Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

The Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Reel Mower can make lawn mowing fast and convenient. It operates on electricity, eliminating the need for gas, oiling, or regular tune-ups. The electric reel mower is environmentally friendly and is easy to maintain. The lawn mower has a safety key which is removable and prevents the mower from being used by any unauthorized person. When the key is inserted, simply push the button switch to engage the mower. This lawn mower with grass catcher collects and stores the clippings for easy clean-up. The lawn mower with grass catcher also enables you to set the height for desired grass length with its four position cutting height mechanism. The cordless reel mower has large wheels for excellent mobility. The Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Reel Mower is a safe and convenient lawn mower.
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation50%6 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

Best reel mower for the price!

10/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those looking to buy this mower you should first do your research on where a reel mower is best used. Reel mowers are best for bent type grasses (bent, bermuda 419, etc.) that are meant to be mowed very low (1 inch or lower). Anyone thinking of purchasing this mower for any grass that is better kept at higher than one inch should look into a rotary mower (I've had my Neuton electric rotary mower for 5 years, great mower, just not for lower cut grass like my new bermuda 419).
My experience with this mower was exactly what I was hoping for, a perfectly manicured lawn than rivals any golf course fairway. Comment on my review asking for a picture and I will gladly email you one. I have bermuda 419 grass that I wanted to keep at around 1/2 to 3/4 inches. The four mowing heights on this mower is 1 3/4 inch, 1 1/2 inch, 1 inch, and 3/4 inch (I actually think the lowest setting is closer to 1/2 inch). I am currently keeping my lawn (about 4,500 square feet) at 3/4 inches. This mower does a great job cutting at that level. Keep in mind that reel mowers are not meant to be cutting more that a 1/4 inch or so of grass at a time. So, if you go more than a week without mowing you may have to raise the cutting level or just go slower to get through the higher grass. This will do that if you are in a pinch, but the battery will not last as long and you will have to walk much slower.
As far as those reviewers complaining about the bag, I agree it should work as advertised but I cannot say because I have not tried using it. However, any lawn expert will recommend that you do not bag your clippings, your grass will be much healthier. Plus, if you are only cutting a 1/4 inch or so of grass at a time (which is recommended), the grass clipping will disappear into the yard. The grass does shoot back at your legs and feet but can be remedied in a number of DIY methods. It should not be dangerous however, because you should be making sure your lawn is clear of any debris before starting. Reel mowers are especially sensitive to debris, so this is HIGHLY recommended or you will damage the blades. Reel mower blades are not like rotary blades, so again do your research about reel mowers before purchasing.
As far as those reviewers complaining about the manual feature, this just seems ridiculous to me. Why would you buy an electric mower based on a manual use feature. It may or may not work as a manual mower (the actual site does not advertise that) if the battery goes dead, but why even try? An actual manual reel mower will work better in that situation. If your battery is going dead before you finish your yard, you are probably cutting grass that is higher that 2 inches and/or your yard is too big for this mower to handle. I can mow my 4,500 square foot lawn with one charge, but I am getting a second battery to have as a backup just in case. Understanding the mowers capabilities and limitations will only make you a better consumer. I hope this review from a satisfied user will help with that.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 2 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

Joe Mow Joe

05/09/2011
By ,
Rosedale, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good, I am really surprised at how well this mower cuts and my lawn looks just as good if not better than those that are being gas mowed. I feel as though my mower is environmentally friendly. Let's just hope I am still smiling at the end of summer. My neighbor is eyeballing my lawn mower and asking a lot of questions. Takes me 45 minutes to mow the lawn...and I am losing weight doing it. I love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 3 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

Mower

04/13/2011
By ,
Tulsa, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is perfect for small yards. It assembles easily as well as operates easily. It is light weight and the vibrations are minimal so that even my arthritic hands have no problem. This mower can even be used as a regular reel mower once the battery runs out! This is truely a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Review 4 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

Not what I needed

05/24/2011
By ,
Klamath Falls OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought it would be nice not having to drag around an extension cord when I mowed, but this mower just didn't meet my needs. The charge did last a long time, but it just didn't have the power I expected. The plastic body would never have lasted a mowing season. The grass didn't go into the grasscatcher it kept flying over the top of it and it kept falling off. Good idea, but needs improvement. I sent it back and received excellent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 5 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

Sun Joe Electric Reel Mower

05/06/2011
By ,
Kannapolis, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got my Sun Joe Electric reel mower yesterday and could not be happier with it. I have had a Sun Joe trimmer/edger for over a year and have had no problems with it. The mower was easy to assemble just the handles and a couple of wires to plug in. The battery had enough charge to do my whole yard front back and both sides. It did a beautiful job cutting my grass and had several neighbors and the mail man check out my mower. Sun Joe has again scored a home run with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 6 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

Good deal

04/15/2011
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a really good lawn mower the only problem is the bag doesnt connect all the way leaving clean up a lil difficult. It is definitely worth it though. you cant beat that price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 7 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

Simply Awful

08/01/2011
By ,
Southern California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Here is Southern California we have postage-stamp size yards....and we are environmently friendly. So, I'm trying to find an environmently friendly solution to my small lawn mowing needs. To that end, I really had high hope for this little Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Reel Mower. I'd really like to say something positive about it. Neighbors described it as cute and liked the color. The removable battery is a nice feature. Beyond that, my experience with this little reel mower was simply aweful. The grass-catcher...didn't. I had to go over and over the same spot 3, 4, and 5 times to get the grass cut semi-evenly....and the lawn still looks choppy. So, if you like an extreme workout....with a mower that is NOT easy to push....this may be just the ticket for you. Cancel your fitness center membership and head out to your lawn with this little baby. Forgot to mention....it doesn't cut dandelions, either, no matter how many times you go over them. Ya, I know, I need to get rid of the dandelions and not just try to mow them over....but that's anyother story. However, I somehow EXPECT a lawn mower to be able to cut the stem of a dandelion!
Do yourself a favor and put your $200 toward another product. Even a line-timmer would be a better alternative. That's the hard truth.
Next stop......Walmart Customer Services to return this bad-boy. Maybe I'll try the $125 Sun Joe Mow Joe 14-Inch Electric Mower and see if I can handle wrestling with an extention cord as it gets wrapped around my trees and bushes...... Life certainly isn't easy when you are tryng to Go Green on a budget. Sure, I could bite the bullet and drop $350 bills on Black And Decker's cordless electric.....but, unfortunately, that would break the bank...and my wife would want retribution by-way-of that high-end hair dryer she's had her eye on....and the expected "I told you so".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 8 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

After 4 months still going strong

07/29/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this mower now for 4 months. I cut my bermuda grass short (1") twice a week. Lawn looks great. No problems with the mower. Don't use the catcher since around 50% of the lawns food comes from the decomposing clippings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 9 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

Flimsy

05/02/2011
By ,
Greensboro, North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very disappointed in this product. Other than being fairly lightweight and easier to handle than a gas mower it is not "strong" enough to suit me. I did not receive all the nuts and bolts needed and had to buy these separate. I don't feel I got the quality I expected for the price..it takes twice the time to mow also.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 10 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

Defective

08/14/2011
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unable to give a proper review as I was unable to use this product. It came with charger but the charger pin was recessed into the unit. It could not be charged. Unable to use as it required charging. Returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower
08/15/2011
By ,
Dedham, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Awful! Don't buy it. We had to return it right away.
It doesn't have enough power.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 16" Cordless Electric Reel Lawn Mower

Takin it back

04/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not mow the grass well. Grass catcher doesn't work at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point