Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Soleus Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Soleus Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

With the Soleus Air DP1-70-03 Dehumidifier you can effortlessly remove extra moisture from any room. The device operates very efficiently and quietly to keep moisture under control in your home including the basement. The Soleus Air 70 Pint Home Dehumidifier can remove up to 70 pints of water from the air every 24 hours from basements and damp rooms to let allergy sufferers breathe easy and also keep the mold growth and paint peeling under check. You can run this Energy Star dehumidifier for a long time without worrying about inflated energy bills. When the bucket is full the dehumidifier automatically shuts-off and the bucket-full indicator lights up. You can even hook up a garden hose for continuous drainage of water to save the hassle of emptying the bucket. The 70 pint dehumidifier features low temperature operation and automatic defrost making it a great appliance for year-round use. Featuring three fan speeds this dehumidifier lets you to control the output of air.
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%45 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Great Dehumidifier

06/04/2012
By ,
central pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this about a month ago and have been very happy with its performance. We have it airing out a damp basement in a house we recently purchased but have not been able to move into yet. It has worked well in keeping it dried out and the electric bill did not go up significantly especially since we keep it on continuous mode. The water runs from the hose we bought and connected to it right into the basement drain. When we connected a hose that was too coiled and long at first, the water was not going into the drain but the bucket in the front instead, so the dehumidifier shut off automatically (I believe they all do that when they are full). We bought a shorter hose that laid flat on the floor and that has worked great! Our local electric company is offering a $10 rebate for purchasing an energy star dehumidifier which I did not find out until after we purchased it, so that is somehting that might be worth checking out in your local area also. I would highly recommend this dehumidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

So far, so good

03/06/2011
By ,
Marysville, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this unit on-station for a little over a week now and I got it just in time. We've been having lots or rain in central Ohio over the past week and my basement gets damp - especially when it rains in torrents and that's what it's been doing. When it rains hard like that, water percolating through the ground "short circuits" along the line bringing my well water into the house and runs down the basement cinderblock wall to the floor where it then has to move about 8 feet to drain into the sump. Needless to say, that water on the floor raises the humidity levels tremendously.
This Soleus 70-pint unit has really good performance. I have it set to the 50% level and the medium fan speed. It ran over 24 hours straight at first to get things under control and now it's just "cruising along" with no issues. I have it on a bench about 24 inches off the floor so my wife can collect the condensed water in 5-gallon buckets that she then uses for her houseplants.
As others have said, it is a loud unit. But, because it's in my basement, that's not an issue for me. Also, this is the first dehumidifier I've had where the exhaust air goes up. Usually, units pull air from the front to the back or vice versa. I suppose the top venting perhaps helps with air circulation in the room as the exhaust spreads out along the ceiling in a radial pattern as opposed to the straight-through flow of what I'm used to, but I'm no HVAC expert.
This is the most expensive dehumidifier I've ever bought - by about $100 - and I sure hope it lasts longer than the Goldstar units I bought in the past from Wal*Mart. I guess we'll see about that.
Right now, one week in, I'm satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 3 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

I "Tweeked" It, And It Did The Trick For Me!!!

08/24/2011
By ,
Newburgh ,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My basement is approximately 3000 sq ft. and emptying the Dehumidifier water tray was a pain, I was constantly spilling the water.
I hooked up a 3 foot lawn hose to the Dehumidifier's adapter and placed it on the top of my wet bar. The water from the hose flows in my wet bar sink and down the drain.
I didn't like the option of only having a 2 or 4 hour timed operating selection on the unit. The first week, I ran the unit constantly, but now that the moisture is under control, I elected to decrease the Dehumidifiers operating time.
I purchased an indoor 3 prong timer from Lowes and programed my own start time intervals for the unit. My Dehumidifier is set to run for 1 hour every 6 hours and it maintains itself and the moisture with minimal water output. (it's also energy star rated ) And now It's nice and dry everytime I go into the basement, without humidity, damp smells or spiders. Additionally, I purchased the extended warranty for $20 bucks to keep the cost down just in case I have a problem with the unit. ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Good Value

01/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is a good value. It is noisy so you wouldn't want it in your bedroom full-time. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because of the noise. However, it is a big unit designed for larger spaces. It does the task of removing moisture from the air. I just plug it in about 4 hrs a day. It has wheels so it is very easy to move from room to room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Review 5 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Initially, every need was met...for a while

02/12/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After 2.5 months of operation this model failed. while it worked it performed flawlessly. now i look up warranty on the wal-mart site and see i have a one year warranty on product. ...not much else cited. if factory service is present - i would give this product 5 stars...being a large item it's a bit of an ordeal to ship. as it is right now i am disappointed. I will report back with news from Soleus or if wal-mart stands behind products sold.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hillsborough, NJ
How did the servicing go?
Posted 06/01/2011
Hi,
Did you have to ship this heavy Dehumidifier back to Soleus or Walmart took care of it? I need to buy a dehumidifier for my basement and thinking about purchasing this unit. But hesitant about the future ordeal of shipping it back for a repair if anything goes wrong.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Loud, but works great

