Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ironman Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Ironman Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table is designed to provide you with back and stress relief in the comfort of your home. This Ironman inversion table provides continuous blood circulation throughout your body so you can feel better. This heavy duty Ironman table keeps your muscles flexible to help improve your athletic performance. The steel frame Ironman inversion table has a 3/4-inch soft- foam backrest for comfort. The scratch-resistant, powder-coated finish of this table gives it a sleek and polished look. The table can be inverted in different angles with the help of an adjustable strap. The ankle holders keep your ankles safely in place when the table is inverted and during return to its upright position. This Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table has a weight capacity of 275 pounds and the height can be adjusted from 410 to 66 so everyone in your household can enjoy the benefits.
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(467 Reviews) 435
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
323
4 stars
105
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation95%442 out of 467reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 302 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
323
4 stars
105
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Skeptical - pleasantly surprised

12/21/2012
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received this on Monday quicker delivery than expected. My hubby put it together that night, took about 45 mins, without much swearing, so I assume it went together fairly smoothly. Once it was assembled, I immediately jump on it, only went partial inversion. I've been increasing the inversion slant daily. I was very skeptical about it helping my back (spinal stenosis with sciatic) but I tried everything else so figured I'd give this a try - why not? After 5 days, I feel real improvement. I'm not 100% but I did not need to take any meds yesterday or today. This is a first in 9 months!!!! I am pleasantly surprised!! I use the table twice a day for 3-5 mins each time. For the price, you should give it a try, it's well constructed and has help my back pain. Hoping for more improvement as the weeks go by.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread :o)

03/31/2014
By ,
Westchester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I assembled this chair on Sunday (3/30/14) and tested it out; adjusting the straps to control the angle of inversion; supported my neck with a neck roll as I didn't like the feel of the blood going to my head. All I have to say is that Sunday afternoon the constant and dull pain in my back has practically disappeared. So after only a day and being used twice, I am singing its praise!
Note: It is big and it is heavy and will look awful in your space (if not a basement), but your health is a priority over esthetics. It is also a little scary being inverted, but do it slowly, using the handlebars at all times.
PS: The only little "Con" is that I wish there were some type of ankle straps.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Westchester, NY
Assembly?
Posted 04/07/2014
How difficult was it to put together? Like is it "partially" assembled or not at all and needs to be assembled completely? thanks!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Excellent Inversion Table

04/18/2014
By ,
Rockwall, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rate the entire process, "Outstanding"! The ordering portion was efficient, timely, and inorder! The product is of great quality as compared to more expensive tables, not just in looks but usability as well. In shopping for an Inversion Table, I saved approximately 200$ by purchasing this product! Sometimes more money does not equate to a better product and this is a prime example! Bottomline, this table will serve you well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Sturdy, comfortable, well-made, works well

12/15/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product arrived promptly and in good condition. There was a small bend on one metal plate, but it was straightened easily. This is very sturdy and well-built. My husband has broken his back 3 times and needs relief from disc pain. He cannot completely invert, so the adjustable strap to control the angle is a good feature for him. The large handles make it very easy to grab to help right himself, although it is usually unnecessary since it is balanced for his height. He is 6'1", and the board is very comfortable for his height. The only down-side that I might mention is the inablility to fold completely flat. However, I knew this before I purchased it, so it was not unexpected. He uses it daily, sometimes multiple times a day, so folding it would be more hassle than it's worth for him anyway. I looked at other products with heat or massage, but he uses it for short periods, and these features would not be of enough benefit to warrant the extra cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The ease of use is astonishing.

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am amazed at how easily this inversion table functions. Most of all, I am extremely impressed with the balance point, and how easily the unit lays back and returns to full upright position simply by moving the hand and arms forward and back.
The unit is sturdy, and adjusts to different heights (different users) easily.
As a first time user of an inversion table, I did not know what to expect in relation to my body's reaction. After getting use to gravity pulling my inners and outers in an unfamiliar position/direction, I found the different positions very relaxing and therapeutic. The relief on the lower back tension and compression has been remarkable. I would recommend the Ironman 990 to back problem sufferers and non-sufferers alike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

this thing is awesome, but do your research!

09/05/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints about this table whatsoever! Assuming you assemble it correctly, it feels absolutely solid, and is comfortable... you also can't beat the price. Just do your homework on inversion tables. It will put some strain on your eyes, and the blood will collect in your head. Only do this for a maximum of 2-5 minutes per day (I do 2 min before bed, and 2 min in the morning). Also, when on it, take slow deep breaths. Doing so will draw some of the blood from your head to your lungs, making you a bit more comfortable. Your back will LOVE you for this. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Better than expected!

