Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Now your child can make their own cool and tasty treats with the the Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker. The Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker even comes with popping candy, ready to mix in.
Average Customer Rating:
3.677 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation68%21 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Ice cream tastes great!

12/02/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beware - it will take a while to get to the finished product, however my kids loved it and the ice cream was delish. I recommend crushing small batches of ice in a blender to put in the bowl. I had my kids and I take turns every 2 minutes with the churning part. Unfortunately if you want to make a 2nd batch you do need to refill the ice again or the ice cream won't freeze. Lastly, make sure that you have the little slider at the bottom of the bowl in right - I had the mix flow all over my table one time.l
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+65points
Review 2 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

waste of money

11/08/2010
By ,
tucson,az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Products say it freezes icecream in 10 minutes...try 45! Took too long and only makes 1/2 cup of icecream. Please dont waste your hard earned money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+228points
Review 3 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

It exceeded expectations!

12/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have bought many "kid" type ice cream makers over the years, and have always been disappointed. When my daughter asked for this Blizzard maker we almost passed it up thinking it would be a waste of money or would get used once and never again. We were pleasantly surprised when the finished product yielded great tasting ice cream and exceeded our expectations of it! Reading another review on here, I can't help but wonder what they could have done wrong. We followed the directions to a T, and our ice cream froze perfectly within the 10 minutes! By 7 minutes we could tell it was close to being done. You have to make sure you use crushed or shaved ice to fill the bowl, and half and half to make the ice cream! Here is a list of our pro's and con's:
Pro's: Quick assembly, only needs ice, water, salt, and half and half (plus dq ice cream mixes that are included), actually tastes like DQ soft serve, easy to follow directions, product actually does what it claims to do! My kids 11, 5, and 3 all LOVED it!
Con's: A lot of arm work! 10 minutes is a long time to be turning a handle but if you have more than one child they can take turns turning it!
After the ice cream was frozen and the cork screw attachment was put on it was hard to re-assemble the lid to crank the ice cream out. After a couple minutes we got it on and the ice cream came out fine, and had not melted a bit!
The mix ins tasted horrible! I suggest using your own! The ice cream was wonderful itself, but the bubble gum mix in wasn't to our liking.
Overall I say this product is well worth the money, and the best made for kids ice cream maker product put out on the market yet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 4 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Dairy Queen Enthusiast

01/03/2011
By ,
Chesterfield, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family loves dairy queen, this far exceeded our expectations. At first we were a little wearing of putting so much salt in to the maker but once the ingredients were added and the lid shut and double checked for tightness. We let our 8 year old have at it. We had vanilla ice cream in no time. We were able to take the bucket off and stick it in the freezer for after dinner too. This may even be a staple for summer vacations to the beach. Hoping to check out more flavors later this week. Highly recommended by a very pleased mom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+22points
Review 5 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Fun for the whole family

12/20/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 year old son received this as a birthday gift and we couldn't be more pleased with it. We have had ice cream every night after dinner for the past 3 nights. I don't understand why people are saying it takes so long to freeze. We followed the directions exactly (first crushing the ice, then adding the salt, then adding the water) and it froze in less than 10 minutes. We actually had my son turn the crank for 15 minutes the first time because we thought it wasn't going to freeze fast enough. He was complaining it was too hard to turn the crank after only 7 minutes because the ice cream had thickened so quickly. He loves eating ice cream that he made himself and it is the perfect portion size for a kid. We didn't use the popping candy that came with it. Instead we have crushed up a reeses peanut butter cup and an oreo and mixed those in. We love doing it together and having a tasty treat to share.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 6 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

VERY Disappointing

07/13/2011
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My daughter received this item as a gift and used it for the first time at her Birthday party to make the ice cream! It took FOREVER with all of her friends taking turns spinning the handle only to get a tiny cup of it which did NOT come out looking like it did in the photo. Very expensive gift, and we were unable to find anymore refill mixes anywhere! We could get the real DQ deal for way cheaper than making it with this toy. We were EXTREMELY disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 7 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker
01/15/2011
By ,
ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
happy with it. easy to make and the kids love it. Only downfall is, it makes a very small amount.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 8 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

So-So product

12/31/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beware, this is not a blizzard maker, but a hand-crank homemade ice cream maker. It doesn't actually make blizzards. You make the ice cream, then sprinkle the topping on top. So if you want a homemade ice cream maker, go ahead and buy it. I followed the instructions to a T, except I believe I didn't have enough salt on the ice. The ice cream took a long time to be made.. more than 30 minutes. My daughters didn't care for the taste of the toppings. I'll try it again to see if I can get it to come out right!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 9 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Great for Kids

02/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of fun for the kids. The refills are hard to find and not a good variety. Easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 10 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Paying for the Name

01/26/2011
By ,
MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a hand-crank ice cream maker. You still need to stir in the ingredient (candy, cookie crumbs, etc.) separately. My daughter wanted this so bad, but is disappointed in the amount it makes & that it doesn't mix the treat in. You are mainly paying for the Dairy Queen Blizzard name on this product. You can purchase an electric one that makes more ice cream for about the same price & stir in your own treat. Don't bother with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 11 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Wonderful Christmas Present!

