Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Connect to friends and family with the Straight Talk LG420G Mobile Phone. It offers both CDMA and GSM support, making an unparalleled communication solution. This LG 420G mobile phone features a 1.3MP built-in camera, so you can capture those special moments as they come by. You can even browse the Internet or send emails on the go with this WAP 2.0 enabled phone. With MP3, polyphonic, and vibration alerts, youll never miss a call. With Bluetooth technology, this phone lets you enjoy hands-free conversations and data transfer. Powered by a lithium-ion 900mAh battery, this Straight Talk mobile phone provides you with a talk time of 11hours 30minutes and an extended stand-by time of up to 23 days. To be precise, the LG 420G has everything you need to stay connected on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
3.155 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation58%41 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Great value for the money

09/17/2010
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone and unlimited service for about a year now and I love it. Every time I hear someone complain about their phone service and how expensive it is and how they never seem to have enough minutes I tell them about Straight Talk. When I tell them what a great deal it is they are always stunned. There is no other service that is this good for this low of a price. I've had Net10, Cricket (which was a joke) and other plans that I had to get tied up in a contract. Hands down, this is the best. I wish I'd spent a bit more on the phone and gotten one with a keyboard because I text a lot but since I didn't pay much for this phone I don't have a problem getting something else and trashing or giving this one away. I've even dropped this phone many times and it still works like new. Great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+74points
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Good Investment

01/02/2011
By ,
Shreveport, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RESPONSE to :NurseHeather87 if you type the email address in the box where the phone number goes when creating a text message it will send it to that email adress and if you send it to yourself you will see that you have an email address that is associated with your phone #. You can use that to respond to your friends and it will come directly to your phone as a text.
I recently bought this phone about three days ago because I had ended a contract and wanted to a different route in terms of budget. So far I have found this phone to be all that I expected and more for the price. I really am happy with the unlimited voice text and data. I am glad I gave straight talk a try. I will be upgrading to a smartphone soon now that I trust the service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+55points
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Good Phone

09/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I disagree with the other reviewer. I got this phone as a response to overpriced and undelivered plans from the big companies. I was skeptical of the cell plan (not LG, I know they're pretty good)... Anyways, I got the 1000 minute/txt plan, and am satisfied and pleasantly surprised. I have had a few missed calls, but have received the majority of them-and I live 2 blocks from the US border!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+79points
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

haha

11/15/2010
By ,
central, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i own one i dropped mine so many time even in the toilet and after all them times it still works lol its a amazing that it lasts throught what i did to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Good Basic Phone

09/21/2010
By ,
Ravenswood, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, I love the newer phones out there, I won't lie. But I have had the LG420G for a month now, and I'm very pleased with the phone. I wanted something cheap but reliable and that's exactly what I got. The only downfall I have found with this phone is that you are not able to email anyone or anything. I had pics on my phone that I wanted on my computer, but the only way that is possible with this phone, is to get a bluetooth connecter USB drive (about $30). Other than that, I am happy with the phone and StraightTalk service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Horrible

08/29/2011
By ,
Lehighton Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a GSM Phone but not serviced by at&t. this is 1 of 3 phones that straighttalk has that is serviced by t-mobile. I had the unfortunate opportunity to buy one thinking it would work in my area and it does not. t-mobile discontinued support of this phone in my area. that should tell you where this phone is heading. Down the drain. Very hard to navigate through the phone. impossible to find the bluetooth settings or functions. cheap feel. I just dont like it at all. I currently have the lg220c which operated off verizon towers and I thought i'd be stepping up with the lg450. OH NO NO. big step back. spend the money on a samsung or motorola and you will be glad you did. The only reason I'm not supremely upset with straight talk is that I got this phone as refurbished bundle for $30. basically all I paid for was the time card. I kept the time card and put it on my account, switched my old phone back onto the account after 12 hours of struggling with a phone that doesnt work, and threw this brand new one in the trash. its that useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Best Straight Talk Flip Phone

11/02/2011
By ,
Decatur, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The LG 420G is the best flip phone on Straight Talk. I have had them all, and this is the best one. The features are good and the software seems to be up to date with today's technology. The ringer is loud when set to outdoor but the ear piece volume is average. The screen text (i.e. date, time, signal strength) is a little small, but life goes on. The alarm clock feature worked fine for me. Never had to restart phone, as some reviewers prior have stated. Bluetooth sound quality is great. My only problem with the phone is that it is slow to respond when I flip it open. If I have a message or missed call there is a delay from the time I flip it open to the time it notifies me on the screen. Not a deal breaker for me, just annoying. Overall, If you want a GSM flip from ST. The LG 420G is your best bet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

good loud rings

09/13/2010
By ,
Kingsport, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I also disagree with the other review. I have had cell phones I had trouble hearing but this phone can be heard very clearly. The only drawback I have found is that the screen is very small. This phone has been very easy to use and learn. If you don't want a lot of extras, and I didn't, this is the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Very unhappy with this phone

01/19/2011
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for five months, my girlfriend also has the same one. I do not like it at all it takes horrible pictures, my memory is always low, you can only set one ringtone for all messages (that may not matter to some but it does to me), when you receive a text the ringtone rings for like 2 seconds if it rings at all,it will only receive certain picture messages, it shuts off by itself, and the screen goes fuzzy with boxes all the time, and many more flaws. Dont get me wrong i love the straight talk service but this phone is ridiculous. i would not recommend this phone for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
But how does it work as a phone?
Posted 09/27/2011
This and other reviews are informative about various aspects of this and other phones, but forget to note how the phone works as a, well, as a PHONE. That is, how is the reception? Is the voice on the other end clear or static-y? Does it drop calls or cut out? Do other people complain that your voice isn't clear on the phone?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Piece of Trash