06/14/2011
By ,
Sasebo, Japan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Sasebo, Japan. The area is known for its high humidity in the summer months. Building standards are "different" (single pane windows, little to no insulation). Additionally, we have a chill water cooling system (in military housing) vice the typical A/C so it cools without removing humidity.
I have 2 of these de-humidifiers, they run continuously (24 hours/day) when the AC is running. When I first received the units in April I had to dump the water twice a day. Now as the outside humidity has increased, they go max 6 hours before they get full. The unit shuts off and beeps 13 times to let you know it is full (seems very loud at 4 AM in the morning). The bucket is 2 to 2 1/2 gallons, so the unit works really well on removing the humidity. Unfortunately, Japanese building codes resist earthquakes but do not keep out the humidity which is why they have to run them continuously. The units are loud so we roll it into another room when watching TV, but they are definitely worth the price paid.
I highly recommend these units for continuous operation in a high humidity environment. Our house quickly feels warm and “sticky” when these units shut off.
Note: The units do generate heat (like your refrigerator). If you do not have a cooling system, they will quickly heat up any room they are in.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Does the job very well

06/29/2011
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did a lot of research first. This one seemed to be the best bang for our buck and we are generally very pleased with our purchase. Something I really liked is how it is made to keep from freezing up, which seems to be a cause for most dehum going out quickly. We've had this almost a couple months, so can't speak to the long term rating, but it really does a good job pulling out the moisture. When it's really damp or humid, we empty it two or three times a day. When it's drier, only once. Has a great hook-up for draining by hose so you don't have to empty all the time, but it's not convenient for us with two kids under 5 running around. Even so, as a busy mom, I don't find it a pain to empty. I run down to the basement regularly through the day and can easily dump it on a quick errand. Easy to pull out, handle is well-designed. The whole process is probably a 20 sec detour. My two complaints:
1 - warm air comes out when it's not actually dehumidifying (fan is running), tho sometimes fan turns off and I wish it would do that instead of pouring out warm air. On the plus side, it keeps the basement from being so chilly when the a/c is on.
2 - It's on the loud side, but being in the basement we don't usually mind. When we play down there or watch a movie, we either turn it on low or off.
Would still buy again because you can't everything you want when you pay less.
One thing that I consider a pro, but others might not: it beeps loudly about 6 or so times when it's full. I can hear it all the way up in the kitchen, but we've never heard it from the bedrooms directly above, so it doesn't bother us. I like that it beeps because I can run down and dump it if I haven't been down in a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 8 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Soleus Dehumidifier

04/09/2011
By ,
Asheville NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has turned out to be a great machine for what I bought it for, it is in a finished basement which has a washer & dryer there so it has some work to do. It is doing a great job of drying out the entire basement which is about 1500 sq. ft. We use the continous drain feature and that works well also.
I would recommend this to anyone who has a humidity problem
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 9 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Poorly designed, going to return

01/15/2012
By ,
FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I chose this dehumidifer over others based on the high number of positive ratings, but unfortunately in reality the design is rather poor. First of all, this unit is much louder than I expected it to be. If you were running it in the basement or another distant location, it probably wouldn't be so noticeable; however, I need mine to run in the living room, and it was very distracting. Much louder than I anticipated.
My other frustration with this dehumidifier is that, due to the design, it runs 24/7. For example, say you want to set your house to 50% humidity. As soon as the unit brings the humidity down to that level, it shuts off (silence). Within approximately one minute, the sensor on the dehumidifier indicates that the humidity has climbed back up an increment, and the unit turns on again. This "on/off" cycle was occurring every 5 minutes, around the clock. Off for one minute, then on for five. Every time the unit started back up, the lights and electronics in that room dimmed momentarily. Not something I want happening every five minutes.
Another fault, which another reviewer mentioned but I stupidly ignored, is that you can't program this dehumidifier to run in a cycle. You can only put it on a one-time 2 or 4 hour timer. Once that time interval is up, the unit powers off and won't run again until you reprogram it. For a $200 dehumidifier, I think it should have the ability to run in cycles.
I've had this dehumidifier for 2 days and am that frustrated with it that I'm returning it today. Next time, I'll read all the reviews in detail before I purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Connecticut
Timer note
Posted 05/18/2012
The comment about programming the cycle made me investigate further. I checked out the owner's manual on the SoleusAir website. You have the option: Use the timer and it will shut down in 2 or 4 hours, OR, do not use the timer and it will cycle on/off indefinitely.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

