Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

The Samsung prepaid cell phone comes with Bluetooth technology for hands free operation. Browse the web, take pictures and send messages from this Samsung prepaid cell phone. The Samsung SGH-T401G has everything you need to stay connected on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
3.699 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
36
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation73%103 out of 142reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
36
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Service Difference between phones

03/11/2011
By ,
Temple, Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had the Samsung R450 messager and i bought this new T40 for the video camera. Bad decision, not only did i lose my old number, but the difference in the service on the 2 phones was TERRIBLE! I had to use my boyfriend's R450 to call straight talk to have my stuff switched back to my old phone because i could not get service on the T40 for the life of me! However i did love that you could get online without opening the slide, and i LOVE LOVE LOVE the video camera. But i am not keeping the phone because i can lay it right beside my R450 which will have 3 bars to full service and the T40 will have no service to only one bar. I got a picture of the difference. The phones are right beside each other on my bed. My R450 is on the right, yes i realize it doesn't have the best service right there, but there is still a 2 bar difference. I Know the second is a little bright, but there you can see 1 bar on the T40 and 3 on my R450.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Samsung certainly isn't equal to LG phone

02/14/2011
By ,
Wildomar, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had my new Samsung phone about a week and a half, with Straight Talk unlimited calls, texting and internet access for email, etc.
The quality of the photos is horrible, unless it's an up close shot, and the calls breakup, unless you get just the right angle for the signal to transmit & receive.
I have yet been able to access anything online, as just about every time I try, it times out.
Still, if I only use it for the unlimited calls and texting, it's still a relative bargain compared to my old Verizon cell server. I only got 450 minutes, and unlimited texting for $45 per month, which is what I now pay for unlimited minutes and texting.
It takes a while to get used to the keyboard working differently than my LG phone, as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Great Deal- Half the price of U$ Cellular

08/26/2010
By ,
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value. I switched after 15 years with US Cellular. 1000 minutes,1000 text, 30 Mb of data for $34.00 tax included with Nation wide calling ( free long distance ) per 30 days. I would recommend having a credit card to auto pay every 30 days to prevent phone from shutting off, you have to call customer service to do this but its worth the extra time. Verizon's network has a few dead spots like Urbana , Iowa ( check the map ) but for half the price of US Cellular , it saves me $480 per year. Wal-mart has limited phone selections but again for the price who cares- it send and receives calls and text messages fine. NO more over charge fee's. If you talk more than 16 hour per month get the unlimited text , talk and data plan for $48 tax included. If you don't have money to waste get this phone service!! You have to buy a straight talk phone $29 to $129 to use this plan- Also, Have Wal-mart set the phone up for you, they do all the work and it take about 15 minutes .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Does not run off Verizon towers!

10/31/2010
By ,
Marysville, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We recently found out that all the Straight Talk phones with SIM cards come preloaded with the ability to work off of either AT&T or T-Mobile towers, and you won't know until you either activate it or call them with the serial number. This was a bit frustrating as we just cancelled our T-mobile because of lack of reception, and the Straight Talk phone we got came preloaded with T-mobile. *grrrrrrr* After talking with the Straight Talk reps, we discovered that the only phones that run on Verizon towers are the ones without SIM cards. We have returned the Samsung 401C, and are in the process of waiting for our Samsung R451C to be delivered. Bottom line: if you want a phone that uses Verizon, then you'll need to make sure it doesn't have a SIM card. This can be done by calling their customer service and asking for a list of phones with a SIM.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Great Phone!!

