Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ironman Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Ironman Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table is designed to provide you with back and stress relief in the comfort of your home. This Ironman inversion table provides continuous blood circulation throughout your body so you can feel better. This heavy duty Ironman table keeps your muscles flexible to help improve your athletic performance. The steel frame Ironman inversion table has a 3/4-inch soft- foam backrest for comfort. The scratch-resistant, powder-coated finish of this table gives it a sleek and polished look. The table can be inverted in different angles with the help of an adjustable strap. The ankle holders keep your ankles safely in place when the table is inverted and during return to its upright position. This Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table has a weight capacity of 275 pounds and the height can be adjusted from 410 to 66 so everyone in your household can enjoy the benefits.
Average Customer Rating:
4.527 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(298 Reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
208
4 stars
65
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation95%283 out of 298reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 220 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
208
4 stars
65
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Skeptical - pleasantly surprised

12/21/2012
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received this on Monday quicker delivery than expected. My hubby put it together that night, took about 45 mins, without much swearing, so I assume it went together fairly smoothly. Once it was assembled, I immediately jump on it, only went partial inversion. I've been increasing the inversion slant daily. I was very skeptical about it helping my back (spinal stenosis with sciatic) but I tried everything else so figured I'd give this a try - why not? After 5 days, I feel real improvement. I'm not 100% but I did not need to take any meds yesterday or today. This is a first in 9 months!!!! I am pleasantly surprised!! I use the table twice a day for 3-5 mins each time. For the price, you should give it a try, it's well constructed and has help my back pain. Hoping for more improvement as the weeks go by.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread :o)

03/31/2014
By ,
Westchester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I assembled this chair on Sunday (3/30/14) and tested it out; adjusting the straps to control the angle of inversion; supported my neck with a neck roll as I didn't like the feel of the blood going to my head. All I have to say is that Sunday afternoon the constant and dull pain in my back has practically disappeared. So after only a day and being used twice, I am singing its praise!
Note: It is big and it is heavy and will look awful in your space (if not a basement), but your health is a priority over esthetics. It is also a little scary being inverted, but do it slowly, using the handlebars at all times.
PS: The only little "Con" is that I wish there were some type of ankle straps.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Westchester, NY
Assembly?
Posted 04/07/2014
How difficult was it to put together? Like is it "partially" assembled or not at all and needs to be assembled completely? thanks!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Excellent Inversion Table

04/18/2014
By ,
Rockwall, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rate the entire process, "Outstanding"! The ordering portion was efficient, timely, and inorder! The product is of great quality as compared to more expensive tables, not just in looks but usability as well. In shopping for an Inversion Table, I saved approximately 200$ by purchasing this product! Sometimes more money does not equate to a better product and this is a prime example! Bottomline, this table will serve you well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Sturdy, comfortable, well-made, works well

12/15/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product arrived promptly and in good condition. There was a small bend on one metal plate, but it was straightened easily. This is very sturdy and well-built. My husband has broken his back 3 times and needs relief from disc pain. He cannot completely invert, so the adjustable strap to control the angle is a good feature for him. The large handles make it very easy to grab to help right himself, although it is usually unnecessary since it is balanced for his height. He is 6'1", and the board is very comfortable for his height. The only down-side that I might mention is the inablility to fold completely flat. However, I knew this before I purchased it, so it was not unexpected. He uses it daily, sometimes multiple times a day, so folding it would be more hassle than it's worth for him anyway. I looked at other products with heat or massage, but he uses it for short periods, and these features would not be of enough benefit to warrant the extra cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good Buy