good humidifier

08/24/2011
By ,
palm beach Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
definitely removes more water from basement than my old humidifier. easily gets basement to 60% where I set it. I also think it's fairly quiet for a 70 pint humidifier. Also more efficient than my other dehumidifier so will use less electricity.
My only caveat is the continuous hose attachment which was leaking to some extent into the containment bucket and after awhile would shut the dehumidifier off because it filled the bucket. This could be a problem if you leave your residence for some time and expect the dehumidifier to run on a continuous basis. Spoke to Soleus and they said to elevate the dehumidifier if it's in the basement to give it more gravity flow. Put on a small chair and it did the trick, no leaking into the bucket after having run it now for an extended period. The place to attach the hose is slightly recessed into the dehumidifier itself so somewhat difficult to get to. You need to securely attach the hose (including the rubber washer inside your hose) to avoid any bypass. It seems to me this could have been designed a little better to avoid this problem but as I said, my dehumidifier is draining properly now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Worth The Money

10/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Consumer Reports review was positive, the price was right, so I bought it. It works sooo much better than a different manufacturer that I purchased 2 years ago. I would recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Review 12 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

DRY OUT YOUR BASEMENT

04/03/2011
By ,
HAMILTON NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SOLIEUS DEHUMIDIFIER has worked wonderfully since I took it out of the box. Easy to set up and in less that 24 hours had my basement humidity down to 40% and has kept it there effortlessly. The 3 fan settings are a plus and the digital controls are easy to use and emptying the large water resevior is simple. The high fan setting can be a little loud, but not annoyingly loud. Overall, if you need one take a hard look at this one. Good Value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Good - but they missed on a few points

06/22/2011
By ,
Middlefield, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The good:
Price in it's class. For the 65-70 pint range the price here is excellent.
Performance - while I've yet to see an electric bill to speak to the efficiency, I can tell you that this thing removes serious moisture from the air. My basement was in distress - this took care of it in a couple weeks.
Smart design - it uses a squirrel cage blower so it's top-venting - you can put it much closer to a wall than other "front to back" blower units
Noise - I wouldn't want it next to me in the living room, but for a dehumidifier it's not bad at all. On lower speeds it's actually quieter than others I've owned and seen in use.
Integrated hose connection - SO EASY to drain to a hose - just open the little door, feed in the hose, and screw it down. No goofy adapters.
"Smart bucket" - when you pull the bucket to empty it the compressor will stop, but the fan keeps cycling for a minute - it seems to do this by design, since every time the compressor stops the coils will continue to "work" for several minutes after. A simple but useful idea
I'm neutral on the construction - it looks nice, but not really better or worse than any others. Actually - I got a warranty-replaced LG unit about the same time - and the quality has tanked - so this was a tad nicer.
The bad:
The """timer""" - Sure, it has markings for 2 Hours and 4 Hours like other dehumidifiers - but this isn't a "recycling" timer - it's a ONE TIME timer. So if you set it for 2 hours it does not run 2 hours on / 2 hours off like other units - it runs for 2 hours then shuts off. And it stays off until you power it on again. This is a HUGE failure for this unit. I really rely on this cycling feature for long-term maintenance - and now I don't have it
Capacity - the thin blower allows for an overall thin design - and the cost is the capacity of the tank. If you're not using a hose get ready to empty the tank really, really often - like every 4 - 5 hours!
Overall:
Would buy again. at least right now. The proof will be next spring, when this unit has sat all winter. For the last 3 years this has meant finding a dead LG dehumidifier, and searching for a replacement. I hope this one last - but the one year warranty leaves me doubtful....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Great product. Works fine.

06/28/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read the instruction manual carefully. Controls are a bit tricky, but easy to learn. Set the desired humidity for automatic operation, or go all the way to the bottom of the list for continuous operation regardless of humidity. Or set the timer to turn off after x hrs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A
07/12/2011
By ,
noonan,nd
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought Two units put them in my basement plugged them in the humidity read out at 95% on each unit took about a day to get the humidity down to 50% and have been emptying twice a day for about a month now straight. Still works great not impressed with the auto run hose attachment so I use the buckets. The noise is a little loud but as my wife sleeps with a white noise machine or box fan on its probably pretty comparable!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Does a good job

07/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Attractive style. Excellent humidification. Read another review saying it was loud. I think no more than any others. From all the dehumidifiers I've owned none of them are quiet.
One watch out if you use a hose to direct the water away is be sure to use a good hose washer. Mine leaded a little and slowing fill up the collection pan. Replaced the washer and tightened the hose connection very tight and then had no problem. After my experience with the first one, I bought another one from WalMart. It was supposedly from a different manufacturer but it was the same dehumidifier, the only difference being the cabinet had slightly different styling, different looking intake grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 17 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Works well, rather noisy

03/07/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dehumidifier is very easy to use and the price is reasonable. I had it shipped by Walmart to a local Fedex office for free, and it arrived very quickly. I have been using it for several weeks now, and it removes a lot of moisture from the air. The digital humidistat seems pretty accurate - it generally agrees with another humidistat I use, although it often exaggerates the relative humidity level upon startup (but it adjusts to an accurate reading fairly soon thereafter). The only negative feature is that the unit is pretty noisy. I understand that all humidifiers in the 70 pint range tend to be noisy, although I wonder if any of the competing models are a bit quieter. Still it is better to have a somewhat noisy large unit than a quiet under-sized unit that wastes power and does not get the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Does what it is supposed to do.