01/18/2011
By ,
Providence, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for 2 months. So far it has worked excellent for me. I like the fact that there is no contract. $45 for unlimited talk, text and mobile web is a great value. Phone reception is great in all the areas that I travel on a regular basis. It’s small which makes its easy to put into your pants pocket. FYI, this is a GSM phone which uses a SIM CARD. Open the back cover, remove the battery. Look at your “SIM CARD” if the card reads “SIMT5” you are using the T-Mobile Network. If the card reads “SIMC4” you are using AT&T Network.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+79points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile

11/17/2010
By ,
northern michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not the best not the worst. It works ok. Read all the reviews and you will know what to expect. Read the refill card info. It does say you will lose remaining time by refilling early. I buy a card and dont refill till the phone stops working. It works great for texting. Ringer volume is not great, but how loud do you really need it. I do some light emailing through my windows live account. It works ok for that. Using it for updating facebook works good too. I also use it for googling restraunts and everything else under the sun. Reading the news and checking the weather and whatever else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+98points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Overall Good Cell Phone

06/26/2011
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone was better than I was expecting. I switched from Verizon due to the savings. I got this phone just over a month ago.
Pros: Sturdy (quick solid slide, not loose or cheap feeling, survived one hard drop on ground already with no trouble.) Battery life is good. Full key board is nice for texting (but buttons are a little small for large fingers.) Easy to check used minutes on $30 plan
Cons: Sending and getting text messages is good but pic messages are very slow to load.
Overall good cell phone. Strong points are calls and texting. Weak points are Pic messaging and in my opinion the ring tones it comes with are all poor sounding. The system for taking pics also feels cumbersome ( You have to hit 3 buttons for each pic -1. Take pic 2. Select Options 3. Select Take Another.) My old Verizon Samsung only had to take pic and then save it. That third step for every pic gets old when your taking more than a couple pics at a time. Have not used the on line browser alot but it seems workable and basic.
Conclusion, I would recommend this phone for anyone that is looking for a reliable talk/text phone but not interested in alot of pic taking or pic messaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

So Far So Good!

09/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking to replace my 7 year old phone and to get a better plan. I read several reviews and talked to several people about StraightTalk. I love the phone. I think it's 1 G, however, it meets my needs. I can check both my work and personal email and access Facebook and Twitter. I have not used the MP3 yet. I also have great coverage. I've had my phone for almost a month and I haven't dropped a call. I am satisfied. It took about 12 hours to port my number online, but I did it a night and by morning my phone was working.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Very Impressed!!

10/06/2010
By ,
Brick, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was working on trying to reduce bills and decided to check out prepaid cell phones. I am very impressed with my new Samsung T401g slide out phone. I like some of the features better than my old Verizon phone. The price for service is fantastic - $45 for unlimited talk, text and web. I have service everywhere and the call quality is great. Love the Qwerty keyboard for texting. Would highly recommend this phone and service to everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Great phone

11/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My step son ordered the phone and service 4 months ago and he just told me that he got better reception 5 hours away from home, than any of his friends did and they have contracts with large companies! I also ordered the phone for my son who has no problems with his phone at all. I love this new one!! I love the keyboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Straight Talk

10/28/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this phone throught the walmart website. Pick the free shipping to the store, it took a little longer to get the product but it's free. Took it home and charge it overnite. I port my old number to the Straight Talk phone using their website. It took a few hours to port. I did the auto payment for the unlimited 45 per month. I get full bars, able to text and surf the web. The thing wrong with the straight talk plan is that it does not allow for streaming from the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

It's okay for what it is

03/18/2012
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this phone for about a year now and have been going with the unlimited talk, text and web for $45.00 a month. The web is very slow, takes a lot of button pushing, and the majority of what I want to look up isn't even supported. If you're mainly looking for talk and text, this phone works great for that; however, there is one other more serious issue I've had. Even though the keys can be locked, the 9 button can still be pressed. The problem with this is if you press it more than three times, it calls 911. Imagine my surprise the first time I was called back by the dispatchers at 911 after unknowingly butt dialing them wanting to know what my emergency was! So far, this has happened six or seven times because there's no way to disable this feature, or at least not that I've found. If you buy this phone, be careful how you carry it. As a firefighter, I can tell you that the 911 dispatchers are over worked enough as it is without the added stress of a butt dial on the emergency line.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Well worth the money...much cheaper than contract.