09/01/2010
By ,
Muncie,IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not even buy this phone again for a paper weight, It's a great phone if you want to hide from people. You might get to hear one or 2 rings Before it goes to your voicemail. So you'd always have an excuse for not answering. Funny part is I"ve been sitting at home had it less than a week, and missed so many calls.. But if you want to sit and watch the screen light up so you'll know your getting a phone call, But like I told straight talk I have better things to do with my life than sit and stare at a phone waiting on it to ring. Avoid the headache, Don't buy this phone! But the general use of the phone is pretty good I can hear the caller and they can hear me, But LG needs to work on the ringing when its turned up as loud as it goes and you can't hear it, there is issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Price is right

03/04/2012
By ,
Glenns Ferry, Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I puchased this phone for my husband after discontinuing service with another, more expensive carrier. He likes the simple, uncomplicated phones as he runs heavy equipment and needs nothing fancy to use on the job. This phone works great and has a long battery life. There are two minor things about this phone that he doesn't like. The phone has a very slick finish all over it, and is very hard to keep ahold of. The other thing is that it isn't the easiest phone to open when you have to answer a call.I actually put stickers on it to try and get some kind of surface grip. Other than that, it's a pretty decent phone for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Better than expected

04/16/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is pretty good for the price. There is only one thing that I don't like, the message alert does not let you know you have a message after the initial ring, but other than that, this is a great little phone for the price. I was hesitant at first to buy this phone, but a friend of mine loved hers, so I thought I'd give it a try. I mean, it's not like I'm spending a fortune on it. If I didn't like it, I didn't have to renew the service. I LOVE IT! I'm thinking about getting the six month plan. I would recommend this to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Great Phone for the money

02/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered my LG420G on WalMart.com, and opted for site-to-store shipping. It arrived BEFORE the time it was supposed to. To set up service was easy beyond my belief. I've made and received calls, texts, and photo messages, all without problems. So far, my experience strengthens my opinion of LG phones, and has given me great faith in StraightTalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Decent product

10/24/2010
By ,
Northern Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Over all this appears to be a pretty good phone. I was a little disappointed that I don't seem to be able to accept photo or ringtone messages. But aside from that I really like this phone. It is a very basic phone and that is what appealled to me in the first place. I don't care for all the "gadgetry" on many of the newer phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Great phone horrible customer service!!!!

06/03/2011
By ,
everson pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
just got this phone in the mail with service card. order off of straight talks website, had to call to have my old telephone number ported from my old tracfone and they told me they would have to send a new sim card!!!! from reading on there website you are made to believe that having your old number changed to your new phone i simple. spoke with customer service rep had no idea how to even port a number from one phone to another asked to speak with a manager and then the manager got smart with me!!!!! coming from someone who works as a csr i am very disappointed! great phone and service for the money but horrible customer service!!! dont expect to have an easy time porting your number from your old phone to your new phone through them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Great phone

03/01/2011
By ,
LaFayette, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, I love this phone! The service is great. The only thing I don't like is the font is small-but its a small phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Not so hot

07/20/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone is not very intuitive. A lot of things bug me about it, especially texting.
If you receive a text while composing a text and you open it, the phone does not save your text as a draft, so you lose it.
When you are selecting a recipient to text, it only inputs numbers. You have to go into contacts to select someone's name. You can't just type the name into the recipient box.
There's no way to stop the phone from doing the whole ringtone if you are trying to silence it when a text comes in.
When you get a call from a new person, and you add them as a contact, it still doesn't show on the call list as from them because all it displays is their number.
I could go on, but there are a few good things - I've never lost a phone call. The service is fine.
You can't find out how many texts you've used - just minutes. For someone who texts a lot, that's annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Ok, but has it's issues

01/15/2011
By ,
Black Oak, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this phone for several months now. Actually, the first one died after three days and I exchanged it for a new one. The battery time and the signal is pretty good. There are very few areas that I have lost signal, but I did that with verizon too. The service is good with a good price, BUT, this phone itself has some issues, it is slow to send and receive messages, sometimes I won't get a message for 15 minutes, sometimes it doesn't send a message, it just puts it in my out box so I don't even know if it doesn't send, the software in general is slow. The internet is extremely ssssslllloooowwww. My husband has a samsung and his stuff works just find except the internet is slow but not as slow as mine. I think the problem is the phone, not the service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

Not an upgrade, but downgrade from LG600G

03/21/2011
By ,
Boston, MA USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Title says most. This cell phone is supposed to be an upgrade from the LG600G that just died on me. So I bought the UP-grade. No such luck. The LG420 is not any better in any regard as far as I can tell. they keep filtering but suffice it to say this is not the best phone you can get for 20 dollars.
The alarm feature is totally messed up, research it. The vibrate then ring setting is gone.
The ring tones are terrible.
The font size is smaller and harder to read.
The screen is no better than before.
The phone is just not better for an upgrade, actually somewhat worse than before.
Don't buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG 420G Mobile Phone

overall pretty good phone for the price

04/21/2011
By ,
pulaski, Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the lg290c before this one, I like all the options on this one better as far as being able to blue tooth my ring tones and such, but the memory is always low on this one, if you do alot of picture sending or web browsing, i wouldn't recommend it, but overall it's seems good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next