06/10/2011
By ,
Mukwonago, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have owned at least 6 other dehumidifiers over 40 years. Last ones were Haiers which were okay except I had to take then apart and replace fuses and full bucket shut-off switches all the time. I can see why so many people complained about them just failing. It was probably a
25 cent fuse.
Ordered this from Wal Mart end of May 2011. It arrived in 3 days and in great shape. Thanks
Wal Mart!. Previous product reviews said that a disadvantage to this model was that when it reached the desired humidity level the compressor shut off, but not the fan.
So I was surprised when running the unit to a set humidity level it suddenly shut off completely. I thought the unit was defective, or there was a problem with the GFI outlet. Ruled out an outlet problem. Then (I'm a typical guy) I read the operator's manual more carefully and it indicated that this would happen.
However, everytime it shut off it was only for a minute or two, then it would re-start. I was still left wondering if this rapid recycling was normal. I e-mailed the company's customer service department. If I wanted to play a cruel joke on the CSR I dealt with I would copy the e-mail string into this review. I was told that the fan should never shut off, but one sentence later that sometimes it would. The CSR not only didn't seem to know the product, but his english skills were very poor. I never got an answer to the question of whether it was normal for the unit to shut off for only a minute or two when the desired humidity level was reached, seems like pretty dumb electonics in the control system, and an unnecessary strain on the compressor. If anybody else can shed some light on this please do.
There a few other minor things I don't like; The bucket has a top which covers most of it and it doesn't slide out very easily. I like open tops, easy to keep clean. There is no temperature indicator on the control panel. This unit is as noisy or more so than any other I've owned. It would be nice if you could set these units to runs for 2 or four hours and then start up again after another 2 or 4 hours. Can't imagine chips to control this would be that expensive.
That air is drawn into the front of the unit is a big plus. The other way is just plain dumb as you can never place those units near a wall. Three fan speeds is an improvement over my previous units.
I decided that this is one appliance that I would buy an extended warranty for. I'm tired of taking these things apart and servicing them myself after a year just because a tiny fuse blows or a little switch fails.
Sure wish these could be made in the USA and hold up like the ones I owned years ago. Also wish customer service meant something at Soleus.
This would have been a 5 star review except that the company's customer service representative was so totally deficient, not even 1 star there.
Wal Mart did a 5 star job on sales and delivery.
After a year, if this model is still available will update the review.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cville, VA
Dehumidifier Cycles Too Often-Repair Problems
Posted 08/29/2011
One of the many problems with new dehumidifiers is that they cycle too often. Mine would go off for 3-5 min., then turn back on for 10 min., etc. (Some units have continuous fan that never shuts off, but I wanted a unit where fan shuts off because of annoying noise.) I read online a way to help with the cycling issue. Buy a 24-hour timer (like a lamp timer). I set mine to run for an hour and go off for 2 hours, and the humidity stays where I want, at 50%. (Must have one that has auto restart.) Most dehumidifiers work fine for a few months, but in 6 years, I've had 5 different brands and none lasted more than a year. So far, I've found it impossible to get them repaired, even under warranty since most require owner to send it at owner's cost. I've been told by one repairer that they are not worth repair, since repair even under warranty may cost up to $100 for a $200 unit.
+1point
Customer Avatar
your dehumidifier
Posted 06/16/2011
you mention that this unit has a top on the collection bucket. Does this top detach and if so, does it detach easily for cleaning?
We have a Fedders now and the top is completely open. We want one like that.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Great product and very easy to use!

08/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pulled it out of the box and plugged it in. Hooked a short amount of garden hose to it. Quickly read the instructions and set it to run continuous. It shows the relative humidity on the monitor. It runs in the basement near the furnace to dry the whole house. It started at 95% and in 1 month it is down to 50%. And this is Wisconsin you know humidity central.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Soleus Energy Star 70-Pint Dehumidifier DP1-70-03A

Outstanding

09/05/2011
By ,
Fitchburg, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THis product is exactly what the product promises. It works perfectly out of the box. I have amn extremely wet basement and use a garden hose attachment to continuously drain the moisture to my sump.
It is extemely efficient and results were noticed within the first hour of operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next