12/19/2013
By ,
Sou
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of all the tables near this price point none seemed to be as substantially built as this one and upon receipt it turned out to be true. This is a very well put together piece of equipment and I cannot imagine anything going wrong with it ever.
The assembly was pretty straight forward but I am mechanically inclined. It might be easier with an assistant to hold parts in position for you but I did it alone. The supplied tools were adequate but I used a socket and ratchet to speed things up.
Care must be used in the orientation of table surface to frame as I think it would be possible to mount it upside down and/or backwards front to back.
Unlike my chiropractor's table it does not achieve full vertical, but it is within a very few degrees. For evaluation I have no point of reference and these are the only two I've ever been on.
There is a pull pin that allows the legs to be folder for storage but it still a big rather unwieldy chunk as you would expect. It may go under a bed but it's hard to maneuver by yourself.
To my eye I don't see how they can build these for so little money. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table
01/12/2012
By ,
alma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'VE BEEN USING INVERSION TABLES FOR ABOUT 30 YEARS, AND THE TWO MOST IMPORTANT FACTORS ARE COMFORT WHILE INVERTED & BEING ABLE TO HANG AT 180 DEGREES. I PURCHASED THIS TABLE AS A GIFT & JUST GOT FRIEND'S FEEDBACK ABOUT THIS UNIT. THE 180 DEGREES WAS EASY TO ACHIEVE (WITHOUT HOLDING ON ) BY MOVING THE FULCRUM TO A DIFFERENT HOLE. INSTEAD OF 4 FOAM RUBBER ROLLS TO HOLD THE FEET IN PLACE, THIS UNIT HAS ONLY 2 FOR THE INSTEP & HARD RUBBER (LIKE ENGINE MOTOR MOUNTS) TO SECURE THE ACHILLES TENDON AREA WHICH WAS PAINFUL. I SOLVED THAT PROBLEM BY PURCHASING 2 ROUND RUBBER ROLLS ONLINE FOR $10 EACH PLUS SHIPPING. HOWEVER, ANOTHER PROBLEM REQUIRED MOUNTING THIS TABLE ON 7" BLOCKS SO ARMS CAN HANG RELAXED WITHOUT TOUCHING THE FLOOR. WITH THESE UPGRADES THE TABLE PERFORMS BETTER. IT INVERTS EASILY BY SLOWLY RAISING ARMS OVER THE HEAD UNTIL FULLY INVERTED. HOWEVER, COMING BACK TO THE HORIZONTAL REST POSITION REQUIRES PULLING UP ON THE HANDLES BUT DOES BALANCE OKAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Better than expected!

01/18/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Searching for an inversion table on-line is similar to buying shoes...It's just so hard to tell if the item will be the right size, what is the quality etc. My decision to purchase was originally decided by price and reviews. Walmart offered the best on-line price. But, truthfully, at that price I didn't expect much. I was surprised at how sturdy and comfortable it is. The board is nice and firmly padded and the frame work is hefty. Not rickety at all. As far as size, it does take up some space - you will need an area of approximately 3' x 5' to place and use it. I am 5'4" (135 lbs.) and my husband is 6'1" (185 lbs.) and we both experienced the same level of comfort and sense of safety/durability. The adjustable leg braces are also nicely foam padded. I have recommended this item to my friends and neighbors because I am so happy with it. And unlike other equipment I have bought and not used - I just can't stay off this thing because it is so much fun!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

03/09/2014
By ,
Central NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted one of these Inversion Tables for awhile but the one advertised on TV "Teeter" cost almost 3 times as much and I wasn't about to pay that much money for one. Was surprised at the Great Feedback I read about on this one. Let me tell you this Ironman Inversion Table is a great piece of equipment. I read that it was built to last and once I uncovered it out of the box I could see how well it was made. Worth more to me then the price I paid. I like it so much I recommend this Ironman Brand and Model 990 Inversion Table. Trust me you will be happy once you get yours. For the money you can't go wrong. Just 5 minutes on this table and you will feel the difference right away.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Awesome product

01/12/2014
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for the best inversion table and reviewed many products and what customers had to say and Ironman had so many great reviews so I decided to buy based on 100's of rave reviews and I can see why. This table is very sturdy and easy to assemble. I use it daily, after carrying heavy rolls of carpets on my shoulders all day long my spine gets compressed. I have it set at 20 percent inversion and since using it I have had no back problems. am a skeptical person so I can honestly say to spend the money to get this product or even the more expensive one because it is well worth the price and I have not lost any work since using it. I have recommended it to my co-workers and they have even bought one. Awesome awesome product. Thank you Ironman you rock
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

