Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ironman Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Ironman Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table is designed to provide you with back and stress relief in the comfort of your home. This Ironman inversion table provides continuous blood circulation throughout your body so you can feel better. This heavy duty Ironman table keeps your muscles flexible to help improve your athletic performance. The steel frame Ironman inversion table has a 3/4-inch soft- foam backrest for comfort. The scratch-resistant, powder-coated finish of this table gives it a sleek and polished look. The table can be inverted in different angles with the help of an adjustable strap. The ankle holders keep your ankles safely in place when the table is inverted and during return to its upright position. This Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table has a weight capacity of 275 pounds and the height can be adjusted from 410 to 66 so everyone in your household can enjoy the benefits.
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(556 Reviews) 524
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
383
4 stars
129
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation95%526 out of 556reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 312 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
383
4 stars
129
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Excellent Inversion Table

04/18/2014
By ,
Rockwall, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rate the entire process, "Outstanding"! The ordering portion was efficient, timely, and inorder! The product is of great quality as compared to more expensive tables, not just in looks but usability as well. In shopping for an Inversion Table, I saved approximately 200$ by purchasing this product! Sometimes more money does not equate to a better product and this is a prime example! Bottomline, this table will serve you well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread :o)

03/31/2014
By ,
Westchester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I assembled this chair on Sunday (3/30/14) and tested it out; adjusting the straps to control the angle of inversion; supported my neck with a neck roll as I didn't like the feel of the blood going to my head. All I have to say is that Sunday afternoon the constant and dull pain in my back has practically disappeared. So after only a day and being used twice, I am singing its praise!
Note: It is big and it is heavy and will look awful in your space (if not a basement), but your health is a priority over esthetics. It is also a little scary being inverted, but do it slowly, using the handlebars at all times.
PS: The only little "Con" is that I wish there were some type of ankle straps.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Westchester, NY
Assembly?
Posted 04/07/2014
How difficult was it to put together? Like is it "partially" assembled or not at all and needs to be assembled completely? thanks!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Sturdy, comfortable, well-made, works well

12/15/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product arrived promptly and in good condition. There was a small bend on one metal plate, but it was straightened easily. This is very sturdy and well-built. My husband has broken his back 3 times and needs relief from disc pain. He cannot completely invert, so the adjustable strap to control the angle is a good feature for him. The large handles make it very easy to grab to help right himself, although it is usually unnecessary since it is balanced for his height. He is 6'1", and the board is very comfortable for his height. The only down-side that I might mention is the inablility to fold completely flat. However, I knew this before I purchased it, so it was not unexpected. He uses it daily, sometimes multiple times a day, so folding it would be more hassle than it's worth for him anyway. I looked at other products with heat or massage, but he uses it for short periods, and these features would not be of enough benefit to warrant the extra cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Better than expected!

01/18/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Searching for an inversion table on-line is similar to buying shoes...It's just so hard to tell if the item will be the right size, what is the quality etc. My decision to purchase was originally decided by price and reviews. Walmart offered the best on-line price. But, truthfully, at that price I didn't expect much. I was surprised at how sturdy and comfortable it is. The board is nice and firmly padded and the frame work is hefty. Not rickety at all. As far as size, it does take up some space - you will need an area of approximately 3' x 5' to place and use it. I am 5'4" (135 lbs.) and my husband is 6'1" (185 lbs.) and we both experienced the same level of comfort and sense of safety/durability. The adjustable leg braces are also nicely foam padded. I have recommended this item to my friends and neighbors because I am so happy with it. And unlike other equipment I have bought and not used - I just can't stay off this thing because it is so much fun!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table
01/12/2012
By ,
alma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'VE BEEN USING INVERSION TABLES FOR ABOUT 30 YEARS, AND THE TWO MOST IMPORTANT FACTORS ARE COMFORT WHILE INVERTED & BEING ABLE TO HANG AT 180 DEGREES. I PURCHASED THIS TABLE AS A GIFT & JUST GOT FRIEND'S FEEDBACK ABOUT THIS UNIT. THE 180 DEGREES WAS EASY TO ACHIEVE (WITHOUT HOLDING ON ) BY MOVING THE FULCRUM TO A DIFFERENT HOLE. INSTEAD OF 4 FOAM RUBBER ROLLS TO HOLD THE FEET IN PLACE, THIS UNIT HAS ONLY 2 FOR THE INSTEP & HARD RUBBER (LIKE ENGINE MOTOR MOUNTS) TO SECURE THE ACHILLES TENDON AREA WHICH WAS PAINFUL. I SOLVED THAT PROBLEM BY PURCHASING 2 ROUND RUBBER ROLLS ONLINE FOR $10 EACH PLUS SHIPPING. HOWEVER, ANOTHER PROBLEM REQUIRED MOUNTING THIS TABLE ON 7" BLOCKS SO ARMS CAN HANG RELAXED WITHOUT TOUCHING THE FLOOR. WITH THESE UPGRADES THE TABLE PERFORMS BETTER. IT INVERTS EASILY BY SLOWLY RAISING ARMS OVER THE HEAD UNTIL FULLY INVERTED. HOWEVER, COMING BACK TO THE HORIZONTAL REST POSITION REQUIRES PULLING UP ON THE HANDLES BUT DOES BALANCE OKAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thanks for the helpful review!
Posted 09/13/2014
The critical piece you provided was 180 Degrees "WITHOUT HOLDING ON" ..that was the deciding factor for choosing this model.
Thank you!!
Randy CT
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good Buy

