Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Herman Survivors Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Herman Survivors Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

Leather and man-made upper 100% waterproof Steel toe meets or exceeds ASTM F 2413-05 standards Moisture-wicking properties Flexible midsole Oil-resistant soleplate Slip-resistant rubber outsole
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation82%58 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

Good quality work boots

12/20/2012
By ,
Boston, ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
True to size. Look good for going out or for work. Nice quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

The purchase

03/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2008 i purchased these boots because the seasons and also landscaping.Herman survivor boots these my number one boots to use, and purposes. The PROBLEM that drives me CRAZY i dont know about any ONE else but, I miss the old verison of herman survivors breaker boots those were the best boots they lasted forever. these boots dont have the steel toe tag on the laces changes need to be made and the waterproof tag on the side thats stupid and the squard out soles i like the breakers better when they were round. The out soles should be round.
IF PEOPLE AGREE PLEASE CLICK YES THIS DID HELP
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+87points
Review 3 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

Garbage don't buy them!

10/27/2012
By ,
Central NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a pair of $29 work shoes from Walmart that lasted over 10 years. This time I wanted to step up in quality so, I purchased these Herman Survivor shoes because of the reputation [since 1879]. They looked good.
But the tread on the soles are splitting apart on the edges and are wearing through the thin veneer of tread on the bottom. I'm trying to glue them back together. I have only had them a few months and I don't wear them every day. Also, when I try to find the warranty information, it says n/a. I will never buy another pair. If the soles are gone, the shoes are junk!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

Really happy with these.

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read all of the reviews and decided to buy them. They were stiff and heavy the first week, but got softer and lighter (your legs get use to them quickly through the breaking in period). I go from a high quality, light weight Nike running shoe that I use for two hours in the morning running before I go to work, to these high quality work boots that I wear for 10 hours on my feet. I haven't had any of the problems that others have said. They offer me great arc support, great flex, and are water resistant, don't know about water proof since I haven't walked threw a deep puddle yet. Overall, Iv'e had these for a month now and will purchase more Herman boots in the future. The only complaint I would have with these boots is that the shoe string hoops are a little close, but that's it. Thanks Herman and Walmart for a great pair of boots at a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

Worn for a year, decent starter boot

09/13/2014
By ,
Loveland, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've worn these for about a year so I think I can write a pretty decent review.
For the price, these are a decent starter boot. I went from working retail in to mining so I needed some apparel and steel toe boots were very important. I didn't have much money or time, so I went to Walmart and picked these up. The laces didn't last long at all, I think only a few weeks. So I ordered some tough ones and put them on. It didn't take long after that and the soles started wearing and falling apart. Other than that, up to that point I was impressed. They were also water proof which was nice. What was really disappointing in these boots was that the seams started splitting. In both boots they split on the insides and on one at the back of the heel. I put up with wet feet for a little and than decided to finally get some better boots.
If you're switching jobs and low on money, these will tie you over until you can get something better. Just don't expect these to last awhile.
I took pictures, but unfortunately they won't upload.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

Outlasted my Timberlands which cost 3x as much!

03/05/2011
By ,
Philly
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was especially poor when I bought these in 2008 and admit I didn't like them much at first mostly because I knew they were a Walmart boot (shallow, I admit.) But when I was growing up, I clearly remember Hermans to be THE BOOTS TO HAVE, and I wondered if the reputation for quality they once had remained in tact. I worked hard in these boots in constantly wet conditions with lots of random chemicals contacting them. The waterproofing I believe was sound but it didn't matter because my feet were always wet by days end from sweat - I don't think there is much breathing in this boot, and they are insulated so expect to sweat, especially in summer weather! But that was my only complaint. I set them aside after gettting some Timberland boots (Direct Attach 6) for $120 and after a year of wear, they go in the trash and I put the Hermans back on and right away I recognize how solid they are in construction even after a year of hard wet use! Again I am back to wearing these every day with some hard use and they are built far better than much more expensive boots! I had to add a new insole but only because the old one was funky, not because it was worn out!!! The pair I had are still on my feet through two years of daily hard wear and I'll bet I could get another six months out of them - more if the bottoms of the soles were in better shape but I can see that I've gone through a layer of rubber and I don't think the exposed layer is meant for much contact with the Earth.. Suck up your pride and wear the Walmart boot that's tougher than Timberland!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+90points
Review 7 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

About these boots i bought three year ago.

