Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Danby Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Danby Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

The 0.9-Cubic Foot Compact Danby Microwave Oven is a spacious microwave with 900 watts of cooking power. It has a durable and stylish stainless steel exterior. This Compact Danby Microwave Oven also has an easy to read LED timer/clock as well 10 power levels, and simple one touch cooking for eight popular uses like baked potato, steak, and popcorn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.28 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(229 Reviews) 184
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
54
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation85%194 out of 227reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 130 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
54
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel
07/18/2011
By ,
Nor-Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it daily for numerous task and it has performed flawlessly.
A great replacement for my smaller unit with both a size and power boost.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Perfect for small space

04/27/2013
By ,
West Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for a small kitchen and the design fits with modern appliances. Love the one touch controls.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Good product, only minor negatives

07/26/2012
By ,
Central California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fine little microwave, among the best I've had. I have only two dislikes, and they're minor: The beeping when it's finished continues through its mandatory 5 loud beeps even after you open the door. This is irritating, so I just open the door BEFORE it's finished cooking and then hit "Cancel." It might seem trivial to you, but I don't need to listen to an alarming series of beeps when I'm standing there with the door open, fully aware that the cooking is done. None of my previous microwaves did this. The other minor problem is the tightness of the door's locking mechanism. You could almost pull the microwave off the cart, if you don't hold it at the same time. It opens and closes with a loud "thunk." And if I didn't hold onto the microwave when opening the door, the cart it's sitting on would pull forward, anyway. Yeah, these little problems are irritating to me, but value-wise, this is still the best buy I could find, and if this microwave lasts the number of years my previous ones did, I'll be satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Wish I had bought this sooner

04/17/2011
By ,
Avon, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
About 9 months ago, our sharp microwave of 4+ years died, so my boyfriend and I bought another sharp since we liked the first one so much (it got pretty heavily abused over those 4 yrs). Recently, the new sharp caroseul died and stopped heating. We were very disappointed in this product since the shipping cost to fix it was basically just as much as a new microwave (warranty basically worthless). After searching, we found this option, which was just the right size and had a good front look with the black/stainless. I also really appreciated the pull door since the push buttons can get problematic. Overall this microwave has performed great and cooks everything almost perfect (especially popcorn, frozen veggies). Two things to note: the microwave doesn't have specific meat defrost functionality (I've been using the by weight function) nor does it let you punch in ten seconds since it has pre-set timing (if you hit one, one minute automatically starts). Other than those two things this is a great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

High-end options at low-end price

04/16/2011
By ,
Murray, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are a family of three that typically uses a microwave to heat up meals, pop popcorn, and defrost frozen items. This microwave is an excellent value for those functions. It offers one-touch operation for 1-6 minutes, easy power level adjustment, and time- or weight-based defrost like more expensive ovens. Although the oven is compact, the interior is large enough to accommodate our large bowl-shaped popcorn popper or a medium-sized casserole dish.
The only drawback is that it is a little too light, so it tends to move forward when you pull open the door. We put "no slide" drawer liner under the oven to eliminate this minor issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

One Nifty Microwave-Worth the Money

10/20/2011
By ,
Arlington Hts., Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This microwave is a very good deal for the money. It is so nifty. If you register online you get 2 extra months to your warranty that makes it 20 months.
The microwave is large enough inside.
It has great features
If you want to cook something at 1,2,3,4,5,6 minutes just press 1,2,3,4,5,6 on the keypad and it will cook for that many minute.
If you need to cook something for 1:30 seconds you could either press the start button 3 times as by doing this you add 30 seconds to your cooking time or you press power then the 1:30 on your keypad.
It has weight and timed defrost. Which I havent used yet.
It also has timed start so if you would like to cook something or heat something say at 7pm and it is now 6:30pm and you have to run to the store but know you will not be back till 7:05-you can program the microwave to start cooking at a specified time. Havent tried that yet.
I guess also if you had a 1000 or 1100 watt microwave before of course you have to cook everything a bit longer
I love it. Would recommend to anyone.
You need to place something under the microwave so it will not slide.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Good for the price

10/23/2010
By ,
Norristown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because I didn't want to spend a lot and this microwave was the nicest looking of the cheaper models. It has all of the settings that the more expensive models do. I had to get used to it because when you hit a number it instantly turns on for that many minutes. My only complaint is that it's light weight and when you pull on the door handle when there's nothing inside it, the microwave moves instead of the door opening. I solved that by putting a few small objects on top of it to weigh it down a little. Overall, I think it's a good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+153points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Great Microwave for the Price!

10/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this microwave for two weeks, but we have to have it out on the counter, so I wanted it to be relatively small. It still fits a full sized dinner plate just fine and it works well from what I've experienced. I only use it for light reheating. Great value and looks nice on the counter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Fabulous Microwave

07/08/2011
By ,
Arlington, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had never heard of Danby products before coming across this microwave while online shopping a few weeks back. Received it 2 days ago and, so far, it's not only done everything expected of it, it has also exceeded what I thought it could do.**
Normally, I don't review things, but I wanted to say there is a work-around for a feature which seemed to pose a problem to a few other reviewers. Yes, there *is* an Express Time feature for whole-minute digits from 1 through 6 (which means the instant after you tap one of those digits, the microwave starts). To bypass the "Express Time" feature for the purpose of cooking for a combination of minutes and seconds, first tap the "POWER" button for the required power level. The microwave will allow you to punch in the precise amount of time in minutes and seconds. Tap the "Start/+30 seconds" button to start the task. It only takes a few extra seconds to do this, and to me seems to be a very mild inconvenience as compared with the built-in convenience of the 1-button "Express Times" which I'm sure many cooks *do* use.
This Danby microwave is currently (July 8, 2011) selling at another well-known online retailer for more than double the price! and at other online retailers for a lot more than this rollback price of $59. The stainless steel details against black make the unit look classy and elegant, as well. If you're in the market now for an excellent low-watt microwave, my personal opinion is that with free shipping to your home, you can't afford *not* to order this!!
** Check out the online Manual to see all of the features (among them, Multi-Stage Cooking and Child-Safety Lock) http://www.walmart.com/ip/Danby-0.9-Stainless-Steel-Microwave/14675998
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Suggestion to fix sliding around issue

