Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Herman Survivors Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Herman Survivors Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Leather and man-made upper Steel toe meets or exceeds ASTM F 2413-05 standards Flexible midsole Oil-resistant soleplate Slip-resistant rubber outsole
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation88%82 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Soles disintegrated after 5 years in closet

06/02/2011
By ,
Daytona Beach, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought my Herman Survivors from Wal-Mart about six years ago, and used them for about one year. I was very pleased with them, they're comfortable, rugged and durable. Because I'd taken care of my boots they continued to look great five years after I'd stowed them in my closet...until today.
This morning I put the boots on for the first time since 2006, walked about a hundred feet when I noticed the right, then the left sole crumble like flakey pie crust (See attached photos). Luckily I was close to home when it happened. I couldn't believe it. They looked fine when I checked them over the night before.
I going to look around for a different brand. I won't say don't buy these boots. They're decent for the price. Just beware that you'll probably have to buy another set after a year or so regardless how well you care for them.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Great Boot

03/02/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm puzzled to see why some people feel they have problems with this boot? A reviewer upset because their boots got worn out after five years of daily use? This matches my experience and for the money I couldn't be happier. I've been wearing this brand and this style boot for seven years and just purchased my third pair. For $50 I don't think you can find a better buy. They are very comfortable and durable and protect your feet well. The only problem that I've experienced is that after a lot of use, the sole does crack across the foot along the line where the sole bends when you walk. It doesn't render the boot useless and in fact I feel no difference once it happens. I have always been able to continue to use the boot without problems. These boots are comfortable from day one and only continue to get more comfortable as you wear them. I am really happy with these boots and will continue to wear and purchase them as long as they don't change anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

wide width with narrow toe

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have a wide foot so i need a wide width boot... i have bought wide width boots and shoes from other walmart brands but these after wearing them for only 90 minutes i could tell there was no hope.
the toe cup is far too narrow and my big toe rubs... this area is part of the steel toe cup so it won't simply break in... the wide width brahmas have a properly wide toe
also this boot rubs my ankle far too much and no amount of adjusting the tightness/loosness of the laces short of unlacing the entire upper half of the boot would help (which negates the reason for buying a tall boot)
my main concerns were about fit so mileage may vary but closer inspection of the boot gives me little confidence in it's durability
i should note i did try them on before buying and they seemed as if they would be fine but the issues became evident within the first hour
i was going to give them a one day run but instead i will simply return them and look elsewhere
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Not for professional industrial use.

05/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased a pair of Herman Survivor, Big Timber 2, steel toe work boots back in February 2014 and for the first couple of months, they were comfortable and fit well. I wore them for work during a full time industrial mechanical/engineering job and by April 2014, the inside of the shoes started falling apart behind the steel toe and back by the heel area exactly the same in each shoe. It finally got so bad that the boots were getting very uncomfortable, pieces of the shoe insides were falling out, and the areas that were falling apart started to destroy my socks from rubbing the open and rough points. The internal material of the shoes are very poorly made, but the outside and sole held up great. The steel toe work book just can't stand up to professional/industrial mechanical work. Definitely not worth the money. Herman brand shoes were a lot better previously.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Very comfortable, well made.

02/05/2014
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my first pair of these in 2004 and have been coming back to them ever since. I've tried many different name brand boots and these are by far the most comfortable, at half the price of other's. The only problem I've had with the 10 or more pairs that I've gone through is the sole. The sole is soft for the purpose of grip and comfort. It does eventually crack or chunk out after 1-2 years. Much like a soft snow tire wears out quicker, these will wear out quicker than a stiffer rubber sole (less cushion). The trade off for comfort is life span, but at this price the math works out to replace them more often than expensive boots. I've put these through 10hr days on concrete in the machine shop and woodshop, logging, sawmilling,hiking,auto repair, and other abuse and they protect my feet well without fatigue or sweaty feet. The eyelets are all steel and don't rip out. Laces last quite a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Same wear, best fitting, SAVE 100.00