01/18/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Searching for an inversion table on-line is similar to buying shoes...It's just so hard to tell if the item will be the right size, what is the quality etc. My decision to purchase was originally decided by price and reviews. Walmart offered the best on-line price. But, truthfully, at that price I didn't expect much. I was surprised at how sturdy and comfortable it is. The board is nice and firmly padded and the frame work is hefty. Not rickety at all. As far as size, it does take up some space - you will need an area of approximately 3' x 5' to place and use it. I am 5'4" (135 lbs.) and my husband is 6'1" (185 lbs.) and we both experienced the same level of comfort and sense of safety/durability. The adjustable leg braces are also nicely foam padded. I have recommended this item to my friends and neighbors because I am so happy with it. And unlike other equipment I have bought and not used - I just can't stay off this thing because it is so much fun!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

An outstanding value for "inverting"

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very, very pleased with this inversion table. The engineering for assembly is really exceptional; the packaging, labelling and instructions for assemble were so easy to do. And, the table is robustly constructed and does exactly what one expects. The only little limtation I have experienced is that I have to "push" the table into a completely vertical inverted position (all the way against the stop) and use a rope to secure it there while I am hanging inverted. I'm not sure that the "totally vertical" position is even intended for the table, but I personally want to go all the way vertical. It probably makes virtually no difference in the effect the positions have on the body; the difference between "fully vertical" and the steepest vertical achieved without the "push" is probably trivial.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table
01/12/2012
By ,
alma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'VE BEEN USING INVERSION TABLES FOR ABOUT 30 YEARS, AND THE TWO MOST IMPORTANT FACTORS ARE COMFORT WHILE INVERTED & BEING ABLE TO HANG AT 180 DEGREES. I PURCHASED THIS TABLE AS A GIFT & JUST GOT FRIEND'S FEEDBACK ABOUT THIS UNIT. THE 180 DEGREES WAS EASY TO ACHIEVE (WITHOUT HOLDING ON ) BY MOVING THE FULCRUM TO A DIFFERENT HOLE. INSTEAD OF 4 FOAM RUBBER ROLLS TO HOLD THE FEET IN PLACE, THIS UNIT HAS ONLY 2 FOR THE INSTEP & HARD RUBBER (LIKE ENGINE MOTOR MOUNTS) TO SECURE THE ACHILLES TENDON AREA WHICH WAS PAINFUL. I SOLVED THAT PROBLEM BY PURCHASING 2 ROUND RUBBER ROLLS ONLINE FOR $10 EACH PLUS SHIPPING. HOWEVER, ANOTHER PROBLEM REQUIRED MOUNTING THIS TABLE ON 7" BLOCKS SO ARMS CAN HANG RELAXED WITHOUT TOUCHING THE FLOOR. WITH THESE UPGRADES THE TABLE PERFORMS BETTER. IT INVERTS EASILY BY SLOWLY RAISING ARMS OVER THE HEAD UNTIL FULLY INVERTED. HOWEVER, COMING BACK TO THE HORIZONTAL REST POSITION REQUIRES PULLING UP ON THE HANDLES BUT DOES BALANCE OKAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thanks for the helpful review!
Posted 09/13/2014
The critical piece you provided was 180 Degrees "WITHOUT HOLDING ON" ..that was the deciding factor for choosing this model.
Thank you!!
Randy CT
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Thoughful design and well built for home use

10/10/2014
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't have any experience with other units but this one is a good value and exceeded my expectations. The design is well thought-out, the materials are sturdy and should stand up to daily home use for a long time. At this price point I was expecting a product that may reflect some cost cutting in materials, but that was not the case. It functions exactly as it should, too. It is easy to assemble. Follow the assembly instruction manual and anyone can do it. I encountered one glitch when attaching the table to the pivot arms. The mounting brackets welded on the table wouldn't fit between the pivot arms while they were mounted to the frame. So I removed one of the pivot arms, attached the opposite side of the table to its pivot arm, then reinstalled the second arm and easily completed the assembly. Nice product at a good price. I'm well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good Buy

12/19/2013
By ,
Sou
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of all the tables near this price point none seemed to be as substantially built as this one and upon receipt it turned out to be true. This is a very well put together piece of equipment and I cannot imagine anything going wrong with it ever.
The assembly was pretty straight forward but I am mechanically inclined. It might be easier with an assistant to hold parts in position for you but I did it alone. The supplied tools were adequate but I used a socket and ratchet to speed things up.
Care must be used in the orientation of table surface to frame as I think it would be possible to mount it upside down and/or backwards front to back.
Unlike my chiropractor's table it does not achieve full vertical, but it is within a very few degrees. For evaluation I have no point of reference and these are the only two I've ever been on.
There is a pull pin that allows the legs to be folder for storage but it still a big rather unwieldy chunk as you would expect. It may go under a bed but it's hard to maneuver by yourself.
To my eye I don't see how they can build these for so little money. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