08/24/2011
By ,
Atascadero, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Buy some rubberized non-slip shelf liner (it comes in rolls at Walmart, Kmart, etc.). Cut a small piece to put under each leg & then push down a little on the microwave to seal it to the counter. It shouldn't move around after you do this. This stuff works great. I use it under lots of things, like even my alarm clock, vases, etc. Works great in CA where we have earthquakes as well. It will even keep your TV from tipping over in earthquake. I have tried it. One without it fell on floor during the last quake, the TV with the shelf liner, no problem. So many people are commenting about the small microwaves sliding around that I wanted to offer a good solution.
The microwave is a great little microwave, but if you are older & cannot pull on the handle, get one with a push button door opener because it is easier for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

BIG mistake

03/24/2012
By ,
Mount Joy, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loathe this microwave. It's small. That's OK. It takes about 30% longer to heat things than my previous one. I can live with that. The keypad is unresponsive, so you often have to push repeatedly, or push so hard the microwave moves around the counter. The keypad is not durable; after 30 days it's already chewed up at the common points ("start" "stop" "add 30 seconds", etc.). The tabs which locate the rotating plate on the little drive nubs (to make it spin) are very undersized, and it's always popping off the track. There's also a little circular bearing device under the rotating plate, so when you go to replace the rotating plate for the umpteenth time you have to get the bearing device and the plate lined up simultaneously. What a colossal waste of time, money, and space. Oh; one more thing: when it "beeps" (when done) it will keep beeping after you press "stop" or open the door. Just a small thing to irritate you every time you use it. Did I mention I loathe this microwave? Too bad I didn't keep the receipt or the packaging. I'd sell it for $10.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

thumbs up!

10/03/2014
By ,
Renovo, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
affordable and the style I was looking for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Exc for the $ paid

11/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stylish, nice medium size, easy buttons.
Had to put some wall stick 'ems under the
4 foot pads to keep it from sliding on the counter.
O/W great micro!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

My Danby is a Dandy !!

07/18/2011
By ,
Washington state
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Danby microwave was shipped to my home several weeks ago. And has been in constant use ever since !!
Compact, but not 'small'. The turntable is about 10 1/4" and even my large dinner plates fit nicely. Easy to use with SIX minute selection buttons !! And even tho it is 900 watts, can cook a potato is 5-6 minutes.
I also really like the appearance. My kitchen is 'Retro' and with the chrome looking handle and the swoop of styling across the front... Well, it doesn't just look SO modern !!
Works great, Very nice options for the low low price.
If I ever have to buy another microwave--- it will be a Danby !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Great looking, great price, poor shipping quality

08/02/2012
By ,
WA State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so disappointed. I bought this for my college age son based on size, power and great reviews. I wanted to avoid a trip to the stores, and with free delivery, it was a no brainer to buy online.
Microwave arrived a full week after website said it would. It was shipped in its original box, no additional packing box or padding. Microwave box was beat up, with corners crunched. Upon opening, the upper back corner (metal) was dented and crushed. This box fell pretty hard to do that kind of damage.
No problem taking it back to the store, where I bought a replacement of a different brand.
Will have to rethink my online purchases. Even if the microwave had arrived undamaged, the unit could have been dropped numerous times, affecting its lifespan. I really liked this microwave. Wish I could have counted on the Post office and shipping companies being more careful. Maybe next time delivery to the store for pickup might ensure more careful handling.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Great Micro

11/24/2010
By ,
Redlands, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks great and works perfectly. Small in a good way-takes up less space but big enough for all purposes. This is the best bargain ever. The stainless is gorgeous. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Good Deal

12/20/2010
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a good deal but the only dissadvantage is that you have to pull the handle hard to open the door instead of pushing one button to open.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Clarksville
Arrived with broken glass
Posted 07/30/2011
Do not order this online if you can help it because I foolishly did and the microwave arrived in a tattered box and the glass plate was shattered.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Good Microwave for a Single Person

04/21/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received the product in less than a week. It was the style I wanted and for the right price. I'm a single male, so don't really use the microwave all that much. I would like to mention that it is only able to hold a 10" dinner plate, so anything larger would be out of the question. The exterior is easy to clean and the pre-programed buttons are a plus. I would recommend this product for a single person.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel
09/30/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I got this item the plastic guide for the turntable was broken in half. The box did not have any damage. It looks like they just put a broken piece in box. When I contacted walmart they said I would have to contact Danby directly for a replacement part. Danby want me to fax in my request. Do people still use fax machines? I'm disappointed that they are making it a pain for me to get a replacement part.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
fayetteville nc
return
Posted 11/21/2011
i have never had a problem returning a item to wamart. I guess there could always be a first time.I saw a lady return a cake with one slice missing and that is the truth.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Danby 0.9-cu. ft. Microwave, Stainless Steel

Great Buy

05/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this Danby microwave for a month now and I have no complaints! It has a very spacious interior. Also, it takes less time to microwave and reheat foods than other microwave models I've used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next