Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ironman Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Ironman Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table is designed to provide you with back and stress relief in the comfort of your home. This Ironman inversion table provides continuous blood circulation throughout your body so you can feel better. This heavy duty Ironman table keeps your muscles flexible to help improve your athletic performance. The steel frame Ironman inversion table has a 3/4-inch soft- foam backrest for comfort. The scratch-resistant, powder-coated finish of this table gives it a sleek and polished look. The table can be inverted in different angles with the help of an adjustable strap. The ankle holders keep your ankles safely in place when the table is inverted and during return to its upright position. This Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table has a weight capacity of 275 pounds and the height can be adjusted from 410 to 66 so everyone in your household can enjoy the benefits.
Average Customer Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(431 Reviews) 399
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
294
4 stars
101
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation94%407 out of 431reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 286 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
294
4 stars
101
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread :o)

03/31/2014
By ,
Westchester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I assembled this chair on Sunday (3/30/14) and tested it out; adjusting the straps to control the angle of inversion; supported my neck with a neck roll as I didn't like the feel of the blood going to my head. All I have to say is that Sunday afternoon the constant and dull pain in my back has practically disappeared. So after only a day and being used twice, I am singing its praise!
Note: It is big and it is heavy and will look awful in your space (if not a basement), but your health is a priority over esthetics. It is also a little scary being inverted, but do it slowly, using the handlebars at all times.
PS: The only little "Con" is that I wish there were some type of ankle straps.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Westchester, NY
Assembly?
Posted 04/07/2014
How difficult was it to put together? Like is it "partially" assembled or not at all and needs to be assembled completely? thanks!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Excellent Inversion Table

04/18/2014
By ,
Rockwall, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rate the entire process, "Outstanding"! The ordering portion was efficient, timely, and inorder! The product is of great quality as compared to more expensive tables, not just in looks but usability as well. In shopping for an Inversion Table, I saved approximately 200$ by purchasing this product! Sometimes more money does not equate to a better product and this is a prime example! Bottomline, this table will serve you well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Sturdy, comfortable, well-made, works well

12/15/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product arrived promptly and in good condition. There was a small bend on one metal plate, but it was straightened easily. This is very sturdy and well-built. My husband has broken his back 3 times and needs relief from disc pain. He cannot completely invert, so the adjustable strap to control the angle is a good feature for him. The large handles make it very easy to grab to help right himself, although it is usually unnecessary since it is balanced for his height. He is 6'1", and the board is very comfortable for his height. The only down-side that I might mention is the inablility to fold completely flat. However, I knew this before I purchased it, so it was not unexpected. He uses it daily, sometimes multiple times a day, so folding it would be more hassle than it's worth for him anyway. I looked at other products with heat or massage, but he uses it for short periods, and these features would not be of enough benefit to warrant the extra cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The ease of use is astonishing.

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am amazed at how easily this inversion table functions. Most of all, I am extremely impressed with the balance point, and how easily the unit lays back and returns to full upright position simply by moving the hand and arms forward and back.
The unit is sturdy, and adjusts to different heights (different users) easily.
As a first time user of an inversion table, I did not know what to expect in relation to my body's reaction. After getting use to gravity pulling my inners and outers in an unfamiliar position/direction, I found the different positions very relaxing and therapeutic. The relief on the lower back tension and compression has been remarkable. I would recommend the Ironman 990 to back problem sufferers and non-sufferers alike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

An outstanding value for "inverting"

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very, very pleased with this inversion table. The engineering for assembly is really exceptional; the packaging, labelling and instructions for assemble were so easy to do. And, the table is robustly constructed and does exactly what one expects. The only little limtation I have experienced is that I have to "push" the table into a completely vertical inverted position (all the way against the stop) and use a rope to secure it there while I am hanging inverted. I'm not sure that the "totally vertical" position is even intended for the table, but I personally want to go all the way vertical. It probably makes virtually no difference in the effect the positions have on the body; the difference between "fully vertical" and the steepest vertical achieved without the "push" is probably trivial.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

I'd could kick myself for not getting this sooner

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews of this Inversion Table and seeing the price I finally bought it. Best thing I've done in a long time. I'm 6'3'' and 250lbs and was a little weary about the construction of the table. I'm about to the limits of what the specs say and very surprised how well it really is. My worries were for nothing. :-) On the very first use it I could tell a difference. My issue is in my shoulder or neck but have always wanted my back cracked. I've never been to the chiropractor and didn't want to head down that road. Anyway, I use the table daily. I'm up to 25 minutes at a time but don't always go that long. Ideally I'd like to use it several time a day but I can't take it to work. :-( It's probably just me but I also enjoy rocking up and down just with the little adjustment to arm position. LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Better than expected!