I'd could kick myself for not getting this sooner

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews of this Inversion Table and seeing the price I finally bought it. Best thing I've done in a long time. I'm 6'3'' and 250lbs and was a little weary about the construction of the table. I'm about to the limits of what the specs say and very surprised how well it really is. My worries were for nothing. :-) On the very first use it I could tell a difference. My issue is in my shoulder or neck but have always wanted my back cracked. I've never been to the chiropractor and didn't want to head down that road. Anyway, I use the table daily. I'm up to 25 minutes at a time but don't always go that long. Ideally I'd like to use it several time a day but I can't take it to work. :-( It's probably just me but I also enjoy rocking up and down just with the little adjustment to arm position. LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Returned it after 4 days

04/23/2014
By ,
Central New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have returned this product today. I have given five stars because the product itself is very good. However, the concept of "Inversion Table" is flawed.
Pros:
Easy to assemble (it looks complex but there are only 4 big parts and 4 small parts), it took me les than 30 minutes.
Packing was good
Very easy to operate
Easy to adjust for different heights and my head NEVER bumped to the floor
Easy to adjust how much "inversion" you need
I cannot think of any reason what an expensive model would offer.
Cons:
The concept of "Inversion table" didn't work well for me. It made sense in commercials but not in person. In this concept: in order for your back to stretch, first your ankles and knees get stretched. You are technically hanging by your ankles and knees. It gets painful after a minute. So, I did not see any benefit to my back and all I could sense was pain to my ankles and knees.
Although I gave five stars, I would not recommend any inversion table product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

A WONDERFUL PRODUCT

04/12/2011
By ,
cumberland, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband is almost 6ft tall. I however am under 5 ft tall. This product was purchased for myself as I stand for many hours in one spot each day. My husband starting using it as soon as it was assembled and uses it daily also. It is very easy to quickly adjust to both our heights. Assembly was easy for him. It is sturdy and the pads holding your ankles is very secure and comfortable (my biggest concern due to my size)
We were both able to incline fully the first day, though I would caution everyone take their time as the manual stipulates.
Please note that I am 60 years old and find no discomfort using this product. I have not exercised daily for many years but do recommend the warm up exercises also in the back of the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table
05/25/2011
By ,
Baja California, Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both have back problems. We borrowed a more expensive brand table from a friend to see if it would work for us. We found relief by doing the inversion therapy so decided to purchase a table. After reading reviews, we decided on this model. The deciding factor for us was the foam foot holders. The more expensive table had the rubber type u-shaped holders for both front and back of the leg and it pinched or dug in to the top of our feet. This model has the adjustable foam roller for the top of the foot and we find it much more comfortable when fully inverted. This table is easily adjustable for our different heights and was easy to assemble, best with 2 people, one to hold the items in place and one to tighten nuts and bolts. As a few of the other reviews mentioned, it is easy to install some of the parts backwards so follow the picture of the table, as well as, the instructions to get it together correctly. This table is very sturdy and well constructed for the price, in addition to being very effective in the inversion therapy. We are very happy with the appearance, durability, ease of adjustment, and use. For those that get on an inversion table and think, "Oh, I can't do this", try slight inversion and work up to total gradually. It gets easier to tolerate being upside down and is worth the initial discomfort!
Pros: Functional, Inexpensive, Durable, easy to adjust
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Affordable table, good quality, can't complain

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Table seems to be built well. Assembly takes about 15 mins (probably shorter if you're not watching netflix during) and all the tools you need come with the table. Works great, fully adjustable, and the concept of the inversion table itself definitely seems to help my back. Foot holds will eventually make your feet go numb if you remain inverted long enough, but I think that comes with the territory because padding seems adequate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Better than expected.

10/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This inversion table is heavier duty than I expected and should be very durable. This makes it a bit heavier than some others, but I'll take it for the stability and quality. If I had to nitpick, it would be that it seems a little tougher to get upright from hanging. Perhaps the pivot angle or something? Nevertheless, I would rate it five stars and recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Felt pain relief right away!

10/10/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received our Ironman table sooner than we expected. The assembly went well with fairly clear instructions. It is easy to adjust to our different heights as my wife and myself both use it. I have been experiencing sciatic pain and have felt some relief since starting to use this table. It was very easy to order this table from the Walmart website. We would recommend this table to anyone experiencing back problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good deal

10/06/2014
By ,
San Gabriel CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hope the parts are going to last! Seem to me not very durable. They need to improve the instruction manuel the way they drew the photos are not clear. Took me 3 hours to assemble everything. It's good value. With a hundred bucks or so one gets such a big piece of equipment is pretty good deal. (I regretted doing this survey...since as of now it won't let me get off and it just wouldn't get uploaded without putting in a tremendous amount of information...Time is Precious, folks at the Ironman!!!!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Helps my back.

09/12/2014
By ,
Stockton,Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to put together. It is a heavy duty piece of equipment. I am very pleased with this unit. Gives me great relief after a long day at work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 436 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next