12/19/2013
By ,
Sou
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of all the tables near this price point none seemed to be as substantially built as this one and upon receipt it turned out to be true. This is a very well put together piece of equipment and I cannot imagine anything going wrong with it ever.
The assembly was pretty straight forward but I am mechanically inclined. It might be easier with an assistant to hold parts in position for you but I did it alone. The supplied tools were adequate but I used a socket and ratchet to speed things up.
Care must be used in the orientation of table surface to frame as I think it would be possible to mount it upside down and/or backwards front to back.
Unlike my chiropractor's table it does not achieve full vertical, but it is within a very few degrees. For evaluation I have no point of reference and these are the only two I've ever been on.
There is a pull pin that allows the legs to be folder for storage but it still a big rather unwieldy chunk as you would expect. It may go under a bed but it's hard to maneuver by yourself.
To my eye I don't see how they can build these for so little money. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

The ease of use is astonishing.

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am amazed at how easily this inversion table functions. Most of all, I am extremely impressed with the balance point, and how easily the unit lays back and returns to full upright position simply by moving the hand and arms forward and back.
The unit is sturdy, and adjusts to different heights (different users) easily.
As a first time user of an inversion table, I did not know what to expect in relation to my body's reaction. After getting use to gravity pulling my inners and outers in an unfamiliar position/direction, I found the different positions very relaxing and therapeutic. The relief on the lower back tension and compression has been remarkable. I would recommend the Ironman 990 to back problem sufferers and non-sufferers alike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

No Buyer's Remorse

03/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was relatively easy to put together. It feels very solid. It works just as it's supposed to. After just a few days using it I'm already noticing a difference in my back. The height markings for the length adjustment aren't accurate for me. However, I lift weights, and I'm likely carrying more weight in muscle in my upper body than than the averages they sized it off of. No biggie...I just extended the legs out a bit more to obtain the right balance.
As the title said, I have absolutely no buyer's remorse.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

An outstanding value for "inverting"

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very, very pleased with this inversion table. The engineering for assembly is really exceptional; the packaging, labelling and instructions for assemble were so easy to do. And, the table is robustly constructed and does exactly what one expects. The only little limtation I have experienced is that I have to "push" the table into a completely vertical inverted position (all the way against the stop) and use a rope to secure it there while I am hanging inverted. I'm not sure that the "totally vertical" position is even intended for the table, but I personally want to go all the way vertical. It probably makes virtually no difference in the effect the positions have on the body; the difference between "fully vertical" and the steepest vertical achieved without the "push" is probably trivial.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table
05/25/2011
By ,
Baja California, Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both have back problems. We borrowed a more expensive brand table from a friend to see if it would work for us. We found relief by doing the inversion therapy so decided to purchase a table. After reading reviews, we decided on this model. The deciding factor for us was the foam foot holders. The more expensive table had the rubber type u-shaped holders for both front and back of the leg and it pinched or dug in to the top of our feet. This model has the adjustable foam roller for the top of the foot and we find it much more comfortable when fully inverted. This table is easily adjustable for our different heights and was easy to assemble, best with 2 people, one to hold the items in place and one to tighten nuts and bolts. As a few of the other reviews mentioned, it is easy to install some of the parts backwards so follow the picture of the table, as well as, the instructions to get it together correctly. This table is very sturdy and well constructed for the price, in addition to being very effective in the inversion therapy. We are very happy with the appearance, durability, ease of adjustment, and use. For those that get on an inversion table and think, "Oh, I can't do this", try slight inversion and work up to total gradually. It gets easier to tolerate being upside down and is worth the initial discomfort!
Pros: Functional, Inexpensive, Durable, easy to adjust
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+156points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good Quality and Working Well for Me