09/20/2011
By ,
Front range, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have abused, kicked, scraped and worn out boots for more than 40 years. 18 months ago I took an afternoon to shop for my next pair that I knew would be on my feet for 300 - 350 times at 10-12 hrs per day. I've been a R** W*** fan since the 60's, so I was fitted and walked in boots at 3 of their stores (in my area near Denver not all stores stock the same boots). I also tried on boots at S***s and the S****** Store. Not having found that feel I wanted I stopped at my neighborhood Walmart and tried on a pair of the Herman Survivors Wide Width boots. The good feel was overwhelming there. I was a little concerned about the cheap price as all the other boots I had just tried on were in the 109.00 to 229.00 price range, but I figured that even if they only survived my rough treatment for 6 months I would have gotten a good value from them. Well here I am online all these months later and I just bought a new pair of the same boots...by the way the 18 month old pair of Hermans showed the same heel and toe wear all the other brands I ever worn had. I have never polished them, they got regular exposure to wet concrete, paint, wet weather, snow, mud, and I probably averaged about a half mile every day just walking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Tested TOUGH

12/25/2010
By ,
Dandridge, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work at Old Dominion Freight Line. I bought these boots in October and ive worn them for 10hrs a day, 5 / 6 days a week.
These boots are put through the ringer...from exposure to chemicals to exposure to sharp and unforgiving objects.
The only downside about them is that they arent made in the USA. Other than that, these boots out perform 300$ boots that ive had before.
I have not experienced any of the 'split sole' that has been mentioned here. Everything about the boot has performed above expectations...not just for a 50$ pair of boots...they are simply the best work boots ive ever owned.
As long as these boots continue to perform (and i they are showing signs of many years of service) I will buy these exact pair again when the time comes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

They are good enough that my husband wears them to

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband does need to wear soles in them for more cushion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Great boots

03/26/2011
By ,
Carrollton,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have paid a lot for boots before,and know you usually get what you pay for,but have had excellent results with this boot.I work 12 hrs a day on concrete and my pair have lasted for over a year and still have great cushion in the sole.There are some small cracks in the sole,but are still very wearable.Noticed many others wearing them,so I tried them out,and sure enough they get the job done and don't break the bank.I love how the sole is soft on concrete,yet lasts for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Don't bother

09/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have been wearing them for 3 months, and they still aren't broken in. Have already worn a hole in the toe on one boot. Have gone through 2 pairs of laces....the eyes are so poorly machined that they abrade the laces every time you tighten them up. I guess I'll try leather ones next. my last pair of work boots felt like slippers even at the end of the day.....With these, I can't wait to take them off.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

lasted 5 months in Afghanistan and still wearable

07/05/2012
By ,
Afghanistan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these from a walmart store (half sizes are available in person- currently not available online).
I wear these every day in Afghanistan. Walking over rocks and gravel, im glad I got the high boots rather than the short ones. I roll my ankle sometimes just walking around the army base, but i have not had any "sore" ankles after the roll.
These boots have been well worth the roughly $60 they cost me, and at 5 months, the inside back is starting to rip/tear, but they are still wearable. I am going to look for a different kind of boot mainly because I have more money now, but for the cost, these are excellent boots!
Id say they are fairly breathable. I do have sweaty feet at the end of each day, but no like some of my co-workers who wear other kinds of boot.
I recommend these boots to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

*The Most Durable Boots*

07/25/2012
By ,
miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned these boots for just about a year and i've used these boots in dirt, mud, water, rocks, poolwater and even the lake water, raining days, and all sorts of distructions that should of had destoryed these boots.
IM 15 AND I DO LANDSCAPING that involes stains, water, mud, debris and out of 2 years these boots lasted 10 times more than timberland and timberland pros searies. The landscaping i do is distructive to these boots! meaning it can a hit and no rips or holes after a month or nothing happens for these boots JUST LIKE SURVIVOR BOOTS BREAKER THOSE LASTED 4 1/2 YEARS THROUGH ALL SEASON LONG, AND SO WILL THESE!!!!!!!! Big Timber boots AND HERMAN SURVIVOR BOOTS BREAKER BOOTS VS 6in AND 8in FOR HERMAN SURVIVORS ARE THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
****THANK YOU FOR READING MY REVIEW****
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Working Boots

