Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Mainstays Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

The Mainstays Student Writing Desk is a multipurpose desk that can be used both as a computer table as well as a writing desk. This home writing desk can fit computers and laptops of all common size and also provides adequate space to write on. With a convenient slide out keyboard and shelf for storage, the black writing desk will work great in your home office, living room, kitchen or any room that needs work space. It can fit sleekly in any place and match with any decor because of the black and silver combo. Minimal assembly is required to utilize this writing desk.
Average Customer Rating:
3.772 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation75%59 out of 79reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 108 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

HORRIBLE QUALITY.STAY AWAY

08/10/2012
By ,
nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ordered http://www.walmart.com/ip/Mainstays-Student-Desk/14690611.it came today.halfway when i made it i noticed the top of the table board chipped off.the damage is quite obvious.i've already made it.what do i do now?even one of the legs piece was chipped off.loading pics ....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Good Desk For A Child

05/03/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a desk for my 9 year old son to put in his room. It was going to be used for a laptop. I did not want something to big because his room was small. This desk was the perfect size. I was skeptical at first after reading the reviews but I decided to buy it anyway. The desk was a little difficult to put together, material is not the best, and the keyboard is a little hard to pull out. However, it fits my needs and looks good in his room. This is why I am rating it a 4.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver
05/21/2013
By ,
alamogordo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is good for the price
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Great small low priced desk for the college studen

05/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of bad reviews on this desk, but figured I'd order it anyway because there really is not much to it to go all that wrong. I ordered it, it came with all the pieces. Instructions are easy if you just read the step by step instructions clearly.
A lot of people said the holes did not line up, while this is true, it's because you have to screw all the screws to a certain section before fully tightening. After I did that and got it all built, I loosened the screws a little on a section that I wanted to adjust, adjusted it, to my liking, and then tightened them. Don't tighten them too tight though as with any wood and screw product, you will strip out the wood if done too tight. That's just the nature of wood...
Looks great, it's dirt cheap in price. I put a monitor on the top with my mac mini, then I put the keyboard and mouse on the tray which is JUST wide enough. I love it though because I don't have too much room in my apartment at college so I loved this very small desk.
Just read the directions clearly and get some help if you need, just not very hard if you take the time to look at some pictures and read a little bit of text....
Great for college students who want a portable small but adequate desk. Best thing also is that the legs on the sides are all one metal piece so it's great for packing up and moving.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Great for a small place and reading table

12/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is exactly what I wanted for a small place. However, it was a somewhat difficult to put together because there were no pilot holes in the shelf that needed the brackets and screws. Had to hammer in tiny holes which should already be there. Then there was the problem where to hammer the wholes. So I put the screws/brackets first in the other shelf which had pilot holes and which connects to the shelf w/o the holes. I was able to mark where the holes needed to go. Also, there was a small chip on the topside of the corner on the left side of the main shelf which can be seen and it should have been caught before packaging/shipping. I will color that in with a black permanent marker. "Meets Expectations" would have been "Excellent" had the pilot holes been there and there not been a chip.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

awesome for what you need

08/09/2011
By ,
Boca Raton
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great computer desk if you are only using it for a space saver. it is small and compact and holds my desk top which includes a 22 inch LCD monitor. perfect for my bedroom because it does nto take up a lot of space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Great Value for the Money

07/22/2011
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm the Technology Coordinator for my Keller Williams Realty office and we were setting up our conference room. I had already purchased and installed a 47'" Vizio tv (also purchased from WALMART) and we needed a small stand for the desktop computer that used the tv as a monitor. I saw this stand and thought that it would be prefect for our needs. This worked amazingly for our needs as it is tall enough to double as a presentation podium for our training classes. The price was already great, but after purchasing online and picking up at the store the price had dropped from $24.99 to $19.99 and I had a refund for the difference at pickup. I read some reviews before purchasing and one big problem was that some holes didn't line up with the screws. I had that problem to a degree, but with a little patience and care it is easily overcome. I highly recommend this for a cost effective solution to your desktop computer station needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

could have been better

03/18/2011
By ,
Topeka,ks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I originally purchased this desk because it was cheap and I thought that it would be pretty good because of all of the good reviews it had.
The pre drilled holes didnt line up.
the wood is very cheaply made.
when you finally do get the screws to go into the pre drilled holes and go to move it the screws fall out because some of the holes are to big while some of them were practically none exsistant. it took me and a friend 2 hours to put it together.. the instructions said that the average time was 30 minutes. it is wobbly and the key board tray takes some muscle to slide out.
overall I would not recomend this desk to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Solid, looks good