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put these boots thourgh the ringer mud,rain,dirt,consturtion with my step dad, rocks 3 inch rain,heavy objects landed on the steel toe and sill lasted. The waterproof keep my feet dry and comfortable. Slip/Oil Resistant works like a charm. Parts of the outsoles fell apart after three year's nothing minor still good. gonna be four year's in December 1st 2012. Do i recommend this item yes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 8 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

Dang fine boot for the price

01/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these boots a little over 6 months ago, and they have held up great. Working in a rail yard as an operator/laborer I abuse my footwear. Outdoors all day, kicking metal around and setting cars in the wonderful NW weather. They are not 100% waterproof above the tongue, but that is pretty standard for this kind of boot. Stepping in 3in puddles is no problem
@TesterMike: If you're working in 8 in of water all day you're gonna need rubber boots
The only thing that I knock it for are the laces. Mine lasted 3 weeks. Bought another set of good ones and all's well. The leather upper has a couple rips, but that is only cosmetic for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 9 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

better then i expected

05/20/2011
By ,
mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
had redwings timberlands cat boots alot of them but i thought i would never ever get walmart boots but i did and i like them alot didnt even have to break them in as much as the other ones really comfortable we see if they hold up but for 40 bucks you cant go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 10 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width
02/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have,will,and are recomending this boot.I have 20 guys working for me in the construction field,and once ayear ill buy the crew boots every spring.I take the boys to walmart,and ten chose the breaker.I use to spend around 75.00 for the Diehards but last year to save money opted for the cheaper Herman line,and all ten boots are still functional though at the end of the journey.Next month off to walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 11 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width
02/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ihad been buying chippewas,and carolins for years about 4 yrs ago i started buying the Herman survivor Breaker boot,and fell in live with them.Ive had 3 pairs of these,and find them very comfortable,and affordable.2 yrs ago(to try somethinf different) i purchased the Big Timber 2,and Contractor Herman Survivors ,and have been completely satisfied by the line.I always have 2 pairs of boots to alternate,and at these prices it makes it easy.Ive bought a new pair of the Big Timbers,and considering the breaker as the alternative.From now on its Herman Survivors for me,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 12 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

junk in 2 months

01/07/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been buying boots for over 20 years and I have tried them all. Recently I had to make a choice to buy a cheaper pair of boots due to it being so close to xmas and not having my annual $100 from work as a boot allowance so i thought i would give these a try. At first I was blown away by the fit, comfort, and support these provided. Also the traction was above my expectation...here is where it went bad. I bought them in November and they have already worn thru, holes have developed in both boots in two separate spots. I am very disappointed and let down, i was so impressed in the beginning i was planning on being a long time consumer , sorry not going to happen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

older was better

01/12/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these boots about 3months ago and they are already ruined the rubber on the heel has pulled up the back the tread on the bottom of the shoe is peeling in layers oh and there not waterproof the make a squishy sound when walking in water the best part is there is no warrenty at all if you go to that area of the site it says N/A unless you keep your reciet i have had several pairs of these boots i still have a pair from like 2+ yrs ago and they have no problems at all the pair before this the sole cracked straight across at the toe line and the tread peeled off after about 7 months thought it was a fluke but guess its a new design will never buy these again
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

The best

06/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100% waterproof and very duribile and its oil/slip reasistant really works and the steel toe very cool
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 15 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

Junk Boots

10/22/2010
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these boots for work and i work with water all day testing pipes with pressured water...they are suppost to be waterproof infact i even bought waterproofing spray just to make sure and ive only worn them once at work and they still leaked threw and my feet were soaked all day long and very cold i would not recommend this item for anyone working with or around water
if your looking for a good boot for inside work where your not dealing with any water then they are ok but dont wear them when working with water
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AMEN!!!
Posted 08/03/2012
Mine made it 2 weeks while I HAD to wait to get some others shipped. Straight in the dumpster. Worst thing I've ever put on my feet.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width
02/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been buying Herman Survivors from walmart for 10 yrs the breaker is my 2nd favorite boot behind the big timber2.Very comfortable,and durable.great arch support,and easy on the pocket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 17 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width
02/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome boot at an awesome price.Great comfort,style,and durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 18 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

Quality Work Boot

10/13/2010
By ,
Westboro, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waterproof and durable
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 19 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

cool boots

12/11/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have these boots about one month and so far no problem They are comfortable, I have not gotten them wet yet so we shall see but overall i enjoy wearing them
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 20 for Herman Survivors - Men's Breaker Work Boots, Wide Width

Not the boot they use to be.

10/30/2011
By ,
east stroudsburg ,pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the past five years the breaker boot was the only boot I wore.I go through two pairs a year with the work I do. Two reasons kept me buying them. They were cheap boots that kept your feet dry.I won't wear a boot that can't keep my feet dry. Now they are just a cheap boot. The last two pairs I've bought were not waterproof at all. The worst thing is cold wet feet. I have a few friends who also wear other herman survivors boots who say the same that they use to be a better boot. Although these boots are comfortable and afforrdable what good is a boot if your feet are cold and wet all day.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next