Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

The Samsung prepaid cell phone comes with Bluetooth technology for hands free operation. Browse the web, take pictures and send messages from this Samsung prepaid cell phone. The Samsung SGH-T401G has everything you need to stay connected on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
3.699 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
36
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation73%103 out of 142reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
36
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

poor reception

12/22/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For some reason the reception with this phone/service is terrible...half of the time I have no network connection. Lots of dropped calls and downtime. I will try to exchange this phone for another and see whether the problem is with the phone or with the service. My cell is my main phone and I need service I can rely on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Product did not work in my area

08/24/2010
By ,
Eastern Shore Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had a very frustrating experience with this device. I've spent 4 hours over the course of 4 days with more Straight Talk associates than I can count - 2 hours on the first night and not even a ticket # to show for it, another hour 2 days later (I still had errors, but at least I got a ticket #), and 41 minutes on hold and talking to associates tonight. At least I finally got an explanation of why this phone is not working for me.
The Associate tonight said that because this device has a SIM card, it is trying to connect to the T-mobile network (which we don't have in our area), not the Verizon network. So, I must return this device and get another one w/no SIM card.
Don't bother checking the Walmart website, asking a Walmart associate, or searching the product packaging about whether a product has a SIM card - info is not there. To find out if a product has a SIM card or not, "google" this question and include the maker and the product # in question.
If this is true that the SIM card is diverting me to a different cell phone network, and if you live in an area w/few networks & spotty cell phone coverage, do not buy this phone.
And for reference, my husband bought a cheaper Straight Talk LG phone w/no SIM card. It is working fine, w/better coverage than the last provider.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY.

07/10/2011
By ,
Detroit, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a straight talk customer for over a year now and have enjoyed my service with them. When i decided to but a new phone i chose the 401 for its sleek design and cool keyboard. When i got it home and activated it gave me nothing but terrible signal. I dropped more phone calls on this phone in the five days i owned it than i ever did in the entire year i owned my lg 620. Its not what it seems like in the packaging, i would have given it no stars but it told me i have to give it something. Dont buy this junk phone unless you like spending away your money. its only a $10 tracfone with a slider keyboard that ended up costing me $95. thank goodness walmart takes back phones within 15 days of purchase. Im taking my money and buy a gallon of gas.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Poor customer service

02/23/2011
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switch to Straight Talk about 6 months ago and eveything was going well until I had an issue with my phone. After I loaded new minutes my texting fuction quit working. I contacted customer sevice, to make a long story short it took 3 weeks and about 7 hours on the phone with them. When I ask for some compensation for 3 weeks of phone problems, they told me there was nothing they could do. You may want to consider this when searching for a new phone plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

had to return phone to walmart store

03/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the phone does not work in my area even though i typed in my zip code and it told me it would before i ordered the phone. ended up returning at walmart and purchasing a phone that does work and paying double the price, not a very good shopping experence
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

poor customer service

10/01/2010
By ,
wilkes barre
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought the phone didnt have it a week and the speaker went on it... took it back got a new one. ha what a joke been on the phone with straight talk trying to get them to transfer my number from the garbage phone to a new one for 8 hrs now. This is really poor service and none of the reps know what they are doing so unless you know the phone is going to be great and not mess up don't go with straight talk. go to boost. 5 more a month but let me tell you i had them for over a year and when ever i had a problem they were very helpful...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

not very good

12/29/2010
By ,
meadville,pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this phone for my daughter's birthday gift she had it less than a week and we returned it as she did not get any signal anywhere in our house. she never had any problems with her other phone and has not had problems with the phone she traded it for
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

this is not my phone

11/19/2010
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I got this phone it worked for a few minutes next thing you know the bars go down soooo quickly and soon like only 2 would come up and soon go down I'm really disappointed with this phone so(I returned it then) I went to Alltel and got a Blackberry curve which is alot times better than this phone its a little bit much more that you pay but it is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

If You Live in MT...