MY BACK HAS NOT FELT BETTER IN YEARS

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A FRIEND TOLD ME I SHOULD TRY A INVERSION TABLE FOR MY BACK AND THEY WERE CORRECT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table
05/25/2011
By ,
Baja California, Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both have back problems. We borrowed a more expensive brand table from a friend to see if it would work for us. We found relief by doing the inversion therapy so decided to purchase a table. After reading reviews, we decided on this model. The deciding factor for us was the foam foot holders. The more expensive table had the rubber type u-shaped holders for both front and back of the leg and it pinched or dug in to the top of our feet. This model has the adjustable foam roller for the top of the foot and we find it much more comfortable when fully inverted. This table is easily adjustable for our different heights and was easy to assemble, best with 2 people, one to hold the items in place and one to tighten nuts and bolts. As a few of the other reviews mentioned, it is easy to install some of the parts backwards so follow the picture of the table, as well as, the instructions to get it together correctly. This table is very sturdy and well constructed for the price, in addition to being very effective in the inversion therapy. We are very happy with the appearance, durability, ease of adjustment, and use. For those that get on an inversion table and think, "Oh, I can't do this", try slight inversion and work up to total gradually. It gets easier to tolerate being upside down and is worth the initial discomfort!
Pros: Functional, Inexpensive, Durable, easy to adjust
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

A WONDERFUL PRODUCT

04/12/2011
By ,
cumberland, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband is almost 6ft tall. I however am under 5 ft tall. This product was purchased for myself as I stand for many hours in one spot each day. My husband starting using it as soon as it was assembled and uses it daily also. It is very easy to quickly adjust to both our heights. Assembly was easy for him. It is sturdy and the pads holding your ankles is very secure and comfortable (my biggest concern due to my size)
We were both able to incline fully the first day, though I would caution everyone take their time as the manual stipulates.
Please note that I am 60 years old and find no discomfort using this product. I have not exercised daily for many years but do recommend the warm up exercises also in the back of the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Great

04/16/2014
By ,
Needville,Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't have any problems with assembling this product. It was rather easy. I love it and it has worked wonders for my back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

heavy duty and works great. USE IT 3 TIMES A WEEK.

02/18/2014
By ,
Canterbury, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HAS REALLY HELPED STIFFNESS IN MY BACK.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Great value

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have looked at these for years and finally bought this one because of the reviews I read. I agree this is as good as you will get for the money! This table is strong( I weigh 250) and easy to assemble. Also nice they shipped to my Walmart for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Great quality for the money..

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The assembly was very easy. The tools included would work but I used my own ratchet to speed it up. The adjustments are very easy to understand based on your height. Works well! After a day sitting all day a great way to get the kinks out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good buy good product

02/18/2012
By ,
no
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recieved my inversion table in 5 to 7 days instead of the 10 that was stated. Putting the table togather was about a 20 minute job using the tools and parts as shipped from Walmart. The Ironman is a very smooth operating table if you set the height to your actual height. If it doesn't invert all the way you need to set the height for a shorter person but keep in mind that it will turn upside down quicker and be harder to bring back to an upright position at shorter settings. I have been on more expensive units that required me to pull myself back to the upright position but with this product all that was required was bringing my arms back to my waist.
If you are looking for a unit to do inverted situps this is not the one for you but if you are looking for a unit for the purpose of decompressing you spin this is a good machine at a very fair price. I had back surgury in 2006 and I am now trying to prevent another visit to the OR. I have found some relief using my table but it is too early to declare it as being the cure all. Today I have no back pain and I think it is due to my Ironman. Time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

great value

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works like it says
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Relief

02/15/2014
By ,
Waipahu HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stretches back vertebrae relieves compression of discs. I should of purchased sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Helps my back

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 6'2 225 and worked good for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 267 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next