Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stansport Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Stansport Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

The 7' x 5' Stansport Star-Lite 2-Person Backpack Tent offers a cozy place to sleep and relax while camping. This large shelter can be placed in your backpack and easily stored in your car for portability. This Stansport tent is carefully crafted from durable polyester material for wonderful performance. It also has a PU coated floor that ensures more reliability for years to come. The 360 degree "No-see-um" mesh design prevents insects from entering the tent, and offers more ventilation. It also provides a wonderful way to engage in stargazing at night. This 2-person tent is firmly supported by two shock corded fiberglass poles to ensure that it stays where you put it, even in heavy wind or rain. It can be packed down to 13" x 5" size for easy transporting. The large front opening allows for quick access. It is specially designed to accommodate two people thanks to its high center height and large, roomy interior. At only 5 lbs in weight, it's ideal for trips through the woods.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation80%16 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Great Tent

04/09/2012
By ,
Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been looking for a lightweight tent but didn't want to pay the price that most places want for a lightweight tent. This price was very competitive. The tent is easy to put up and packs small. I like how the fly extends out from the tent by the front door so I have room to keep my stuff dry while not having it take up room in the tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Great for a couple who likes to star gaze

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this tent is acceptable for the price. Without the rain fly almost the entire tent is screen mesh, so the air flow and ability to lay back and see the stars without being bothered by the bugs is great. Honestly I do think the tent weighs more than it is advertised. The actual weight is a tad over 6lbs, so if your backpacking you may want to consider that. The tent is also difficult to set up for one person. The long segmented tent poles are awkward and its tricky to get them to feed through the tent right without the poles coming apart. IMHO this is a warm weather tent and is not for colder nights. The tent has enough room for two people to sleep comfortable but you may want to leave your gear outside. The vestibule is big enough to stash your boots/shoes, but there was no way our pack would fit under it. We have used this tent 5 or 6 times and it held up to a mild rain storm without leaking, but I wouldn't trust it in a heavy downpour. For $40-$45 this tent is a good deal
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Backpacking Tent

10/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I needed a cheap, light-weight tent to take on a backpacking trip for work. Had I been able to spend more money, I would not have purchased this tent. If my trip would have lasted more than 5 days, this tent would not have been ideal. However, for the amount I paid, I was satisfied with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Star gazer's tent

05/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is a fantastic value but is not light enough for easy backpacking. That's partly due to it being made of substantial (not flimsy) material and because the standard poles are fiberglass (heavier than aluminum ones that are a separate but hard to find and expensive upgrade). Without the rainfly on, the top is open and airy and affords a great view of the sky. With the fly on, you have plenty of sheltered vestibule area outside the screened part of the tent but out of the weather for backpacks, shoes, etc. The sleeves that the poles go through are a little tricky to figure out the first time but part of the fun of camping is to use your brain to solve little problems with your gear or campsite. You just have to remember that the poles that start off on the bottom of one side (like the front of the tent) go through the top sleeve on the other side (back side) of the tent's top -- that is the poles cross over each other. The other tip is that you should shorten the shock cords that go through the poles by about a foot so the poles assemble tighter and are less likely to come apart going through the pole sleeves. Great tent for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Great deal!

08/01/2011
By ,
Alpine, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm going to get the negative out of the way first so I can gush about this tent.
The tent is not at all easy to assemble (too many fabric pockets, flimsy segmented tent poles that like to come apart right when you're trying to get them through the longer fabric sections), and the instructions are horrid. There are no pictures, and proper assembly is not detailed well or clearly enough. Also, the instructions mentioned an extra pole that was not included or needed (the "shorter rain fly pole"). For anyone thinking about getting this tent, just throw away the instructions. What you need to do is to lay the tent flat, and one at a time push the tent poles through the orange fabric tubes, following the gray fabric lines that will criss-cross. When you push the second tent pole through, make sure that it crosses the first either over or under BOTH times they cross. It helps a great deal to have a partner help as you raise the tent and secure it into the holes at the four corners. Then you tie the little ties at each end, securing the crossed poles. Then you attach the rain fly, which has hooks at the end that you can hook to the other hole at the four corners, and make sure you align the zipper to the "door" of the tent. Voila. You also will want to buy at least four strong tent poles, as the ones provided are just too flimsy to even think about (you'll want four for the corners and one for the back of the fly to keep water from sneaking in during a rain).
Now for the positive. It is quite spacious for how small it packs (which is delightfully small, and easy to repack if you pay attention to how it is factory packed), and the mesh is GREAT for being able to breathe at night and not be baked out of the tent in the morning. My sweetheart and I can comfortable sleep in our bed roll, with both of our backpacks inside (granted, neither of us are particularly tall, so be advised that this may not be suitable for two taller or larger people). The best part is that it stays completely dry during a heavy storm. Last week I tried it out when it stormed all night long, and I was dry as a bone. Definitely something to look for in a good tent, and the reason I gave it full marks for value and expectations. I subtracted a star for difficulty of use.
Lastly, I would like to thank Walmart staff for their customer service. A few days before I was hoping to receive this in the mail I got an e-mail saying that shipping was delayed. I responded with a plea to speed up the process if possible, as I needed it for a class that involved a great deal of outside work. The tent came in the mail two days later. Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Great tents and fold very compact