11/28/2011
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
recently ordered this and received it 3 days later via fedex wasnt hard to assemble with a phillips screwdriver being all you need, sturdy just a little wobbliness side to side after a month of use now and thats with my 2 year old getting up and sitting at it, overall great deal would and probably will buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Printer Table/PC Desk

03/12/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this desk for my printer, and supplies because of the height, and perfect size for my needs, and space. I recommend using a bottle of all purpose glue and glueing all the joints, and clips areas as they are attached, and before going to the next step. This will give the desk more strength and support. One person can do this, but two sets of hands may be needed for the right angles. It is perfect for one or two pieces of light weight equipment. For the price I'm happy with and it does the work I wanted it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Easy assembly; perfect size

02/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted two small desks to put in the extra bedroom so my grandchildren could use them when they came over to my house. They were easy to assemble, and perfect for children.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Wish I didnt have to assemble it myself

01/31/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the desk, had to put it together by myself which was a little difficult especially since the pre-drilled holes weren't always easy to drill in, but I am satisfied with my small desk, it fits my laptop and I do my homework on it everyday :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver
10/07/2012
By ,
Gardena, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews before I bought this product and it sounded like most were happy with this desk. I purchased it to have a place for my fax and copier machines. Someone commented that the nail holes don't line up but you have to make sure they do before tightening the screws! If you tighten the screws really good then your desk will be pretty sturdy. If you don't have the patience to follow the directions and assemble the 8 sections and 34 screws, then forget it. It took me 2 hours to put it together and I am a female. At the end it was worth every bit of the time and the money (only $29 bucks). My daughter and I both love it.
crobs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Nice basic desk

04/30/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was glad the desk came promptly. However getting the screws in was a pain in the neck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Not worth it

01/27/2012
By ,
Fostoria, mi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The first one I got, holes on side and rear did not line up with the top panel, read panel F wouldn't hold any screw and crumbled easily, and the front of top panel has huge scratch. I took it back for exchange, holes still do not line up and front of top panel has huge scratch in the same place. Clearly quality control issue. I took it back and had them open a few more boxes to find one that isn't scratch, all were scratched the same way. The manager in there offered to knock off $5 so I kept the last one. If you get this, better plan on having defects like this and consider getting a roll of contact paper to hide the scratch.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Its a Ok

02/17/2012
By ,
Omaha, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought the desk becasue i wanted to get rid of my old one & i wanted a smaller desk..
So i saw this one it was cheap and needed it for a small space!!
i put it toghter which was a little difficult some of the pre holes were kinda hard to get the screws in and some of them just didnt line up...
so i was gonna use a reagular screw drier but at the end i had to use a power drill to make sure the screws were on tight since i have a 2 year old the just likes to climb onto things...
so i didnt want the desk to fall apart...
but besides that i loved it...
its small and just what i need it...
and looks great also..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Great!!!

06/16/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Despite some of the other reviews that said the holes did not line up, I went ahead and bought it bc it was just the right size and it looked like it would work perfectly! And it did! I put this together in under 20 minutes and it was SO simple! Assembly was simple and the product itself is great! I LOVE IT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Love the desk but came damaged from shipping

01/18/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This desk is a great value and looks more expensive then it acutally costs. I only gave a lower rating because the black topping put on top of the plywood on the writing top of the desk got chipped during shipping. I could have sent it back but since the desk was so cheap it wasn't worth the cost of return shipping and such.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver

Don't buy!!!!

11/16/2012
By ,
Batavia, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Screw holes not drilled. Had to drill to attach screws!! Keyboard shelf stays loose.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Student Writing Desk, Black and Silver
12/23/2012
By ,
EVANSTON, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wasn't sure if I should buy this for my step sons play room, needed something small to just hold there computer. Also, was concerned about my 3 yr old being able to move it around, with it being so cheap, if she is hanging out with them on the computer. BUT NO!!! THIS WAS THE PERFECT DESK. IT LOOKS NICE AND NOT CHEAP LOOKING,LIKE THE PRICE. only had it for about 2 weeks but there is a lot of playing in this room and it's holding. I like that it's easy to dust off, not a lot of corners to get into. holds a full computer and looks nice in the open play room, so if people are over, it doesn't look like a eye sore like the thing my husband had the computer sitting on. that's why I had to buy something for a buget of almost $0! so happy I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next