05/19/2011
By ,
Boston, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these boots for my picky boyfriend who is a landscaper. He actually liked the quality and the style of the boot. And although they are steel toe boots they're very light. I also bought them wide width since the regular width was not available and the fit was fine. I would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Good Boot for the $$

10/10/2010
By ,
Hudson, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good boot for the price. Would be nice to have 1/2 sizes avail. online. Don't quite understand why the 6" boots are waterproof, but the 10" are not
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Owned 3 pair...BUT they changed boot design!!!!!!

10/13/2013
By ,
BamBamMan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price of these boots is good for the quality, however don't expect more than 6-months, (hard labor), for life of the boot sole. NOTE: RED FLAG, They changed the design of the sole #summer'ish 2013) and reduced it AT LEAST 3/8" in. thinner than all previous pairs that I have purhased. I have not determined if the insole and liner have changed for the better, or if perhaps the bottom sole is a thinner, stronger material............I'm guessing "no" to both!! The world's largest retailer is simply selling a lesser quality boot while adding more to their bottom line.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

nice boot at nice price

02/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I drive a truck,and usualy wear a logger boot in the winter.The last 3 summers ive been wearing the Herman Survivor Big Timber 2.I love the quality of this boot,and the reasonable price.Do to a knee injury i always wear down my right heel on even more expensive boots quite noticeably.For some reason the way the heels on the Big Timber 2 slant the wear down is alot less on the right heel.Im talking my loggers with vibram soles.I get more time outta the loggers(Georgias,Carolinas,Chippewas,and Wolverines but half of there lives i have to put up with a worn right heel.Like i said not with the BIG TIMBER 2.It has gret arch support,and one of the most shock absorbing,and comfortable outer soles you can have.I spray them down with waterproofing spray ,and never gotten my feet wet.The inner lining wears out by the heel at 6 months but normaly get 2 summers out of the boot.Over all a great value in a boot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Flamin' Love these Boots

01/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Herman's Sporting Goods shops in DC closed and I hadn't seen these boots for years. I was working construction and saw a guy with a pair of these and asked about them. Went to Wal-Mart and saw they were Herman Survivors. I've had them about 6 months and have had no problems, they are warm and comfortable. I nearly bought two pairs on site, but since I know where to get them I can always go back
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width
10/20/2011
By ,
Albany NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have worn a lot of work boots over the years, basically live in them, the Herman Survivor Big Timber II is the greatest boot I have ever worn. It meets all expactations comfort wise,
value, and long wearing. I have three pair of them just to insure that when and if they
are even discontinued I still have my Big Timbers. Nothing like them! Mine are size 12 W.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width

Great shoe for the money!!!

09/17/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My shoes are the 6 inch work boot.I drive truck,deliver asphalt and have to get in the asphalt a lot,300 degrees.The boots have held up for 15 months without any problems.I am in water,mud,stone,no problems with that either.Can't beat the price.When I bought the boots I did not think they would las and take the abuse that I do with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Herman Survivors - Men's Big Timber II Work Boots, Wide Width
03/27/2012
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading reviews I had high expectations for these boots, however after wearing them for only one day I discovered that they were the worst boots I have ever owned. As someone who does facility maintenance I work long days in rough conditions, I had hoped that these boots would be able to withstand my job, but they couldn't even make it through a day of light yard work. So far the list of problems includes terrible rubbing on the back of the heel, seams falling apart, and grommets breaking. I would not consider buying these again nor would I ever recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next