05/30/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a tent that’s folds compact and this one fits the bill, great to use it in humid weather since the body of the tent is mesh or you can throw the full fly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

As first purchase

09/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall everything came in an like little smaller tha what i thought better buy for the buck kinda dont like the stakes that came an fiberglass poles are heavy tho the no see mesh makes it easy for rainfly to attach but if u wanting a light pack gear tent it close enough to adjust
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Nice inexpensive quick set-up tent

01/07/2011
By ,
West Palm Beach, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a real nice little tent. Easy to put together. However it came with the rain pole missing, and without it the rain cover was touching the tent causing water to sip in when it rained.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
"rain pole"? "rain cover"?
Posted 06/17/2013
the rainFLY on this tent does not use a "rain pole".
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'
09/07/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This tent weighed a full pound more than was listed in the specs. That is alot of extra weight if you are using it for a backpacking tent, which is what i bought it for. Other than being too heavy, the tent was just fine!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

simple and comfortable

07/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little difficult to set up your first time, but even after messing up and re-doing the entire thing it still took only about 10 minutes. Sometimes the stakes do not hold the rain fly down as well as other tents, but meets expectations for the price. Very lightweight and fits back into the original bag with plenty of extra space. However, the "no-see-um" mesh being the only thing besides the rain fly to separate you from the out doors can make it chilly, so I would recommend this as a summer only tent. Otherwise an excellent product for the price and I would absolutely recommend this to a friend who does light summer camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Actual weight is much higher than advertised.

06/05/2013
By ,
Adirondacks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This tent weighs 1.3 pounds more than advertised. As soon as I received it, I removed it from the box and weighed it. I only weighed the items required for set-up (no stuff-sack, ties, or gear bags). Still it came out 26% heavier than the listed 5 lbs. I can get cheaper tents, even bigger tents, for over 6 lbs. So, at best, this is average-to-below-average for a backpacking tent. Too heavy if you ask me.
The shock-cord inside the poles looked extremely flimsy, btw. If continually jostled in a backpack while hiking, I don't think this cordage would last.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

nice little tent

09/19/2011
By ,
Sharbot Lake, Ontario Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
used this tent recently and it worked great, full fly is really nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Nice tent but not for backpacking

05/11/2014
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent is great for camping. I like the fact that it is mostly screen so I can fully experience the outdoors. I also like the fact that it's quite roomy. But, it's definitely not a backpacking tent -- it's just too heavy. The poles have so many metal joints, which makes it more durable, but also very heavy. I'm going to be happily using this when I car camp for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'
09/21/2012
By ,
Shingle Springs,Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up was easy,big door, good amout of room,can't wait to go camping with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

good little tent

02/22/2014
By ,
hiddenite
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tent is ok it seems like it would hold up in a strong wind , the elastic in the poles are to long , shortened them up and they are fine , oh yeah the rain fly could have extended a little farther in the front but i think it's going to be a good tent
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Easy to Install

08/27/2013
By ,
Bozeman, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first tent and camping experience in life. and I managed to install it very easily in 10 min.
It is very spacious for two people. only problem was, one of the six metal pieces bended while I was trying to put it into ground. I would suggest to be careful when u do this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'

Swimming Pool

08/16/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very difficult for one person to assemble. Segmented rods are WAY TOO LONG. After it's up, there's a four foot depression along the top that will only collect rain as it falls.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'
07/28/2013
By ,
cherry hill, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is great exept the zipper handle is too thin, they may brake for short period of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'
07/11/2013
By ,
Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The poles are a little difficult to remove when tent is being broken down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Stansport Star-Lite 2-person Back Pack Tent, 7' x 5'
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5