12/30/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading reviews for this on other sites I decided to pass, but then I needed to get a gift from my mother in law for my daughter for Christmas and she really wanted to this so I went against my better judgment and purchased it! Well to my surprise the bad reviews were WRONG!!! Apparently they could not follow basic instructions! We followed the directions and made perfect, effortless ice cream in 10 mins!! Glad I gave this product a second thought! My daughter is very happy with her blizzard maker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 12 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Very disappointed

12/28/2010
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was probably one of the most disappointing gifts my son got for Christmas this year. He had seen the commercials for it and really wanted it so grandma got him one. It only comes with 3 small packages of ice cream mix and we had to crank it for about 25 minutes before it became partially set. My son completely lost interest after the first 10 minutes of cranking. What a waste!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Review 13 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Great gift

01/16/2014
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves this. It taste just like DQ ice cream. If you do exact what the instruction says it only takes 10 minute to make. We have found regular milk will work instead of buying half and half. But make sure you put the lid on good so the ice water won't spill. The best part is the kids love making it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 14 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Overpriced Misnomer

01/13/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This should be called a DQ ice cream maker because you don't actually make a blizzard, you make soft serve ice cream and add toppings to it. That said, I knew that ahead of time but my daughter really wanted it so I had her uncle buy it for her for Christmas. It is fun for kids to use, but it is very messy and makes a very small amount of ice cream (though it is tasty). Also, on top of the $25 for the maker, you need to buy half and half and use a lot of salt to make the ice cream. If it cost about $10 less, I would have given it a higher rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 15 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

very disappointed

12/25/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 6 year old son was so excited and anxious about receiving this as a Christmas gift........ We were prepared to make Blizzards as one of our desserts for Christmas. After all of the steps and over 10 minutes of turning.... we had no ice, just cream. We have seen months of commercials and expected better quality, better product...etc... I am unsure as to why anyone would give this product a positive rating! As a family, we have used similiar products(snow cone machines and other ice cream machines) We have noted that this is found in the toy department for a reason!!!! It does not compare to other ice cream makers that are found in the home section.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 16 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

My Daughter Loved IT....

02/16/2011
By ,
Waldorf, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched several big stores Target, TOYS R US and Walmart to find this blizzard maker for my daughter at Christmas time. I was unsuccesful...and she was disappointed. So we both searched for this blizzard maker after Christmas with her gift certificate and still no luck. Finally, I tried Walmart online and the item was in stock and for a much cheaper price than Amazon. com. Her smile the day we picked it up from the store was PRICELESS.... I'm such a wonderful mom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Review 17 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Waste of Money

01/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was awful. It's meant for children yet the child literally has to sit there and turn the handle by hand for a minimum of 10 minutes before it will do anything. Which even after turning for 10 minutes nothing happend. It was a waste of time and money. Very disappointed! I would not recommend it. Apparently from what I've heard, if it actually does work, all you get is about a spoonful of what one may or may not call ice cream. Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Wasted money

12/30/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The box says "just add half & half and salt". What it doesn't mention is you have to add 3/4 cup of each and it only yields maybe 1/2 cup of ice cream. My son was so excited to make ice cream for everybody on Christmas. He turned the churn for 10 min. & only had enough for himself & 1 other child. Very dissapointed! Don't waste your money or time. For $27 I plan to buy an electric churn & have enough for everybody w/out all of the work!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 19 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

great for younger (8-13) kids

12/28/2011
By ,
Wautoma, Wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in all I thought it was a wonderful investment for my 12 year old she had a blast doing it yes it takes a bit of work and yes it only give a minimum amount of ice cream but for the age group its targeting it works. It is my personal opinion that yes it is worth the investment if you are willing to spend time with your kids in a group activity. Great family thing to do!!!!! love the fact we got it for our daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Dairy Queen Blizzard Maker

Kids loved it and yummy!

12/29/2010
By ,
Mission, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not very hard to use if you follow the instructions. The ice cream does taste good except for the pop rocks. We pulse the ice a bit in the blender and works very good. In the instuctions it says to use the cup to cover the canister but I used a piece of foil it stays and doesn't move. It's also easy for my 8 and 6 yr old to do it. I'm wondering if they have choc. mix.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next