12/08/2010
By ,
Polson, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT buy this phone if you live in Montana. It WILL NOT work anywhere in the state-- I asked the Straight Talk guy. Apparently Montana's cell towers don't support SIM Card technology.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Does not run off Verizon towers!

10/31/2010
By ,
Marysville, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We recently found out that all the Straight Talk phones with SIM cards come preloaded with the ability to work off of either AT&T or T-Mobile towers, and you won't know until you either activate it or call them with the serial number. This was a bit frustrating as we just cancelled our T-mobile because of lack of reception, and the Straight Talk phone we got came preloaded with T-mobile. *grrrrrrr* After talking with the Straight Talk reps, we discovered that the only phones that run on Verizon towers are the ones without SIM cards. We have returned the Samsung 401C, and are in the process of waiting for our Samsung R451C to be delivered. Bottom line: if you want a phone that uses Verizon, then you'll need to make sure it doesn't have a SIM card. This can be done by calling their customer service and asking for a list of phones with a SIM.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Great phone WHEN IT WORKS

11/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this phone a cpl months ago and i have had more trouble out of it that it is worth. Dont get me wrong, when it works its a great phone. A few weeks ago I got messages saying unregistered sim. Spent forever on the phone with straightalk to be told that they were mailing me a new sim card and it would take 3-5 business days. Well miraculously the phone started working again by itself 3 days later and I still have not rcvd the new sim card. Now once again my phone is doing the same thing. I have been on hold waiting for a rep for about 30 minutes and now I have been disconnected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Terrible customer service

02/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone works great, but the customer service is terrible. They do not even speak English well. They keep reading the same script and do not fix any issues. My husband and I both bought these phones and it worked after set up, however when he went to work in a different state, his lost service. The customer service said we had to change his phone number to fit the area code where he would use it most. Six days have passed and he still has no service and I spend 8 hours in the past 3 days trying to get them to fix the problem. NOTHING. I do not recommend these phones due to the customer service issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone
12/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i ordered one similar and it didn't have the number to get ativated or the manual with it they got a big problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

this phone is made very cheap. not a good phone.

04/15/2012
By ,
Cullman Al.35055
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
is will not let you send messages, at times. can not go to the web sites at times. can not turn it off, have to take battery out. will not buy this phone again. others stright talk phone r better.had my old.still working for two years and it great..it just this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Very Disappointed

09/12/2010
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got into a car accident and i had the other 99$ phone r451c well it broke so i bought this one as a replacement phone and it wouldnt work right made me sooo angry so im telling you now this isnt a great phone the service you get isnt very well everything about this phone is horrible. i really do not recommend this phon for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Waste Of Money

03/11/2011
By ,
Huntsville, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone drops calls constantly. The clarity is bad, meaning the person you are talking to sounds far away or as if they are under water. I have to press to many keys to text and sign in to online sites. I can't watch videos online. Photos and video taking are good and the mp3 player is ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone
02/16/2011
By ,
Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this phone from October until just recently. I had trouble sending and recieve picture messages. The interenet didnt like to work on it. My calls were dropped alot. It was one of the worst phones I have ever owned. I love straight talk just not the phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G Mobile Phone

12/20/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is so far the worst phone I've ever had. It loses reception at my workplace so I can only make emergency calls. It keeps giving me a calendar reminder even though I set it for reminding me once a year (birthday). Maybe it's like this for a lot of prepaid phones, but this is my first, and now I understand why a lot of people don't like prepaid.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

buyer beware

12/25/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The phone is not the problem buying it online can be though. When they ship these out they don't check what network it is working from just that the style works. Also, if you buy directly through straighttalk.com you can get a much better deal. I got a phone free with the card.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Good phone, for a few months!

01/25/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone was great - at first. Then, around 3 months after using it, the phone made everyone sound like a robot. The keypad locks up randomly. I have to press the microphone directly to my mouth for people to understand me and even then it's a bit iffy. Most recently, the phone has begun to shut off when the keypad slides out. Texting is next to impossible because of this!!
On a positive note, the phone has a great battery life and decent reception. That's about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next