Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bowflex Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Bowflex Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Ready to get serious about firming up? Get all the weights you need to tone up your muscles in a set of Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells. Ergonomically designed, these Bowflex 552 Dumbbells add more power to your workouts and aids in faster fat burning. With these space-efficient and flexible adjustable dumbbells, you can now bid goodbye to 15 pairs of dumbbells cluttering your workout space. Your Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells are built with cutting-edge technology that lets you rapidly switch from one exercise to the next. Get the most out of your workout sessions with these Bowflex 552 Dumbbells.
Average Customer Rating:
4.829 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(140 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation99%139 out of 140reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 102 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Great variety of weights for a good workout

12/22/2012
By ,
Santa Ana, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only problem w/this product is the shipping box. it's REALLY heavy and in a rectangular box so you can't get your hands around it and it's not quite long enough to have 2 people carry it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Nice Addition To My Exercise Equipment....

04/05/2014
By ,
CA CentralCoast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy online ordering.....quick shipping.......as described and on time. No issues with ordering or product condition. So easy and successful, I could get use to this type of shopping. Shipping rate was ridiculously low ($2.35) for the 100# weight of this item. Very pleased and would recommend it to everyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

So Far So Good

03/11/2013
By ,
Antelope, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, the weights arrived right on time. I had them delivered to my home for a few more bucks for the sake of convenience. It was worth it. I could have picked them up from the store, but I read from several reviews that the box was heavy and I didn't want to be embarrassed by struggling to lift the box into my vehicle. It wasn't as heavy as I thought they would be though.
I bought the weights to use for P90X. The selecting switch is smooth, fast and easy to change weights between sets. The only annoying thing I found is that you have to turn one knob clockwise and the other counter clockwise. The plastic look doesn't bother me at all. It has a nice clean look to them. I never feel like the weights will come off.
I didn't buy a stand, but the box they came in is very sturdy, but unsightly. If the box bothers you, you could just cover it with an old sheet, but it does fantastically and I saved $150+ buying a stand.
So far, I have no complaints and am happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

I love it ! It's easy to use

03/15/2014
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. It's easy to use and I like the fact that it has 1/2 lb weights. It saves space. All you have to do us turn the dial to desired weight and it's all set. And I like the fact that it's not hard or too thick to grip. It's easier on the thumbs. But it's very heavy to get home from the store or any stairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Great buy

03/11/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been wanting these weights for a year, but did not buy because of the price. I had the weights with plates at home, the ones with a bolt at the end that you have to take off and put back on every time you want to change weight. These are definitely a space saver compared to what I had before. I did my first work out today, and was able to move a lot quicker through my program with these weights. I really like all of the selections for how much weight you want to use. The handbook even gives you tips on using different weight to build different muscles. The weights come with a DVD with work-outs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Question - Color of Numbers on Dials
Posted 03/14/2014
I am in the market for the 552s and in speaking with Bowflex they informed me that if the numbers on the dials are white they are the "newer/ 2nd" version of the dumbbells which use a metal clipping system (vs. plastic on those dummbells with red numbers on the dials).
Can anyone who has recently purchased these from Walmart confirm the color of the numbers to assist me in knowing which version is being sold?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Exactly as advertised

01/25/2014
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These work just as they say they do. I use them pretty frequently (5 days a week) and haven't had any problems with them. The only thing I find annoying is that on occasion, although it appears to be locked into place once I have turned the dial to select my weight, the handle gets stuck in the cradle, indicating that one of the sides hasn't clicked into place properly. It's more of a nick on the design than anything else as a quick tap on either side (and I usually have to check both just to be sure) fixes the problem without much stress.
It should be obvious, but... these suckers are HEAVY. Each dumbbell + cradle weighs about 58 pounds. Do be prepared when they are delivered!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Excellent product

03/30/2014
By ,
Chantilly, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these dumbbells because it was a challenge switching out weights during super sets and drop sets. They have worked great so far. The numbers on the dials are easy to read and use. The weights feel stable and the construction solid. A side bonus, I'm not constantly positioning and cleaning up weights before and after sets.
The only thing that I don't like about these dumbbells is the rubber on the handles. They can feel a bit slippery if you don't keep your hands dry.
My only regret is not spending the money to buy the heavier 90 lb dumbbells.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

As Expected - Very Pleased

04/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sold in a pair, each weight adjusts from 5 to 52.5 lbs. I've been using the SelectTechs for about a month now, and am very pleased with my purchase. I read a lot of reviews, I researched various adjustable weight brands and always came back to the SelectTechs. They're easy to adjust mid workout, easy to lift out of the cradle, easy to rack, and although slightly bulky, they are easy to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Bowflex 552

03/22/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item arrived a day later than expected even though I paid additional shipping. However, my daughter was very pleased & excited. I brought them for her 21st birthday & shipped to her dorm. She had no problem with the weight of them & explained they were very easy to adjust from one weight to another. Extremely happy with the purchase & this was the lowest price around. Highly recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Functional and Easy to Use

03/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Workouts go a lot faster, and no need to store a handful of different weights.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Great Product

03/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really on the fence about spending the $ but I use these constantly. They save so much space and I can work out year round. I love these dumbbells and would strongly recommend to anyone looking for adjustable dumbbells. Great Value and Great Product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Best dumbbells I've ever owned.

12/21/2013
By ,
Eugene, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bowflex really got it right with their SelctTech dumbbells. I like being able to move quickly from one exercise to the next using free weights. I've also found there is a real advantage in being able to have one end of the dumbbells heavier than the other, if you so desire. There are certain exercise that don't require the dumbbells to be balanced, e.g., overhead tricep press with one dumbbell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Great for a space saving dumbell set

02/18/2014
By ,
Miami, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work a lot and unfortunately don't have 2-3 hours a day to spend on the entire process too and from the gym. So I ordered these - I get my work outs in while I'm working from my studio in between meetings and conf calls..sometimes even during them - I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Worth the money

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great adjustable weights. Nice to have a variety of pounds in small space. Easy to adjust.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Awesome Product

12/22/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm currently doing p90x.... This product is perfect for the fast paced work..... Plus I don't have to have the huge weight rack in my room just to work out....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

great buy

03/08/2014
By ,
c.v. ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect set
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

awesome product

12/12/2013
By ,
sewell, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just received this about a week ago and love it. i did receive the Black Friday price although i saw it posted for $20 less the previous friday, although i think it was a mistake because it only lasted for a few hours. the only way it didn't meet my expectation is that the product description indicates 2.5 lb. increments which is true but only up to 25 lbs. beyond that you have to dial in 30 lb. on one side of the bar and 25 lb. on the other side to average out to 27.5 lb. but then the center of gravity changes and the bar feels a little awkward to handle. if 2.5 lb. increments aren't important to you then you won't have a problem. otherwise this is an awesome product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

Best set for quick workouts!!!

09/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these for P90x workouts and I am not disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

only one con so far

01/24/2013
By ,
green bay, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These things are a great replacement for a dumbbell set. Very easy to select the weight amount. There is even a guide in the owners book to show off weights that are not on the dial.
Only problem is that no matter how much weight you need (5lbs or 40lbs) the dumbbell is the same size. So that could interfere with certain workouts, but isnt enough of a problem to complain or not use them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bowflex SelectTech 552 Dumbbells

As expected, shipping SUPER fast!

02/24/2014
By ,
St Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best price available on the BowFlex SelectTech 552 dumbbells. In addition, shipping was 3 days for $2.97! Unbeatable value all around!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next