01/18/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Searching for an inversion table on-line is similar to buying shoes...It's just so hard to tell if the item will be the right size, what is the quality etc. My decision to purchase was originally decided by price and reviews. Walmart offered the best on-line price. But, truthfully, at that price I didn't expect much. I was surprised at how sturdy and comfortable it is. The board is nice and firmly padded and the frame work is hefty. Not rickety at all. As far as size, it does take up some space - you will need an area of approximately 3' x 5' to place and use it. I am 5'4" (135 lbs.) and my husband is 6'1" (185 lbs.) and we both experienced the same level of comfort and sense of safety/durability. The adjustable leg braces are also nicely foam padded. I have recommended this item to my friends and neighbors because I am so happy with it. And unlike other equipment I have bought and not used - I just can't stay off this thing because it is so much fun!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table
01/12/2012
By ,
alma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'VE BEEN USING INVERSION TABLES FOR ABOUT 30 YEARS, AND THE TWO MOST IMPORTANT FACTORS ARE COMFORT WHILE INVERTED & BEING ABLE TO HANG AT 180 DEGREES. I PURCHASED THIS TABLE AS A GIFT & JUST GOT FRIEND'S FEEDBACK ABOUT THIS UNIT. THE 180 DEGREES WAS EASY TO ACHIEVE (WITHOUT HOLDING ON ) BY MOVING THE FULCRUM TO A DIFFERENT HOLE. INSTEAD OF 4 FOAM RUBBER ROLLS TO HOLD THE FEET IN PLACE, THIS UNIT HAS ONLY 2 FOR THE INSTEP & HARD RUBBER (LIKE ENGINE MOTOR MOUNTS) TO SECURE THE ACHILLES TENDON AREA WHICH WAS PAINFUL. I SOLVED THAT PROBLEM BY PURCHASING 2 ROUND RUBBER ROLLS ONLINE FOR $10 EACH PLUS SHIPPING. HOWEVER, ANOTHER PROBLEM REQUIRED MOUNTING THIS TABLE ON 7" BLOCKS SO ARMS CAN HANG RELAXED WITHOUT TOUCHING THE FLOOR. WITH THESE UPGRADES THE TABLE PERFORMS BETTER. IT INVERTS EASILY BY SLOWLY RAISING ARMS OVER THE HEAD UNTIL FULLY INVERTED. HOWEVER, COMING BACK TO THE HORIZONTAL REST POSITION REQUIRES PULLING UP ON THE HANDLES BUT DOES BALANCE OKAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good Buy

12/19/2013
By ,
Sou
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of all the tables near this price point none seemed to be as substantially built as this one and upon receipt it turned out to be true. This is a very well put together piece of equipment and I cannot imagine anything going wrong with it ever.
The assembly was pretty straight forward but I am mechanically inclined. It might be easier with an assistant to hold parts in position for you but I did it alone. The supplied tools were adequate but I used a socket and ratchet to speed things up.
Care must be used in the orientation of table surface to frame as I think it would be possible to mount it upside down and/or backwards front to back.
Unlike my chiropractor's table it does not achieve full vertical, but it is within a very few degrees. For evaluation I have no point of reference and these are the only two I've ever been on.
There is a pull pin that allows the legs to be folder for storage but it still a big rather unwieldy chunk as you would expect. It may go under a bed but it's hard to maneuver by yourself.
To my eye I don't see how they can build these for so little money. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Returned it after 4 days

04/23/2014
By ,
Central New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have returned this product today. I have given five stars because the product itself is very good. However, the concept of "Inversion Table" is flawed.
Pros:
Easy to assemble (it looks complex but there are only 4 big parts and 4 small parts), it took me les than 30 minutes.
Packing was good
Very easy to operate
Easy to adjust for different heights and my head NEVER bumped to the floor
Easy to adjust how much "inversion" you need
I cannot think of any reason what an expensive model would offer.
Cons:
The concept of "Inversion table" didn't work well for me. It made sense in commercials but not in person. In this concept: in order for your back to stretch, first your ankles and knees get stretched. You are technically hanging by your ankles and knees. It gets painful after a minute. So, I did not see any benefit to my back and all I could sense was pain to my ankles and knees.
Although I gave five stars, I would not recommend any inversion table product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

great product

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product no need to buy the expensive one had one this is just as good and less than half the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Like it

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, the table is a great table. I have low back problems and this is an immediate solution to it. The only problem I had with the table, is that one of the bars came scratched and did not want the troubles of exchanging it. Hopefully it will last me for a while!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Lower Back Problems

06/22/2014
By ,
PRINCETON,WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is a great product for people with lower back problems. Not a cue but when you over work your back it you can just streach it out and you will be back to normal in less time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Your back will thank you