10/08/2010
By ,
Louisa, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice phone for talk and text, but the browser is very basic and slow. Some of my ringtones sound different on this phone than any other I've used, but I can live with that.(Its hard to explain what it does with the ringtones.) Overall, I would definitely recommend this phone and Straight Talk service to anyone looking for lots of talk and text at a good price. This phone works on the GSM network such as AT&T and T-Mobile.
We also have the Samsung r355c which works on the CDMA network such as Verizon and nTelos. It is a really nice phone. I like it better than the T401g. Straight Talk's CDMA phones work on the Verizon network, but I've noticed that this phone will not work in certain areas where Verizon will work. This is probably because Verizon "rents" those towers from a smaller cell phone company and Straight Talk is not authorized to use those towers through Verizon. I live in Louisa, KY and the phone will work there and everywhere that I've been north, east, and west of Louisa. If I travel south of Louisa, I lose a signal very soon and the phone has no service in a huge area of south-eastern KY. Apparently, Straight Talk will not work on Appalachian Wireless's towers (CDMA) who serves much of south-eastern KY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

This is a GSM phone

08/10/2010
By ,
Ashtabula, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There are two different Samsung qwerty keyboard phones for $99.99 from straight talk..THIS one uses GSM service. The other uses CDMA service. That said, this is a nice little qwerty slider and Straight Talk is an excellent bang for your buck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+58points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

great phone on straight talk

03/11/2012
By ,
SW
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dd got this phone for her birthday. She loves the qwerty for texting & surfing the web. We got the 3 month card, not knowing how many minutes she would use. She never runs out the phone keeps track, she uses maybe 400minutes a month. We know now that the $30/mo card is more than enough. We used to have a name carrier with a bill 2X the amount. Just a win win for us, love straight talk. She has dropped this phone just because she is not real careful, and it just keeps working great! I would buy this again. The talk reception is crystal clear, I was worried because I want to know what she is saying when she is calling me. The phones I bought through straight talk all are trac fone. I guess straight talk, net 10 and trac fone are all the same owner??? You have to buy the phone for each of the 3 can't mix the phones or min. cards. This phone has a sim card, so I guess it is AT&T, but our other ST phones are androids-no sim but still work great too. Just make sure you get the correct phone a few of these look the same but aren't.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Great phone

08/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phone is great and works as expected.
Straight Talk phone number models that end with a "G" are GSM phones, use a SIM card and operate on either AT&T or T-mobile.
All other Straight Talk phone models that end in "C" operate on Verizons Prepaid network without roaming. Not exactly the same coverage as Verizon Prepaid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

It worked for a while.

04/21/2011
By ,
Norcross, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First of all, I've had this phone for 4 months now. It has a good battery span. That's the only good thing i can say about it. Now the con's, About a week ago my phone started turning off by itself when i make a call or try to use the keyboard to text. I have to constantly take the battery out and restart the phone. Sometimes picture and txt messages have delays. Also, i called customer service about my phone they tried to reset it and of course it does nothing. Now i have to get a new one because now its getting worse. I can't hold a phone conversation without it turning completely off. What a waste of money. PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+13points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

Great Service and Support

02/24/2011
By ,
Coshocton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The key to getting a Straight Talk phone isn't the phone but the provider of the phone and where the provider says a certain phone works. If you do not check Straight Talks website with your zip code for a phone then don't go to talk to Wal-Mart about getting a Straight Talk phone right away. I checked the site online so that I knew what phone would be good for what i needed. Please make sure you do the same in checking the website before purchasing service or a phone. If you need to they can also transfer your old cell number to your straight talk phone. According to my area it does use Verizon towers as Verizon Wireless is one of our main providers in my area. I would totally recommend this phone and Straight Talk service. If you need support it seems to be fairly good even though it's not American's speaking. Just take your time and be calm with their support so you can better understand them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone
12/25/2010
By ,
LaGrange, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought these phones for my Son and his girlfriend and they are extremely happy. They spent hours downloading ringtones for them. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung SGH-T401G ST Mobile Phone

My New Samsung t401g

11/16/2010
By ,
Webb City, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love everything about the phone and service except, I cannot figure out how to play video's from the web and I cannot find a snap on cover for it. It is a super value saving me $35 a month for more and better services than I had with ATT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next