Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Connect to friends and family with the Straight Talk LG420G Mobile Phone. It offers both CDMA and GSM support, making an unparalleled communication solution. This LG 420G mobile phone features a 1.3MP built-in camera, so you can capture those special moments as they come by. You can even browse the Internet or send emails on the go with this WAP 2.0 enabled phone. With MP3, polyphonic, and vibration alerts, youll never miss a call. With Bluetooth technology, this phone lets you enjoy hands-free conversations and data transfer. Powered by a lithium-ion 900mAh battery, this Straight Talk mobile phone provides you with a talk time of 11hours 30minutes and an extended stand-by time of up to 23 days. To be precise, the LG 420G has everything you need to stay connected on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
3.155 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation58%41 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Better than some

03/06/2011
By ,
Glasgow, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone has a good signal everywhere I've been since I purchased it. The thing I like most is the charge capacity. I've had the phone for three weeks and have only charged it three times since the initial charge. The downside is viewing the screen outside. It is virtually impossibe to see anything in the sunlight. I previousyl had a Motorolla and never experienced a problem with this. The second problem I have is opening it. It's a flip phone and it closes so tight you have to get a fingernail under the bottom to open it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 22 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Horrible Phone

08/26/2011
By ,
Tazewell, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone stinks. I have had only had it for 3 months and it has messed up on me and now I have to wait about two weeks for the people to send me a replacement and I will lose all my service time between then and now. I am really starting to hate straight talk now. Also you can not get most picture messages because of the way the phone does pictures so its not a good camera phone. If I where anyone I would go for a better phone even if it cost a little bit more its worth it to not have this hassle. Also the phone does not go back and forth between net works if your phone is set up on the att network that is all your going to get service from which I do not like because I wanted to have version because it picks up better where I live.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Had better service with metropcs believe it or not

06/10/2011
By ,
Sacramento, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to have metropcs for years and even though I thought it was a cheap service, I regret straight talk. With this new service, I get a lot of "no service" when I am sending or receiving texts. The loading of texts/pics take forever. Also, when I am taking a call, the phone goes in and out constantly. I just don't understand it. Maybe I just have bad luck because everybody else seems to be happy with the service. LoL.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 24 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

JUNK!!!!

06/01/2011
By ,
Granville, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolutely HATE this phone. Have to delete messages one at a time, can't even set to auto delete. And there is not enough storage for contacts. I guess you get what you pay for, but Tracfone has better phones than this for cheaper. If you are gonna go with straight talk, do not get this phone! I have a different straight talk phone that works great, i love it, hate this model though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 25 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Good for the price

03/03/2011
By ,
Marion NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great service for the price and no long term contracts. If you don't like the service just don't buy any more service cards and do away with it all together. The only problem I have had is when you have to call for any problems you are having because there is some what of a language barrier with most of the Reps other than that great phone plan
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 26 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Great phone for any age

06/03/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. It offers all the same options as my other phone only now i dont need a 2 year contract to sign. I get more with this phone than my other well known phone company. This phone takes good pictures and i even talk to my friend in Puerto Rico and it sounds clear as a bell. I have recommended to many of my friends. Great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 27 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Mine was almost waterproof, but not much more

08/01/2011
By ,
Laurinburg, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Straight talk - I've had satisfactory service except around my property. Sometimes works, sometimes doesn't. I think its more of a cell problem than a phone problem since I live in Poorville NC and probably most use prepaid phones. Had no problem with service on trip to Louisville KY.
Phone - The menu system isn't very intuitive to me. Took a while to set it to vibrate. Rings fairly loud, but some cases muffle the sound. Darn thing is almost impossible to open with one hand, difficult with two. Has to be exactly over ear to hear. Best feature I discovered by accident. I fell into the lake and received a call while the phone was underwater. Put it in a warm oven and then a jar of rice and it continues to work, but the battery life is less than 8 hours now so going to replace it with an LG 220G.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
0points
Review 28 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Awesome Phone...

