASED THIS TABLE AS A GIFT & JUST GOT FRIEND'S FEEDBACK ABOUT THIS UNIT. THE 180 DEGREES WAS EASY TO ACHIEVE (WITHOUT HOLDING ON ) BY MOVING THE FULCRUM TO A DIFFERENT HOLE. INSTEAD OF 4 FOAM RUBBER ROLLS TO HOLD THE FEET IN PLACE, THIS UNIT HAS ONLY 2 FOR THE INSTEP & HARD RUBBER (LIKE ENGINE MOTOR MOUNTS) TO SECURE THE ACHILLES TENDON AREA WHICH WAS PAINFUL. I SOLVED THAT PROBLEM BY PURCHASING 2 ROUND RUBBER ROLLS ONLINE FOR $10 EACH PLUS SHIPPING. HOWEVER, ANOTHER PROBLEM REQUIRED MOUNTING THIS TABLE ON 7" BLOCKS SO ARMS CAN HANG RELAXED WITHOUT TOUCHING THE FLOOR. WITH THESE UPGRADES THE TABLE PERFORMS BETTER. IT INVERTS EASILY BY SLOWLY RAISING ARMS OVER THE HEAD UNTIL FULLY INVERTED. HOWEVER, COMING BACK TO THE HORIZONTAL REST POSITION REQUIRES PULLING UP ON THE HANDLES BUT DOES BALANCE OKAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thanks for the helpful review!
Posted 09/13/2014
The critical piece you provided was 180 Degrees "WITHOUT HOLDING ON" ..that was the deciding factor for choosing this model.
Thank you!!
Randy CT
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The ease of use is astonishing.

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am amazed at how easily this inversion table functions. Most of all, I am extremely impressed with the balance point, and how easily the unit lays back and returns to full upright position simply by moving the hand and arms forward and back.
The unit is sturdy, and adjusts to different heights (different users) easily.
As a first time user of an inversion table, I did not know what to expect in relation to my body's reaction. After getting use to gravity pulling my inners and outers in an unfamiliar position/direction, I found the different positions very relaxing and therapeutic. The relief on the lower back tension and compression has been remarkable. I would recommend the Ironman 990 to back problem sufferers and non-sufferers alike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good Buy

12/19/2013
By ,
Sou
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of all the tables near this price point none seemed to be as substantially built as this one and upon receipt it turned out to be true. This is a very well put together piece of equipment and I cannot imagine anything going wrong with it ever.
The assembly was pretty straight forward but I am mechanically inclined. It might be easier with an assistant to hold parts in position for you but I did it alone. The supplied tools were adequate but I used a socket and ratchet to speed things up.
Care must be used in the orientation of table surface to frame as I think it would be possible to mount it upside down and/or backwards front to back.
Unlike my chiropractor's table it does not achieve full vertical, but it is within a very few degrees. For evaluation I have no point of reference and these are the only two I've ever been on.
There is a pull pin that allows the legs to be folder for storage but it still a big rather unwieldy chunk as you would expect. It may go under a bed but it's hard to maneuver by yourself.
To my eye I don't see how they can build these for so little money. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

An outstanding value for "inverting"

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very, very pleased with this inversion table. The engineering for assembly is really exceptional; the packaging, labelling and instructions for assemble were so easy to do. And, the table is robustly constructed and does exactly what one expects. The only little limtation I have experienced is that I have to "push" the table into a completely vertical inverted position (all the way against the stop) and use a rope to secure it there while I am hanging inverted. I'm not sure that the "totally vertical" position is even intended for the table, but I personally want to go all the way vertical. It probably makes virtually no difference in the effect the positions have on the body; the difference between "fully vertical" and the steepest vertical achieved without the "push" is probably trivial.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

this thing is awesome, but do your research!

09/05/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints about this table whatsoever! Assuming you assemble it correctly, it feels absolutely solid, and is comfortable... you also can't beat the price. Just do your homework on inversion tables. It will put some strain on your eyes, and the blood will collect in your head. Only do this for a maximum of 2-5 minutes per day (I do 2 min before bed, and 2 min in the morning). Also, when on it, take slow deep breaths. Doing so will draw some of the blood from your head to your lungs, making you a bit more comfortable. Your back will LOVE you for this. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Inversion Table

12/02/2014
By ,
East Peoria, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table. The table is very comfortable & works well except that the bolts (pins) on the bars on the right side have broken off. When the table is inverted backwards with weight on it, the pins busted off and went flying. There are two 2 pins on each side - the ones on the right have both busted off now, however my husband went and bought new ones that were stronger and better pins and replaced them for a minimal cost. The pins that come with the inversion table are not a good grade of steel and therefore are compromised when weight is put on the table. This is why I only gave the Product Rating 4 stars.
The company needs to be contacted to correct this problem with the pins.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

This thing is gigantic and super heavy!