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had back troubles for years, but this last episode had me searching the internet for ideas. I had never heard of inclination tables before, but all the reviews were very positive, so I took a flyer and ordered one.
All I can say is that I add my positive review to all the others. This particular table is very well-built and sturdy, and it operates like a Swiss watch. The smallest movement backwards or forwards inclines the table, and the movement is smooth and easy. It has a restraining belt that allows you to tailor the maximum inclination to your needs, and the overall feel is safe and steady. No wobbles or wiggles to the structure, and no chance it will tip over or do anything else it shouldn't.
Assembly takes a while, but it's not rocket science - just examine the illustrations closely. Required tools are included, but it helps to have a ratchet and metric sockets.
There's no need to hang completely upside-down like a bat, but an angle of about 45 degrees or so head-down is probably best. Start at lower angles and proceed to the higher ones after a few tries. The only limitation for me is that hanging by my feet often makes my ankles hurt a little, but it's tolerable, and you can actually feel your back extend. Just relax and let it stretch out.
Do a search for inclination table on YouTube for some pointers and demonstrations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

EXCELLENT EASY

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAD A FRIEND PUT IT TOGETHER IN A FEW MINUTES. I SCOPED IT OUT FOR A DAY AND WATCHED THE VIDEO, made adjustments needed easy, THEN CAME THE MOMENT.......WOW! Hopped on that puppy, tilted it back and it was wonderful!! I have had spine problems for several years and doing this just one time it felt so good to have your spine relaxing for 15-20 min.
This one is great! I will put it to good use! Wish I got one several years ago. With my spine relaxed and opens up two vertebrae then I get a doctor to slip in a few prearranged stem cells to finish the job. Otherwise it wouldn't be possible. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Great product and made well

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent hundreds on a bad chiropractor and doing yoga and all kinds of things to fix a strain in my back I gained from running. Then I stumbled on this inversion table. BAM!!
Now I am better. FINALLY. Made really well and sturdy, just as good as the ones at costco and on amazon and you CANT beat the price.
Really easy to make, maybe 20 minutes or so, and easy to use with good instructions.
Def a win.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table
05/25/2011
By ,
Baja California, Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both have back problems. We borrowed a more expensive brand table from a friend to see if it would work for us. We found relief by doing the inversion therapy so decided to purchase a table. After reading reviews, we decided on this model. The deciding factor for us was the foam foot holders. The more expensive table had the rubber type u-shaped holders for both front and back of the leg and it pinched or dug in to the top of our feet. This model has the adjustable foam roller for the top of the foot and we find it much more comfortable when fully inverted. This table is easily adjustable for our different heights and was easy to assemble, best with 2 people, one to hold the items in place and one to tighten nuts and bolts. As a few of the other reviews mentioned, it is easy to install some of the parts backwards so follow the picture of the table, as well as, the instructions to get it together correctly. This table is very sturdy and well constructed for the price, in addition to being very effective in the inversion therapy. We are very happy with the appearance, durability, ease of adjustment, and use. For those that get on an inversion table and think, "Oh, I can't do this", try slight inversion and work up to total gradually. It gets easier to tolerate being upside down and is worth the initial discomfort!
Pros: Functional, Inexpensive, Durable, easy to adjust
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

A WONDERFUL PRODUCT

04/12/2011
By ,
cumberland, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband is almost 6ft tall. I however am under 5 ft tall. This product was purchased for myself as I stand for many hours in one spot each day. My husband starting using it as soon as it was assembled and uses it daily also. It is very easy to quickly adjust to both our heights. Assembly was easy for him. It is sturdy and the pads holding your ankles is very secure and comfortable (my biggest concern due to my size)
We were both able to incline fully the first day, though I would caution everyone take their time as the manual stipulates.
Please note that I am 60 years old and find no discomfort using this product. I have not exercised daily for many years but do recommend the warm up exercises also in the back of the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Product is bulky and came ripped

08/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this product from the walmart website and had it delivered to my house. Assembling it took less than an hour, but as I was pulling it out of the box I noticed the actual body of it had a tear in the material. This item is too heavy and difficult to send back to Walmart so I just lived with the 2 inch tear. In using it I have found it is very unconfortable around my ankles and I have used other inversion tables, but this one usually only allows me to invert for about 5 minutes before needing to relieve the pain in the ankles/calves. It also is very heavy and bulky and difficult to store. To put this in perspective, I am a 27 yr old man.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

03/09/2014
By ,
Central NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted one of these Inversion Tables for awhile but the one advertised on TV "Teeter" cost almost 3 times as much and I wasn't about to pay that much money for one. Was surprised at the Great Feedback I read about on this one. Let me tell you this Ironman Inversion Table is a great piece of equipment. I read that it was built to last and once I uncovered it out of the box I could see how well it was made. Worth more to me then the price I paid. I like it so much I recommend this Ironman Brand and Model 990 Inversion Table. Trust me you will be happy once you get yours. For the money you can't go wrong. Just 5 minutes on this table and you will feel the difference right away.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 400 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next