08/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. It is easy to use. Did not find it in the store so I had to order online. I love the camera addition to it and how the icons pop up. The speaker phone is great and volume is nice. Just a fun phone. I have definitely recommended it to others.
Thanks
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 29 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

GREATTTTT

11/11/2010
By ,
ASHEBORO NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS PHONE,YOU CAN GO TO MYXER .COM AND GET FREE RINGTONES AND WALLPAPERS,RINGER IS LOW BUT PUT ON OUTDOORS AND IT GETS LOUD AND BETTER!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 30 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

phone

03/17/2011
By ,
TYLER TX 75709
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS LG PHONE DOES NOT WORK IN MY AREA AT ALL AND MY ZIP CODE IS 75709 AND THEY ALSO SAID THAT IT WAS SUPPOSE TO WORK IN THIS AREA
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 31 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone
01/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with this phone. Connected very easily and the card activated without a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 32 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Great Value

11/15/2010
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phone is a reasonable price. It met my expectations. I am pleased with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone
11/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maybe I don't know what I am doing, but difficult to get emails.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 34 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

LG40G

03/05/2011
By ,
Angola,IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a GSM phone and does not work in Angola,IN
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 35 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Ugh

03/03/2011
By ,
Bluefield, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well Ive had this phone for almost two monthes.
First of all, the pictures are so dark or to bright. Either way its hard to get a good shot, also the pictures take forever to SEND to someone.
Another problem is if you want to text and talk at the same time don't count on it.
Also has very little memory for pictures, and other items for the phone.
Is very tough but isn't good for texter's. Also the key's make a loud beeping noise when your clicking.
Another problem I've noticed is sometimes it wont alert you of text's, and also when you set a text tone it doesn't play the whole thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

you get what you pay for

01/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the phone is junk. i used straight talk with the LG 220. it started powering on and off every 10 seconds after only 4 months. thought i would upgrade to the LG 420. i noticed people with the same phone had twice as much signal as i did with this phone. then after 6 weeks the speaker stopped working. i could not hear it ring anymore. straight talk would be awesome with higher quality phones. I'm afraid to buy another Walmart phone. i think i am going back to AT&T. you get what you pay for. good luck
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 37 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Trash

01/23/2011
By ,
Knoxville, TN.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is trash. I was fooled at first but sadly learned the hard way. I bought two of these phones, one for my boy friend and one for myself. Within five months his phone kept freezeing and then he couldn't make any calls. At first I thought he must have just got a bad one but now my phone has been freezeing too. It has been shutting off on its own and it keeps saying I have three unread messages but all of them are open. I took the battery out and dumped my inbox but nothing will erase the three unread message prompt on the phone. Phone is great if you don't plan on having it long but I'm now shoping for a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 38 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Service is horrendous

03/22/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got the phone about three weeks ago, and I have to say, this is probably the worst phone I've ever had. The only good thing going for it is that there isn't a contract. It's mediocre for an entry level phone. The service is terrible. Before I got the phone, I checked to make sure there was coverage in my area, and according to their map, there was supposed to be maximum service coverage. In the time I've had the phone I got three bars of service at most, and even then, it dropped to no coverage in the matter of a few seconds. Constantly drops calls, fails to send text messages, and the Customer Service really doesn't help.
I'd highly recommend spending a few more bucks to get a better phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 39 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Lg 420G Fragile

09/26/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very fragile. the first one i got i set on the roof of my car and the sun beamed on it for 20 minutes, when i came back the screen had cracked. the second one I had Came from the factory with the ear piece speaker broken so i couldn't here anything during calls, they could just hear me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 40 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

DO NOT BUY!!

02/14/2011
By ,
Billings, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not reccommend buying this phone or any of the straight talk products due to the fact when you set the phone up in your personal zip code and then go out of zip code by barely 40 miles the phone doesn't work but when you go 200 miles out of your area it does work. They dont have good set service. And when you call the customer service line you get no where with them due to them not speaking english fluently.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 67 total reviews