12/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I returned this item. This table was really disappointing!!! I am 5'4" and my head was hanging off the end uncomfortably! I tried adjusting it, but then you screw up the weight proportioning and you either flip backwards very quickly, or do not flip over enough. The real problem for me was the size of this thing! I don't know what kind of bed this could be stored under!!! My bed is about a foot off of the ground, but was not even close to high enough for this thing. Plus it took two people just to move it. It is REALLY heavy, bulky and inconvenient. So unless you have the perfect wide-open space for it in your home, please don't get this thinking you can hide it away.
Recommends this product? No
From ParadigmHealth12/08/2014
Thank you for your Feedback. Please note before returning any unit contact our customer service support hotline. We are here to walk you through getting your Inversion table into Storage mode to fit under your bed, for your convenience and future reference we also have some adjustment and maintenance videos located on our YouTube channel, http://www.youtube.com/user/paradigmhw. If needed we would be able to replace parts of the unit, Please contact us, our toll free Customer Service number is 844-641-7920 or email us at Service@paradigmhw.com. Once again thank you for the feedback you have provided, it will be helpful in improving the overall quality of this Inversion table.ParadigmHW
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

tilt

11/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just got it put together yesterday and used it for the first time last night so I dont have a lot of feedback yet. But initially I will say that-
- assembly was quick and easy
- it is heavy and heavy duty although easy to slide across my hardwood floors
-it is easy to use, the bars for your hands are sturdy and right where you want them
-the things that hold your feet are comfortable but they dont look as heavy duty as the frame
-mine had a scuffed spot in the vinyl cover on the backboard where one of the heavy metal parts was sitting in the box but I am not worried about it. It did not go all the way through
as far as results go I just dont know yet but I have had recommendations from 3 close friends that these things work great for a bad back
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

I'd could kick myself for not getting this sooner

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews of this Inversion Table and seeing the price I finally bought it. Best thing I've done in a long time. I'm 6'3'' and 250lbs and was a little weary about the construction of the table. I'm about to the limits of what the specs say and very surprised how well it really is. My worries were for nothing. :-) On the very first use it I could tell a difference. My issue is in my shoulder or neck but have always wanted my back cracked. I've never been to the chiropractor and didn't want to head down that road. Anyway, I use the table daily. I'm up to 25 minutes at a time but don't always go that long. Ideally I'd like to use it several time a day but I can't take it to work. :-( It's probably just me but I also enjoy rocking up and down just with the little adjustment to arm position. LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Returned it after 4 days

04/23/2014
By ,
Central New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have returned this product today. I have given five stars because the product itself is very good. However, the concept of "Inversion Table" is flawed.
Pros:
Easy to assemble (it looks complex but there are only 4 big parts and 4 small parts), it took me les than 30 minutes.
Packing was good
Very easy to operate
Easy to adjust for different heights and my head NEVER bumped to the floor
Easy to adjust how much "inversion" you need
I cannot think of any reason what an expensive model would offer.
Cons:
The concept of "Inversion table" didn't work well for me. It made sense in commercials but not in person. In this concept: in order for your back to stretch, first your ankles and knees get stretched. You are technically hanging by your ankles and knees. It gets painful after a minute. So, I did not see any benefit to my back and all I could sense was pain to my ankles and knees.
Although I gave five stars, I would not recommend any inversion table product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table
05/25/2011
By ,
Baja California, Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both have back problems. We borrowed a more expensive brand table from a friend to see if it would work for us. We found relief by doing the inversion therapy so decided to purchase a table. After reading reviews, we decided on this model. The deciding factor for us was the foam foot holders. The more expensive table had the rubber type u-shaped holders for both front and back of the leg and it pinched or dug in to the top of our feet. This model has the adjustable foam roller for the top of the foot and we find it much more comfortable when fully inverted. This table is easily adjustable for our different heights and was easy to assemble, best with 2 people, one to hold the items in place and one to tighten nuts and bolts. As a few of the other reviews mentioned, it is easy to install some of the parts backwards so follow the picture of the table, as well as, the instructions to get it together correctly. This table is very sturdy and well constructed for the price, in addition to being very effective in the inversion therapy. We are very happy with the appearance, durability, ease of adjustment, and use. For those that get on an inversion table and think, "Oh, I can't do this", try slight inversion and work up to total gradually. It gets easier to tolerate being upside down and is worth the initial discomfort!
Pros: Functional, Inexpensive, Durable, easy to adjust
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

what the doctors couldn't do

04/24/2012
By ,
Spring, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 64 year old, 6'4" 250 lb trial lawyer. My stinosis had gotten so bad I couldn't walk across the courtroom to approach a witness. After chiropractor I went to a back specialist who, in a small operation, injected steroids into the L3, L4 area of my spine. Still no relief, so what the heck, I'll try anything and I heard about inversion tables from all the doctors. Not expensive, $139, and the results are spectacular. I can't stay upside down real long yet so I try to do two short stints of 2-5 minutes, one in the morning, one getting home from work. I'm a kid again as long as I keep at it. I go to the bay 2 to 3 days a week and I start getting gippy by the time I return so I'm buying a second one for there. Best $139 bet I ever placed. Hope it works as good for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Great value

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built piece of equipment. Easy assembly. Folds for storage. Solid and comfortable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good Value

11/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I assembled this, one of the plastic foot caps was broken, but I notified customer service and received not one but two replacements right away. Also the head on one of the bolts broke, so I had to replace it. All in all though, the construction and quality on this table is quite a bit superior to the Body Champ table that I had, which broke. The ankle supports are quite a bit more comfortable as well. So far I am happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good Product

12/15/2010
By ,
Bismarck, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product came with great instructions, and was easy to put together. It definitely eases the pressure on your lower back. I was so hoping it would work for my back pain, but I just could not take standing on my head. I even set the strap so I was not completely upside down, but I still wanted to throw up in 3 minutes. It worked great for my husband. I do recommend this product, but make sure you can take standing on your head to get the benefits of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 472 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next