02/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit after a friend with back problems who had researched several inversion tables bought this one and was happy with it.
Overall the quality was better than I had expected. I followed he advice of a couple other reviewer comments and used my own tools to assemble so I could tighten the nuts more than with the freebie thin metal ones included. They would probably wok well enough, I just wanted to make sure they were very tight/prefer to use real tools for these type little assembly jobs. I agree that the safety (maximum tilt) strap could use a little engineering change but I moved the clamp positions around and it doesn't seem to get in the way when rotating back to vertical.
I have had back pains for years and as I have gotten older it bothered me more and more so I finally decided this was worth a try since my friend had great luck with it.
Now, I have only been using it a week, and I am slowly tilting farther and holding it longer. I try to use it 3 times a day for maybe a min inverted and will increase the time and tilt slowly. I was a little skeptical but I will say that I already notice an improvement. I don't feel the constant pain as before, and when I am in bed I find it easier to get comfortable. My friend said it took him about 3 weeks of use to really get relief, but even if this is as good as it gets I'm still glad I got this given the increased comfort I have already experienced.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Ironman Essex 990

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent piece of equipment. It provides a good stretch to you back and is very easy to use. It took about 20-25 minutes to put together. I use it twice a day and my back has begun to feel better already and I have only had it for a couple of weeks. This one is a great value and provides just as much as the more expensive ones. I would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

what the doctors couldn't do

04/24/2012
By ,
Spring, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 64 year old, 6'4" 250 lb trial lawyer. My stinosis had gotten so bad I couldn't walk across the courtroom to approach a witness. After chiropractor I went to a back specialist who, in a small operation, injected steroids into the L3, L4 area of my spine. Still no relief, so what the heck, I'll try anything and I heard about inversion tables from all the doctors. Not expensive, $139, and the results are spectacular. I can't stay upside down real long yet so I try to do two short stints of 2-5 minutes, one in the morning, one getting home from work. I'm a kid again as long as I keep at it. I go to the bay 2 to 3 days a week and I start getting gippy by the time I return so I'm buying a second one for there. Best $139 bet I ever placed. Hope it works as good for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Inversion table

02/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very comfortable,easy to put togather,very good price.The ankle braces work much better than the ones on my other table. It is heavy but managable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

RELIEF

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took pressure off of back and spine, did the job I was hoping for. So glad I got it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Immediate pain relief

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this inversion table after a couple friends swore it would help with my sciatica nerve issues. They were right! It has been fantastic! It keeps the pain in check and doesn't take a lot of time! I would absolutely recommend this. I sit at a desk all day at work and it relieves the pressure at the lower part of my back also.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

this thing is awesome, but do your research!

09/05/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints about this table whatsoever! Assuming you assemble it correctly, it feels absolutely solid, and is comfortable... you also can't beat the price. Just do your homework on inversion tables. It will put some strain on your eyes, and the blood will collect in your head. Only do this for a maximum of 2-5 minutes per day (I do 2 min before bed, and 2 min in the morning). Also, when on it, take slow deep breaths. Doing so will draw some of the blood from your head to your lungs, making you a bit more comfortable. Your back will LOVE you for this. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Returned it after 4 days

04/23/2014
By ,
Central New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have returned this product today. I have given five stars because the product itself is very good. However, the concept of "Inversion Table" is flawed.
Pros:
Easy to assemble (it looks complex but there are only 4 big parts and 4 small parts), it took me les than 30 minutes.
Packing was good
Very easy to operate
Easy to adjust for different heights and my head NEVER bumped to the floor
Easy to adjust how much "inversion" you need
I cannot think of any reason what an expensive model would offer.
Cons:
The concept of "Inversion table" didn't work well for me. It made sense in commercials but not in person. In this concept: in order for your back to stretch, first your ankles and knees get stretched. You are technically hanging by your ankles and knees. It gets painful after a minute. So, I did not see any benefit to my back and all I could sense was pain to my ankles and knees.
Although I gave five stars, I would not recommend any inversion table product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

inversion Table

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to put together good strong.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ironman Essex 990 Inversion Table

Good solid equipment

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This table is built really well and was easy to assemble. I try to get on it every day, even just for 30 seconds to a minute. I usually feel a joint "let loose", or pop out every time after relaxing. Sometimes I feel it in a couple places. Less than a week after using it my back pain went away completely and I can be active again! Worked for me!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 525 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next